(2010/05) May 2010 mtb

Sue- I use Mei Hao for my gal baby shower last sun... Food nt bad n is cheap!

I bought her for checkup on tue.. Doc say her weight is ok but she only grow 1 cm.. Hope its okie cos they mention it shld be 2-3cm but will monitor her growth again... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I have regretted shaving her hair bold for the mao bi.. She now look so much like a boy....

Even supply finally regulates to demand, there is a possibility that lumps can return if we miss a feeding/pump session...so we have to make sure that doesn't happen by being consistent.

Engorgement, lumps and blocked ducts are very common affairs can recur anytime once there are changes in feeding schedules. It's very frustrating for me too but I learn to be better at dealing with it and preventing it as I go along.

I also have the case of a master producer. Usually one side will give slightly more, it's fine with me as long as bb gets what he needs and my breast doesn't go lopsided. I found that under extremely rare circumstances during pumping, each side produces the exact same amount. When that happens, it's probably an auspicious day, can go and buy 4-D le..

pregpiggy,

Don't worry k? Maybe the 1cm short was due to the hair tt was shaved away for the mao bi.

As long as bb, eating, sleeping and pee/pooing well, it should be ok.

preg piggy,bb hair grow very fast de,so dun regret,cos its good to shave all,when it grow back it ll be nicer.I'll bring my bb to shave when he is 4 mth old.Cos he is still very small in size,dun dare to shave him.

Bbf - we bring her to PD b4 shaving.. She drink n poo very well tt y PD say monitor again..

Shuyan - My mum say it's better to shave all too.. But it's just a pity tt her hair is all gone now n not nice to touch... The chalet for my gal was held at NSRCC instead... The venue nt bad too got 2 room n is all air-con but is at changi..

pregpiggy,

hhaha ic, it's not the hair? mayb parallax error ley? 1 cm not much...Sometimes I don't understand how they measure consistently, coz they just pull the leg, what if bb leg is not fully stretched?

Weather is really too hot, shave the hair may be better...my bb is even getting heat rash on the head!

Bbf,

do u always latch ur bb on ur good side? Or u will alternate between the 2 sides regardless the amt of milk the breast produces?

bx,

Not sure what you mean by good side...

I stick to one side at each feed (eg. right). Then I alternate to the other side which was used less for the next feed. (eg. left)

I offer the other only when bb seems unsatisfied (eg. after right, bb unsatisfied offer left, next feed offer right)

Loh, hahahaha.....thnx for the compliment har. I just wanna justify this wrongdoing.

Edie, take great care. I also have frequent engorgement. Have to be consistent in either TBF and EBM liao.

BBF, if u feed at one side, then BB satisfied. U offer the other side for next feed. Would the other side feel super engorged before the next feed?

nanabear, I totally regretted pumping out that morning. My milk was regulating quite well, she just had to feed on one side and for about 30 mins I know she's satisfied already. Now, she takes a long time to feed especially on my lumpy side. And i have o switch sides a few times to get her full feed.

bbf: It was so traumatic! They even suspected it was womb infection and I had to take an ambulance from Alexandra hospital to NUH! And they said I will be admitted for a few days. Wa lau... I almost broke down on the spot. Luckily over at NUH, the gynaes checked me, did ultrasound all over again and check my urine and then gave me an all clear and told me that it might be mastitis after all. At that time, I didn't know whether to laugh or cry.

My GP was a male! I wanted to go for a female one but there wasn't any around my area. I regretted not going straight to KKH, cos when I woke up the next morning, my whole head was spinning I didn't even had the strength to brush teeth let alone to think properly. But the most painful thing is to leave a 2 weeks old at home.

KTSC, thanks. Have to be careful still cos still lumpy, but when I try to pump out after feed nothing comes out. Breastfeeding just gets tougher and more confusing.

KTSC,

I regulated the supply,by pumping only as necessary to relieve the engorgement. Now tt my supply regulated I don't experience engorgement for either side anymore.

edie,

OMG...so terrible, still must take ambulance!! I will be worried sick too. Mayb you need to try another GP. It's a really bad diagnosis, but I suppose he was just assuming the worse scenarios 1st and taking the utmost precaution. But still!!!!!!

