(2010/05) May 2010 mtb

Lilstarz> not sure how many to buy leyz..The uncle told me at least 10 packets..But scared i buy alr then my mum dun allow me bathe..Think i will go grab few more packets standby! hehe! i also feel not enuf such a smal packet..The uncle also say not necessary only to use it to bathe can boil it then sponge ourselves..Its anti-wind..

Yet to buy brands essence of chicken..Muz faster grab those stuff alr..I feel very tired nowadays,,MS is BACK!!! hate the feeling now...Back pains really scary! haiz!!

blue_turtle, nanabear, brenda: Yup, close shave! My friends in the car actually thought I would fake stomachache. But cannot la... too drama and fake already. Haha.

Luckily, he's lenient enough if not my phone also will be confiscated. Didn't know it's so serious. Scared liao...

Morning mummies: finally its thurs and looking forward for the long weekend.

Guess wat, i didnt sleep well last night. i felt my tummy very weigh and had difficult turning then at 3+ heard aloud bang...saw my hubby rolled off the bed in the event of giving me space. poor thing. he woke up got back into bed and guesswar, i didnt get my space after all.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]I was in my space and had to rotate myself to turn from left to right...i couldnt sleep and had neck pains and baby was on one side of my tummy and sleeping soundly...

had to get up. go toilet and readjust my pillows and position and it was already 5+, got to sleep and had to wake up at 7...i feel like a zombie now.

Morning mummies.....

I thought I were to give birth last night! My bb was doing break dancing in me [must be the afternoon coffee that kept her awake till so late]!!!!!! What's worst. She was in head down position then suddenly went into a horizontal position. I feel so uncomfortable. This is not the end of it. I feel something stuck at my down below. Like bb is playing with the opening. Can feel a digging digging feeling. Then suddenly I have watery discharge. Quickly got up and went to the toilet to check to see if there is anymore further discharge. No sight of it. Dont dare to sleep after that. I had to kiap my legs tight together to sleep to prevent bb from coming out during the night. Hahahahahahahaha!

morning mtbs...

me went for check-up yesterday... bb is 2.5kg at 34 weeks... so far bb head still down n gynae took swabs for StepB test lor... hopefully everything is okie if not gotta go on antibiotic lor...

i also booked the one-bedded room at KKH... for KKH, no need to pay for companion... coz the sofa bed in the room also serves as the bed for companion... heeheee... budden i think there is an overall increase in price leh...

rantingbb

me also hoping to deliver by 38 weeks lor... if like #1, i'll also be an apr mummy... heehee...

bb-bao

i think the $80 companion charge is for the sleeper bed leh... so if u dun pay for it means ur HB got no bed to slp in leh... u better double check with TMC as this is wat i knw for SGH...

nanabear

heehee... there are more 'pains' when bb is out lor... 2nd time mummies will knw wat i mean lor.... muahahaha...

blue turtle

my HB also super fast in falling aslp lor... budden when i delivered #1 hor, the nurses come in every 2hrs to measure this n that lor... so i guess he also nvr had a gd slp... hahaha...

edie

Phew!!! budden pls dun ans call when driving hor... dangerous leh... especially now our reflex not as fast as b4 preggy... budden bb is definitely ur lucky star!!!

brenda

dun buy too much essence of chicken hor... coz sure got pple give one... imagine i still got some essence of chicken left from #1 time... n i drank 1 bottle everyday during confinement and probably 3 times a week after that for at least 3 mths lor...

re: herbal bath

actually it is very much cheaper if u gals get frm across the border leh... so if u gals go there to shop can just go those medical shops to buy... i think its very cheap but cant recall the price...

JSP: is the Strep B swab painful/uncomfortable? Does the gynae swab only the vagina or also near the rectum? Think I'm doing today so a bit scared...thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chloie,

You very drama leh... what kiap your legs together.. So funnyy!! hahaha...

Your little girl is so playful hur.. still drumming away at night.

