(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

Mummies can I ask if the cot mobile is a mind stimulating toy or a sleep inducing toy? Currently I on the music without toys swirling for bb during nap time. Dunno if I'm doing harm or good.

Rainelle, so gd yr 150ml ebm can last yr gal 3-4 hrs.. Mine only 2-3 hrs but I think boy really needs more as I can see he is gonna be tall (I hope) like his daddy who is tall.

Yaozi, it means even if yr bb is already 2mths old bug u start wif GF 1-2 wk old routine for bb and takes a few days to achieve then move on to next wk routine say 2-4 wks n etc... But I dun follow that cos my boy drinks more in daytime than her proposed... But the essence is if u want him to sleep fr 7pm thru 7am, wif 2 night feeds at 10-11pm n 4-5am for 6-8 wks old bb, then structure the feeds so that he start his day at 7am-7:30am so he can hv most feeds in the daytime till 6-6:30pm n only max 4 hrs nap to be stuctured into 3 naps, ie 45min at 9am nap, approx 2 hrs for noon nap, n a short 30min nap at 4:30pm so bb not too tired for Sind down at 6:15pm. If u read the book it's more detailed n allow some flexibility but since I dun direct latch I only follow the feeding n sleeping timing n adjusted to wat timing I prefered hence my 9am to 9pm routine.

For sleeping thru the nite, the aim is to coincide yr bb longest stretch of sleep at nite w/o milk to be fr 10-11pm till next feed n slowly stretch that feed say fr 4am to 5am then to 6am n finally 7am. Accordin to her can be done when bb is around 10 wks old but of course juz a reference point. But my ger was able to sleep thru w/o milk at 2 mths plus wif a larger last feed at 11pm+ n sleep thru 7am+. It takes me maybe maybe 1-2 wks of adjustment period. But gotta ensure they feed well in the day n nap n playtime structured a bit

xiao xiin, can use teat n cap lah but when u warm it up may need to twist n turn a bit cos my sil using bfree bottles for ebm also dun hv disc type.

Gotta start my day for my boy after a quick wash up...

yaozi, haha i was alone with my gal for abt 2 hours at shopping mall. after that i call for help liao.. my DH reservist, so my dad was the one who drove me round. haha. short but good experience lah.. although shou mang jiao luan.

my routine as follows:

9am: both of us wake up. i will feed my gal first.

9.20am: finish feeding, burp her, put her in the cot. i go wash up and feed myself. she will quietly entertain herself.

10am: pumping

10.30am: bathing time.

11am: cuddle her off for a short nape.

12-12.30pm: she will auto wake up for next feed. after feeding, off she goes for long nap.

1pm: my lunch and after that pump.

1.30pm: i will nap.

3.30-4.30pm: pump and feed my gal. depends what time my gal wakes up.

after that try to put her to sleep again if possible. sometimes she doesnt wants to sleep any more.

6.30pm: pumping.

7.30pm: feeding time. play with her, cuddle her.. she will gets fussy at this time.

9pm: final feed. sometimes she goes to sleep instantly. sometimes needs to cuddle her, probably takes sometime.

9.30pm: pumping.

10pm: lights off for me and hubby.

2.30am-3am: feeding time. after feeding i will pump. takes abt an hour.

5.30-6am: next feeding time. after feeding i will pump. takes abt an hour.

6.30am: i will try to catch somemore sleep if possible.

xiao_xiin, i think depend or ur baby as well? mine can smile and coos to u when u talking to her.. den tired just slp..

Bliss, actually i dun have a routine la.. my feeding routine start from the feed after bath.. den agar 3.5 or 4 for next feed and on.. if she slp over 4, i oso let her slp..

Hello mummies. Been sumtime since i posted sumthing. Looking at the routine. I think im the laziest mum here cos like bathing i will let my maid do it. Supposed to b my mum but she got lazy too during my confinement so all the way become my maid to bathe. In the meantime im taking care of my gal too. I try my best to juggle btwn the two kids. Sumtimes its realli hard to haf a me time. Went out one of the days last week with my frends and it felt so gd and carefree but of cos kept thinking of my bbs at home.

