(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

Regards to breastfeeding

I tbf my son for 6mths and tbf my girl for 18mths. To be honest, I do not recommend buying any fm at home for standby else you will succumb to the easy way out. Breastfeeding is going to be tiring which you must be mentally prepared if you want the best for your baby. You will bound to hear many myths like "your bm not enough", "bm is too diluted and baby will not be full" .. Etc.. But you got to stand firm in what mother nature has given us. The first few days the breast will be providing colostrum which is the essence of nutrients you can give to baby. Just a few drops is enough to sustain your baby for a gd time. Make sure you latch the baby as soon as you are ready and try to delay baby coming in contact with bottle to avoid nipple confusion. Think about it, the baby will choose the easy way out. The baby will take bottle as he do not need to simulate the bottle unlike breast for milk. Breastfeeding is a mutual learning process for both mummy and baby. For a start, Mummy need to learn how to hold baby in the correct and comfortable way to latch baby. Baby will need to learn how simulate the breast and suckle for milk. It's a relationship shared between mummy and baby which I'm sure as a mummy you do not want to miss it for the world. You are giving this previous the best food in the world with no contamination, power packed with nutrients and boost of immunity that no fm can give. Read up more, give you and baby some time and in no time bf will be a breeze everywhere you go. I bf my girl in pouch, bb bjorn even walking or shopping or pushing stroller with my boy. You never have to worry on bottles, hot water, cold water with the huge diaper bag that u be lagging along. No worries on melamine contamination in fm and you save on the ever rising fm.. The pros are endless.. Mummies if you can do try to bf. I be happy to entertain any bf questions you may have. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] kudos to bf!!!

Mummies who went to the taka sales, does

it carries the vanille baby cot there?[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thanks

jus came back from Isetan and bought 3 packs of the sorella disposable undies. They hv 2 types one like cloth at $6.90 for a pack of 5 and one like paper but thicker material gng for $5.90 for a pack of 5.

Bought the $6.90 one as material like thicker.

Wow cyberbabe

that's very admirable... bf your gal for 18 mths ...!!! i was full expressing during my #1 and so bf is gonna be a new experience for me. my #1 cant latch on, so no choice, full express till 8mths.

Heard a lot of mummies said that newborns tend to suckle and fall asleep while suckling and then cry every 1 hr. I have some questions if you don mind:

How to prevent them from sleeping half way thru.

How to prevent them from sucking for comfort, then everytime want to suck before they go to sleep ...

When baby suckle on 1 side, the other side will leak, what do you do? Shd we get those breast shields cover - that can hold the dripping bm?

Do you express again after every feed?

Sorry for the numerous questions... thanks ya.

hi ladies.. i tink taka bb fair dun haf the vanille bb cot.

juz nw went mothers en vogue at centrepoint, my mum bought me the osaka tunic dress (for nursing) at $19.90 coz there was a discount. my mum also bought a my bb a bon bebe romper+pant+bib fm a pushcart dat sold bb clothes..

hey ladies, thanks for the advice on whether to standby fm... yep, agree tat i shd not. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

attended 1st mom & dad congress yesterday....Mrs. Wong is really good! those attending her pernatal classes....dun forget to share some tips....

im a feb mum and i just bought a pigeon sterilizer set from taka at sg199 (brand new). wishing to sell it of as my hubby bought the same one on the same day without informing me.the goods will only deliver to my house this friday.

anyone who is interested, pls pm me. i'm staying at CCK.

The set come with, 5 BPA free milk bottles, bb wet wipe, food warmer,and a few more items...

morning mummies

does anyone know with the takashimaya credit card still have 10% discount at the taka baby fair?

Which card is better?

-Takashimaya Platinum American Express® Card

-Takashimaya Visa Card

Still in time to apply for the taka baby fair that end on 28Mar

Hi Cath,

Please find below answers to the best that I can:

How to prevent them from sleeping half way thru?

"A nursing mother must cuddle her infant closely many times during the day. Nursing becomes more than a way to feed a baby; it's a source of warmth and comfort.

When the baby is being fed and nurtured in this way, it’s natural for her to fall asleep quickly. When you know how much she can consume in one feeding, try to gently nudge her awake if she falls asleep too soon. You can easily rouse her with a little tickle of the feet. Otherwise, she’ll get hungry sooner and you’ll be feeding her more often."

How to prevent them from sucking for comfort, then everytime want to suck before they go to sleep ...

http://www.bellaonline.com/articles/art39381.asp

http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/comfort-versus-nutrition-by-kathryn-orlinsky.html

When baby suckle on 1 side, the other side will leak, what do you do?

I catch it on a bottle can mix it with my older kids bm for them to drink so that they be able to get the nutrients too.. or at times i just let it leak on baby hanky and use it to wipe my face or where-ever then rinse away.. recycle the milk whatever way i can .. Hee

Shd we get those breast shields cover - that can hold the dripping bm?

