(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

koaru

I can totally relate to you. my boy #1 has an attitude now. suddenly loves throwing tantrums out of nowhere. think he felt insecure terribly.

I'm heading to vivo now. but I bet I'm going be real frustrated later if #1 is giving problems.

raleigh,

i dont think i can make it on tues cp gathering. mil said she needs me to be at home to look after baby too. i will join the next round. hope u mummies hv great fun!

my boy been giving me headache. been fussy these days. finally back to my own hse and he cried alot. just managed to make him sleep the 4th time this noon and when put him on bed, cry again! i'm going to faint liao. =.="'

cath,

indeed it was scary. i was latching bb halfway then her howling started. initially tot it was a prank but who would want to play @ 2am?!

enjoy ur outings mummies!

Been busy with my #1 who was down for 3 days liao. Didn't go to school and was driving my nuts!

Cath,

Hahah... got "caught" shopping by you. Yah.. I ordered 1 dino romper and also some leg warmers. I saw Peck using them during the Taka gathering and thought it to be really great cos easily put on and off when the AC gets cold in malls and restaurants.

Were you also at Suntec? I just got back from lunch there. Such a hassle bringing my baby out. So many things to bring for such a little person! I like to takeout #1 out cos only need to bring a bottle of water.

Cath

Have you paid for your leg warmer yet? Cos the BP i bought from is cheaper. exactly the same as yours - Cloudy Blue for only $3.50 or $3 each for min 3.

o tigerbaby, ya hor the wipes got write methylparaben.. did the articles u read say how it gets absorbed into body? via skin? bt so many ppl using pigeon wipes lei..

sparkle, i collected my sterilizer back fr avent today.. they replaced it with a new one, said the heating element faulty.. also brought my 2nd sterilizer down and told them same problem, made them replace on the spot too coz i dun wana wait 1 more wk and then go back again to collect.. also got a new replacement funnel for my manual pump coz of the specks of stuff inside the plastic..

bliss, u mean i can "dont" pump rite, typo? meaning can dun pump when wake up, fully latch on thru the day, only pump when bb takes bottle, rite?

any mummies free next thurs or fri? mil gg traveling and hubby working... tempted to bring bb out to meet u all! but duno if im able to pull it off or nt, bringing him out alone..

jenn, whch BP u bought the warmer?

Redhill gathering

Bliss: sorry. Wanted to join. But dozed off after sending out the msg. N i Just woke up frm slp.. Sorry. Meet u gals sm other times

hi mommies. am from july 2010 thread and am wondering if any of you mommies are interested to bp for sean lau photoshoot. am aiming for 30 names and i already have 20. if you are interested, pls pm me at [email protected].

Is there 10th week growth spurt? My boy bEen crying vy loudly for milk ev hour since 11ish, been latching ev hour loh..

Bliss,

Do I still need to pump when full latch during weekends?? I don feel breasts full today at all, soft soft one.. 4care ss drop

jojo,

u nt wking on both thurs & fri ah? i can mit for lunch, muz make full use of my leftover ML.

then can pass u the petpet samples.

jenn,

hope ur #1 is better le.

i also prefer to bring #1 out cuz only bring water bottle, sometimes jacket & diaper.

kk thanks jenn..

sharky, how u knw he's crying for milk? i duno hw to see if my bb having growth spurt.. so far from birth till now i didnt notice any at all, which is weird coz i thot bb sure will have growth spurt? my bb feeds 2.5-3hrly.. mostly is 3hrly.. if his feeds are shorter its becoz he fuss alot the i just feed to make him mabok, not really coz he's hungry earlier than usual lei.. thats y i was previously asking the qn on bottle feeding and growth spurts..

mummies who bottle feed, how do u knw bb going thru growth spurt and want more milk? if bb normally feeds 3hrly, when will u decide to give more feeds earlier than 3hrly? coz sometimes bb cry is coz pek chek, or wan carry, or just plain fussy.. hw to knw he's hungry earlier coz of growth spurt and go warm additional milk to feed?

any mummies whose baby just feed normal interval, no cluster feeding, no growth spurts?

rainelle u using lansinoh milkbag? zip up full is how much ml?

received mim pouch le.. duno how to use.... help!! haha...

ya missbluey, thurs fri on staggered ML.. hoping to bring bb out alone.. but duno if i can do it or nt.. >.< stroller definitely too heavy for me to handle alone.. got the pouch liao bt duno hw to use..! if meet up i can pass u the similac mum samples le.. any other mummies can meet up for lunch?