Bf

missbluey im like u. 20ml each one side altogethr oni 40ml. Its very disappointing. Cried yest cos my boy pek chek wen suckin cos the supply so little and the flow is slow so i passed my boy to my maid while i quickly make fm. Thrn my maid yet again remark mdm ur supply little ah while looking at my boy crying. I was pissed cos not the first time she said tt. She noes its little but at least give me sum encouragement la. Realli sian. I try not to pump and latch wenever i can and give in demand but still low. No choice just pad wit fm. To me at least im giving bm. Feel like a failure wenever i see my boy crying. Sigh

saw the osim slimming belt ad above. Does it work? Saw couple of mummies at kiddy palace like wanna buy the belt too.

Bring bb out

ive yet to bring him out. So far oni brin my gal. My gal is a handful so juz her at the mo. If i were to bring my boy think bring my maid oso so can help me out if not i will fumble wen i hear bth wan milk! Haha

Bliss

thx for ur entry. Apprecite it. Im one of those mummies who will sling bb whole day or shld i say whole afternoon. I better stop doin tt. Haiz cos my boy very manja. Will ngek ngek ngek and cant sleep. Pat him oso doesnt work. Carry him then he will stop. So easy for me use the sling. He quiet i happy. Haha

Bliss, he sleeps well after evening bath n feed. He will sleep from 7pm to abt 930pm for another feed, then fuss until He had his 1130pm feed.

Rabbit, u're so hardworking in pumping! Everyday I'll be thinking if only my supply equals to bb demand gam gam Ho. Then there'll be no engorgement n no excess to pump out. Perfect!

Jojo:

Contacts for Dr Joy Lee Siew Yang -

Joy Lee Breast and General Surgery

Mt Alvernia Medical Centre B

#01-16

Tel: 62585894

Call n make appt 1st. Should b able 2 get appt within same day or next day. Tell the person ur condition n make it sound a lil jialat so they will gif u appt fast fast... Dr Lee is very pleasant. I like her alot. Hope she can help ease the pain / get rid of the lump. Take care ok? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wah. i see mostly routine quite ok lehx.

mine is:

6am ~ 7am - 1st feeding (FM) den she will go lala land & Pumping time

(in btw till bathing time if she cries for milk normally will latch her)

11am ~ 1230pm - bath & feeding time (EBM)

she stays awake, she will play by herself, or either during feed, she will drink herself to slp as well..

2.30pm ~ 2.45pm - EBM + mummy's pumping time

aft feed (depending on bb mood) she will either sleep or stay awake till next feed.

6pm (+/-) - EBM

and IF still not asleep MIL will play wif her

9pm (+/-) either FM/EBM & pumping time

By this hr if she STILL dun sleep, the concert will start.

she will wan ppl to cuddle to slp in a rock-a-by-baby motion..

Thankfully when place her down she dun cry den god bless.

If she cry den cuddle ... etc all agn.. =P

2.45am - Latch on. If she fuss alot (usually no) den top wif FM.

And recently she wakes up ard 2.45am and not gng back to sleep until 5am - 6am!! -__________-

Bigfish, me! Latching all the time except one bottle feeding done by my hubby. I prefer to latch leh. Pumping then bottle feed is like double work. Of cos unless bb can't latch then Bo Bian for the mummies lo. Bcos there's one bottle feed per day, I roughly know how much he's drinking also.

Mummy2nia, I got buy oto trimax before some donkey yrs ago. That time was selling quite expensive. Dunno if it's the same one, probably a newer version. ML says can only use after 3 months. Last time when i use, tummy will feel itchy n red lo, suppose to be signs of fats breaking down. I din use it religiously so effect wise dunno leh. More or less can slim down a little ba.

xiao_xiin, eh no choice leh.. nowadays my gal can latch for long time.. i seldom latch liao.. once a while nia. plus got to maintain my milk flow leh. as compared to others my supply consider quite low lor. until now didnt even got to hit 200ml, although my ebm is slowly building up.

xiao xiin

my boy very notti.. actually now i have just successful in putting him in the bassinet. The rocking effect helps in coaxing him to sleep in the day. But today i am trying to let him sleep every and anywhere else i will suffer like yesterday, where i brought him over to my mum's place and he yell like no tomorrow.

Put him on the bed to sleep. But cos it is not the bassinet. so he cried 5 mins...and that 5mins is like forever. My heart wants to reach out to him... carried him for a while when he stopped and then try to put him down to sleep .. and he cried another 5 mins. argh. I hope that he will slowly can sleep anywhere and without any rocking soon... have to take it slowly...

xiao xin, do you have a prob that baby latch on for ver long like an hr and still dont sleep?/ like he wld sleep at the breast but wakes up once out from the breast... i'm like latching on more than 12 hrs a day and totally no time for anything else..

anyone's baby is like mine?

