(2010/05) May 2010 mtb

luckyone, my bb also started on pork liao.

MIL cooks her porridge daily. She mixes brown rice with white rice.

5am she soak the rice (to soften them)

9am she cooks it over the stove

i think when done she transfer to slow cooker and keep it there for baby's lunch and dinner.

I've seen her used so far... pork, fish, pumpkin, carrots, swee potatoes, ikan billis powder... usually these few lor. kinda boring if you ask me. I am not sure if she shd introduce some new ingredients... broccoli shd be next i think.

accoording to my information (fr internet) 8 months ++ then start to give "pork" minced pork.

But if you use the pork rib just for the soup base, should be ok bah. Your baby eat pork rib b4?

my gal also hated water. but now she cries for it (esp when aft porridge) maybe because she is on semi solid and shes not taking alot of other fluid (milk)

my pd once told me its okie to add abit of barley water to the plain water if bb doesnt wanna drink plain water.. but i didnt try that time. coz scared that wil encourge bad habit. next time older how to everyday cook barley water for her... so no choice lor. force her drink when she was younger (when started formula)

Mrs Teo, so~~lucky there's someone help you to cook (^^)

If you girl is ok for pork so far, i guess should be ok bah.

But I don dare to give my boy pork 1st leh..

I'm kai si mama haha all follow the books and internet information..

luckyone,

pro is having her to cook lar. but then hor..cons are also many - like i cannot control wat the baby eats... (like some i dun think she can eat or dun feel good abt her eating, but MIL gives... so i just shut my eyes, ears, mind).

but somethings hard to shut off... just like this morning was drizzling but MIL happily bring bb out to park for walk. *faints*

My helper dare not tell her not to go out. So just ran after her and put on a cap for baby. Hubby then went after MIL and ask MIL to come back.

bx, skmama, you are not alone. Me another lazy mummy cos till now Meagan is only taking cereal with puree veg once or twice a day. I might just start her on porridge once she turns 8 months next week. Seeing the amount of food and milk intake of all the babies here makes me kinda worried. My girl is only taking in about 160ml of milk at each feed and her cereal + veg portion is like 2 tablespoon of cereal with 1 cube of veg kind. So all in all, she's not eating and drinking that much.

Mrs Teo,

ya lor tats wat i told the nurse. i told her S intake dropped since we increase her cereal. she prefer solids to milk. she say its like tat one. once bb start cereal intake will drop but it is ok... it is gd tat bb likes solids. i said she is only drinking 500-600ml certain days. she say ya can increase to 3 meals. @@

i also worry if her solid increase milk will drop.

now her intake is like:

7.30am - 180ml milk

9.30am - 15g oats cereal + 1 scoop fm

12noon - 100ml milk

2.00pm - 15g brown rice cereal + 45ml puree + 1 scoop fm

4.00pm - 150ml milk

7.00pm - 180ml milk

12mm - 180ml milk

i think her feedings are somewhat too close. been trying to change but dunno how to start. i wan to take out one milk feeding but if i do her milk intake will decrease. arghhhh!

mattsmummy,

guess u r not alone too cause Nicole is only drinking 150ml of milk. As for cereal+vege puree, the most is only 2 tbsp. More she will still to lost interest. I tried to increase her cereal intake but she dun seem interested at all. Last week, I tried porridge and she only finish the most 3 tbsp. I start to worry cause she is like not growing and wonder should I stop BM and start giving her FM instead now

Oh god! After reading all ur posts on the soilds makes me feel so gulity. I made attempts of feeding him porridge though but he hated it. Refuse to open his mouth. Raihan is slow in the food department so am lil worried. As for motor skills- he is super mobile. If has some form of support to grab onto, he will hold it and stand. Thats how he wakes up too! He woke up and climbed on me and woke me up! Hahhaha! He is a terror in the walker. And thank god I didn't get a playmat. He just crawls everywhere. He loves going to the kitchen because he knows that its ths forbidden area. Hahhahaha! !

