(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

cyn, groovy,

sigh.. all these maid woes. no one is perfect, much less a maid who leaves her own home to help another family in a foreign country? sometimes have to close one eye, sometimes really have to give warnings and if she really gets out of hand, then must sack lor. huhuhu... will be praying for both of you!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: RWS scam

so this sharifah and azilcyan are two different person is it? hope the mommies can get their hard earned money back. maybe the temptation of $80K in the bank account was too great for the sharifah person to turn down.

lilac,

how's the new job going so far? hope not as stressful as previous one and allows u more time after office hours to spend with kai kai. he's so cute, btw! always see his pics on FB! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: bringing baby out

some mummies think better not bring them out often in case of germs and what nots, which is true 'cos infants that are too young can't fight off infections as well as a 8mths old baby. that i brought jadelyn out very often, even before she was a mth old. after that i brought her to church every weekend plus have shopping, dinners and went to an outdoor bar with friends. luckily she was okay! think i was the one who needed to socialize back then. :p otherwise will go crazy at cooped up at home for too long. haha!!

Apple

Have sent the contact to you thru fb msg. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lilbluey

Yes! Booboobear is right, hope you'll like it as much as we do. And now you also can have more time to take more beautiful photos of your 2 darlings!

Ian

The mother sounds like she's having more fun than the baby in the clip!

wanna ask if any mommies here have any experience with delivering at NUH or have visited someone who gave birth there? hubby was asking again yesterday about delivering there instead of MAH, which i prefer. but he says NUH is a lot nearer for our parents plus jadelyn to come over for visits also. MAH is way too far. whole journey by car needs approx 30-40mins.

starry: clear scan of your babe! Love it!

Lilibluey, nice of your hub to buy you this gift, hope it will be of great help to you!

Re: hotel stay scam, i really wonder why some folks can bear to part with such a large sum of money online and with no means of verification especially when the bookings is made for months ahead....feel heartpain for them but at the same time....

thanks, lilbluey and cyn!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Teoong: hehehe long time no see! :p So far it has been good. But maybe now too early to say. But colleagues are really nice. Yest i had to take urgent half day leave but cos i just started work i still dun hv any pro-rated leave. My boss is nice enough to tell HR to let me apply leave for yest only when I hv leave accumulated. During interview, my boss mentioned that here is a pro family place... i hope so! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Apple: Oh rusty and ugly ah? How about painting it? Hehehe if ur hub dun mind the vacumming job then u can save money. LOL

Bluey: *wink wink cant wait for ur review. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry: saw the scan on ur fb last nite so cute can! u gonna hv another sweetie adding more joy to ur life! :D Looking forward to seeing pictures of her arrival in Oct / Nov. :D New job is ok so far. 1st few days was boring cos nothing much to do. But now slowly got things to do. :D Here is quite structured so I think will not be as busy as previous job. Previous job Im basically one man show in the dept. LOL Thanks for your compliments on kai kai. i love to see jadelyn's photos also. She is always so so expressive. Her big big eyes and round round cheeks... OMG la... want to hug her tight tight! :D

Ian: Hahahaha xavier will look cute on it. LOL

good morning all..

lilbluey,

so sweet of your hubby!! nice anniversary gift!!

maid

zuen, i think alike as u.

my maid is also not too bad.. n my mum has got high expectation of her. jus like u, i brain wash her by telling her that i understand her position not remind her not to take in to heart, jus ear in n ear out on ah ma nagging.. no point arguing. i also hope to go maidless in another few years... hopefully i wont be so use to having a maid n get uncomfortable when not having one.

Btw, does your maid get to get out of the house at times?? eg. go to food centre jus to buy some food?? i mean those grab n go trips?? This is my first time having a Indo maid.. which has no day off and no HP for her.. kind of feel poor thing for her as she dont get the opportunity to get out of the house on her own, at the same time worry that she may stray from if freedom was given.... was thinking if i should let her do the marketing, buying some packet food from the food centre own her on.. mommies please advise.

Dovey,

Yeah I hope so [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] although I'm not the one doing the household chores haha..hope it will cut down those 'chores hours'

Cyn,

More of a gift for him than for me since he's the one doing all the work! and I look fwd to clean floors when I get home everyday [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ian: hahaha at this stage they v curious with everything. Everything oso wanna touch n etc. That shows they are good in their motor skills LOL

Hi Teoong!