Cath,

u go vivo very frequent ah.. I juz went there last wk too but w/o my ger [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] - I also "see" u at the family tee bp cos I am thinking if nice designs can get 1 for my ger upcoming bday but hvnt really see one that I like very much..

Jenn,

it's like dat de.. my ger barely recovered n once back to cc starts to hv runny nose again, sian. So let her take a break on friday but really a handful to manage if she goes haywire.

Maternity leave

Shld clear ml within hw long a duration har?

Raliegh

Ok. Den tues I go cs find.

Stroller

I bought a new 1 le. Capella Adonis.. SI hubby say look ugly but agree the folding is very compact n wun take up space!!

Weight

My weight increase lehx!!! Hw ar? I tot bf shld aid to decrease?? I haven been eating much wor.. Haix.. Aft birth went dwn to 63kg. Nw bk to 70kg!!!! I wan faint le

Mim bb pouch

I oso dunno hw to use. Mine like too long lehx. Or issit aft putting bb in den will shorten length?

Jojo,

I tried walking patting singing n nothing works for his loud cries, but I gave him my boobs he started sucking vy hard, like suoer hungry... N he latch for vy long n the other side as well which he never do tat b4...

bliss, i dun feel bb have growth spurt is it because instead of more and shorter feed intervals, my bb takes more each feed but since im latching i dont "see" the growth spurt? Previously u mentioned that when fully latch, bb dun latch exactly at 3hrs interval and in between might have some comfort suck or a few mins latch to quench thirst etc.. my bb like dun have lei.. mostly is 3hrly proper feeds.. nt much nursing in between for the past mth.. only during confinement when my latch nt good yet will have frequent nursing.. nw stablize le.. duno y my bb like no growth spurt..

sheryl, ml leave have to finish taking before bb turns 1 yr old.. my weight also inc after confinement!!! went up 1-2kg.. sian.. i tink coz bf, im always hungry.. then keep drinking ribena instead of water.. calories calories calories!!! the mim pouch i read the instructions also duno how to use.. bt i tink if flip the cloth at the shoulder will shorten it abit and bring bb closer to u..

i see sharky.. my bb when nt near 3hr feeding time, if he cry, most of the time i can calm him down.. so i nt sure is it coz he nt hungry and merely fussing? or he growth spurt and really hungry bt managed to b calmed down??

jenn i using pureen cleaner, use it for all the bottles, teats and pump parts...

i also duno whr to meet up for lunch lei.. super bad at organizing stuff.. >.< trying to see hw many mummies interested then see whats convenient...

Jojo

When meet lunch? Lolx wic area?? Thurs can.. Hahaha.. Can get nappy liners frm u too

Ml within a yr ar.. Hmmm, ok.

i also received the mim sling and dunno how to use. i try to youtube for demostration but just dun catch it. baby's bum always not on the seam, the whole sling dont look very compact after baby is in and i cant seems to slide in the bum easily. a lot of problems... ha...

jojo, depends where u wanna meet for lunch, i try to make it.

good to know u have all the problem products replaced by avent liao. i shall monitor my steriliser...

breastpad- mummies that are still breastfeeding, do u still putting on breastpads? breast still leaky?

i haven been able to go braless since giving birth. so sianz, i prefer to go to bed without bra leh but my breast still leaky. :-(

even bathing, breast will always drip or spray milk out, very messy.

jenn, i am using tollyjoy... so far so good... din choose pigeon in the first place cos read some negative reviews but can't remember wat liao...

jojo, me! i have identified any cluster feeding, growth spurts, etc.. on my gal yet. ;p

cath, thanks for the link. now i feel cheated for paying $11 for one pair on another spree. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sparkle, i am still putting on breast pad... usually try to pump before going to shower

up again for feeding. *yawn*

sheryl,

my weight stagnant le. on & off increase 1kg, sian!!!

sparkle,

i still wearing breastpads thought not as leaky as before. =< since confinement, i din hook bra @ hmo, easier for me to latch bb & pump.

jojo,

till nw, i still hasn't bring bb out by myself yet. partly im lazy & partly i dun reali noe how to use the mim sling. =p

Breastpads:

can dun wear ah? I find it a bit painful when nips brush against the moulded cups leh. Now will feel wierd without pads even though my nn r not the very leaky type.

Tiong bahru outing:

shucks I forgot abt it. Was still busy doing stuff at hm at 3pm. Cos went out yesterday, got lotsa work to catch up with at hm.

Sheryl:

u very sudden leh. All your posts has SI SI SI in them then today u say u buy Capella Adonis. That's the premium one right? Saw it in mothercare today. Got pretty shimmering flower on it. Is it that one?