Agnes u take care of urself and ur lil one. It might be that he is allergic to paracetamol. Its possible.

hihis mummies...

hope most of us are winding down for the year!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

agnes:

oh no! i hope toshan recovers from this virus fast! i can imagine it's quite heartbreaking to see our little ones ill..

wha lau.. wonder which *** from the cruise passed the mystery virus to him :/

skmama!

mmm bb cally takes 400-600ml of BM normally.. even before i got her started on semi-solids..

so she doesn't take much milk to begin wif, but is within 70-90% weight range..

how about sarah?

my mum and i are getting sick of steaming the same few vege (carrot, pumpkin, brocolli, apples, pear, potato, sweet potato) for her... but i still wanna stick to the meat from 8mths onwards thinggy..

for plain water in trainer cup, my gal is quite slow lei..she dunno how to suck still.. so i just give her my cup, and she's so playful that she'll gulp, lick it and choke...

oh oh.. for the past 2 days, bb Cally has been pooping solid poops... previously it's mashed up ones.. kindda like the small version of normal adult poops..

i can't find any info about how poops change for growing babes and whether this is normal(sorry for sounding gross)

any similar experiences or knowledge on this, mummies???pls share oki [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

for the mummy meetups..sighs that i cannot join.. :/ have fun!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

p.s about family pics of xmas party, i'm gonna get the softcopies from Sze Ping (via hubby) today.. will post it soon! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sue ah,

she is 50% for weight n 90% for height. nurse say she is a tall bb. i read tat bb shd drink abt 790ml onwards. but bb cally looks so chubby n healthy. shd b absorbing all the milk nutrients. its gd. i got so frustrated w S skinny frame tat i ask the nurse "is it drink mamil gold wont put on weight" think the nurse also shake head at me. kekeke.

regarding poo:

after started semi solids the poo poo shd be like peanut butter. tats wat i read also. but S poo poo is like dry curry paste texture. haha. ya its firm n dry, like mini adult poop. she is not showing any straining in pooing so im not alarmed. just make sure she take water everyday.

Hey mummies my son's poo is getting harder and can see that he has a hard time pooing. wondering if it is ok to give fruits like prunes to relieve his constipation? For those baby jar foods, can we feed direct from the jar?

hihis skmama!

mmm sounds like bb S has high metabolic rate[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

how about trying that sample enfapro we got during the xmas party? i think serene mentioned before that it's supposed to be good and (Expensive).. not that expensive stuff are necessarily good lar..

i think bb cally is like her daddy.. eat and absorb..not much output.. wonder if she's gonna be a pui pui like his family genes.. will just wait and see..hehe...

babygi, skmama

how do u know when bb is pooing?my gal poos like 1x in 3-5 days.. so it's hard to be around to "hear" it when it happens ...most of the time, she's just passing wind... Lol!

sue,

Poo - is this normal?? I tot baby suppose to poo everyday? mine is like 2-3day will only poo and I worry it is not normal and when I tell doc, he tell me can try give her banana or papaya

Information on the BJG trial at Thomson Branch below, please select the timings:

Please find below the trial class schedule for Crawler 1.

1) 8 Jan 2011 Saturday 2.30pm - 3.30pm (3 slots)

2) 9 Jan 2011 Sunday 11.30am - 12.30pm (4 slots)

- SN

3) 9 Jan 2011 Sunday 3.15pm - 4.15pm (4 slots)

Trial Fee: $38.00

Please kindly note that should you decide to sign up on the spot after the trial, the trial fee will be waived for you. Toysrus card entitles u to 15% disc for the term fee, hence pls bring along if u have and keen to sign up.

Kindly PM me the below details once u select the timing, so that I can forward them to register (dun forget to indicate yr nick so I noe who's who's):

1) Name of Child

2) Date of Birth of Child

3) Name of Parent

4) Contact Number

**Please kindly note that the above timings are for trial only and the timing for confirmed classes will be subjected to availability.

Thanks Mummies.

We can see him "gek sai" until face red red coz constipation now. Last time no constipation, also can tell he is pooing coz he will be v still - got one look on his face and sometimes fist will be clenched

babygi:

oic.. actually ur description sounds very funny.. but poor bb.. kek sai is not fun..

i will look out for bb cally's expression...

evejol:

dunno whether it's normal lei?? i haven't visited the pd since bb cally's 6th mth checkup

but i thot it's in her daddy's genes.. constipation.. heh

i think we give cally quite a bit of fibre though..i.e carrots, spinach, pumpkin (like 3-4 tablespoon wif 2-4 tablespoon flakey cereals)

skmama,

wah, ur gal like drinking a lot. dun worry too much abt the size. i think she takes after u coz u belong to the petite category.

mattsmummy,

hi^5. so fast meagan going to b 8 mths already. u still bfing?

Bx: My mum and I do not always cook with veg stock. We just dumped all ingredients into the porridge and boiled for about 2 hours... It's quite tasty. You can add 1 red date also. My mum adds a few pcs of Gou Qi Zi to taste the porridge.