*waves* nice to see u here again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cherry,

Hw r u? hope u are feeling better! More shopping on the way for you? kekee [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hahaha..like I say it's more for him, I shd ask another gift from him! *oops* ;p

Think it's gd for maid-less folks like me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ian/Lilac,

My boy is alrd very curious over it tis morning, when we did a trial run, had to keep his hands off the thing haha ;p

Chamz...

Starry,

Congrats on another princess! What a great scan pic! She looks like she has really long legs!! Don't know much about NUH but have read some good reviews about the delivery ward and service. Try surfing the forum for other mummies' reviews?

Cyn,

This is my 3rd maid and I dun dare to leave my kids alone with her for long hours even though she's already with me for 8 months. They are not family afterall and can never guess what they will or will not do. I had heart attacks with my previous 2 maids when I left DD alone with them. Can never trust maids enuff.

Cherry,

Truth be told, I already grew lazy since we started on maid and have grown reliant on them. Still, I hope to go maidless one day. Imagine all the $$ that we will save. The house will not be as clean but close one eye lor. Heavy duties housework can rely on PT helper.

Nope, my FIL maid has never been allowed to go out on her own. Somebody is usually with her. There are times that she is at home with Isaac but max 2 hours kind.

Jac,

The scan is so clear. Reminds me of the good old time. Congrats on your princess.

I delivered in NUH for DD but my was an emergency case and I was in B2 ward (5 pax no aircon) bcos DD neeeded NICU. The delivery team is dedicated, good nurses. But bcos mine was a complication case, I was sort of the gunine pig and I have housemen coming to see me and they really sucks with plugs. I always bleed whenever they set plug. Overall, TMC better bcos TMC private hospital thus more flexibility and specialise in delivery.

zuen,

care to share what happen to your previous maid experience that almost give you a heart attack?

lilbluey,

i love shopping, care with me when there is any great buys.

Hi Lilbluey! *waves* long time nvr comes in.

So many new mummies to this thread. haha.. I feel like kinda out of place now. heehee..

Wow! so nice of your hubby to buy you that machine as ROM gift.

Lilac, good that your current boss is pro-family! at least he will understand your needs when you want to take urgent leave. I love to see ur posts of boy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry, nice scan of your lil princess. More shoppings i guess?! hehe..

Ian, my girl also the same. She is the terrorist and destroyer of the hse! every little hole that she can find, she will dig. faintz..

Ian,

I tried pandan leaves but I still can see cockroaches!!! Any other natural alternatives??

How to get rid of those worms usually found in books?? How to keep books pest free??

Cherry,

I think I shared before.

Maid 1 was 95% with housework. Everything in sight ended up in the storeroom within mins. House was very clean. But she kept so much stuff and forgot where she kept them and we (including herself) cannot find when we need the stuff. The heart attacks came when she brought DD out of the house (mainly to the corridor) without permission. There was this time that she allowed my neighbours to bring my DD downstairs without permission. Scare the hell out of me. Then another once that she didnt come home with DD when school was closed due to HFMD. My mum happened to pop by school and found that school was closed and found them not at home too. I almost rushed home from work. She only came home after 1 hour and claimed that DD didnt want to come home, so brought DD to the playground. After giving her the final warning, she still brought DD out of the house, to the corridor without permission. Duno when she will go short-circuit again and decided to send her back to agency after 3 months.

2nd maid was a princess maid. Came and wasnt good with housework. House was as messy as when we have no maid. Sit on the sofa and relaxed when she was supposed to man DD. There was once that we brought her to MIL's house and DD was playing on BIL's maid. I sat on the floor supervising DD and the princess maid actually sat on BIL's bed! I was so pai seh. Dd didnt like her and was going through Terrible Two. Many tantrums every day and refused to let the maid touched her. Then she started having nightmares and woke up crying in the night very frequently. On one occasion, my niece told my mum that the maid beat DD, which we cannot verify. Every day was a nightmare, worried that she will do something to DD when they are alone at home. My eyes were glued to my laptop, which I used to view them thru' internet camera. After one month, she asked to quit bcos she cannot handle DD. I was more than glad to let her go. After she left, DD took a while to return back to normal.