Cath:

I also go vivo harbourfront today. U stay nearby ma? I think i also almost every week go vivo. Last time favourite shop is pet safari. Now is mothercare. Then always no time to go pet safari.

Mim pouch:

I also dunno how to use. Tried the cradle position but my bb cried! I took size S n it seems very tight leh. Dunno

how to "flip" the cloth on the shoulder out also. N the cloth is quite dirty compared to the mim sarong sling I bot earlier on. But I wash liao today of cos.

N oh yeah! I lost another 1.5inch off my waist for nothing! Another half inch to go to my original waistline. N also lost half a kg more for nothing. Think my lifestyle is really bad. No wonder the old ppl always say bak bak women means properous. See how ku-ming I am.

Jojo:

my bb got growth spurt when he sleeps a lot n drinks more esp in the evening. Now is 8weeks plus, got growth spurt now. Past two days I've been latching on almost every hr during evening time n he really drank, not comfort suck. So tired for me.

sparkle

for MIM sling.. did you look at their demo VCD? or can go to their website, they got step by step instructions.

for the inner cloth (nearer to your chest)- must tighten such that it falls nicely under your boobs

outer cloth- loosen it so that you can differentiate betw inner or outer cloth

also adjust the excess cloth (out of the wooden ring) so that when you pull to tighten, the right side is for the inner cloth, left is for outer cloth

(Hope i did not confuse you)

then cradle your baby (with palm on his backside)

put his buttock in then slowly the rest of his body.

Baby may ngek ngek for a while esp if its your first time.. Don't kancheong!! its normal.

for my boy, he does not like to have his head in sling. but when he is in it for 5-10min.. he will auto fall asleep, then i will put his head into the sling

you can also pop down to MIM office at peminpin (on wkend) to ask them to help you together with your baby.

Genice

my boy is yr 07 baby.

phonics helps alot in helping him to blend and hence able to decipher and read / recognise the words.

i know why you are confused.. issit bcoz the way LeapFrog prounounce 'L' is diff?

can go youtube to search for zoo-phonics of letterland video.. quite good. can learn from there.

once you know how to blend.. its easy to help them to recognise words

Mim pouch

Nd to fold in half lengthwise like it is when u just take out of package.. Like a peapod.. Then e seams part I adjust between my waist n hips then put bb legs in then try to adjust butt at e seams.. Nd to get e hang of it.. I use s size.. Quite snug so I tend to make my boy sit more upright.. coz m too long for me.. Feel like bb is dropping hahA

Bliss/Jenn - thanks for the link..I did the search yesterday..and resumed restoring my milk within 18hrs..heart pain to pour away the milk..but told myself must do it..esp when I was in the hotel with no proper sterilisation equipment, and my previous stash was sufficient to cover the milk supply while I was away..Now I must pump diligently to restore my stash again..

Cath

I am not so happening lah..ha ha..We spent a night at RSW to celebrate my #1 birthday..and hubby suggested to go for a drink at a restaurant pub before we headed back to hotel to sleep. We went drinking occasionally..sometimes a glass of wine at home before sleeping. Drinking helps me to sleep better. Now with baby, I cannot drink too much..only a sip of wine once a week.

Baby can read

I think can start exposing when baby is abt 5-6 mths..but it is a lot of hardwork for mummies..cos have to do it daily. My friend did it and it worked for her kids. Every night 8pm after dinner, she will flash the cards to her babies for abt 20min or so. Hence, she could not do much OT in the office..must OT the work at home. And also, kids must co-operate..willing to sit and concentrate. I am not so hardworking ha ha..and like what one of the mummies said here, kids will learn to read ultimately..it is their readiness that matter. So, try to expose kids to books as early as possible and for me, I do not like to set rigid timing..will go along with the baby mood and mine as well..afterall, reading is supposed to be an enjoyable activity..

Phonics

It works for my #2 but not #1. #1 is more of an visual learner, rather weak in audio learning..and so phonics is not so effective on her. She has to learn the harder way by memorising. For #2, phonic suits her better..she is able to pronounce new words by breaking them down and blend accordingly and that is how she learns her spelling. Hence, it is important to understand each child's learning patterns, their strength and weakness.

Breastpad

Sparkle - I only used half a box of breastpad during my confinement, sometimes I used the avent breastshield. Now, I hardly used both..the leaking starts only when I am over engorged or when I am pumping/nursing on one side..

