(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Princess diamond, I mean hopefully pple won have ur contact no and SMS u again and again.

Mel yar I agree, taking flight with Hb seems long while with a baby time pass v fast. It was 1hr internal flight and 13hrs international flight for us.

Trish, oh ok thanks.

Claudia, my gal like to kick me too, kick till so pain and like to turn 360.

For e past 2 nights, Isaac woke up scratching n throwing tantrum bcosof his eczema. Haiz. I hope he outgrow it soon.

Dd is coming down with flu. Think she got it from school. E last 2x that Isaac came down with flu, e bug oriented from joelle. I hate it when Isaac gets flu. I hope dd dun share her virus.

good morning! I'm out of the house le.

Going to see my colleague and her baby at her mil's place. She's having a tough time bfing and the poor baby only pee twice since discharge from hospital yesterday!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Feeling worried for the both of them. Don't know why she ended up going to mil place 'cos she hated the mil. Plus all her pumps and stuff are at her own place. Quite messy and I think she's really really upset now. SMSed me at 4am for help.

Just nice that girl of mine woke up to poo at 3.30am! SIGH!!! So timely hor? She has not done that in ages lor. So took that as sort of a 'sign' that I must help her.

Think Mt E nurses also not very helpful. They just brought baby in and expected her to know what to do. Or just helped her latch on her baby and told her 'don't touch'!!! Hear already also feel mad for her. No wonder she had so many problems less than 24hrs back home. Poor girl. Hope later I can help her baby latch on. Scared I 'rusty' Liao. :p

Morning mummies n Ian.

Starry:

I thought only TMC cannot make it. Din expect Mt E so atas also like tat?

I din know how to BF my baby also n they just push baby in expecting me to know wat to so. The LC din even come see me at all.

In the end I had to engage a private LC before I was able to latch on baby successfully. Hope u can help her.

Jac:

Ur gf so poor thing.

Hope she persevere, it's all gonna be worth it when she gets the hang of things. ^^

Xin:

I had Lucas in Tmc too but I hv v gd exp with them leh.

The LC came to see me everyday wor & the nurses made sure I latch on correctly.

Made me so paiseh to bare my boobs to them everyday. Lol!

Mt E:

actually Mt E is not a good place for first time mommy.. the LC there is those cant bothered type, hardly see them doing rounds, phil nurses also attitude problem, dont have motherhood TV channel for guidance.. But the maternity ward is clean n nice becoz they just renovated their ward., (equipped with safe box, sofa bed, wardrobe, fridge, study table n mirror..) So only good for experience mommy to enjoy..

Jac> Josie also can't latch at all for 3 days and pees very little in her first week of life..

But she still grows up quite well when she's able to latch.

I hope you can help your friend.

I found the guidelines from LC, which is feed every 2 hours, didn't really work for Josie.. Everytime she sleep, and we try to wake her up to drink milk, she'll cry and won't be able to latch at all.. In the end it's very frustrating..

The best is if she poo/pee, then quickly latch her..

ian,

e after effect of durian is "foul burping smell"LOL..

how is bb doing?

princess,

hope with the help of nebulizer, bb will have a speedy recovery!!

jac,

my nails still looks fantastic, healthy n shiny looking!! in addition, yesterday i went to check out my usual nail bar, they have given me a much more expernsive quote..thank u once again for sharing.

Momotan:

U so lucky that the LC came to see u everyday. Think for me only once n she left very quickly.

The rest of the time they just push baby in n tats it.

Wen I went hm my breasts were super engorged n painful till can't sleep n cry in pain.

In the end I called Mt A and they gave me private LC contact no I call for help lor.

Mb cos I gave birth to Kayden on 20-10-2010.. too many mummies they Too busy?? I also not sure.

But think different levels service also different leh.

Ann,

Thks for adding!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ur boy is so chubby!! ^^

love his new "teether"!! Wahahaha!!