Tired already, want to sleep but want pple to carry. If put down without carrying, will cry. If calm down and eyes closed already, put him down to bed, he will also cry. Then it is either you let him cry or have to carry him until he happy... I have placed him on his tummy to sleep already but he will still cry big time...

Cath.

Same same.. LOL...

mine getting better (sometimes on & off still happens) but the worse now is the wee hrs when she wakes up and refuse to slp.

-___________- i had carried her to slp wif mi today.. too tired to think of anything and if she wans to cuddle up wif mi to slp den ok!

As long as we BOTH gets to shut our eyes.

Cath, Xiao Xiin, Bliss,

too heartache to let him cry too long this morning nap, so end up carrying him upright to see if its to burp, but no juz wanna be carried, after he calm down place him down at cot and pat pat, repeat 2 times cos after 5-10 min will fuss n cry. Third time, buey tahan, so carry him in my arm a while longer like 5 min and put him at rocker now. I also cant quite figure out the daytime naps yet tho night time routine is ok for me.

Sheryl,

be careful not to press on bb or worse drop esp if u r on bed.

Koaru,

don't have to let bb cry out till bb stops! Cuz if bb used to carry n sleep is difficult to change right away.

So start with putting bb to nap at the right time. Yawning, never make noise, well fed, diaper change.

Put bb down... Talk to bb abit.. Try to keep bb calm

throughout.. Pls dun put down n leave him alone. Surely cry!

Try all ways to keep bb in a calm mood... If bb start fussing, pick bb up n cuddle abit till bb eyes closing or closed for a min or two then slowly put bb down. Let bb sleep on his side. Sleep positioner is good to put behind their back n tummy. Baby will feel like falling when they sleep on their back. So most babies will cry after putting down..

After u put bb down on his side, lightly pat him before he cry... Stop when bb is asleep n continue to put ur hand on bb after u stop patting..

After awhile, no crying u can slowly remove ur hand n try beanie pillow to replace ur hand.

Slowly when things get better u may be able to skip the cuddling part and slowly u can try to leave bb alone before bb full asleep...

What I mean by let bb cry is when bb is comfortable n not nap time. Don't make a habit of carrying while everything is fine. But during sleep time is ok to cuddle abit but not till extend must die die carry until sleep. Put down cry put down cry is tiring so got to change.

Normally what I do is to pick bb up from rocker if is nap time n he ngek abit. I will cuddle him, tell his is time to sleep. Pat abit while carrying him to give him some comfort. Everything last for a min or two. Then I'll put him down in playpen n leave him alone.. He will sleep by his own. If not I'll turn him to his side or tummy... But if he is already asleep in rocker I'll just leave him there to take his nap.

cath

mine same!.. but must place on tummy to sleep? sometimes when i do that, he seems uncomfy

elise

i was thinking of maldives.. short trip.. 5d4n maybe.. but feel bad to leave kiddo behind lo.. yourself? where u planning?

suelynn

i jus went polyclinic for his jab too.. aft e nurse explained the procedure to me.. i think i will go for all e jabs!.. better be safe than sry.. tho she did say not everyone does that

till nw, my bb has no routine.. he cries whenever he wants, and we gotta decipher what issit that he needs.. smthg like a checklist.. izzit time for feed? diaper change? wet clothes?

Bliss,

impatient mommy here.. oops. Will try slowly again today but at least he sleeps well at nite so I juz hv to make sure i sleep well at nite then got energy to handle him in the afternoon. Happy scrapping!! I will steal a nap whilst he is still zzz...

I saw some of the routines and was just wondering when can we start to train our babies to sleep longer at night? When bb is like still 3 weeks old, do we already train them? Cos my boy now morning and night like same routine..

Morning wakes up, feed and then rest a while..bathe before next feed and then feed again..then sleep, fuzz, cry and feed every 3 hours..clean bb at ard 10pm and then feed..during the night wake up every 3 hours for feed..not much difference..

Btw, i have 'yaolan' to give away..i bought for my #1 but din really use it..then dun wan to waste so keep in storeroom..new new one..i want to clear my storeroom..so luan..

