(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

Cath, u r so pro! Even call up to reserve the colours.

Zoie, I'm ok with tampines. Your plc is bigger than jenn's? My 4 room is really pathetic at 85sqm. sofa play area is only half of jenn's. Sad... We were very happy living in it until this lil one comes along, then I realise my house is too small.

Cath

Your MIL lives in JB right? and you stay in woodlands. should be ok for your hubby right? I mean weekends are family time lor. a bit wasted that your hubby is not around.

Xiao Xiin

Buy a preloved Ergo lah. Then sell your baby bjor. I find the ergo useful. I only paid $50 for my used one. it's alittle old but i don't mind lah. just washed it with hot water, put in dryer should kill all the germs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Also, you can keep and use when you have #2 mah. My friend still using her ergo even tho her baby is already 18 months.

Zoie,

I'm ok with Tampines but timing is an issue cos need to send/ pick Jeph to and from school.

Jenn

Oh my hub will come back this morning n we 'll go back n fetch mil tomorrow evening. So we still 'll hv family day. Yeah.

Xiao xiin

Hee hee thanks for the compliments. Must do Sui Sui if not don do.

Re play venues

I'm also ok w tampines! Or my plc at tpy also avail if want.. No pool nor free car parking tho =))

Any mummies have recommendations for nannies? Helping fren to find one for her sis =))

Hope

I won't recommend the agency I used. Haiz so so disappointed. Hope ur friend sis can find someone reliable.

Missbluey

Maybe can tell ur hub that if he wanna give, can dilute the soft drinks. I dilute f &n grape like nobody biz but my 2yo still LOVE till the max. Can finish one regular macs cup in 1 go.

Zoie,

What I do is bb in carrier n carrier stroller n bag up feeder bus...

Bluey,

I think all grandparents will spolit market? I throw all those unhealthy jellies, sweets into the rubbish chute right away. Even when he is coughing they will buy Yakut despite my hb telling them... I got really angry n threw it away... Cuz if my boy see sure wanna drink.. If drink already sure cough..

Stop buying ribena? I bought before but my boy not really keen leh... He is more into soya bean milk... Also will cause phlegm... Sigh...

Re bumper mat

Those using parklon how is it? And cheapest is BP or elsewhere?

I have one LG and I'm so reluctant to downgrade to a parklon one but no point selling my biggest one n need to top up money for a smaller one leh...

And any idea which size is more suitable for 6 panel play yard?

Re bb crawling

My boy started moving backwards yesterday... Today he manage to do backwards for a distance... And he just learn how to flip back. Haha! Now bb cot is too small for him!

And last night I was carrying #2 and feeding #1 at the same time and suddenly #2 just grab the bowl. Luckily I grab the bowl as well if not the pasta will fly out.... So mummies must be careful with our bb now cause they start to get really interested with bowls n plates...

Xiaoxin: my plc is bigger than Jenn's. Think the living rm is 1.5 to 2 times her size. Thats y I m reluctant to move to another plc.

Actually ergo can be used for quite long till toddler age as well. I'll prob just use the carrier as backup in future... When he is tired/wants to b carried instead of being in stroller

Anyway I find stroller v ma fan.

Hopecg: I m scared of dogs!!

XiaoXin- Doc was saying it might b coz by hygiene or even diapers. Dun think is hygiene coz we change his diapers ever 2-3hrs n check often if he gt poo. Dun mean to frighten any mum doc was saying it could b e material of diapers too. WAs on Mamy Poko or Pampers all e while till I tired to svae cost by using NTUC diapers den nt even 2wks kana UTI. Duno coincidence or wat. Kidney n UTI connected de n tat he fever for 1wk b4 i gt e right treatment so thus alittle more compplicated.

Cath, can call to reserve colors ah? Hmm can pm me e number? I shld b gg down to get also if e price is 277+ as mentioned by cath.. Any mummies nd to tong bang? I stay sk n my mums place amk.. But just to check if buy frm supplier got free filter right? Hw much is e filter? Is it more worth? I rem seeing e filter at taka but didn't check e price..

Jolene, we nearly bot ntuc diapers the other time. But heng I dun like housebrands so bot drypers. Saw your fb photos, bb so kelian. He must have grown a lot stronger after this incident.

Zoie, that's very big for 4 room. U got a good deal! My second house must be big. I'm suffering from endless bruises bcos my plc is too cramp. Dogs r very cute n loving animals. U must have had a bad childhood encounter with them huh. My hubby was bitten by dog before n protest strongly when I say I wanna get a dog. But now, he loves the dog n treat her like own daughter.