Good morning mommies and ian[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Emmie

Thanks,yea,she don't look sick at all and im worried cos i dunno if she is uncomfortable somewhere???[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cherry

thanks[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Apple

hahahha!!I don' think anyone would wanna give mobile no.Adding FB is Bad enough! WAHAHHAHAH!!!Its scary,you know......[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry

hope you are able to help your friend...remember,there is FM if she is unable to BF....the baby need fluids to pee n poo out the mecconium![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Momotan

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]They will be good in no time....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

so long everything is under control...the rest will take one step at the time[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]no worries....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my babies are under the good hands of their momma!!lol[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

claudia

glad that your bb is recovering...he dont like porridge?

zuen,

better bring your dd to doc n surpress her flu before it gets worsen...hope all the babies who is sick..get well soon[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

loca

hope your boy will recover soon....

i know wat you meant...think is harmless to feed him that...

i remember when n infant have diarrhea ,pd always encourage them to pass it out n we cont to feed tghe as much fluid as possible...you might wanna switch to soy base milk.?did you ask your pd that?

wat about some pearl barley water?can get source of iron from that too![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Breast feeding...

ai you...I was SO stressed and frustrated over it...

at the hospital i got the LC to see me twice.

each time when she was with me i was ok. and after that .. not lor.. sigh.

the nurses would be pushing bb for me to feed and i would feel so frustrated each time cos i was in pain from improper latch-on and doesnt help that my bb was a 'barracuda' [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] sucks super hard.. imagine having pointed nipples after each session.. cry ah!

after discharge i got the nursing pillow which i found helped me tremendously .. finally no pointy nipples! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

things will get better lor.. having survived 6 months of bf til now .. i am v happy liao to hv reached my target . . now thinking whether want to extend bf til bb doesn't want me anymore haha..

mummies who are still bfing - jia you!!

just reached office from my colleague's mil place.

just as i had expected, she didn't know what's right what's wrong in bfing and what to look out for etc. she said the nurses at Mt E didn't seem like wanting to teach her at all, all very busy. brought baby in, latched baby on and went out in 2 minutes flat. when she tried to reposition baby herself, the nurses told her not to touch/move! like that how to learn right?? when she questioned on the latching and techniques etc, the nurses all gave very vague answers until she very blur, don't understand what they mean 'cos 'not allowed' to hands-on herself. but luckily baby is able to latch le. hope she produces more wet and soiled diapers.

still think Mt A nurses got the best reviews so far.

good morning..

many entries to read :D haha.

wah, yday was terrible for me. whole body especially shoulder aching like crazy then followed by headache. went for a massage & the after-effect was PAIN though it did loosen up my tense shoulder. totally in pain man [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] And our missy Nat still kicked on my swell back. Alamak. then do her 'stunts' in ard 2am plus lor.

And like a walking 'zombie'

Momotan

Thanks..

Ur boy is so cute n has lots of hair! Like jay chou! Wahaha..

StarrY

No that princess mention it..

I think better sup with fm first if no pee/ poo.

coz last time nikolas also like that. Nv poo! So worrying. After 10 days thehn he poo.

For some mummies the bm supply kick in pretty late, after 1 week. (I think normally people with hv supply afer 5 days)

Hospital

I think really depend on ur luck too.

I was at mt a, they wheeled in baby n said "feeding time till xxx"

I was so shocked because i thought mt a is supportive of bf etc.

But dont care lah i called them back n the nurses doesnt know that im first time mom. They turned out to b very nice n help me through out. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

The lc never visit me though... maybe because i dont have major latching problem so they never refer me.

princess d,

yes i passed her a bottle of the ready-to-drink formula. the one and only one i have at home. :p hope she won't need to give that from now on lah.

xin,

Mt E considered atas too? i felt the hospital was a bit gloomy and dull. only the maternity wards look more vibrant and warm. still feel TMC and Mt A's environment are better among all the private hospitals.

my friend was really very thankful that i went over and i was glad to help too. 'cos been thru all those things before and it was really very very challenging during the initial week especially with engorgement and sore nipples.

ah... brings back 'fond' memories... haha!!

Good Morning

BF

KK is probably one of the most pro BF hospital. Almost every nurse that bring the bb to me can teach me how to latch on and provide me bf tips. Unless engorged or blocked ducts if not they don't call for the LC. Mt E support is so so only. You have to go to the LC, not they come to your room. In the end, after discharge i pay and see the LC in KK for #1

Jac, hope your friend can get the hang of it soon. If not, engaged a private LC to the house?

Zuen, hope Joelle get well soon and not pass to Issac. Me too hates it when Cae is down. It affects his sleep/feed, everything lah and so cranky. Hope his eczema goes off soon. Poor boy must be so uncomfortable that he can't sleep.

Claudia, he is better but still coughing(usually after feed) and got phlegm. His TCM medicine to be given alt. days. This morning his nose a little block, me not taking chance and gave him Zephyr prescribed by PD previously.