Bigfish, though i am not an expert in this but i think u shld start to introduce EBM so ur baby cna get used to bottles esp if u r retuning to work. Seems like ur baby only likes to latch on to you leh. So have to train him/her to get used to other feeding methods. It may be a bit tough initially but u will feel more relaxed lah.. else how cna all day latch somemore ur baby takes so long to drink.. u totally dun have time to do anything lor..

Xiaoxin and Mummynia, better dun sling ur baby too much else they are so used to the rocking motion and they will only wnat to be carried. A few days ago, ia lso wanted to sling my baby cause i noe he sleepes better lah but after thinking thru, i decided i better not, i really scared he get used to it.

Cath and Koaru, u all got very good night routines leh.. daytime have to force urself to let baby sleep by themselves, its very hard lah, sometimes depend on mood of babies but like what bliss do , try to put the baby down a few times when he is dozing off. If he really dun wnat to sleep then do some activity with him ( make use of the time to bond and show him tvs or cards), sometimes i also catch no ball dunno what my boy want, the only successful thing i can say is that he can sleep anywhere, in the car seat, stroller, sofa anybody's place also can but no routine one.. hopefully i cna figure out his night routine

RE: bringing baby out

I have no problems bringing baby out, sling him go and drink kopi read newspaper ( of coz must choose right time lah, i only do that in the morning when he is still groggy) . Else after lunch feed can also bring him out in stroller, i drove him out with him alone in car seat and later transfer him to stroller, he still sleeping leh.. in general, as long as got rocking motion, my bb can sleep so bringing him out is not a prob.. but of coz when he is hungry then that makes him upset.

U all lasdies must try k.. it will give u confidence to bring him out, can start from places that are nearer.Then dun need to bring so much stuff, i only bring a milk bottle, din even bring diapers.. my boy can tahan poo one.. hehe..

Bliss.. thanks for the contacts.. i will go and c him later. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cath, mi bb also like tis in the day, tired but dun want to sleep.. put her down she cry, carry her n pat to sleep, if haven sleep soundly put down she will cry n the routine starts all over again.

Cath, me me! Dats y i use the sling but after reading thr posts here. I think better cut dwn. Aiyo

xiao xiin

oh okie then no need to buy lah. I dun like the icthy feeling. Tried uzap before. Dun like leh. Come to think of it. Almost the same kind of slimmin belt. Haha. Cos tt. Time i juz borrow from my sis. Uzap quite heavy too

latch

juz nw i tried to latch my boy. He screamed and screamed. Refused to latch. He did tt yesterday and today oso! Sigh so sad. I think he dun wanna latch already. Refused both breasts so in the end i pump. I pump quite little as usual so i tried hand expressing and came out more. So maybe i try hand expressing if i go the time and not lazy.

bliss, patting isnt very effective in calming my baby.. most of the time pat already he'll still escalate to wailing.. he gets very angry when we swaddle him now.. and if swaddle, will sort of wake him.. then hard to make him sleepy again when he's lying in the cot.. kk tonite i try swaddle, cuddle till sleepy, give pacifier(if u don't mind), put bb down, lightly pat.. in the day it's easier to make him sleep after feed. if he stays awake and plays after feed, then after that hard to make him sleep. at nite he's more fussy, need longer cuddling and pacifier.. tats y at nite i tend to let him comfort suck until fall asleep on breast pillow. but half the time i also fall asleep so will onli wake up an hr plus later to put him back in cot. normally from 8pm - 11pm he's awake and we need to try to make him sleep. even if he sleep most of the time very fast wake up and cry again.

alot of babies sleep at 8plus.. mine always stay awake for 2hrs at least after his 7-8pm feed.. will fuss or sleep abit wake up till midnite, if lucky, 10plus.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

oh xiao xiin, u bathe baby twice.. and use curtains to wake him.. i never draw curtains during the day..

wa cath u also have a nice routine set up le.. i dun even knw what time everyday my baby feeds and bathes.. haiz. everything still dependent on when he wans his feeds.. >.< during nite feeds i try nt to change diaper coz scared wake him up he eyes big big liao then dun wan to sleep le..

many of u bathing baby twice.. my mil onli bathe him once in the day wor.. need to bathe twice then easier to sleep at nite?