Jenn, my bjorn is new leh. She bu de sell n get a second hand ergo. I rather sell my Capella n get combi urban walker leh.

My boy refuse to sleep in yaolan. Wan me to carry until sleep then i transfer him to dilam. No need to do housework liao.

Haha! Zoie u had bad exp w dogs huh? My dog is usually caged up in kitchen, unless let out w close supervision lo.. But free roaming in kitchen..

Xiaoxiin

Sometimes Jojo also dont want Yao Lan.. We have a few options for him.. Yao lan, carry, cot, bed, rocker.. Usually one of them will work.. It's like a checklist! Ha!

xiaoxin: yah, a v good deal. we got our place at only 212k (4 years ago) but 2nd floor la cos my MIL scared of taking lifts to high heights. i really love the big space I have at home. will be very hard to adjust to a small place in future.

hopecg and xiaoxin: i only had one bad experience with dogs but the reason why I am scared of them is because I dont like them to lick me!!!! I dont like animals to lick me...sorry, no offence to dog lovers.. its just me

Xiaoxin- Dun mean tat cheap diapers means no gd la bt den duno izzit e cause or wat. Now i rather spend alittle more den spend a bomb on hospital bill. So ke lian rite? i keep lookin at e pics to remind mi dun b cheapskate too. LOL!

Bliss- For e 6 panel playard depends u wan e mat to b fitted inside it or e playard on top of e mat. IF I'm nt wrong, 1900*1300 is e size where playard fit on top of it perfectly. I gt e 2300*1400*15mm LG mat bt its big for my 6 panel playayrd. U wan i can take pics of it n show it to u in fb.

Xiao Xiin

Then just buy a used Ergo lor! Look for one at $50-$80 range one lah. It's like that de when you have baby. You buy something based on others recommendation but it might not really work for you. Lots of trial and error de. With toys also like that.

Zoie

Then your MIL cannot come to my place. level 25! hahaha... Your place sounds great - big and airy!

Dogs

I also afraid of dogs esp when they are very jumpy. And those very big dogs that don't bark but make those scary "grrrrrrr" noise.

Cath

Did you go to the BMW World? Is it nice? Got things for kids to play?

Bliss,

I read that parklon n LG mats are the same both manufactured by parklon so in the end I got parklon and save the cash for other stuff .. and only one that I saw with parklon mats and cheap is crazyaboutkorea BP I think.... so maybe its not a downgrade afterall?

Jolene,

Jus us,

I saw parklon before and indeed LG is better quality. I spike to the organizer too n she/he said 15mm parklon is like 11mm LG... Now considering the size...

My new hse is so small! Last time I can put my 2300 x 1400 in the living room without a problem!

Haha! Zoie u had bad exp w dogs huh? My dog is usually caged up in kitchen, unless let out w close supervision lo.. But free roaming in kitchen..

Xiaoxiin

Sometimes Jojo also dont want Yao Lan.. We have a few options for him.. Yao lan, carry, cot, bed, rocker.. Usually one of them will work.. It's like a checklist! Ha!

Bliss

You're another shopping queen! Also like to buy things! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sheryl can you tell me how u measured amount of water against size of potato? How long to steam? Then just flip and it blends till you switch off or it will auto off? My machine still inside store room unopened, considering whether want to use it.

Jenn

Super heavy rain. So i din go. Fr the TV advert seems like our #1 will like the BMW toy cars n bikes. Went city sq instead but the whole mall Fr level 2 is v quiet considering it's a sat. But #1 got a little tike car to sit in - free! He enjoyed it to the max!

Zinc

I'm just KS so call to reserve. If i din call, i would hv gone to vivo. Luckily i called n knew tt vivo don sell. Price is dependent on how many sets u r getting cos if u can offset the rebates against the last unit then arrive at an average unit price. Got slight difference in price.

Jenn,

No lar... Super budget! Haha! My bumper mat is 3 yrs ago one but sadly the size is too big that covers half of my living rm floor! Haha! I sweep 2-3 times a day so very difficult to roll up everytime...

Hopecg, no reply yet from the Tupperware seller. I was at Ikea today and I saw silicone ice cube trays, didn't see the price though. It doesn't come with lid but my hubby said silicone material easier to pop out the cubes, and just use cling film to cover the food when in the freezer. I considering the option, and next week I will be going to ikea again to buy things for my new flat. R u interested in the silicone tray method? If u r I can help u buy.