Since then, I never left my kids with maid for long hours.

I am still consider lucky. At least the maids dun steal or abuse the kids. And they dun "sell" themselves.

cherry> idk liao le..normally i use cockroach bait and ant bait at home~ [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cyn, that person in the scam got caught already? got caught at home?

Starry, wow, a v v nice scan. Did u do a separate 3D scan? Want to ask you, do you think you will favourite 1 of the child more? Sometimes I think it might be hard to avoid and not be bias leh.

Dovey, Thanks. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry, I dunno abt giving birth at NUH but my friend recently bought her 15mths old to NUH instead of the KKH, she prefer NUH. so yar. HTH.

The Youtube Ian posted, the irobot so cute yet so dangerous.

Liliac White, very very good to hear that ur boss is pro family. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cyn, that person in the scam got caught already? got caught at home?

Starry, wow, a v v nice scan. Did u do a separate 3D scan? Want to ask you, do you think you will favourite 1 of the child more? Sometimes I think it might be hard to avoid and not be bias leh.

Dovey, Thanks. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry, I dunno abt giving birth at NUH but my friend recently bought her 15mths old to NUH instead of the KKH, she prefer NUH. so yar. HTH.

The Youtube Ian posted, the irobot so cute yet so dangerous.

Liliac White, very very good to hear that ur boss is pro family. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

no time no see.

hi Starry,

Nice Scan picture. congrats to another princess.

Liliac White,

good to hear your workplace is pro family. I am searching for a pro family job too.

About Maid:

I don't have one. My house is ever messy as I have to work and handle 2 kids. For as long as i can endure, i will not employ cos having maid is expensive. I would rather spend the money having good school for my DS. I think handling maid is tough and tiring too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Apple: thanks. hope she is not only say say nia n is really pro family. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shireen: I hope u can find something soon! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hellooo mummies

have not dropped in for some time. how's everyone?

cyn

milk with ants! that's gross... she covered her eyes while making milk ah?

groovy

your highchair got seat belt? cos my dd can stand on her highchair, very dangerous.

princessd,

i use sharp air purifier. very good. remember to get the correct capacity for different sized rooms.

starry

cool pic, nice and clear! u must be so excited! =)

maid

i have nothing YET to complain abt my maid. 2 months into the job, she takes instructions well, good at housework, learn things fast.

Evening mummies,

Dovey/ booboobear:

Went with hb to suntec to see the demo Liao. He's still not keen to buy. Cos he say double work wen still need to clean the corners which he robot can't reach. Haiz. Guess won't be getting it then.

Starry:

Nice Scan pic. I wish my no2 will be a girl.

Kayden vomited twice today. Just nw at 5pm feed n then just before he sleeps. He finished his milk but wen put him down on his bed he suddenly just merlioned!! Really scary. Dunno wats wrong leh. Kind of worried. Wanted to bring him go PD but hb say monitor tonight n see if still vomit.

Hope he's fine n nothing serious.

Isaac has phlegm and sore throat. I wonder how did he get sore throat when he's only into porridge and cereal. Cereal is heaty?

Have to bring him back to the doc if he develops fever.

today very sian and tired for me as got a bit runny nose. Taken chinese flu tea felt more drowsy.

Ian's video is cute. I agree wth him think my son will also sit on it if I have one! think boys will be boys

Xin2 hope kayden get well soon.

Eye checkup - 1 mommy ask about eye checkup some time ago. Kept forgetting to post - KKH have eye specialist. Can call them to check.

GSM, I use cloth diaper to tie my boy body (loose) to his high chair on top of the provided seat belt (which secure more of his lower body). I didn't use the provided tray as he doesn't like the tray. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Cyn - LIkely your maid eyesight not good. perhaps she no $ to make spec - which is not cheap. Bring her for eye checkup if you intend to keep her for long.

Starry - congrats [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

xin,

Never mind lah, I guess your hubby can do a better job than the robot. Just make sure you tell him he can't complain then when you ask to vacuum the floors more often LOL!! Oh dear, sorry to hear about Kayden. Was he still happy and active earlier? Hope he's okay.

Zuen,

Phlegm and sore throat sound like it's viral leh. Don't think it's because of the cereal. Is he coughing?