thanks much poohlover.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wa like so many mummies can type out some schedule. i totally no idea on what time do wat.. normally determined by when baby wake for feed. then after that 2-4hrs later next feed, depending on baby. then mil will slot in bath time after one of his morning feeds. at nite when hubby back he'll play with baby awhile at 8+, then try to coax baby to sleep.. will normally take us up till 10-11pm.. then will wait till 12-1am for baby to feed again before i go to sleep.. nite feeds normally 1am, 4am, 7am. but sometimes its 2am, 5am also.. all depends on baby.. no definite time to start the day also, depends on what time baby wakes up.. >.< this is quite bad rite?

cath, my baby also like that.. but mainly at nite, 8pm to midnite time.. in the day, can calm him down with carrying and he'll close his eyes to sleep.. then slowly put down to bed he'll sleep. but at nite put down to bed will cry, or will sleep but 15-30min later cry and need to carry and let him drift off to sleep first then put back in cot again. if onli can bring to bliss for training and come back guai guai! haha!

sheryl, during nite feeds i find that latching till baby and i both fall asleep tgt (baby on bfing pillow) works everytime.. then an hr later i wake up with baby full and asleep liao, then put back in cot.. he normally sleeps thru till next feed 3-4hrs later.. if i wait for him to finish feeding and unlatch him 15-20min later then immediately put back in cot, there's a risk he'll fuss and not sleep and start crying. once cry he'll be wide awake and take longer to make him sleep le..

oh ya, my baby recently keep choking on his saliva when sleeping, or throw out abit of curdy milk with saliva.. even though already burp him after feed, put him uprite for awhile then let him sleep. so need to pick him up and hold him in the sit-uprite-burping position. anyone's baby like that too, sleep halfway awaken by saliva nt swallow properly or milk leaking out from mouth?

bigfish/xiaoxin,

I also latch most of the time and only give bottle when I go out without bb... dont dare to go out alone with her since I got no sling and the stroller is more of a menace than help... keke....

so good that some mummies can sick to a schedule...I have no schedule just feed on demand..sometimes bb can sleep in the afternoon sometimes keep waking every 30mins... afternoon feeds last 30mins to 3 hrs depending on her.. night feeds about 2-3 hours... dunno if I will spoil her like that :p

jojo,

my bb does that frequently I asked pd he said ok unless bb throw out like her whole feed then something is wrong... so I just let it be...

I read ur posts on ways to let baby sleep but it seems almost impossible for my baby cuz he is super fussy. Cath, I think worse than ur baby leh. He doesn't like being on rocker, cot, stroller etc. Must carry him for 1 - 2 hrs n make sure he is really sound asleep before putting him on the cot. I read how some of u try bathing baby 1st but I dun think it's possible 4 my baby cuz he hates bathing. Screams like nobody's biz [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Does ur baby scream n scream n struggle n kick when u r feeding him? N do u people burp baby after latching baby? I was told before that if latch on no need to burp... Sometimes I dun feel like burping, esp those feeds at nt where baby is sleeping cuz baby sure wake up n I will hv a hard time putting baby to sleep...

bliss,

ya my #1 has bronchitis, though not coughing much but still has quite abit of phelgm.

will bring bb to see pd (again) tonight. really heartache to see him sneeze & cough, hope its a simple case.

this whole day bb can't slp properly, i think he is really cranky.

re: yaolan

im hands up for this. #1 also used yaolan since v young, had no prob sleeping outside eg. my parents' plc where they hv no yaolan. crossing fingers for #2.

re: bb's schedule

can't seem to type out his schedule like some mummies here. but i always try to make him fo sleep abt 8-9pm+. he tend to fuss abt 10+ to 1pm+.

mummy2nia

now im on domperidone, supply slightly better. each side can reach 30ml, but still insufficient for bb's demands. i also supplement with lots of fm. dun wan to stress myself which is uncalled for, just tell myself that i've tried my best.

Bigfish, mine still ok leh. Latching for one hr only happens when he was a few days old, still a sleepy baby. Is your bb drinking throughout the one hr of latching? If no, means he's sucking for comfort only, not truely hungry. Then u gotta break the suction n put him to bed leh. Wad tutu r u giving him? Can try other brands leh.

