(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

For the mummies who have gone to the expo:

How about the strollers and cotbeds?

I'm looking to get the Inglesina Zippy actually. Haven't decided on the cotbed yet but basically would prefer not to spend too much, at most around $300.

it is crowded I went as soon as it opened, and when I left not so busy I think everyone went early to get goddy bag, but it is not really worth all the bumps you get, prams blocking the way,

not to many strollers def not like taka fair, conbi had a few but their booth was quite empty so cant be that good a deals, one place had quinny zapp for 399 plus you got a free car seat with it,

I only saw about five cots the cheapest was the shears for 199 but very basic, suelynn the bo bo baby cot bed was only 299 and I thought that was very nice it converted to toddler bed as well,

the best stall was the moms in mind the nursing bras were around $10.00

piglet there was quite alot of people crowding around the shears playpen so it was prob a good price,

Hi Sberry122,

Ya, there's 2 private cord blood banks in Singapore, Cordlife and Stemcord. I'll consider using Cordlife, as most of my friends & collegues signed up with them. I can ask them to be my referrer so that I can get some discount. hehe

i went to the expo fair too...bought the following, seems like quite good/ok deal.....i think...

Nuk Glass feeding bottle (125ml) @$9.60 (isetan selling $11 after 20% disc)

Nuk BPA-free feeding bottle (300ml) @13.20 (isetan selling $15.12 after 20% disc)

Nuk baby wipes(80sheets) with box @$3.90

Nuk Latex feeding teats(medium 0-6mths) @$1.50

Pampers New Born (24s) - $9.00 per pack

Pampers New Baby S (48s) - $49 for 3packs

Pampers Actice Baby M (44s) - $49 for 3packs

didn't really spend much time there coz hubby kinda impatient with the crowd...mayb i'll go again tmr morning....early...to get the goody bag..heehee....and take my time to go thru' the booths there.

Discounts and freebies:

Yeow tze, yup I applied for all these cards cos I don’t need to pay fees ( cos during sale I’ll get 5% - 15% more discounts). I don’t have isetan card cos I have to pay right? Hey what online memberships got freebies? Dumex and nestle give milk powder issit? I plan to BF leh[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Maybe I should check our diaper websites…hee.

Hey moms-to-be do share the websites with everyone so we all know where to look for freebies…haha!

Re: Sex during preg

Piglet, some will be more turned on, some will be totally turned off. Depends on individual. But heard that sex in late stages may cause contractions - in fact that is the recommended 'thing to do' if you want to induce pregnancy the natural way ( if the baby is overdue). hee, that info is from my antenatal instructor -so should be accurate.

Re: Expo sale

Were there lots of stock for the mums-in-mind nursing bras? I was highly recommended by my antenatal class to buy from Mothercare and Marks&Spenser, and buy ONLY after delivery to get the right size. Is that true? Any experience/ comments on this?

jasmini - i heard tat sex durin last tri will help in labour.. cos it'll expand duno wad..i heard from some experience mother..but is like no mood hw to do..muahaha...i did gif it a try but its very pain @ the bottom..

Sberry,

I signed up wif Stemcord for my #1 - juz take it as an insurance for my gal.. I opt for the cheaper one since we also not convince that the more ex the better.

Bebe75,

we saw the real kangaroos today, but at the zoo! Such a funny dream u had, but I sometimes also wish I can juz relieve the bump temporarily. And getting aches n Braxton hicks more often now. worse I can hear my pelvic area go cracking as I flip n turn in bed - speaking abt becoming Graham pear!

Lilysnow,

any gd deals for Avent bottles @ expo, esp the bpa free ones?

sex during pregnancy: Piglet, ya, actually no mood to have sex, somemore i think hubby also like pity me with big tummy. hohoho.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but at times got desire, but then scared, later pain, which yes, have pain... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] somemore now i think all of us going to enter or already enter 3rd trimester... so, ya.

dark armpits: yeah, i have it too.. will it eventually go away aft giving birth? unsightly la.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Re: Sex during preg

Piglet!! haha....sure anot?! LOL...