Ikea??? I want to go too!

Cath,

That's the reason why I love going to City Sq Mall. It's generally more quiet even on weekends. They have a nice and big NTUC at B1. I shop there very often.

That's also where my #1 got his crocs jammed at the escalators. Thankfully the mall is new thus I think they have the newer escalators where it stops immediately as soon as something is jammed at the escalator - not those old type that keeps on going. Else my #1's toes will be gone liao.

Tywong,

Daiso, BHG, OG sell those with lids too... Mine all Bought from there.. As freezer is too Small my icecube tray all got to be stack so a lid is needed.

Baby rainbow I went to dais but can't find. Maybe will check out BHG.

Hopecg, can you pm me yr number so if I see any I can call you?

Jenn you like ikea? Haha! Do you go to wet markets? I looking for partner to teach me to shop at wet markets from next year.

bliss,

opps oh well I already bought it liao.. see how loh when it arrives... I was considering the LG Aosbang ones but it was like 318 for the design I like so I decided not to get it its afterall a playmat

Ty,

I go wet market shopping every Tue. Mon all wet markets are closed as no fishing on Sun thus no fishes available on Mon.

The trick is to go to the wet market you intend to shop at, choose the stall with either the most variety or the most people. Tell them you're buying to feed your baby. Don't bargain the 1st few times there - get them on your good side. Buy alot at a time, if possible. Always go to the same stall. Once you esthablished yourself as a good regular, then can bargain liao. Also, ALWAYS go early ie before 800a on weekends or 900a on weekdays, else all the good fresh ones are taken.

OMG! I just realised I am so auntie now?!

Hopecg: u looking for CL? I can recommend my CL to ur friend. Let me know if u one.

Gathering:

I dun mind meeting up coming wed. Anyone interested?

Jenn bo pian la, got kid already we have to be aunty. Which market you go? I m totally clueless, I don't know what is what and don't know all the vegetables and fishes.

Ty,

I go to the one near my place - Pek Kio Market, near KKH. You should have 1 near your place. No point driving far, far to get groceries.

In the beginning I also don't know what is what. Slowly learn lor. The seller will teach you.

For fish to feed baby, I always buy cod or threadfin.

Raleigh

Tks! But my fren sis needs a nanny rather than cl lei.. Looking at long term basis.. Know of any??

Tywong

PMed you! =) was at ikea earlier and I think I saw e silicon trays u mentioned.. Fine by me too if they work..

Jenn, Owen road you mean? My mum goes there. Near my new flat should be the small small tg pagar market. My hubby wants me to go to bedok! He says that market very good! Sigh. Maybe I will try tiong bahru. I hope the sellers don't lose patience with me! When my CL is back in feb, I will get her to teach me. What I am not sure abt is that the fishes or meat sold is already thawed, then is it really ok to freeze it again at home?

Hopecg, I will shop around next week and let u know.

Yes! Owen Road.

The fishes I still freeze them when I bring home. Cos fishes like Cod and Salmon are all imported so definitely already frozen and then thaw/ half thaw while being sold. But I buy lots at a go usually 1-2 kg type so have to freeze. Should be ok lah. See my Jeph eat until so king-kong [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pork sold are just chilled so definitely ok de.

You are most welcome to join me this coming Tue. The wanton mee at the market is good. I always eat there after marketing before heading home.

cath, thanks so much for taking the time to email me abt the rebates calculation.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] if i wana get it i sms u to get the number to call for reserving colour kk.. bt even if hubby agree to let me buy, i duno how to arrange timing on tues.. coz im working then at first tot can drop by vivo during lunch to grab fast fast.. bt if onli orchard have, then i duno if got time to go get or not..

i bought the biggest parklon playmat.. can put in my living rm but my cat free roaming other than bb's rm, so till nw i haven take out my playmat.. headache lei, wan to take out but duno whr to put..

wow jenn, you sound like a pro in wet market shopping! i'm clueless. but i always like to go to NTUC to shop for titbits, chocz and soft drinks.

Sheryl, i cannot see nor open the file.

mummies, a general question to ask. do you all wash your bb clothes together with adult clothes? is it okay to mix all together to wash?

BLiss- Sorry it should b 2100*1400 tat e playard fit on top of e mat. Theres 2 BP goin on 1 is CrazyboutKorea n e other is World of Korea. I bought from World of Korea coz e variety more n Crazy about Korea is more on Haenim products so theres oni vr limited design bt i bought my playard from them. Hubby was making noise tat i spend too much on this le.