Mine wakes up at 12am daily.. just when I wanna go to sleep, he starts rolling all over =\

Anne Raj,

haha my hubby always says I take up 3/4 of the bed!

Anyway, no matter what positions we are lying in now, it's not going to be comfy already.

If I lie on my side, my tummy skin feels like it's going to tear apart;

I lie on my back, I get breathless. Aiyo..

Not too many quiet nights to go.. "cherish" the last few weeks. =X

JSP... i went c gynae yterday also at wk34 but nv do strep B test leh??? My next appt is 3 wks later... cuz gynae says me ok so can see me at 37wks at full term...

i was so tired last nite tat i just knock out whole nite.... nv even notice bb kick me onot.. haha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

JSP... btw.. went to do growth scan n it shows all ok... bb est weight ard 2.2kg.. hopefully these 3 wks can pass by peacefully...

tinospora

erm... not painful lah... swab is taken from vagina... just slightly uncomfy but its done really fast... less than a minute done liao... so no scared ya!!!

chloie

u really very funny lah... kiap ur legs together like very kang koh leh... i need my bolster b/t my legs to slp well lor...

maggiemee

erm... i think my gynae more on the ball this time rd... dun remember doing this test during #1 time lor... and my next appt is in 2 weeks time... u wanna ask ur gynae during next appt?? coz i knw some gynae just administer the antibiotic during labour so they dun test...

for #1 time, i nvr got the chance to see her at 37weeks lor... coz popped on fri n appt was on mon...

so have u booked ur room??

Hi anyone had tried drinking chicken essence before delivery?

I didnt tried for #1, but my Sis-in-law advised against it as will cause baby's heart to beat too fast which the doc need to induce the process. Maybe she drank too late.

Saw the hospital bag list - wow...very long list!

Think i also overpacked the last round.

Actually HB can bring bak dirty clothes & bring in fresh ones & other stuff even though he is staying over with me.

TMC provided almost everything for baby & even toiletries for mummy, unless u prefer some specific brand. Just need to pack for myself.

I rem packing so many gifts & hampers before discharging, so gog light this round.

Sorry didnt manage to catch up with the thread. Moving so fast everyday.

Pls help to update my data.

Edd: 15 May

Child #2 - Boy (32wks :2.5kg - a lil fat :p )

Hospice of delivery : TMC

Gynae: Dr Woo Bit Hwa

JSP: what is strep B test? test what huh?

Anyway, OG having sales AGAIN! 20% storewide. 1 to 4 April at all outlets.

Can't wait to see the little on later today. Going to gynae this afternoon. Hope everything will be good today.

blue_turtle: Strep B test is to test for the bacteria Streptococcus B...if tested positive in our vagina then during delivery will need to have antibiotic drip to protect baby...

thanks for info on OG! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rhino

i did drink essence of chicken after my water bag burst during #1 time n i was not induced... so i think shld not be a prob leh...

blue turtle

strep B is a bacteria very common among women... usually does not affect ur daily life even if u have it... budden if u pregnant, then need to be on antibiotic drip when delivering ur bb so that bb would not catch the bacteria when passing thru the birth canal or when ur waterbag breaks...

JSP and Maggie Mee, I was at KKH yesterday for my gynae appointment too! At 34 weeks, 6 days baby was weighing at about 2.5Kg. I also booked my hospital bed yesterday. Decided to go for A1 again so that Hubby can stay over with me. Realised that the prices have gone up a few hundred dollars compared to what I paid in 2007. Maggie Mee, your next appointment only 3 weeks later? Mine's 2 weeks from now. Dr Loh was commenting that he thinks I will deliver early, maybe due to my history (DS was born 11 days early)

If had #1 early, likely #2 will be early?

My #1 is 3.5 wks early (due at 36.5 wk) but weighed 3.21kg.. not so pre-matured though haha...

Guess i need to pack my bag after next appt.

Good Morning Mummies...

Leave has ended and going to work today. :<

I just came back from Mar and Apr MTB 2010. Some useful info on breastfeeding at Apr MTB 2010. You all may want to hop by if interested.