Loca, me not sure so can't advice you. Maybe best to check with PD?

starry, ur friend is very blessed to have u guide her. the 1st wk after birth is a very challenging phase. i m glad that during those days i have a few helpful friends guiding me & supporting.

these are REAL friends :D

ann,

my milk supply came in on 2nd/3rd day! felt like colostrum not a lot leh. 2nd day late afternoon already got engorgement and by 3rd day got bm already. my friend still producing colostrum now even though 4th day already. but it's ok as long as got something. good that you knew how to ask for help and called the nurses back. i guess most of them just assume that you know what to do and leave you alone most of the time.

re: Mt A LC

i have very FOND memories of the LC there also. came to see me only ONCE and squeezed the heck out of my poor boobies!! never felt so much pain EVER! next time i deliver, i don't want to see another LC for as long as i live. *shudders*

stella, remember we were talking about our babies hving sweaty feet? i hv asked the PD. the answer he gave was abit vague though =P but he briefly mentioned tat sometimes these sweaty feets can be due to thyroid problem. however he continued to say that Nat was tested during her birth so its not thyroid. And he said its just like some adults hving sweaty palms. so i wld guess he's refering to active sweat glands.

Starry

If ur frind lrdy ha scolostrum then i think supply will appear soon. Coz for me really nothing !! Squeeze also nothing, no engorgement etc.. i think he's only latching for comfort for the first few days!

Yes agree w bblibran. U r a blessing! The first few days are the hardest! I remember i cried so mny times.

diveera,

didn't know KK nurses are so good! 'cos i heard otherwise about those nurses. glad you had a good experience there.

bblibran,

i am also glad that i went over to help. 'cos if someone text you at 4am asking for help it must be quite urgent/desperate. you are also very blessed to have friends to help guide you during those days. i had to rely on this forum and myself. really very hard at first. cried almost everyday 'cos nipple damn painful. anyway, it was a good experience. will be more 'pro' for this #2. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

oh wanna ask something.. my friend said her baby didn't like latching on the left breast, but preferred the right one. just now when i went over, i helped her baby latched on to the right one and taught her the football hold. she's a csect mom and i was very surprised the nurses never taught her football hold. it was SO MUCH easier for her and the baby!

anyway, back to qn... why does baby prefer right than left side?? didn't have chance to try help her latch on left side so don't know where the problem lies. jadelyn didn't show any preference so appreciate any input from you ladies. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Great tt u r able to help ur fren.

She's lucky to hv u!! ^^

Preferences on boobs:

Lucas did prefer 1 over another.

I realised it's due to my angle of carrying him until it bcame a preference to him.

So hv to readjust & Hv to force him to latch the side he dun like.

Not sure got any other reasons.

Bbliran:

U still bf aft 6 mths? Bravo!!

Lucas gonna be 6mths soon. I'm thinking of stopping.

So sian of waking up to pump @ 5am & doing all the washing. Lol!!

But at work can eat snake legitimately. Haha

Starry, yes I have to agree wth Diveera tht KK nurses are good. My sister baby was transferred there as she needs Ops. The nurses there guide her how to latch and are very patience, they even tell them to kangaroo hug (skin-to-skin)the baby everyday if possible to bond wth baby.

Hope all the babies that are unwell recover soon! Shoo shoo away all the viruses!

Bblibran

Thank you,They girls are doing good..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

fatty bom bom is off to school today after 4days of lazing around in house with telly turn on almost every morning for her...she is back to her reality!!LOL

Starry

Some mommies produce more milk on certain breast..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

And also must ensure that her milk ducts are all clear..it can be due to the left breast ducts are not all clear thereofor the right is always the preferred one...

It is oso can be due to the holding position on left side that bb are not comfortable...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jade is a left breast drinking!!and my left breast filled up real fast! cos then i dunno n had a same question too!So she got her milk fast from the left where the right always not very full...

try to let the bb latch at alternate breast and massage the left breast more often n alaways starts with the left first (for her case) till baby are comfortable?[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

She is so blessed to have you as friend[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

MEH

I remember vividly when i had m surgery in MEH,the Nurses are nice indeed but their room are not impressive at all...like wast starry said,the overall environment very cold n gloomy....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

8-9days there was not fun and the snr staff nurse are kinda fierce..LOL

When i got pregnant,i decided to go bk to my gynae who is one of the surgeon who operated on me the last time n he is in MEH....