Edie: We hope he is teething. Else, we will be very angry! haha!

When I am off, I will give him some finger food from our family food, like pcs of meat, fish or veg. What I normally do is cut a smaller pc aside and bring it to steam or boil while I was stir frying the rest. I have started to cook with homogenized full fat milk and gave him cheese as well... Sometimes, I find that he enjoys eating by himself than feeding him porridge.

- SN

- Janelle

Skmama: BB S is drinking a fair bit. My boy is also 90% height, 75% weight. But also a skinny baby. When you carry him, you feel the bones. That's my hubby commented Thea was nice to carry even just for that few second.

He is taking 210ml now. 4 feeds per day. I am going to give him proper lunch soon. That will only become 3 feeds per day only. But many website that I google and even an app I download from itunes also give the same weaning guide. 3 milk feed and 3 solid meal. Each milk feed is about 180ml - 240ml for our babies' stage.

babyqi, incl u just nice 11 slots.

mummies keen for bjg trial in thomson branch:

- SN

- ChloeMum

- Anne Raj

- Lucas Mummy

- Pancake

- mattsmummy

- Edie

- rumissing

- Michelle

- impulse41

- babyqi

Information on the BJG trial at Thomson Branch below, please select the timings:

-babyqi

- SN, lucasmummy

Please kindly note that should you decide to sign up on the spot after the trial, the trial fee will be waived for you. Toysrus card entitles u to 15% disc for the term fee, hence pls bring along if u have and keen to sign up.

Kindly PM me the below details once u select the timing, so that I can forward them to register (dun forget to indicate yr nick so I noe who's who's):

1) Name of Child

2) Date of Birth of Child

3) Name of Parent

4) Contact Number

**Please kindly note that the above timings are for trial only and the timing for confirmed classes will be subjected to availability.

Thanks Mummies.

skmama...

so cute.. i saw that you wrote bb S is 50% for weight n 90% for height. Mine is 50% height and 90% weight lor!!!

Hi SN, yes..we hv signed up d course [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Agnez, hope ur bb gets well soon..last time, my boy also got rashes after the medication n my nanny told me is alrite..is normal after the medication..my case similiar like ur..just monitor his temperature from time to time and use the cooling pad if u got, if not use the wet sponge(room temperature water) to wipe his body..temperature normally go high during mid of night..so u must monitor his temperature, if necessary, immediate wet sponge his armpit, forehead n neck area..

sue,

poo shd be daily or at least every other day i think. you call and check with pd better.

agree with babygi - usually they keep quiet and still when poo in progress.

Hi SN,

Hope you're feeling better, have added my name for the Sat 2.30pm slot. Thanks for co-ordinating with BJG [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

-babyqi, Michelle

- SN, lucasmummy

evejol, yup me too wondering if I should just stop bf-ing and give formula since formula is said to have higher fats contents.

sue, Meagan also poo every 3-5 days. When she was younger, there were times when she only poo once every 6-7 days! I asked my PD every time I see her but she always assure me that it is normal for breast-fed babies to not poo for many days because breastmilk is highly digestible.

bx, ya time flies she's turning 8 months on 29th Dec. I'm still bf-ing but would really, really like to stop soon. Just waiting for supply to deplete naturally or else will run into problems again (I'm sure you know what I mean [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif])

-babyqi, Michelle

- SN, lucasmummy, mattsmummy

mattsmummy,

if u continue pumping, how to let supply deplete naturally? i also want to stop. can't wait!!! waiting for him to turn 8 mths (i bf #1 for 8 mths) plus also waiting for frozen stock to deplete before i stop pumping. coz i mix frozen with fresh bm.

LucasMummy , what brand of cheese you give Lucas ? Cheese got salt leh so I don't dare to give so much .

And Lucas can pick up the pieces of food and put in his mouth himself ? My baby can pick up the food but it ends up in his fist so he cannot put it in his mouth so everytime I must put the food in his mouth for him still

Mummies you can also try giving your babies tofu , very fast to cook and easy to mash , I tried giving egg tofu and and add a bit of mashed fish or chicken , good source of protein

And also can try giving baby yoghurt ,Yoplait has baby yoghurt that comes in pack of 6 small jars , my baby loves it

Hi SN:

I would like to take this slot.

1) Name of Child Anish

2) Date of Birth of Child 16/05/2010

3) Name of Parent Anne

4) Contact Number 91147334

SN: Btw may i chcek if u know how much do the term classes cost?