Couldn't wait for my next appt on the 7th. I would suppose that I will most likely be a APR MTB too...

bb-bao> No choice lei! Scared she will pop out mah so much kiap my legs to sleep. LOL! This is the 2nd time she is so active till so late.

JSP> Now when I sleep, one side is bolster, another side is pillow. Felt that my sleeping area is so confined now but no choice lei. I need to have something in between my legs when I sleep on my side. I prefer to sleep on my back.

Rhino> My sil told me to drink a bottle of essence of chicken before I go deliver to give us strength. But problem is, I dont drink such things so too bad..... LOL!

mummies: since morning i did not feel baby move. but felt some barrowing effect on my V...do u think its normal?

Morning and its going to be a long weekend ahead again, Yippee!!!

I also went for my gynae visit yesterday, at 32 week. BB weight 1.9+ kg. Amazingly BB still gain considerable good weight but I lose weight. Got assurance from gynae that BB weight is ok, head is of normal size and still in downwards position since week 29th, so most prob can try for normal delivery this time round if everything will continue to go smoothly : )

Mentioned before also got pain and discomfort at V area, something like what Chloie has mentioned, like baby playing and digging feeling. Gynae say it's due to BB head is in downward position and adding pressure at that area. If scan already, BB's head is still not very down or engaged, BB would not come out just like that. So Chloie, if your recent scan result show BB head not very down or engaged, U need not worry so much.

blue turtle,

Eh we have the same EDD!! I also going to TMC today @ 3.30pm to see my gynae.. haha!

Maybe we will be neighbours at the ward! LOL...

@Anne

BB might be sleeping... cos always dark inside so sleep & await at diff timing.

@JSP & Choie

For the chicken essence, I more worry my heart beat too fast & hyper at the beginning.

My 1st labour lasted more than 18 hrs... Take epidural only after entonox gas, Pethidine jab all don have much help in pain relief... Phoo..=S

Trying to test my pain threshold!

This rd, gog straight for

Epidural -> Happy-dural!

Also got sleeping prob, got the wedge pillow on both sides of body, prefer to sleep on back with one leg slightly bend,

always feel numb if lying on the side!

Chloie and Rhino, i have tried doing that and even talk to baby, its unusual he is sleeping at ts hour, usually active and moving ard. Will wait and see how it goes.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Singing or voices or music always wakes my bb.

He will 'dance' so hard as if having a party inside.

Morning mummies!!

My leg was so painful (i think bec of the water retention) that I cudnt get up to walk this mng. took half day leave. Sent my hb to go buy prata for bfast and buy chicken rice for lunch at the same time.. hehehe!! Very strong cravings kicking in lately!

Chloie, it might be bec u drank alot of water b4 slp. the same thign happened to me day b4 yesterday. I panicked like crazy!

Anne, dun worry, soon maybe after lunch or dinner ur bb will start kicking again. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Mine is slping in the mngs and active aft lunch and dinner..

Thanks for the updates bbf! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] looks like very few ESH mummies here... hehe..

Ladies, apart from the hospital bag u might want to stock up on packet drinks and choclates for ur guests (it hink this wud be more for the 1st time mummies expectign alot of visitors). For us we always beleive must give something sweet during a happy occasion. So we stocked up on packet drinks from Giant during CNY shopping. hehehe! Chocolate maybe get on that day or nearing the date la..

bb-bao: my appt at 3pm. at level 4. maybe i will see u there. haha...

haha... but i think i wanna go join hospital tour later at 2pm. u know if need to call to book in advanced?

Rhino, Anne: yeaps. my bb is also supppper excited when there's music. Especially Mambo music! wahahahahaha

Phy, my total bill was less than $4k for 1 bedder, natural delivery with epidural in 2007. This time round, I paid $2,080 as first payment and the estimated bill size is said to be around $4,180 for the same.

Hi All!!

These few days find it rather hard to sleep as my girl has been moving a lot until it is hard to sleep.

I lie on my left or right side, my girl will keep kicking. In e end, I have to lie on my back and after a while, shift position again..

