woohoo... Good morning ladies and Ian...
wah lao, I got to read so many archives leh... scary..
Was really laffing away on the train while reading what you all post... like sia cha bor like that...
Anyway, on enrichment classes, my #1 din have any coz like shin's hb, my hb is a non-believer in enrichment classes. Although I did go for some play gym trials with my forum frens when #1 is less than 1yo, we find that it is so so so tiring for parents... haha.. coz they are still young and in the end, the parents got to carry up carry down etc. After that gym trial not only the kid KO, the parent also KO lor. haha...
Anyway, my hb has his own way of thinking and I respect it lah. Luckily for #1, we are able to spend a lot more time and effort to interact and teach him at home, plus most imptly, he attended childcare at 18mths and the cc provides enrichment activities too. So we dun see the need for extras.
But now, I felt that we dun really have much time to help him in his mandarin, even though I am an A1 student for chinese (rusty liao). I wanted to cultivate his interest in mandarin before he go to primary school in 1-2 years time (now he is in K1). So managed to convince my hb to let him try Berries. We are checking it out now so hopefully he can get it and enjoy the language which I did.
So there is no right or wrong in sending or not sending your kid for enrichment classes at young age. I believed at this young age of our babies now, all they need is LOTS and LOTS of love.
My sis sent her son for GUG. But thats it. She just sing song to her son, bring him to enrichment class but spend very little time with him. End up, he learns nothing except memorising the zoo phonics. Ask him other things, he dun know. Only know the song they taught. Now he seldom sees his own mother coz she works late and have all sorts of activities. I felt sad for the boy lor. Worse is that, we suspect the boy got a bit of autistic. sigh... long story...
So all in all... hug and kiss and spend lots of time with our kids... they will grow up fine. And most imptly, they know that we love them so much.
Sorry lah... a bit emotional here. Maybe after reading that sad story link really affects me a lot. That photo still lingers in my mind. Makes me want to hug and kiss my kids every single second...