Seriously i doubt it'll help in stretching the vagina, unless our hubby's thing is that HUGE....to prepare for the 10cm dilation of the baby's head. hee.

Yup i think majority got no mood! think the preg mum's mind will be more worried about whether she will hurt the big bump (baby), or sprain the hip or something like that.

But why pain @ the bottom? Shouldn't have what! my antenatal instructor reminds us to do alternative positions (eg. female on top) when the bump is getting bigger, to avoid hurting it.

jasmini: think pain as in not lubricate enough? and yes, tried the female on top, but hor. hehe~ tired... lazy to move.. hohoho...

so nice to see almost everyone start buying bb stuffs already. i havent.. hehe~

just briefly see2 the things only and online, but havent la..

nowadays very cold at night, sometimes drizzling, get cramps very2 often. almost everynight. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Re: Playpen at expo fair

There's playpen at expo fair.. i bought one quite a gd deal.. 41"x28" at $79 with free 3" foldable mattress [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] (from shears)

irma & jasmini - the position is like so out of the way lolx..but i tink i heard from my frenz tat her gynae tell them to haf more sex for faster delivery lolx...and wad i heard from elderly is hafin sex baby come out..their head will haf 1 patch of white stain..someting like tat...

piglet: i think if we sit up strait n hubby lying down, so wont kena our growing tummy..

having sex,when bb come out white patch? i think i've heard abt it, but dun think its true la.. becoz bb is covered inside placenta mah.. hehe~

piglet: yeah i agree have a fren who was pregnant, for 9 whole mths, didnt have sex with hubby.. but if hubby ok nvm... somehow they have to understand. somehow la.. but u now, some husband insist. so.. *raise shoulders*

Baby fair

It was crowded and not many car seats on display..was kinda disappointing. I saw the Shears carseat and did not like the material..maybe I will consider the Graco model selling at Toy'srus. The Shear playpen looks attractive..not too expensive. But Hubby think we can make do with our old one which is supposedly stored at my inlaws' place. Hopefully, it is still in useable condition.

Like Aven2009, I think the best buy is moms-in-mind, I bought a sling (deluxe) for $40. Nursing bra are selling at $10-$25.

I bought 2 pieces of rompers and some diaper shorts from the booth called Baby Culture. The material are quite soft.

I left the Fair 2 hrs later...cos I had a bad cramp on my left leg..hiaz.

Kiddy Palace Sales

Did anyone mention that the sales at Kiddy Palace will end this weekend? I am trying to compare the prices of the cot mattress at the Expo fair and the Kiddy Palace.

Shen, yup.. maybe OG revised the price ba... anyway.. today see expo bb fair, tink the steriliser is selling at $115 but the freebies abit diff. but still quite worth it la..

Teo Yeow Tze, i dun tink the bb clothes are cheaper in Hkg, oni some i find nice so i buy lor.. but my fren who migrated to SG since pri sch, her mum nw staying in Hkg insisted to buy the bb clothes fm Hkg. maybe quality gd or cheaper ba?

aven2009, i saw the Shears basic cot at $199, not nice one... even the deluxe version at $269 which i wanted to get initially i also tink cannot make it. not very sturdy lor. i tink the oni cots which are i find are more sturdy would be the puku bb cot or bobo bb cot, both $299. but i tink i still prefer the rocio bb cot fm taka bb fair. die die i want to buy the rocio bb cot. :p but maybe the shears playpen at $79 is not bad coz got 3-fold mattress foc.

i tink the mums in mind nursing bra better buy the $25 one coz $10 one is thin n no padding leh.

piglet, my hubby also say no sex nw.. coz he scared will hurt bb. sian lor.. hahaha.. sometimes i really feel like raping him. lolx

Bebe75

If u wan the Graco car seat selling at Toy'srus, do call the outlets to check the stock. I bought from Vivo and they told me it's the last pc. But new stock shd be coming in...