Metta,

Hope you feel better soon...

Lilbluey,

Happy with your new toy?

Booboobear,

Not really coughing but can hear the phlegm. Fed him medicine and I tot it will knock him out but he woke up at e same time for his first night feed. Hopefully he wun wake up again until nx am.

gsm,

Yup my high chair has a seat belt. But my baby sometimes is smart, she can try to stand in her high chair too even with seat belt.. Sometimes she can even put her hands out of the shoulder strap. huhu.. That's why it's so dangerous to leave her alone in her high chair for a long time..

Even now, my stroller doesn't have a shoulder strap & u can see what happens in the pict that I post in facebook! She suddenly can face back and STAND on her stroller by holding on the stroller handle!!! That time I only leave her to go & heat up her milk, less than 5 minutes and she suddenly face back already.

Now she's also trying to climb her playpen to get out. huhuhu.. She'll use both her leg to jump on the side of the playpen.. But lucky the playpen is still high enough for her..

any mummies here still exclusive pumping 4 times (or more) a day?

I really need encouragement to continue. Especially the pumping at this hour!! Huhuhu.. My baby has slept overnight but I still lack of sleep becooz of the pumping. Then my cough is never healed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]. Dunno becoz lots of my colleagues is coughing in the office or just becoz I'm too tired. Sigh.. I've been coughing for almost 1 month now! It's like your throat is sometimes itchy.

Hubby has been handling Josie for her night feed for a few days now so I can rest from 9.30-11.30, then wake up to pump, then sleep again. But it doesn't seem to work for my cough. Huhuhu.. Drinking cough medicine, drinking redoxon also no used.

I want my 9 hours ++ sleep!! When I told hubby I'm so tired, my cough is never healed, maybe it's time to introduce formula milk to Josie, he said poor Josie need to drink formula milk. ZZZZZZZzzzzz!! He doesn't seem to want me to give up one of my pumping session. He's giving me lots of support but I NEED MY 9 HOURS OF SLEEP! Seems like it's a very very very long time ago. Huhu.. I used to sleep for 9 hours or more in a day, especially last time during preggy time.

Just wondering, If I don't pump 1 time to sleep for 9 hours, will my supply gets depleted?

some more, we're still dream feeding Josie at this time. Usually hubby will dream feed her. But sometimes he overslept!!! Then after I pump I need to dream feed Josie. Then need to wash the teat afterwards. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Thinking if I give up pumping at this hour, then I can take turn with him , 3 days me dreamfeed Josie, 4 days his turn. hehehe..

Just feeling a bit down with the unending cough. Huhuhu.. Everytime I go home I feel really really exhausted. Maybe my body is also fighting the virus in order for me not to get the worse infection again. But, still, my cough is really irritating me.

Groovy,

Me me me. I pump 4 times n sometime 5 times too. Indeed v v tired but I still not giving up cos my elder girl still drinking. Imagine my supply can give both my kids make me not to give up easily. Hope u can continue. Aim to pump until Jaren reach 1 yr old[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Groovy,

I express 3x in the office and sometimes 1x in the night. I sometimes skipped the night express, depending of whether Isaac wakes up > 1x for feed and how tired I am.

At least Josie sleeps thru'. Obe way to go around will be to drag the last express and skipped the night one. Ss may be affected but should be ok. For me and some of the mummies here, our baby is still waking up for feeds. I have long given up sleeping thru 8 hours per night and sleeping later than 8am even on weekends/ PH. Haha.

Tat is why Mothers' Day is so widely celebrated lah. Lol.

Groovy

it doesn't matter if you're giving BM or FM, you may still not have your 9 hours sleep! I have been giving FM since he was 3 mth old yet I still dont have 9 hours sleep as he still wake up for feeds in th middle of he night. Will be happy with 6 hrs.

Morning mummies n Ian,

Thank god that Kayden seems to be fine this morning. Did not vomit out his milk anymore. Hopefully he's ok n no vomiting today Liao.