Growth spurt

Earlier on, my bb was taking 5oz (abt 130-140ml) every 2-2.5 hr interval. Now, he is taking the same amount but at every 3-3.5hr interval. Does that consider part of the growth spurt behaviour? He is still gaining weight, but does not poo daily..only pool like 3-4 times per week.

Weight management

My weight is now 1,2 kg less than my pre-pregnancy weight..but I still look fat with the extra layers at my tummy and thigh....I am eating almost 5 meals per day..must eat carbo stuff after every pumping..extremely hungry. And worse still..my face looks skinnier and pale, everyone thought I am not eating well when in fact, I do. My mum asked me to go for thyroid check up..but I doubt I have thyroid problem leh..wish I can retain the pregnancy glow..

xiaoxiin, a lot of pple say breastfeeding helps with weight lost. maybe thats the reason u lose weight without doing anything extra.

missbluey, u not wearing nursing bra is it? cos i tot nursing bra just need to unclip then can feed or pump. i still cant wear my prepregnancy bra... sigh cos the band area expanded and boobs also bigger.

although i am back to prepregnancy weight already, somehow the underbust area and hip area is wider than before. sigh...

sparkle, i still using breastpads. and have to use. not as jialat as you.. but still leaks like abt 6 times daily. everytime i feed my gal, my breasts will starts leaking. be it bottle feed or latching on. because full liao need to pump out.

clothes...

my fitted dresses cannot wear liao. my boobs area increase in size. then cannot zipped up! *bangwall*

Growth spurt

i think for bottle feed difficult to determine growth spurt. because we increase the amt bit by bit.

Rabbit, yalo cannot wear too fitting clothes. Will look FAT due to the big nn.

Sparkle, I was sorting my clothes the other day. I've sooo many bras!! Pre preggy ones, preggy ones n nursing ones. Now can only wear nursing ones. So wasted.

So it's the bf n bad lifestyle that helps me slim down.

Missbluey, u dun look fat leh. But maybe like wad sparkle said, bf will help. So jiayou in bf. U will lose weight for nothing also. Hee...

Gitz, thanks for your expanation on the mim sling. Wad inner cloth outer cloth., left side ring right side ring. Later i will go n try. I always put my bb head in first, no wonder so diff to adjust.

Xiaoxiin, envy leh... I still got 3" to lose. Think I also put on weight cos MIL taking care of baby 24/7. Me sleep, eat well and hubby still doing hsework so I no chance to slim down liao lah.

CP outing: I will go if MIL never chu pattern last min lah...

I also using pureen cleaner, use it for all the bottles, teats and pump parts. Reason cos it's cheap... only $6 at metro still got rebates if using metro card...Hee... Hee...

Sheryl... Y change your mind on the stroller? U make me so tempted in buying SI leh... But now I also eyeing cony liao... I luv the yellow orange colour. Feel so happy just by looking at it.

Zinc, xiao_xiin, sad lor.. now i start to appricate more on smaller NN. got to attend 2 weddings in sep.. have to hunt for dresses liao..

Jojo, I think 300ml+..

RE: BreastPad

Putting it even though usually only morning and prolong outside w/o my girl den will leak.. cos too full?

RE: Weight

Wah, all sound slim down eh.. my weight stagnant there.. sigh..

quick qns, if i pump now and going to feed baby with the milk in 1 to 2 hours, so i dun put it into the fridge do i still need to warm the milk a bit before giving to baby cos its room temp?

Friends:

Hubby say SI looks ugly. But aft folding the stroller, the space taken up is lesser compare to most strollers.

I wanted to buy a new stroller cause:

1) i wan easy folding (1 hand can handle Close & Open)

2) Total recline (which my maclaren can onli recline 45degree (lowest)

I still love SI; no doubt abt it =P

Capella Cony rather small, but the ride is smooth. Tried wheeling it ard with their display set ytd. Hahahaa..

The 1 i got Capella Adonis Premium the seat cover is breathable, not so hot. Capella S705 the sales person told me is rather stuffy.

CP outing: Lai ba! bring bb along =))

Sparkle

No need fridge it. Leave it room temp for 4Hours only.