I was very skeptical about delivering in MAH which he does operate there as well...

But after hearing feedbacks from my friends who delivered in MEH...My HB insisted that i deliver bb in MAH which i have no regrets at all[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Even my gynae told me that all her patients chose MAH over MEH....

My Gf told me,she was with the hospital gowns during delivery and nobody help or changed her to another gown tho it was badly stained!

The next day her HB help her to changed to her own PJ...but shorly she stained herself and asked for a gwn from hospital....The nurse told her all run out..she had to wear her stained PJ till her HB reach from work bk to pasir ris then to MEH....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] BAD BAD...

Another friend

This couple first born was at MEH...Wife insisted!!

My friend no choice but to follow his wife decision...

After delivery,Gifts n hampers swam in their room[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nurses came in and scolded the couple..YES,SCOLDED THEM! said is too congested in the room...can tell nicely la..no need to scold...then his wife made a complaint to the DIrector of the hospital....dunno wat happened after that....

2nd child....deliver in TMC.....

now 3rd child...said wanna go MAH!!Wahhahaha

Starry:

Glad u were able to help your friend.

MtE in orchard area mah. So atas lor. Hehe.

Well, Kayden Also got preference. He prefers left than right. Think mb cos of the flow or the shape of the nipple? I also not sure leh. But whenever he refuse to latch on the right n I switch him to the left, he'll latch lor. Very weird.

So I think my supply uneven la. Cos left side more latched on than right side. Hehe.

momotan,

i was guessing it was positioning but couldn't be very sure. thanks for your feedback. did you cradle him all the way? i think my bfing days so short-lived could be the way i carried jadelyn in the past. she didn't seem comfortable after a while and would wriggle/struggle.

mummies who are still bfing, i really take my hat off for you all. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Oh yah now that teoong brought up KKH...

Rem my gf who delivered her bb at week24???she had her bb delivered at MEH too!

Becos is premmie it have to be at NICU....

She said she is allowed ,only inder surpervision to carry her bb then bcos she is TOOOOOOOOOOO SMALL!

so okay la...

i bough th PUPSiK nursing shawl for her and asked her to do the skin-t0-skin contact or the kangaroo.....SHe did and she felt so nice ..so as the baby.....

A nurse came n asked her...why do u take off your blouse???why cannot hug with shirt on???You'll cantch a cold u know?

so my gf replied,,she wanna do the kangaroo..the nurse said...whats that??????

WHAT IS DAT????

lol...so happened i was at MEH to do my post natal check up n met her there...we both laughed n laughed..so we just concluded that the midwoves n nurses there in NICU are not very experience??[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ian

glad xavier is recovering....

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] everything increased except my pay...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]booooo hahhahahahhahahahah!!!

Ian,

can reduce a little of the milk intake and spread over to more feeds.. to help bb hold their food than to merlion. hope speedy recovery to bb as well.

mommies:

may i know what is atas??

princess d,

thanks! i will let her know what u suggested. her milk haven't come in yet and i felt her breasts, no lumps at all. think it's holding position as what u said.

re: uneven supply

although jadelyn had no preference which breast, i also produce uneven amounts. left side always lesser by 30-50ml.

Starry

is very common to have uneven amount,not to worried...me too..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ask her not to stress too much over bfg...Jsut let it be...if today is her 2-3day..it will soon come ,the ss for some ppl can come even after 2 weeks..it depends on how much the bb drink n latch during the first few days...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

princess d,

wahahaha!! so funny! doing the kangaroo.. lol! surprised they don't know. duh... next time got this kind of incident again, tell the nurses it's a type of CHICKEN DANCE. had a good laugh. :D

ian,

glad xavier is recovering! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cherry> the doc advised us to dilute the formula and monitor 1st..if no merlion..then can slowly resume back to normal~

starry

both my boys prefer the right side.i think its the size of the nipples, one is slightly shorter than the other hence one side is easier to latch on. once i try to latch the other side, they get frustrated and start to yell their heads off.

So, i had very uneven production for each side.

your fren definitely needs a lot of support. i rem my first bb i sms my SIL for advice, luckily got her support as my MIL was not very pro bf. keep saying BM not filling, baby keep crying. for the 2nd one, she changed her mind and became very pro BF instead after us educating her the benefits..LOL.