(2010/05) May 2010 mtb

Phy/ Ylc : tat time my #1.. i called the massage lady 1 month later.. and she said.. actually c-sec.. 1 week later can already.. becos they wont touch the bikini line there..

phy,

Thanks! I'm wondering when is the best time to start massaging. Some say immediately after discharge from hospital but i'm skeptical about it. Better rest first before going for massage [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My massage lady say can start 4-7 days after natural birth, 3-4 weeks after c-sect. C-sect: in case the wound has not recover and cause tear or infection.

Just came back from gynae. Baby at week 35 is 2.4kg. I am showing mixed signals for blood sugar, cos self monitor blood sugar not very high, but have high blood pressure lor. So took blood test for blood pressure today.

But as safety precaution, she suggests having me induced at week 38, so confirm now I am a April mummy again! Am thinking of inducing on my #1's birthday. Save money for birthdays in future!!! Hahaha!

But natural birth is still a high possibility for me since #1 was delivered via natural birth.

Actually aircon electricity dun cost that much la. Whats important is to feel comfortable, cost is secondary. Money is earned for us to spent for our pleasure.

rantingbaby,

Wah so fast ahh..! So envious, I'm still like week 32 only.. I hope it's just 6 more weeks to go. This kind of "forever pregnant" feeling is so uncomfortable!

I think I'm torturing my hubby too - all the whining, nagging and sleepless nights...

He sure get pre-natal depression as well haha..

Yay I'll be moving back to my mom's place for confinement at JW Central 1.. it's going to be so near your place!

adelene, nice shots!

I practically lived in my air con for the whole room during my last confinement. Actually i heard that the water heater consumes more electricity than the aircon!

TMC One-Bedded Rooms

I have booked the one-bedded room at TMC 'cos my hubby wanna stay over and keep me company.

Any idea if he could do so without paying the $80 companion charge? (Feels like I'm sneaking him secretly, haha..)

I mean, he doesn't need the meals and sleeping bags and toiletries...

But I also don't hope to create a scene where the nurses chase him out~!

How, how, howww....?

bb-bao

if you stay on for a little longer after confinement, we can go gai-gai together with our little ones!!!

bb-bao, i'm intending to stay at 1-bedded at Mt A but looks like gotta pay the extra $75 companion charge for my hubby altho he also dun intend to eat the food :p :p

Im so bored too....im counting down too, 6 weeks more to go...sometimes i feel like getting and over and done with this whole process. the effect of being bored of pregnant is getting to me i think. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] im also walking so much slower now, but still manage to climb overhead bridge and walk for sometime. I find it diffcult to walk esp after meals...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Now im gng home for lunch since my mum is on leave and cooking everyday, tts saves alot of trouble for me to think what is healthy to eat.

I started drinking the tea last night after dinner, taste ok la, i added abit of honey so tt its not so bitter. I need to bring it to work so that i can take it after lunch...so many tgs to brings...haiz....

bb-bao: do u need to choose which 1-bedded room you want? there's a few choices from the 400+ one to the thousand dollars one. haha... Any idea what's the difference between each category? I need to book mine tmr when I go gynae visit. YIKES!

Do you need to specify the companion upon booking?

mummies going mt A, why ur hb dun want their food?- Its nice. when i was there in Jan, my hb enjoyed their food. but ours was halal food. so i dunno wants the chinese food standard- shd be the same rgt?

jerbunny- East Shore (now known as parkway east) is $1,750 for 2 ngts for normal delivery- single bedder.

sorry for my ignorance.

How come TMC charges $450 for 1 bedded per night and Mt. A charging at $875 per night (as given by A_R).

Or the charges for Mt. A are all inclusive. Can someone please enlighten me?

I feel like drinking bubble tea...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but have to wait till after work to get...

mummies.. grumbling abt "being forever preggy" ?? sure missed it after we popped.. :/

jerbunny.. Mt A goes by package.. its still cheaper den TMC :p

blue turtle,

Ya there are a few categories for one-bedded rooms at TMC.. got standard, deluxe and premier single rooms etc.

I went for the hospital tour, in fact, all the single rooms look the same to me! Maybe just slightly bigger or smaller only..

So I just select the standard one-bedded one. Anyway they cannot guarantee whatever you book now,

it's always subjected to availability during your check-in. If the one you want is unavailable, they will ask if you want a higher/lower category, and charge you accordingly.