Thanks for your help in organising this. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Michelle: I was so eager to buy the yogurt then I realised it stated from 1 year+. Is it the same one that you are giving?

Ya... he can pick it up and put the food into his mouth. Try to give it to them in bigger pcs, normally the last few bites will be mashed in his fist then I will clean it up for him, otherwise they probably clean their face and hair with it, which happens most of the time. Sometimes, he rubs his eyes with the mashed. It's quite funny to watch sometimes...

I don't know what brand leh.. I bought those in a big piece one. Mine is Cheddar. I give him in a little amount, with bread or cooked with veg. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Luckyone: It can be found in cold storage. Yet to see it at NTUC.

-babyqi, Michelle, Anne Raj

- SN, lucasmummy, mattsmummy

Pinnky,

Great, I most prob will sign up too.

Michelle,

Feeling better. Thanks. If tomolo feeling good n bb guai guai, manageable, I will sms u n pop over yr plc. :)

AR,

If I remember correctly, one term is ten lessons at S$380.00. Pinnky, can u confirm? thanks.

Bb can eat cold stuff??

Abt solid food.. My Pd told me by 9mths.. Bb should be having 3 solid, 3 milk. Milk intake should be ard 6am, 3pm and 9pm.

He said I should cook the meat together with porridge.

My girl hand like got rash.. In a circle form.. Like adult ring worm.. But it's not separating to anywhere yet.. What should I do?

Posted on Wednesday, December 22, 2010 - 6:01 pm:       

- SN, lucasmummy, mattsmummy, chloemum

Hi SN

Thanks for organizing. I will pm you the details later.       

- SN, lucasmummy, mattsmummy, chloemum

- Pancake

LucasMummy , yuh that's the one that I have been giving even though stated from 1yr onwards haha . Yoghurt is dairy mah , if they can drink milk then yoghurt shld be ok what . Anyway yoghurt got pre biotics , so good for digestive system .

Eh I didn't know baby cannot eat cold food leh , sometimes of you give them fruits it's also cold right ? If not just take out from the fridge and leave it for a while before feeding ?

Luckyone , yuh i bought from Cold Storage . He had like 12 jars of yoghurt so far and no allergic reaction so i continue to give

For cheese , I gave my baby those Laughing Cow cube cheese and he likes but I tasted it myself and found it a bit salty so I stopped giving , maybe will spread on bread and give to him next time

Thanks all for all yr concern...

Sue, u r damn rite..someone from the cruise passed the virus. It was airborne and alot of them carried him took pics...tsk..sigh..

Really tiring lah. His rash gone down. So confirm paracetemol. I stopped him n next day rash was slowly gng away.But cant tell, I read abt virus on the internet and there is one virus which will give bb fever, rash and diahorrea. So maybe it was part of the virus.

And bb since yest have been refusing solids, eating much lesser, and surprisingly refused his last midnite feed totally. Which means now he is only feeding 4 times. Will feed him late 11 plus today n see if he wakes up at nite for milk. Think he is now down to 4 feeds. But my boy hor drinks little milk.

7am - 150ml-180ml milk

10am - 150ml milk

12.30 - lunch, 2 cubes porridge, 2-3 cubes of vege plus 1 serving meat

4pm-5pm - 150ml milk

6.30-7pm - dinner,2 cubes porridge, 2-3 cubes of vege plus 1 serving meat

10pm- 120ml milk

12.30am - 120ml milk

So now tht Im suspecting he is dropping his last feed, Im gng to try increase milk intake to 180ml each time.

anyone feeding 3 times a day. duno when I shld start breakfast...im super lazy to wake up 7am to feed. its too much work.really hope to keep him on milk intake for breakfast..i know its impossible..but lazyyyyy....

Hey all ,

My boy's feeding schedule as follows , on 2.5 times solids now cos in the morning I give him either a biscuit or fruit after his milk , so can't be counted as breakfast yet , and I still latch on since I am SAHM for now , so can't tell if milk on take has decreased

6am 60ml FM

730am Baby wakes up

9am Latch on

10am Biscuit or banana or 60ml fruit purée

11-1230pm Nap

1230pm Lunch - 120ml porridge and 45-60ml fruit purée

230pm Latch on

3-430pm Nap

430pm 120ml EBM or latch on

630pm Dinner 120ml porridge or tofu or yoghurt and 60ml fruit purer

830pm Latch on and baby sleeps by 9pm

12am 240ml FM