Sheryl I also sleep with bb at nite on the floor dilam. Easier to pat n nurse. I will nurse until I fell asleep. When he had enuf he will pull out, which will wake me up. Then we just sleep together until next feed. I think the next thing i will master is changing diaper with eyes closed!

finally got time to on my laptop. using iphone to read n post is too inefficient.

jojo, evening is just wipe body lah. in the future if bb doesn't sleep well in the night, then i will full bath for him at night as well. but my bb got the milk milk smell leh, esp on the head. is it bcos i dun rub shampoo on his head? dun feel very clean everytime when i bathe him. heehee....

poohlover, my bb will scream n kick when i dun give him milk. not that i purposely dun give him, but i'm busy with other things like changing diaper etc. n it always happen so suddenly one. very scary...

i burp bb after latching, n bb always give me one loud burp. last time i'm impatient to burp until the one loud burp, so always stop halfway, then bb will vomit milk n i gotta wash more clothing!! however at night, i dun burp him, too tired already. in the morning i will check his bedsheet for milk milk smell, usually dun have. but if have means he vomit milk n i gotta change bedsheet again. strange hor? bb seldom vomit milk at nite.

my bb also dun like the fisher n price rocker. he rather lie on the sofa! so waste money... not cheap leh though it's a gift from friends la. sigh...

jus'us, if u wanna use sling, i think dun use for long hrs. when bb get used to the sling feel, it's hard to make them sleep at home without yaolan. that's y that day i had to resort to sling my bb at home to sleep. now when i go out, i will try to use stroller instead, tho i agree it's very mafan. maybe the trick is to plan the route first. once inside shopping centre, strolling around is less of a problem.

hopecg, when i put bb on tummy to sleep, he will lift his head n cry. too dangerous for me to handle. so i dun put on the tummy anymore even though my CL always successfully put him to sleep nicely on the tummy. sigh...

kaoru, i also cannot figure out the daytime naps, dunno how much is too little n how much is too much. so i just follow GF's of one short morning nap, one long noon nap, one short afternoon nap. and then it should be 7pm already where the long sleep starts and ends at 7am. so a total of 3 naps from 7am to 7pm. the rest of the time, bb should be awake after feeding. dunno if i'm right to put it this way or not.

ok, it's time to get ready for evening wipe body!

xiaoxin

thanks for advise.. yah that was what I worried about that is why I ws against the yaolan as well... but I realised that it would be more helpful to the caretaker... ahem my mil so better have it.... as for sling I havent got it yet cos I think Im a clutz with it.. so far my bb sleeps ok at night in her playpen... in fact she has 3 beds.. yao lan in pil room, playpen in our room and a rocker cum high chair in the living room.. keke she sleep well in all excepts rocker she gets frightened easily and sleep shorter hours...

Thanks for your replies on the vaccines. I've been under pressure by the PD to go for all vaccines as well, so think I may just cave in. I was hesitant at first as there were some people saying that vaccines have hidden dangers which people do not report widely as the pharma companies need to make money.

Anyways, with regards to:

a) EBM:

Bluey - I'm really quite lazy to use pump these days because of having to sterilize it, only used it in the begining to try it out but nothing much came out. So I have been hand expressing while latching on the other side. In the beginning only got a miserable 10ml, now with both sides can reach 40ml

b) 100% Latching:

Bigfish, I'm doing 100% latching and express for hubby to cupfeed baby at night (because he wants to bond with baby) but baby's been rejecting it last few feeds, think milk either too cold or too warm

c) Choking on saliva/milk vomit:

Jojo, my baby does that too even after prolonged and frequent burping. Should be ok. Just want to let all the mummies know that when you put your baby down to bed, best for baby to sleep on back (to prevent SIDS) but remember to turn baby's head to the side. My sis told me about another baby in another thread who choked to death on vomit unfortunately when baby was only 1 month old

d) Blocked and stuffy nose:

Bluey, my baby had that too recently, so we went to PD a few times as his temperature also went up to 38C. PD said to just monitor temp every 2 hours if between 37.5-38C, next reading should come down, if not go back to PD. Also to go to PD if reading should go above 38C. Otherwise we have some saline solution on standby to help clear baby's nose (as our poor little baby was breathing very hard when his nose was blocked)

long time no log in...i miss the mummies outin =(..

btw haf ani mummy gif their bb drink water? i did not until last week my bb hospitalise due to fever n PD in NUH couldn't find the reason y bb got fever..den my parent says bb muz b heaty..*sigh.......... so after tat i try to gif him abit of water once a day...