I have never tried but its a gd idea but i am a lazy mum. If i latch lying down then will just let the milk soak my baby hanky.. :p

Do you express again after every feed?

I only express when I need to go out without baby else I dun express at all. Or if I am really engorge then I will express for my older kid to drink.

To be honest, I am very much a hand expressed mummy. You may be amazed but I can get my milk out faster and clear my breast better this way though its definitely more tiring. I only started using my medela PIS on my 2nd child after bf her for 1yr cos my work made me really tired to handexpress the amount she need. But still I use the handexpress to clear all. Pumps dun seem to work well for me. Hee..

For mummies who wants to know more on breastfeeding can read up on Jack Newman site http://www.nbci.ca/ or even you may refer to the Breastfeeding Support Group for help at http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/home/index.php (T)6339-3558

I have managed to encourage many people around me to tbf including my sis who claims even she before give birth that her mom no milk so sure she cannot bf. She managed to do it for close to a year and I am very proud of her. Its all in the mind. Stay a firm believer of breastfeeding and anyone can do it irregardless of breast size. The best is for baby to latch the moment baby is out of you! Enjoy being a mummy and the wonders you can give your darling which no one can replaced!

My msn is [email protected] if you need faster response. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I just went to seahorse to customize my hand me down cot mattress. It's about $80... after additional of 10% on top of the 50% discount [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

FRIENDS, Seahorse can customise cot mattress one ar? i beri scared if i buy vot, the free mattress dun last.. would be gd to get a customised mattress dat is gd. how many inch is the mattress u customised?

BluBeri

Yah... they do so thot of sharing this lobang with u ladies. The foam mattress sold at Kiddy Palace seems to be very filmsy and too soft for baby's backbone hence, went to customise the actual measurement. Mine is 27" X 51" and thickness is 4". Thickness can chose from 2" onwards and can choose between hard, medium soft and soft. Samples are around for u feel. But waiting time needs 3 weeks hor... I can only collect it in April.

FRIENDS, thanks for ur info.. i tink it is very impt to have a gd mattress for bb cot. my fren said the free mattress dat came with the bb cot sank aft 4 mths even though the sales person said it's a gd mattress. but turns out cannot make it lor. i shall check out Seahorse after i order the bb cot next week. i know order fm Seahorse needs to wait 3wks, my sofa fm them also liddat.. wait 3wks.

Bluberi

No worries... I had a hard time searching for the right measurement for my cot so no choice might as well customised made one. What surprise me was the price cos its less than $100... A normal 4" foam sold at the stores is around $50-$60... so I think for extra $20 it's quite worth it...

FRIENDS

this is interesing abt the Seahorse matt your posted

can i check their matt is those firm type rite? and wld they provide matt cover also?

FRIENDS, i tink even if buy Babysafe latex mattress is at least $150.. So $80 is very worth for a seahorse mattress which is very lasting

Gitz

Mine is medium soft, still quite firm.. I think need to go there personally to test it out ... i didn't ask about the matt cover leh.. don't know know about it... maybe i post the pic once I collect it and u guys will know how it look like...

Bluberi

Latex better leh... but too bad Seahorse don't customise it....

FRIENDS, yes.. by rite latex is better.

juz went to buy new packet of Annum Materna milk, price increased fm $18.20 to $20.20!!

Blueberi

i have similac mum milk powder 2 satchets u want? cos dunno wat to do with it cos i dnt drink powdered milk

mummies, just a reminder of the studio shoot offer:

DreamGarden 128 offer:

1) Straw81

2) Mikojade

3) Jalgal

Any more mummies joining? If not, i will be submitting the list at the end of the day

straw.. i want to go but i want to take photos in july after my confinement... its ok rite? with 1 tot and 1 baby?

I am abit tied up with work now.. if u cant help me check with them its ok, i will pm them by myself but i will join the list first, just need to work out the dates. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

DreamGarden 128 offer:

1) Straw81

2) Mikojade

3) Jalgal

4) genice

Hi mummies and mummies-to-be

I'm new here and the following are my details...

EDD: 23 June 2010

Gynae: Dr Joycelyn Wong

Hospital: TMC

Gender of Bb: Boy

working status:SAWM

I'm a first time mom... and have been reading through the previous posts in this forum for the past week and am glad to find you all here... Cos can give each other support and TLC and sharing information together. So wonderful and comforting... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw, I've gone to the TMC hospital tour b4 and gotten the previous rates. Comparing with current rates, the 1 bedded room (not renovated) cost increased by $100 (for the 2 days vaginal delivery stay package). As for Caecarean (3 days stay), it's also increased by $100. Didn't check out the renovated 1 bedded and suites though, cos find it quite x. The deposit for 1 bedded has also increased to $1400 (from previously $1200).

As for 2 bedded room, the packages increased by $50.

Hope this helps...

genice, just to double check:

U are planning to take the photos after ur confinement rt? Then wont it be in Aug then?

