(2010/09) September 2010 MTB

Hi 5 Yvonne and BabyMaine! I use the Avent Blender cum Steamer too.

Really thumbs up for this gadget. Makes it really fun to puree food for baby. Easy to assemble, steam then just flip to blend, and easy cleanup. Saves a lot of time.

I didn't puree that much for #1 as using the old method, it was troublesome and tedious to do so (i'm lazy), and with her refusing most puree, i gave up quite soon. But with #2, i'm so motivated to make more for him.

*PS : this is not a paid advert and i'm not working for philips.* ;)

starluster: u are so funny! i m the opposite of u. since my second one so enthu i feel less keen on making purees but will intro family foods straight up, in chunks/chip shaped minus seasoning. hehe. trying this new-ish babyled weaning approach by jill rapley

East gathering @ tampines

April 11, Monday

Venue: SarahMay's Home

Time: 2pm - 5pm

Suggested activities: Painting? Water play? Reading and storytelling?

1. Letty (Baby Scott & Helper)

Calling stay at home mummies in the east: I got a suggestion :p what do you think if we come together for regular gatherings where we make and create projects together with our toddlers or babies and then share during our regular gatherings? Could be a science project, a live storytelling session with activities to follow, growing herbs or plants, etc etc. We can start with a theme and gather say every fortnight?

Letty,

What projects can babies work on? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Can experience mommies demo on yummy recipes too? :D Then our babies can have yummy to eat too.

Mummies.... Date has been decided. I am flying off on the 4th May!! would love to catch up with you all ladies one more time. GATHERING!!!

Shall we have a gathering closer to end of April, suggest 23rd (Sat) or 24th (sun) seems there is a photoshoot early of april already.

Location: Central City. (either can have it in a restaurant or cafe ... or even my humble home :p)

Anyone interested?

April 11, Monday

2. Phyphy

Clueless

I'm interested

SarahMay - thanks for sharing your thoughts on organic food. really appreciate it as i've been mulling over it for some time.. btw when you refer to milk.. you mean pasteurized milk to be used in cooking?

Letty - which Gina Ford book are you following? I'm going to try out the weaning schedule suggested by her in "The contented little baby book of weaning"... do let me know whether the schedule/routine makes Scott a more contented baby! =)

Clueless - I'm interested. Can I join?

Wah.. the mummies in the east are so happening..

Hi hi

Would like to join here as well. Am a Nov 10 mummy (my 3rd bb) & have been silent reading tis thread too...mind if I join any east side gathering?

Hi Starluster, can I check is the avent steam and blender easy to use? Am tempted to get but my mum said to use back previous blender which I ind troublesome if got to steam using another equipment then blender...some more tis is my 3rd bb and she said y get one more then later not using it...

Windy: It can be a lapbook sort of project, it can be a stuff toy you made with the little one, basically, something to 'show and tell' even if it is just to catch the babies' attention. A short and colourful story is great for 7-12 mths old babies! I am sure you can think of more :p creative creative!

We can make carrot sticks or bread sticks for the babies haha..

Mummyliang: I have all the GF books from her contented little baby - contented toddler - little book on weaning. And it has so far worked for both my elder daughter and Scott - both are on routines suggested by GF. Scott slept through the night at 2 months and is still doing good now. I would say that it had been great to help us 'guess' what his whines were- hungry at 2pm, sleepy at 4.30pm etc. Whining at weird hours usually mean discomfort or that he is feeling unwell. Worked so far. The growth spurts are also documented and its not difficult once you have the routine on paper and follow the timings.

Naf and chris: sure do! just put down your names [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

April 11, Monday

2. Phyphy

3. Naf

Thank you letty [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

April 11, Monday

2. Phyphy

3. Naf

4. Chris (she said she is in earlier so I add for her)

5. Windy

Thank you letty

Just wanna share

Sembawang Shopping Centre having FOX sales and selling clothes alot cheaper than normal price...baby suit $6 per pcs and things like that i bought afew ytd aft work...a piece of advise...the sales is better for toddlers (more clothes) but they also have more clothes for little girls but at $23 - $9 if im not wrong sales till 13 march....

Letty, u make me wanna go ur hse...but i stay in yishun...is there direct transportation till ur hse?