Breastpad

i cant live without it. Leaky breast!

hmm so this wk lunch interested mummies got:

- jojo

- missbluey

- sheryl

- jenn

- sparkle

did i miss out anyone?

mim sling pouch hard to use lei!! last nite i tried to just use it to support my bb's butt and some of his weight.. but i still use 1 hand to support his head and neck.. so nt handsfree lei.. coz i nt using it the right way i guess.. ytd went down to jln pemimpin tot can ask them to teach me.. bt their showroom closed le!! wasted trip..

ya sparkle monitor and go to them if it gets worse.. fyi the replacement set they gave me, also nt 8min la.. but better than previous, 11+min.. haiz dun care liao la.. it dun too long i'll just live with it.. yes my breasts still leaky.. dun talk abt bra-less, cant even do without breast pads.. sian.. then when wear t-shirt the bra there nt smooth smooth, its abit bumpy coz of the breastpads.. ugly lei.. so i try to use hair to cover.. also always spraying when i bathing.. then i'll hand express when bathing lo.. clear breasts abit without having to wash and sterilize pump! hehe..

o tigerbaby, ur gal also like my bb.. but saw PD ytd she says his weight gain is fine, growing well.. so i guess no need to worry ba.. u latch fully? or bottle feed? my worry is if my bb realli have growth spurt, but im at work so mil is bottle-feeding, she may see timing and think feeding time nt up yet so dun offer him milk.. bt also hard for her to alwyas just warm milk and try to offer, if he's nt hungry and realli just crying for other reasons, will waste her time always warming milk ma..

missbluey, i also haven brought bb out alone before lei..! and so garang thinking of bringing him this wk to meet u all when mil nt ard and hubby at work.. i tink i backside itchy, later cant handle him then i sure tio hubby say.. >.<

xiao xiin, ya the S size pouch like very tight.. i order chocobery M and no more stock le, the guy was nice to send me chocobery S and navy M for me to try.. even gave me return envelope for me to send bk the one i dun wan.. i tried both and S size very tight.. after i sling diagonally not much space to fit bb in coz boobs also taking up the space ma.. so i'm keeping the M size one.. the cloth dirty? the 2 pieces they sent me are ok lei.. bt i'll definitely wash before use also.. wa biang envy lei...!

my weight loss macham stop le.. even gained 1-2kg back!!! duno wats wrg.. i tink after confinement i eat and eat and eat... always hungry between meals lately lei.. during confinement wont like that, in fact no appetite.. sad sad!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

at least ur bb got periods whr he needs to b latch almost every hr.. mine dun have lei.. wondering y my bb dun have spurt.. i tot all babies sure will have..

missbluey, yalo hard to find things to wear to work nwadays.. though i can fit into my skirts, bt the tops cant fit coz of upsize boobs.. then all my dresses cant fit coz of the top part also.. siaaannnn.....

gitz, we bought mim pouch, not sling, so no demo vcd... the pouch came with instructions but see le also catch no ball! i tink coz no step by step, so i duno is it to sling, then carry baby then next step is slot legs in? blur... i went down to pemimpin to find them ytd, nt there anymore.. so i sms them to ask, they say no more showroom le... sob..

oh zinc, so need to fold in half like it is when we take out of package? kk later i go try again.. bt how to flip at the shoulder?

xiao xin u bought mim sling or pouch? if its the $15 pouch, no ring de.. sling is adjustable so got ring.. pouch fixed length.. bt other than tat the way to use shld b the same i tink.. yes i agree big nn makes ppl look fat lo..! last time when i fatter the nn also bigger so look very bulky.. after i lost weight though nn abit smaller bt it was ok coz more proportionate ma and it was still quite big of my size so im fine with it.. nw after giving birth become even bigger and nw look so bo ba when breasts are full.. *faint*

friends, u enjoying life lei!! me taking care of bb with mil and hubby help at times.. bt sometimes i take care of him alone.. hubby does most of the hsewrk.. i onli vacuum the flr sometimes..

? Jojo flip at shoulder?? Actually I just a gar follow e instructions as long as bb don't drop out can le.. N I still use one hand to support him most of e time..

sparkle,

i only hv 1 nursing bra since #1. that time engorgement wore liao v tight, so unhook but defeat purpose. till now nv wear. anyway i wun be using nursing bra for long so nv buy any.

xiao xiin,

thank u, hehe. my fats r stored @ tummy & hips there.

hmmm, i ever read that some mummies bf but their weight doubled, so scary!

friends,

gd life wor. hehe. me also like u gd life as i hv maid, that's y difficult to slim dn. i try to go jogging whenever i can & do sit ups.

jojo,

top can find but tight for my pre-pregnancy tops but bottom can wear maternity ones, sian. i hv pear-shaped body, hence fats easily gain @ lower part.

bliss,

ask u if i do full pump (15-20mins) @ 10am, my next pump shld b @ 1pm right. but what if i latch bb @ 12 & i pump 5-10mins after that, shld i still need to do full pump @ 1pm?

mim sling:

got DVD but i lazy to view it so agar agar sling.