My lower backache is also getting worse.. The moment lie down on bed, the pain will be there even though I have a small pillow to support my back. In e end, just tried rolling my back side to side slowly with my legs bended, it does help a bit..

Anne, if baby is not moving after some time even if you talk to it or stroke ur tummy, it would be better to go see ur gynae. My gynae told me if I feel anything strange, quickly go see him. It's better to be safe.

Sleeping on back

Mummies who have no choice but to sleep on the back, maybe you can try to keep ur knees supported and raised. This will help take pressure off your lower back, less strain, less pain. It works for me.

When sitting on chairs, try to keep the chair back straighter and use a cushion or pillow to support your lower back. Maintaining a good posture will also help reduce the strain on lower back. Try not to walk or stand and purposely stick out tummy, neutral position is best.

JSP.. booked liao.. premium A1. now settled everthing... juz hoping bb stay inside me for next 3 wks till full term! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i keep telling bb every nite to stay for at least 5 wks... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] haha

maggie mee

me also premium A1 lor... can heave a sign of relief liao... just left the washing of bb clothes n i'm done liao...

re: milk storage

just to share that i got those glass milk bottles frm hospital for storage of ebm... u can request for some b4 u discharge hor... and i also got those plastic caps from SGH pharmacy as those metal caps that i have all got rust liao... so if u gers needs the caps, can get frm SGH pharmacy, cost abt $1.20 each... didn't see any at KKH pharmacy thou...

Hello mummies...

Am curious about a few things. Wonder if any mummy with experiences or anyone else could help.

Since 1st 3 days after birth to a week, breast milk production is little, do we give in to bottle feed with FM?

Hw to get over it and prevent from bottle feeding with FM?

I wish to latch him on as much as I could, pumping would be my 2nd alternative, in case of confustion.

How much milk is enough for a newborn baby to about 2mths old?

I just started packing my bag yesterday, so far there is only maternity pads, breast pads, disposable undies (a little of each), cord blood box, socks and room slippers in it. Am using a trolley bag, hubby says pulling is easier than carrying... zzzz

lucas

according to nurses in the nursery... usually newborns have reserves tt will last them 3-5days... but u can still latch bb coz initially will have colostrum which is filling for bb... if not u can ask to give glucose to bb... i actually ask nurses to spoonfeed FM as my #1 has abit of jaundice... so as to keep him hydrated n flush out the jaundice... for me, milk starts to kick in on the 4th day... and the best thing to do to up ss is basically to latch bb on demand... but bear in mind it could be quite siong for 1st time mummies... my #1 can latch on for 45mins to an hr each time lor... so in the end i pump exclusively n feed via bottle... remember to do wat u most comfy with coz a happy mummy=happy bb... n if ss is not gd then u can alwys supplement with FM... keep an open mind so as not to overstress urself... HTHs...

HI mummies, just back from gynae. Currently at 32 weeks, n bb is weighing at 2.3KG. He last weighed 1.2kg at 28 weeks. So he has gained 1.1kg in 1 mth. Gynae was surprised. But then she suspect it's due to mi hving diabetes, so got mi tested with finger prick n indeed blood sugar is higher than normal.

Have booked my c sect date on 7 May morning.. Since going for C sect, she is not too concern if bb gets too big due to my GD.

Booked op theatre and room today. Nurse asked mi if i prefer 1 or 4 bedded. I say 2, then she say OK, in this case i book 4 for u...asked her does tis means got free auto upgrade , nurse smiled at mi n say usualli yes. hopefully have, then can save some money.

On Backache>

I'll try to lift my legs with shoe box or phonebook when seated in front of computer.

When lying down, resting the legs on pillow/ bolsters & wriggle toes often do help to prevent cramps.

Get HB to massage the lower legs & back!

On BM Storage/ Breastfeeding>

Agreed with JSP, get the plastic milk cover cap from any hospice pharmarcy.

I got some from the Forum-Marketplace Selling section.