Needless to say, the bill sure very jialat right?...

bbf, luckily all govt hospital but still I spent close to $300, and the medication I got in the end was only paracetamol and antibiotics. My hubby wanted to laugh when we received my meds cos it seemed like we went one whole round, but thinking it could be really serious, we also didn't want to risk it.

edie,

Really, I mean, is it so difficult to tell the difference between dengue, H1N1, womb infection and mastitis? ...cannot tell the difference or narrow down the diagnosis meh!?!?! Wow, if it were me, I'd surely be complaining and banging some tables.

Quick tell me which GP? I want to black list him...

edie,

Try the hot towel and massage to clear the lump when latching. Hold the bb by directing her chin in the direction of the lump.

There is a risk of resulting in oversupply again when pumping after latch because it will affect the other ducts telling them to produce more.

edie : aiyo!!! if me i worried to death liaoz!

bbf : me sad sial.. my milk supply really like down leh.. my breast wont engorge.. not tat i wan it to engorge.. but my feeling is like not engorge no milk leh.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

nanabear: no engorgement is good. i'm also quite lucky so far. i haven't started pumping, using natural methods to regulate the supply. i feed on both sides each time. about 20 minutes each.

Mummies who have iPhones, and need an app to track baby's growth, feeding times, pooing times, go look for BabyBix! quite cool.

Oh, BBF, good le, dun need to suffer engorgement.

I still have engorgement (mostly due to missed latch/EBM sessions) Dat means my milk supply not requlated yet??

Edie, wah sei.....cannot see dat GP

don't worry. still got milk. engorgement is not a good thing too...

KTSC,

how to explain ah...hmm... Simply put, engorgement = oversupply, hardness of the breasts like stone, fever/chills etc. We shouldn't confuse the feeling of the milk filling the breasts with the term engorgement.

Engorgement may occur, during the initial stage like rantingbb mentioned previously, due to the drop in pregnancy hormones, our body starts to lactate and because it is regulated by our hormones it could result in an overproduction of milk, hence we try to reduce the amount by drawing out less (just to relieve engorgement) until we regulate the body's supply to produce a certain amount daily to meet bb's demands. Once, the body is used to the same amount taken from the breasts, it regulates itself and there shouldn't be signs of engorgement anymore. (ie. hardness of the breast, pain etc)

Engorgement may ALSO occur when supply is already regulated to meets bb demands and feedings are missed. For example, you produce 100 ml per feed X 8 times a day. But if you miss a feed, your body still tries to produce the same amount, so the breasts get engorged and hard after a missed feeding.

Since you just gave birth, your situation could be either. You just need to be consistent as to how much you want to regulate the feedings.

Hope this explanation is better.

bbf/blue_turtle : tonite for dinner i drank papaya soup.. haahaha! the "hardness" came for a while liao.. den i latch for 30 mins.. now left the other side.. i leaving it for next feed..

Little Tiger,

You are not alone. My hubby also made me feeling so regret for marrying him, and having babies for him. I even swear at him that I will never have another baby for him for the rest of my life. Feel so bu zhi de for going through so much pain and suffer and yet not being appreciated. The MIL, SIL issue. My own side of family also failing to stand by me. My #1 just can't give me a break....The confinement is so dreadful and the weather is so bad...

Also thought of dying for so many times before...feel like the whole world has turned away from me...

But today feel much better, I am officially out of confinement and my CL let me take flower bath. When I bath, I just imagine that the flower help to wash and bring together all the bad things, away from my body and my mind, and my mind are also cleansed through the process. I will be more forgiving and let the past passed. A new life and a good beginning are ahead of me... I feel much better after the bath.

Hihi. Any mummies here like me letting the maid take care of our bb at nite? Me just started to let my bb to slp wit maid few days ago n trying to guide/monitor her when she feeding the bb. Need to start her on training as early as possible be4 back to wrk in aug. If maid cannot make it then I stil hv time to make other alternatives.