Expo Baby Fair

Goody Bag: Reached there about 11.30am... still managed to grab two goody bags. Got diapers, palmers cream, Heinz baby food, toothbrush... not bad leh

moms-in-mind: Bought three bras from there. Good quality... If not for the crowd..i wld have buy more.

Avent Bottles: The two bottles in one box Gold Series BPA free for 125ml & 260 bottles are cheaper than those sold in Taka Baby Fair. I didn't buy from Expo cos I thot Taka cheaper got 25%discount, went to Taka in the afternoon. Taka only selling individual bottle not value pack.. I bought at Taka cos no point rushing back to Expo & incur car park charge. So if u guys are going to Expo tomorrow, shd buy the Gold series bottles at Expo.

Diapers: All quite cheap. I bought 1 NB and 1 S size Huggies plus 4 packets of wet tissues. Got a free mothercare romper.

Cots: Expo ones cannot make it... prefer Taka.. look more sturdy

Side track: I luv the food fair at Expo thou... Visited there after Baby Fair... Lots of good food there[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Friends

Graco Carseat

Thanks for the advice..in fact, I was thinking of going to Suntec tomorrow to check out the display. Hmm...in that case, I better call the outlets..dunwan waste my time going down..

piglet/irma

if painful or if you're worried abt white stain, why not use a condom? solve all your probs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

actually don't have stain one la...the semen will not penetrate into the water bag lor...otherwise the baby will get bacteria poisoning long ago liao.

faster delivery? i heard very useful to naturally induce baby to come out, but since we're not full term yet, better not. today my antenatal class remind us again - during delivery if want to induce labor faster ( after water bag burst) can either have sex or stimulate your own nipples. but if in hospital already - sex is not allowed. so we can either walk ard the ward or stimulate the nipples for contractions.

Went to e Expo Fair juz now. Nt much things to purchase oso.

Avent Bottles

If u nt getting e BPA bottles, juz e normal 1 den quite worth it. 2x 125ml n 2x260ml for $25.

Sex During PRegnancy

Mi totally no interest in sex oso. Lucky hubby understand so dun think its aproblem. After birth maybe will change n my turn to rape him. LOL!

Sex during pregancy

For those who has low lying placenta (placenta previa), do exercise caution when having penetration sex.

Hubby and I are not too active in bed so far..esp he is always not in S'pore. I find myself getting clumsy and easily breathless..and at times too dry to proceed, I ended up just help him to release.

think after giving birth .. some woman may hv even lower sex drive.. bcoz of having to take care of baby at night so would rather sleep when we hv a chance to hit the bed

and also we may be quite dry down there which makes having sex even more painful [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Expo food

I also do not like the food there. It was raining when I was there, find it difficult to get indoor seats. The outdoor seats were all wet...the design of the entrance/exit shelters is useless..quite a frustrating experience to makan there on a rainy day

Anyone interested in cheap brand new infant carseat at $80, SECOND HAND allerhand bag at $60, infant co-sleeper at $45, mybrestfriend breastfeeding cushion at $45?? PM me.

yeow tze, if you're thinking of getting those animal in disguise romper, like bee, pooh bear, frog- worth to buy at Hk. cos its abt 6dollars only. material is pretty good. baby clothes- thicker ones also quite cheap $10. you can find cheaper ones if you bargain. but the generally the price range around there. this is at garden street, at mongkok(ask your friend to go to the first corner store- v reasonable price), and one street further down mongkok also sells lots of baby clothes tt locals go to. but can't bargain at that street.

I din hv a chance to explore city gates outlets where there 're good brands of kids and baby clothes on outlet price. so can't really comment.

just to take note all mummies who may be taking epidural, pls ask nurse or your hubby to move you to rest on different sides. like 1hr on left side one hr on right side. don keep resting on 1side. cos my #1, nurse too busy, din move me frequently and I'm always on my left side. ended up my left thigh felt numb til now.

cath

when i had my #1 I was also lying on my left most of the time also after my epi

so far ok leh.

i guess the reason why you are placed on the left is to give my oxygen to the baby incase they get distress inside.