Gripe water VS Rid Wind

would like to share tat Ridwind is better than Gripe water for infant... bcos gripe water is more diluted..n ridwind is not..n i gif bb ridwind b4 nite feed..n he reali did not make much noise @ nite..

Yao Lan

i tink try not to gif bb slp in yao lan whole day... i agree wif bliss tat if not brin bb out muz keep shakin baby..as i gif bb slp yao lan oni @ nite cos bb more fussy @ nite..den mornin put him @ mattress den after shower @ rocker..i tink try to place them @ different place to get us of slpin aniwhere...

Piglet, when u say bb din make much noise after giving ridwind, r u refering to the ngek ngek noise? My bb makes lots of ngek ngek noise at nite, is it due to wind?

How to let bb have round round head huh? My colleague commented my bb's head not round but "long".

Sheryl, that's the rocker I have now.

xiao xin - ya..ngek ngek + stretchin sounds..sometime stretch halfway he cry den after fart ok liao..so i suspect alot wind..i gif gripe water it seems he fart alot but nite time still make alot of noise..so my cousin recommend me RIDWIND..i gif durin 10-11pm b4 his feed..n he can slp soundly n oni cry for milk...RIDWIND is alchol free..

Sheryl n xiaoxin:

haha that's the rocker I m talking about too. So nice rocker dunno y baby dun like leh. My hubby say like massage chair when vibrator on haha

thx jusus, gd to hear tat.. my baby onli throw out mouthfuls or abit of milk trickle out.. so i guess is ok.. but just that very sian he gets woken up, always take so long to put him to bed and after awhile he choke on saliva or throw up milk then wake up again =.=

bliss i failed again... fed baby at 6.10pm.. then 7pm i tried to make him sleep.. he was nt crying, eyes big big.. but was yawning.. so i cuddled him, give pacifier, sing to him and pat pat abit.. tried for 30min, in between a few times he close eyes for awhile but after that stir and start fidgeting and ngek again. at 7.30pm, back to eyes big big and getting more irritated, so i latch, tinking mayb he hungry + latch mayb he'll sleep. latch 30min, he suck suck abit, comfort nurse most of the time. at 8pm i unlatch him, his eyes closed and on nursing pillow.. mil carry him to burp.. until now still awake and eyes big big.. howwww..... this is so hard... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

poohlover, how often a day u need to carry for 1-2hrs before baby sleep? yes sometimes my baby obviously very hungry but keep usin hands to push me away. when nipple in his mouth he still open his mouth big big and shake head left and right. i just firmly push his back towards me and try a few times then he'll latch and start sucking. i also lazy to burp after feeds.. if bottle feed, will sure burp.. if latch, and esp at wee hrs, i also lazy to burp.. normally will just keep baby almost uprite for 5-10min then put back in cot le.. and sometimes i fall asleep with him, before he finish his feed. when like that, no burp too.. haha.. i also like u, dun feel like burping him when he's mabok after nite feeds, coz scared wake him hard to make him sleep liao..

xiaoxiin u everynite sleep with baby on dilam? u can put those waterproof sheets on bed.. then even if vomit milk or kena pee, dun need to wash bedsheet.. hehe

suelynn, i tink i read before that over-vaccine no good also. but its hard to read up until realli so aware wat to go for and wat to exclude, so i guess i'll just go for all recommended - 5 or 6-in 1, rota and prenar (or something like tat). y cupfeed and not bottle feed? oh, need to turn head to side? i've not been doing tat, his head face up coz sleeping on donut pillow.. kk i'll take note in future.. when can start letting baby sleep on side without fear of SIDS? i feel he sleeps longer on side, with bolster in front and behind him..

sheryl, yup yup, at jalan membina actually. come loh. i stay at home everyday. though busy with all the small small things but very bored leh. heehee... but i got a free roaming maltese dog at home wor.

poohlover, ya lo, the rocker so nice, how i wish i have a rocking chair too. sheng zai fu zhong bu zhi fu leh...

jojo, i put the blue-pink waterproof sheet but bb dun like leh. think he finds it too cold cos i on air con at nite. n tell u something funny. that time i put the hospital blue sheet on my bed to catch bb's vomit n forgot to remove it, my dog thot it's her pee pad n pee on it! haha... make my hubby mad!!

eh sheryl, or u ask your hubby to bring it home to try for a day la. try for a while cannot really tell if bb likes it also. currently the rocker bai sui in my living room only. lend u for a day or two no problem la.