Ty- Y dun u go to e market at Chinatown. Its cheap n vr frsh. Sometimes they kill e fish in front of u. Tat day i went to buy a piece of threadfin without any bones for oni $5. I usually oso buy alot. Once a month i drive to Chinatown den buy le put it in different tupperware or ziplock bag den put it in e freezer. Remeber dun wash e fish or meat if u r nt using it at tat moment.

Jenn I not starting my marketing yet, only after I move sometime end this year or January. The prawn mee is very very good! While pregnant always go eat straight after my gynae visit. Been eating that stall since young. The $8 bowl, damn shiok!

Elise, I use baby laundry detergent so it's a separate wash.

My bb sweats so much that he has hundreds of rashes around his entire neck now which is camouflaged by his extra chin. Is there any anti perspirant lotion for babies? I apply a med given by pd but I have to "peel" away his extra chin to apply and he will start his opera.

Jolene, oh ya hor Chinatown! I didn't think of that! The smith st hawker centre is it? What is thread fin? Fish right? What day is good for that market? If it's crowded I sure lose out to the old aunties.

Elise

No choice ah. If I don't learn and buy myself, no one will do it for me. I can't be eating out all day.

My baby's laundry is separate from my toddler which is also separate from ours!

Ty,

I don't like that prawn noodle auntie. Got attitute leh.

long time no post.. no time to read archive :p

my marketing tatic is same as Jenn.. i normally chose stall owner can converse in Mandarin instead of those old ah pek whom can only say hokkien.

thereafter, go back to them a few times.. they normally give you more stuffs or bit of disc.

i also ask them for advise like what kinda meat is good for baby, wat part of pork is good for soup.. which fish is good for steaming. they are so experience i tell you.. i love it what they share cooking tips with me. i also v auntie oredi!

i prefer to buy fish fm Market instead of NTUC. is much fresher. for babies.. start of with Threadfin or ngoh her.. i still give that to my #1. is safest fish to buy. v easy to steam

Tywong and jenn, I luv the pek Kio prawn noodle. I used to eat the $10 but after gave birth, cut budget.. Now eat $5 niah...The carrot cake and roast meat stall also nice!!!

Elise- Best to speerate our clothes leh. Coz we adults sweat alot n tat juz feel even e sweat smell is diff from our kids leh. Till now I'm still handwashing both my kids clothes.

Ty- Think tats e name ba. I oni noe how to go but duno e name. LOL! Threadfin is ngor he. Normally bb eat tis or cod fish. My #1 prefer cod fish.Fish u ask them for tail part coz there no bone. For meat, to make e porridge sweeter is bak tou or mui bak. Bak tou cheaper. Mi oso vr aunty hoh. I can stay at market for e whole morning lo. Go on tues or wed. There still ok la coz alot of store so nt much of a rush. I so aunty till gt e fishmonger no. den call first to reserve lo. Mi den e real aunty lo.

Elise

yes baby clothes shd be washed seperately. i wash #2 load on alt days to that it can be a full load

after #2 came out,i will wash #1's clothes with the adults coz he will hv clothes from the child care.. don wanna mix it with his di di

I also wash bb's clothes seperately once every two days. I think if add in dettol laundry sanitizer, shd be able to wash with adult clothes. I like the sanitizer pine fragrance. Makes my laundry smells very clean! But will only wash our clothes together when bb is bigger ba. sometimes it's good not to be too clean.

I've never thot of going to the wet mkt n have been thinking where I can buy avocado. Heehee... Nearby ntuc only carries the usual stuff. If I need to buy food like avocado, need to go great world cold storage or wet mkt. Sigh... So mafan for me who can't drive. Maybe I will ask my pil to help me do the bb mkting. Once a week is enuf right? My mil also says ngor hee n spinach r good for bb.

good morning mummies!

got to wake up early this sun morn as bb already woke up at 6am plus =.='''

wow..now talking abt going to wet markets to buy food for bb. it's just make me realise how much our bb hv grown =)

Elise, i handwash my bb clothes once every few days. never thot of washing with our clothes together yet coz i think adults clothes more dirty bah? due to perspiring loh

Jenn.. I am impressed w ur desciption of how u shop at e market . Sounds like an experienced "auntie" :p must learn from u ! Totally pro.

Raleigh we'd cannot , how abt fri ?

Hopecg, shall we go fidgets on fri since free for our babes and can haves drink too?

Darn.. My bb is awake now.. Woke up at 4, 6 now.. Sianz