Groovy:

I'm already very thankful if can get 6 hrs of sleep. Think it's quite impossible to hv 9 hours anymore. U can consider urself lucky that Josie can sleep thru.

hihi, good morning! glad it's friday already. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

apple,

thanks for the feedback. will ask gynae tomorrow about NUH. he mentioned before that the service at the NUH Fetal Care Centre is very good, but not sure if it will be the same for the maternity wards.

lilac,

glad to know you are settling well into the new role at work. last time i was from an MNC, everything very structured and got SOPs. i like it, but i disliked my overbearing, micro-managing boss. :p over here at another office, things are very relaxed, and a lot of things gotta do by myself. in other words, very one-woman-show lor. even go on biz trip gotta plan, book hotel/flight and go by myself. but the boss is good, so cannot complain. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

booboobear,

thanks for the compliments. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i also think she will have longer legs than her jie jie. lol! i'm really happy about having another girl! think the 2 sisters will grow up being very close to each other.

xin,

you are trying now? keep an open mind bah. boy or girl are both good! most importantly healthy and close to you and your hubby. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Booboobear,

Overall, we are pleased with the cleaner....cleans quite thoroughly, floor feels veri clean, better than the conventional vacumn cleaner...thou not 100% perfect but we're happy with it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

No regrets!

Morning mummies / ian,

Re: Baby sleeping thru

my boy still dont sleep thru at times. at nite i dunno how he sleep la... he will flip n roll while sleeping... flip n roll until the end of the mattress, 360 degrees turn or he can sleep awkwardly on his bolster he oso ok leh. -.-" Then sometimes he will 'eh eh eh' make noise in his sleep. I'll jus pop him his pacifier or give him a few sips of water, then he'll be ok. Sometimes he'll wake up n play n refuse to sleep until 2 hrs later. I'll leave him on our bed in between us let him play n roll ard while we sleep. SOmetimes he'll fall back asleep on his own... sometimes he'll whine or cry cos he wants to be cradled to sleep or maybe he wants milk. Since his 4-5 mth, PD has advised that no milk after 10.30pm. So since then, I already try not to give. Unless that day he dont hv enough milk feed intake or unless he is really really hungry, then middle of nite i will feed him. But i notice he quite a sabo king. Usually he will sleep thru on weekends. Sometimes can sleep till 8-9am. Weekdays ah when we need to work, he wakes up. Maybe cos he see us lesser on weekdays so he wanna wake up play with us. LOL

Starry: Hee thanks! Having a good boss is very very important. SO glad for you. :D Do u hv to travel again soon?

Hahaha mine's different fr urs! My last job was in a US mnc. Not structured at all and one man show. Initially was ok cos my boss was v nice. Then after restructure, they removed him and gave me a boss based in msia. She is the ambitious type, like to tripod bosses and will step on other dept toes type and worse sometimes she makes me do the dirty job for her and tell me not to tell others. WTH! Slowly and surely it made me hate what i was doing. Current company is local. Still too early to say they are good or better. But am keeping an open mind. Afterall no one company is 100% perfect. As long as its not too bad, its bearable. :D

good morning mummies!

metta,

haha, creative of you to secure your bb like that. haha.. i should try, tho i think mine will scream and wail!

groovy,

yes high chair also must keep a look out. the safest place is play yard, and cot at lowest setting with all sides drawn up. hope you get well soon! they say some cough can take 100 days..

lilac

my baby doesnt sleep through too cos she sleeps early at 8pm. will wake up between 2-3am to feed once. usually will go back sleep, wake up 6am, eyes big big =) but i rather she sleep early than sleep through the night. i do find during weekends when mom and dad around she will nap less, wanna play more!

Starry:

Ya. Sort of trying lor. Cos hb wants closer gap. But I half hearted la. Taking care of Kayden alone already quite taxing leh. Will see hw it goes bah. Taking it easy.

Re: baby sleeping thru

I'm still waiting for the day that kayden can sleep thru lor. Mb cos he sleeps early so will wake up wanting milk.

Lilac:

Kayden also same. Dunno how he sleeps lor. We already use heavy pillows to block him from flipping but somehow he still managed to turn sideways n end up 360 degrees turn. Every night wake up got to adjust the pillows to block him from falling onto the floor.

groovy,

i was in ur state 2 months back.. v bad cough n phlegm. ASk GP for jab, took up "better grade" of antibiotics, de-phlegm med and i manage get well. I was down with the same problem on Tue, so i ask GP for the above, till now i am almost recovering. (Please inform ur that ur r still bf)