Hi Loh,

Please help to update my details:-

ADD: 18 May 2010

Wt : 2.605kg

Delivery : Natural w/o epi

As for my birth story will update at a later date.

BBF, thanks so much for the clear explanation.

I think mine is the latter situation. Engorgement occur when supply is already regulated to meets bb demands and feedings are missed.

Would work hard on the feeds be it TBF or EBM. BM is precious!!

KTSC,

How is your #1 reacting to the new bb? Is she all good and excited over didi?

Mine is a terror and a handful lately. I headache ah...#1 throws all didi's things that he can get his hands on on the floor. eg. napkin, towels, toys blah...

He also doesn't want to hug/carry didi. Just gives limited affection with the occasional pats on the didi's head.

Don't know how long this craziness will last...

Chubby Tiger, I ask my maid to feed BB with FM during midnight while I EBM (hand express). Cos when EBM, I only take less than 1 hour and can go back to sleep faster. Also not so noisy for hubby and my elder gal. But my BB sleep in playpen alone in the living room. Same thinking as you, want to see whether maid can cope, especially taking care of #1 and #2. Now my maid work schedule is

For weekdays, sweep, mop the floor once everyday, prepare #1 lunch, wash the cutlery and utensils afteer use, take care of #1 and #2.

For weekends, hubby and I would bring #1 and #2 go out or to MIL place. Maid would stay at home to do housework such as wash, iron the clothes, clean the windows, wash the toilet and bathroom, change the bedsheets, etc.

BBF, she would occasionlly sayang didi. But demand more attention from my maid when she help didi change diapers or coax him to sleep during midnights. I think your #1 just want to attract more attention from you by being a little more mischevious than before.

The gp is near my area, queenstown, don't think any of u live around here. Not only gp diagnosed wrongly, it was the doc at Alexandra hospital who suspected that my womb might be infected. Sigh.

Bbf, I believe that there will be more engorgement if I pump after latching, I tried doing that yesterday morning, no milk also. From today I'll try using football hold to nurse her, hopefully will clear the block ducts.

Edie, wa sei the doc at AH is trainee or wat?? Wat an alarm he or she has caused. luckily itz a false alarm.

U mention no milk is when pumping, itz't? How about when latch on?

Just to share that massage on the block ducts first and during expressing will help to clear the block ducts.

I also had a newborn 2 weeks ago and she is my 3rd child.

Hi mummies, sorry to interrupt. I was from April MTB. Just want to share my bf experiences. It was tough at first, little milk for the first 2 weeks but my MIL asked me to try eating more fish, Omega 3 supplements plus lots of papaya. Ai, it helps, now my BM increases tremendously and I am pumping at interval of 2 to 3 hours. I do not want to buy so many BPA milk bottles. Luckily, my SIL recommended me to a friend who is selling Nanny Milk Bags. I was blown-away, so easy to use and milk bags super in quality and cheapest in town comparing to all exisiting brands:D So satisfied and happy that I must recommemd this website to you: www.***********.com

Bbf,

I meant ur master producer for ur 'good side'. Anyway u have answered my question [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thanx!

Ktsc, not trainee leh, but bec i only delivered 2 weeks ago so he made that worst assumption.

I tried pumping out after feed, no milk. During latch on shld have cos baby suckle hard and swallowing sound can be heard.

Can I chk if baby is suckling for comfort will the suck be hard and strong or just nibbles or combination of both?

LOH: My MIL will nag at us if we cook ourselves, therefore, i have endure all these... Everyday, i have super late lunch (only available abt 2pm onwards)... like today, my bb girl nd to coax her in our arm to sleep... when we put her bk to playpen, her eyes open wide big.. and start wailing.. (she has her feed and i give her bf as her human pacifier, so that she can sleep)...

My mil saw it, and start carry her in her arm and forgot our lunch at all... she din even prepare my red-date logan drink at all... What to do... just to endure...counting dw the confinement days. She even tell us don't rock the bb when in our arm... just pat her...