April 11, Monday

2. Phyphy

3. Naf

5. Windy

6. dawned (Baby & Helper)

Hi, im an eastside sep mummy too. would love to join the gathering at SarahMay's. Thank you.

HI Letty,

Can you share with me Scott's daily schedule as per GF? I'm actually following the Baby Whisperer one for my almost 6 months old Nicole but it's not working out so well.. maybe I'm not disciplined enough or what.. haaaa...

Also, I was looking at her weaning book - the schedule and menu that she suggested.. lots of sweet potato on her menu! Did you follow her suggested menu as well?

Thanks Letty!

Krietelle

Bus 969 can bring u to tampines but still need a feeder bus to bring u to letty house unless u don mind walking

Letty,

I'm keen to join in activites you mentioned for toddlers and babies. I always wish that my boy can attend the gathering with me but without any activites, i scare he run around and step on the babies instead.

April 11, Monday

2. Phyphy

3. Naf

5. Windy

7. Kris

Kristelle,

Fox sales...hmm, maybe might drop by SSC to take a peep. Thanks

Anyone keen to go together if keen and free?

mummyliang: hi babe, i think Swede is rutubagas or yellow turnip [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] u can find it in NTUC finest or cold storage.

Chewy - Thanks! I was looking though Annabel Karmel's recipes and came across swede.. heheh.. then went to NTUC Extra AMK and could only find "local turnip" which is not a turnip at all.. so confusing.. and Chinese spinach is not spinach but amaranth! @.@

Hi Friends! Have been really swarmed at work so no time to share much. Sorry for missing out. I see this really interesting East mommies gathering that I would hv joined but can't take leave. I hope u r all well!

Letty, I thought u were a working mom. Btw, think my maid turned put quite gd. She's quite smart so I try to use her for her smartness, like finding out information and queuing ahead at the PD hehe.

Clueless, all the best in your move to Oz!

Letty,

April 11, Monday

2. Phyphy

3. Naf

5. Windy

7. Kris

8.Pinkyluv

dawned, great u r going [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] we have not met since our nus days !

Clueless

count me in [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sarah : will facebook u for direction

i have the following to exchange for enfapro stage 2

1)Nan Pro 2 (expire 30/4/2012) 400g

2)Simlac 2 (expire 09/05/2012) 400g

3)Dumex Mamil Gold 2(expire 26/10/2012) 400g

4)S26 Promil Gold 2 (expire 19/1/2012)400g

5) Friso Gold 2 (15/10/2012)900g

if interested,please pm me

Hi, i have the following to exchange for similac 2

1. S26 Promil Gold 2 400g exp 19 Jan 2012

2. Nan Pro 2 400g exp 30 apr 2012

3. Mamil Gold 2 400g exp 17 Aug 2012 & 3 Jun 2012

collection west area. thanks

clueless,

i'm keen to catch up wif before u leave for oz.

Chewy,

bm ss. Last wk, I tried to reduce my ss by not clearing my nn. Then i kana milk ducts. It was so painful until kana headache n almost fever last sunday. So now i got no choice got to clear my nn at least 3times a day. I m now pumping in suntec toilet. No place to store my ebm cos' am working on IT Show. Got to pump n throw.

Btw, suntec is jammed pack like a mad house - even car park at marina sq n millenia walk is full. mummies who wants to come with their babies do consider.

Thanks tigerlily for informing abt the crow at suntec as wanted to go carrefour today...will skip then [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Anyone goin to taka bb fair?

Naf: welcome.. a few of us went yesterday in search of car seat n exersaucer.

basically, nothing much there. Avent steamer cum blender is more exp than Isetan/ Metro sale. But comes with 4 more via cups which means u actually pay for it.

Pigeon offering 50% if u trade in any btls. Errr.. other than that.. once glance and u c alot of strollers/ prams/ car seats..