Cath, my sis keep telling mi to endure n not take epidural coz she super regret nw. she said nw her back area where she had the epidural causes her backache n when she went for massage, it was really bad.

Expo fair:

i went yesterday, shopped for 3hours!!

I think the Mustela Nappy rash cream good deal- 3 for $27. UP abt $15++ per tube.

Bought Huggies diapers to last for bb 1st mth, buy 5 packet free a drum toy. Pampers got sale, but even sale is ex.

Pureen detegent/powder, bottle wash, body foam and wet wipes are cheap too. I bought many! hee..

hmm.. can buy pillow/bolster set/covers.

Combi strollers 10% discount but no free gift. Finally bought my Urban Walker fr there ;)

Moms-in mind- maternity bra $10 +, slings and nursing wear ($25).

Palmer-some discount, if want free sample, juz pop by and take a look, u might get some!

Baby clothes: can get some simple rompers/bodysuits.

I bought 80% of my stuff at Expo, so to me, it's a great place. Hee..

oh, rem to bring more cash as some booth do not accept cards.

good day to all.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wah.. Rachel, real great buy you have..

Huggies diapers... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

the baby clothes great buy or not? want to go, but working ah.. tsk!

bluberi - @ least u got the feel of rapin...i not even interested abt it @ all..

Jasimini - dun wan waste money use condom lolx..ppl use to prevent pregnancy n since we're oreadi preg den use abit waste..haha..i tink the white stain is a myth..my frenz do try but oso din haf the white patches..as wad u say is right, they haf the bag to protect them den i tink the sperm wun b bitin it rite..LOLX...

Jolene - mayb after birth we're the one who's hyper lolx..cos so mani months never liao..lolx..

bebe75 - i'm havin low placenta, as i read online, they actuali advise us not to haf sex but i tink bcos of tat causes me to haf pain @ the bottom when active wif sex..perhaps i'm tinkin too much den pressure myself too much...

Gitz - i heard some ladys tell me tat their husband after enterin the labour ward wif them..after tat no interest in sex wif them @ all...sounds scary..

BluBeri and Cath - Thanks for the info… Will ask my friend check it out then…

jasmini - I applied those Dumex, etc, memberships is to get milk powder for myself to consume, not for bb… keke… I also plan to breastfeed. Good for bb and save $$, right? 

Thanks SueLynn for the websites…

jasmini: yala.. waste money use condom. hehe~ not nice. hahahaha...

talking abt no interest in sex aft see wife in labour..i agree..some men like that. well, not that i've experienced, but i heard like that too... scary lei..

yes some Father get very traumautised after seeing the wife in labour esp if the wife is in difficult labour.

and some din even dare to touch kueh chap after that

piglet, hahaha.. even i want to rape my hubby he also wun want to have sex wan la.. so nw my place is a monestary, got 1 monk (hubby) and 1 nun (mi). :p

Teo Yeow Tze, u are most welcome! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gitz, wat has kuey chap got to with labour? my hubby like to eat kuey chap alot wor.. hahaha

bluberi - i tink Kway Chap cos of the intestine n all...lolx...i cant help laughin when i c u say tat ur hse got 1 monk n 1 nun..perhaps ur husband is concern abt u n baby...endure another 4 more months..perhaps very fast u'll haf ur #2...

piglet, true mah.. now we are monk n nun.. i tink have to wait at least 5mths.. i dun wan no.2 so fast leh, maybe when no.1 is at least 1yr old den i try for no.2.

piglet: *touchwood* scary scary.. eheh~

bluberi: u ah.. hehe~

i think will tell my hubby dun look at my lower torso when im in labour and giving birth. just look at my face.. hehe

BluBeri- Mi too. Monk n Nun. No appetite to haf dessert. Main course-sleeping is e best. Last time when we get slightly noisy my #1 will make noise de. LOL!

Irma- Vr hard to say 1 coz in e labour ward, hubby can walk here n there to c baby n you. My hubby accidentally saw my placenta dropped on e tray or floor. He was say lyk pork liver. My gynae dun mind to let my hubby c if hubby is nt afraid.