I believe we have to use the package within 3 months. Fyi, i have emailed the organizer, will let u know again

Went to Taka fair but a little confused re finding Roxio cotbed. The one we saw was white with wheels and sold by a company which does not have a shop. The bed had no tags on it so couldn't see the brand. But it comes with free mattress and 7-piece bedding set and price was $399. And bed is displayed in the middle section when you first enter the fair, on the right segment of the Avent booth. Are we looking at the right bed?

Anyhow, will compare it to what we see at the Expo this weekend. Have not bought stroller yet, still waiting to see if we can get any cheaper than the $638 for the Inglesina Zippy (without carseat).

Hi Babyrain,

Could I also please ask about the Hypnobirthing course so far. Husband is quite keen but I find it really expensive at $495 since we also paid for prenatal classes which is ending soon. I understand it is for 5 lessons. Have you read the book by any chance? Was wondering if the weekly lessons add value. Bought the book earlier, wasn't cheap too, at Borders - it was close to $50 if I remember correctly. Thanks in advance for your reply!

Bluberi

no i dnt take powder milk since my no 1 time. Doc say most prob all the fats go to me she say calcium pills has better abosorption by the bb.

Mezzo17, liddat ar.. u staying at sengkang rite? if u want can pass to mi also la, i any brand of milk also drink one, maybe tis sat at compasspoint?

Thanks Bluberi,

What a blurdo - think we were looking at a different cot. Will check out the Expo sale this weekend and go back to Taka if we need to.

Sberry122,

Would like to order Fenugreek from Drugstore.com as I understand that it will help boost BM supply. But not sure which is the supplement we should be getting. Any mummies in the know?

Thanks all.

Suelynn, i saw the white cot u mentioning abt.. dun really like it, first is due to the price, second coz i find it not as stable as the Rocio bb cot. tink coz the Rocio is solid wood ba, the weight is 22Kg leh.

Bluberi,

Hubby didn't like that cot too - he said the wood looks rough, I guess the concern comes about when baby starts chewing the railing, it may splinter more easily. I really should go back and check out the Rocio cot.

Suelynn, there is this plastic thing which we can buy for the cot railing, forget the name liao.. tis is in case bb starts to chew on the railing.

nw my mind is all abt the Rocio cot.. hahaha.. but i promised my hubby i will take a look at the Shears white cot at expo bb fair tis sat coz initially i was so keen on it.

I have the following I wish to let go:

Self collection will be @ my place in Aljunied.

From Little dreamers

Healing bottom spray $15 including postage

Brand new unopened 120ml bottle Expiry Sep 2011

I had to go for c-sect thus selling this off.

Dry confinement Powder (for hair) $8 including postage

3.4oz bottle Expiry Oct 2011

Used 30%. Tried using during confinement but end up washing my hair. :p

Nursing Bra size 40C (Nude(brown) and light beige) - $8.50 each including postage

Washed not worn. Bought wrong size. Ribbon in the centre has been removed.

Please visit here for photo

Brand New Unopened Avent Nipple Cream $14 including postage

30g Expiry June 2011

Do PM me if keen. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Genice,

i think is ok to hold the package till end of july i also planing to take the shoot after my confinement cos baby haven't come out yet. then the organiser said ok to hold it for me till end of july. just need to paid $50 deposit. but if u r taking the shoot with 1 tod n 1 inf then u got to check again cos i remember the organiser say it will be diffence package (more Ex) lei.

FRIENDS, not sure kiddy palace have anot.. but i remember seeing it at Robinsons last sat.

juz found out the coorect term shd be called teething rail cover.

bluberi, you are the same as me! my mind keep on drifting to the rocio cot i saw at Taka BB Fair. the one which i saw is natural wood colour, and not the white colour....anyway, since Expo fair starting this friday, no harm going down to checkout the prices.

Now must compare for best bargains leh, since having a child costs so much!

Hi Suelynn, I think I heard of tat but not too sure abt it.

I will wait for ur further advise, will hold the order first.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

FRIENDS, i never check out the price leh. but some cots do come with the teething rail free.

Elise, the white cot is another brand. more exp than rocio and not as stable too. i like the natural colour of rocio, i hate those cot which are in breech colour, looks like painted on one. yup, need to compare more at expo before deciding on the best deal.

Sorry to hold you back sberry122.

I'm checking around as well re which is the one we should be buying. But for mummies who are interested in the teas which would aid BM supply and prepare uterus for birth, they are as follows respectively. My sis was saying that they sell the teas at Vitakids as well, just not sure how much.

a) BM: http://international.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=82661&catid=39231&trx=PLST-0-SEARCH&trxp1=39231&trxp2=82661&trxp3=1&trxp4=0&btrx=BUY-PLST-0-SEARCH

b) Uterus: http://international.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=95145&catid=157354&trx=PLST-0-SEARCH&trxp1=157354&trxp2=95145&trxp3=1&trxp4=0&btrx=BUY-PLST-0-SEARCH

Please consult your docs as to when is the appropriate time to start drinking these. Not for too early I believe.