Tiger Lily - that time when we went to the mothercare fair you bought some pacifiers? which brand was it? I bought the pigeon 5-8 months and my baby hates it... @.@

I want to buy one that will actually stay in her mouth at least until she falls asleep during nap time... Thanks!

jynnsan: when u going? cos rmb i work ther :p

mummyliang: u joining the east meeting? i still considering cos quite far from yishun leh...scared bb cannot tahan the boring bus ride n start screaming before we reach :p

just wanna share with u my bb is using mam products including pacifier...i personally thinks it is not bad...cos my bb last tym eat pacifier oso won't stay on...but with some practice oki already :D

Phyphy: where to take the feeder bus? is mrt better? cos my bb is better on train...

tigerlily: if u wanna lower ss u mayb can try to pump with hands n not pump till totally empty...cos that time i like that then my ss drop...end up have to latch on my bb for long period of time till ss returns...

mummyliang,

suggest u avoid suntec these few days cos' IT fair is on. The fair wil end on sunday. I m working so no choice got to go. The crowd is terrible. lucky as exhibitor, we uses the loading bay lift. But the air there is terrible alot of smoke n my hair smell terrible. i m using mam pacificer. Use that when my bb wants to slp can stay in her mouth very much long. I oso hav almost the full range of mam prdts - bottles, washing cloth for mouth, brushes, teether...

Kristella,

i am using medela swing - single pump. Normally, i will use medela on left side cos' let down slow. Then i hand express right side. 15mins later, i use medela on right side. Ytd, willing pumping, my battery died so i hand pump n didn't clear both nn. I skip evening pump cos' was really busy. When i reach home at 11pm, i m so engoge that my nn is rock hard, got milk ducts + so painfull. I pump n hand express for 45mins oso can't clear. Woke up at 6+ to pump. Finally cleared in 30mins. I m pumping only 3times a day now. Each pump abt 300ml+/-.

FM vs BM

any mummy here can advise me. Should we start our babies with FM at or ard 6mths? My colleagues keep saying better to start changing to fm cos' got dha etc... But i got so much ebm + my ss is more than my bb's demand. I already gav away half of my frozen ebm last wk n my chest freezer is half fill. at work, i pump n throw now nly store those ebm i pump at home.

TGIF!!!

Kristelle,

I went on Wed's evening, saw you but you were busy with customers so never approached you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif], you really look exactly like a student with the cap on, if dun know you will never imagine you are a mother liao :p

Got some baby legging, skirts and shoe from the sales though.

Tigerlily,

I still think of going to the IT fair tonight, hmm, must reconsider, sounds bad, I dun think suitable for bb to follow bah..

Kristella

i think its faster to take bus as it goes by highway.

the gathering place is at sarah's ,im not sure where her house located.

tiger lily

bm also got dha.

it depend on u. i think that in singapore not many ppl can accept mummy bfing her toddler .if u are link to sarah through fd.she did post an article that she wrote.

jyannsan,

if u realli need to come then dun bring baby. I m already here an hr ago. Lots of ppl queue to go in. Dunno for what come so early. Offical closing time is 9pm but customer hang ard until 10pm+. Last nite i finish at 10:30pm after collecting all the sell-thru' from my customer. Heng my boss send me hm, otherwise, wont' reach hm by 11pm. Hope today can end earlier. Everytime, after roadshow i sure burnt out.

Hi Letty,

I'm also a silent reader, staying in the east, with a Sept bb girl. Can I join too? Your initiative is so hard to resist! :D

Tiger Lily - Thanks but I have no intention of going anywhere near the IT fair. Okay I shall try Mam then...hopefully my bb will like it. =) As for whether fm or bm - I think give bm until 6 months since you'ver got so much. After that then you can consider giving fm when out and bm when home...? I know a mum who might need frozen ebm to give to her babysitter if you're still giving away..

Krsitelle - I didn't know you work there! Anw thanks for informing about the sale, I bought some baby leggings and dresses. =) Thanks for sharing about the pacifier as well.. see if my hubby can help me buy... =P I would love to join the gathering at SarahMay's home in the east but it's really far for me.. I stay in cck leh.. by the time I reach SarahMay's house bb will be out of sorts I think..

Tigerlily:

are you taking any supplements? my gynae prescribe me multi vitamins, fish oil(DHA) and calcium... same as pregnancy

so i guess if either u eat moderate amt of fish or fish oil... our bm will have dha too....

Phyphy,

i agreed alot of ppl dont really support bfing here... sad to say tat includes my mum

East side gathering

would loves to.... but have been taking alot of leaves... ever since i start work... so i cant take anymore leaves le... if it's on weekend i would loves to join

Can I check if you all receive the 2nd cash gift payout from Baby Bonus already? Is it automatic or we need to apply again?