I experience before my bb girl nd me to pat & rock her in my arm, so that she can sleep... very tiring and arm aching after 1-2hrs patting... all these r thanks to my MIL...

any mummies has advise on how to coax bb sleep well...

Edie, oh I see. Think there is always a black sheep among the good GP. I also experience before those semi pro gynae @ KKH.

Why do u wanna pump out after feed? Still feel lumpy? wat did the lactation nurse at SGH advise in such circumstances?

If BB suck too hard and strong, maybe she is too hungry OR did not latch on well. Normally if latch on well, there should be no or minimal pain.

But sometimes if BB too hungry, even when latch well, they tend to suck hard and strong at start. The pain cause by such would gradually subside.

If BB nibbles, most prob is suckle for comfort.

Ktsc, yup to pump out the lumps even though my breast feels quite soft but didn't want to risk it but no milk comes out so I stop pumping already.

If baby nibbles then when I stroke her cheeks she started sucking well again, what does it mean?

HI mummies..at last! can get some time surf the net..Public hols..so hb ard to help..

Also having hard to expressing the milk! Haiz..Sometimes i pump got milk then i pump 2 hrs later no milk..So frustrating my neck all hurts already keep trying to c if there is milk..Sometimes latch baby on dunno if he is sucking air or some drips of milk...

So happy at least the huge big hard thing on my breast dissolve after alot of massaging wif hot towel..GAve me headache for the whole of last wk..had high fever on n off for 4 5 days..So tormenting to pump milk when there is low supply..

Baby shower:

can anyone advise how to calculate bb shower date? My bb popped on 13th may n i intend to hv bb shower on 12th jun. My cl said can't count in this way. Have to do in within 29days fr the day she popped. Issit true?

Mrs Heng, the 29 days is how 1 of my aunties counted also. she also say must do before confinement finish cannot do after. but then i doing after the 29 days lar, cos I wanna do on weekend mah. and during confinement this cannot eat, that cannot do, so mah fan, so i do after lor. My MIL & mum never object so doesn't matter lar.

Brenda, tormenting to latch and pump when supply low also have to do so if u wanna continue BFing lar. Else supply will go away.

Sighz... my bb is driving me nutz. Keeps wanting attention at night, sometimes it's for feeds sometimes dunno for what. Put her to my boobies den she will suckle and keep quiet, drag her away, she start crying. Think sooner or later no choice have to take out pacifier liao. Else I'm gonna become human pacifier...

Blue_turtle - ya lo.. I oso wan it on weekends. My cl sound veri serious n dat gt me worried. K then I shall keep to my planning. Tks!

Btw, I think ur bb wan suckle for comfort only

bbf,my #1 oso does not show or concern his didi.Whenever he bath he ll ask me whose body wash is he using cos he say he did not wan to share with didi,then when we ask him to help take didi diaper or napkin,he wun even bother to answer us.Then when we point at his didi and ask him who is he,he wun say he is his didi,he ll always refer him as baby not didi.

shuyan,

thanks for sharing, I thought my son is behaviing weirdly...looks like this reaction is normal among the boys...I also experience the same when we ask him about didi, he won't refer to him as didi and still calls him baby. So sad hor but I'm hoping things will change after he gets used to didi.

We want a nice pic for both of them but like cannot ley.... in the end I had to make him stand beside sleeping didi to get a good shot. haiz...

lucasmummy,

I'm not shaving coz bb hair still looks ok...but once it drops in patches I will go shave it.

blueturtle,

Initially my bb also stays wide awake in wee hrs of the morning after birth. But I think it finally adjusted itself lately.

We tried to talk and engage bb for longer periods in the morning when he is awake until he starts showing signs of sleepiness then we pop him back to sleep.

He also spends his time sleeping in the living room where there are lots of activity cum noise and we don't make any effort to lower our voices or tv volume.

At night, we move him to the room and, I'm usually able to pop him back after feeding without much fuss. It's been working well for about 2 weeks so far. *fingers crossed*