Ask the nurses for extra glass bottles - they throw after use anyway but don boil them in case of cracking, use steriliser.

Glass baby food jars also gd if any kind mummy giving away.

Rem don store BM at door side of fridge cos the opening/ closing will affect milk freshness.

Usu keep the top-rack clear for all my BM, so will not be contaminated or got drips fr food.

Can try cup-feed/ spoon-feed for 1st few days.But direct latch is still the best to stimulate milk flow.

For my #1, requested glucose drinks only for bb when in hospice cos milk supply havnt come in.

Still have to supplement with FM when home cos supply really low, cant bear to see bb crying in hunger. Sob sob...

Now must start massaging breasts to stimulate milk ducts...

Milk intake varies fr babies - initially maybe 20-30ml every 2 hrs, then increase dep on demand.

By 2 mth, usu ard 50-70ml or more.

Well said! JSP

"do wat u most comfy with coz a happy mummy=happy bb"

Don have to be too persistent cos flexibility & comfyness in practice is impt, unless really don make much sense.

Like my sis - only follow what the gynae or pediatrician say or what are stated in the book...

*rolled eyes* Must do this.. must do that, end up stressing herself & the care-giver.

Guess gynae/ PD may not have practical experiences cos they are busy at work most of the time & only hear feedbacks fr mummies 2!

There is no fast rule, practise your maternal instincts & be happy mum~!

Thank you Rhino and JSP. Was discussing it with my hubby this morning for his support in my TBF plan. He said he would, however, he wants me to promise that I would heed nurse/ LC advise if there's a need to feed with FM. He said he wanted to tell me all these when I am still in the right state of mind before my hormone starts to change.. And I really feel that my personal hormone has begun to change lately... Wonder is it I am reading too much into it, preparing too much or expecting too much.

Have to keep reminding myself to have an open mind.

Hi MTB,

I'm frm the Feb thread.

I hv a brand new 64 pcs jumbo pack Drypers to let go @ $10. My bb hv outgrown S size. Anyone interested kindly PM me.

lucas

i agree with Rhino that there r no hard n fast rules when it comes to motherhood... and just do your best... for me, i knw my limits very well... and as a 1st time mother, there r alot of things to learn n i was overwhelmed... and i've got a super supportive HB... basically there to give me moral support so just keep an open mind and u'll definitely be fine... remember u can alwys come into the forum to get support!!!

LucasMummy

BM req a lot of determination. A lot of tests & trials & learning fr mistakes. And not to forget, def lack of sleep & other sacrifices.

Reading up is def great for preparation. They are many schools of thoughts & practices as well.

Gynae/ Pediatrian may give advices but rem they may not have practical experiences in handling babies as they are busy at work, so mainly feedback or hearsay from mummies on diff cases. So they would usu 'suggest' or advise u on some pointers but not nec. to work on your babies.

HB support is very very impt! Keep the BM process as long as possible.

U'll miss the scent & touch of your bb when stop BMing. Enjoy motherhood!

Hi, sorry to intrude,

I am letting go a bottle of brand new klorane dry shampoo at $8 only

Great for confinement use.

Collection Raffles Place/Depot Road/Sengkang

Pls pm me if interested.

Dont feel very good. Tummy like aching. Dont know isit cos just now before lunch I was almost running around cos I need to go to the carpark to pass things to hb then forgot to bring pen then ran back to office to take then rush back to catch the lift. Then during lunch time I walked abit too fast for fear to miss the bus. Then after buying lunch, I feel the strain liao then slow things down. Now tummy feel abit funny and my down below kept having those barrowing feeling. Abit scared cos about 2 weeks ago, my gyne aldy told me that my cervix has open slightly due to the extra weight from my extra fluid in my water bag. Scare bb will drop down while I walk. Hahahahahahahahahahahahaha!

JSP and Rhino, thanks for the wise advices and support. It's really only through experiences to understand the whole process. Will keep myself postive.

Chloie, yea, probably the day was too hectic for you. Sit down and rest more... and refrain for carrying heavy stuffs...