No such thing as 'free upgrade' one leh..

For the companion charge, you can decide on the day of your check-in lor.

TMC Charges - http://www.thomsonmedical.com/fees.htm

Room Pics - http://www.thomsonmedical.com/rooms.htm

Jerbunny: think u better refer to their maternity pkg rather than daily rate cos the rate is more for mummy who extended their stay.

I already booked the single room in TMC think few months ago. My hubby also will be staying with me through out as for the food for accompanion right i remember my hubby hardly hv the time to eat their meals cos he was bz helping me to carry bb for breastfeeding then entertain guest n running errands. So this time round hv to check with does he wants to hv the meal provided.

rantingbaby

Wow! times flies, u have 3 more weeks to go. Really envy you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i still have to tahan for another 7 weeks more. Have been having sleepless nite for the past 1mth. Stress ah!

jERBUNNY.. the rate i gave was for Parkway east. I gave testimonial for Mt A's hospital food only.. heheh!

Rantingbaby, chubbytiger.. mine also April! gynae said baby should be popping by 25 April.

Regarding TMC, I actually wanted a 4 bedded room [since wont be expecting much visitor] but upon seeing the price list, I think I would take a 2 bedded room since the difference is $66 only.

Where to see the companion charge huh?

Pai seh, just saw it. LOL! $75/day for companion charge. Dont think would want hb to stay over with me since our bed is better to slp in. Hahahahahaha!

Luckyone: the tea is quite nice...

Bb-bao: it's $75 per day with breakfast. Hmm... If u are gg to total breastfeed, nurses will push the baby into the room every few hours to let u feed. Doubt u cannot escape from paying leh. Unless u are not total breastfeeding, maybe there is still chances of sneaking him in.

That's from my friends' experience.

Btw, we will be asked if we we like total breast feed, breastfeed or nothing. Then they will label the baby cart.

bb-bao, just pay for the companion fee..otherwise if caught by the nurse and been chased out, will be quite embrassing..anyway, they will provide our hubby w/ blanket & pillow..I think just consider to stay in hotel lo..hehe..

Agreed with AR, the food at Mt. A is nice..I always hv my lunch/dinner there before the antenatal class..

bb-bao> I think hor, if you want to siam to pay for the companion charge, then you act blur [unless they did mention during the tour]. Wait till they say need to pay then you kay kay ask your hb if he wants to stay overnight in front of them then see what they say lor.

Chloie, thought to pass u the note but didnt see u last week..r u still attending the class? or hv changed to other timing?

Jerbunny: Package prices for Mt A, ESH and TMC are available at the links below. In general, Mt A is a little cheaper. About $100 difference for Single Bedded Rooms.

http://www.thomsonmedical.com/maternity_pkg.htm

http://www.mtalvernia-hospital.org/MaternityPack.asp

http://www.parkwayhealth.com/patients-visitors/patient-guide/pdf/bill/peh-maternity.pdf

Chloie: 2 bedded cannot have companion ya. so no companion charges.

bb-bao: Thanks for the explanation on the single bedded rooms. I was thinking of getting the "Premier Single Room" cos it looks nicer when i went to visit a friend a few months back. haha... maybe if tmr got time i go join the hospital tour take a look.

Pinnky> Thanks for taking the notes for me! But I wont be attending anymore lessons. Not much help since I'm going to "deliver" next week. U go liao then share with us here!

blue_turtle7> I wont mind the companion thing cos I wont want my hb to stay over with me. Prefer him to go hm and sleep properly cos I think he would be more tired than me.

Chloie, no prob [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] actually since u hv paid for it, u can just attend, prepare for ur 2nd pregnancy maa..anyway, dun hesitate to ask me if u got any question..

Hope everything is goin smoothly & fine for u..tk cr..

hmmm... maybe shd also go ask if can make arrangements like companion first 1st night only then subsequently no need, something like that. the thought of having to breast feed in the middle of the night and he is there snoring away, makes me feel very sad and frustrated for myself. hahahahaha.

how to escape from companion charge... ehh... maybe just tell the nurse he accidentally fell asleep. my hb like me, are super good at falling asleep within 5 mins. and he doesn't need pillow or anything to sleep. floor he also can just sleep. =P

Mummies!!

Dun forget, tmr is April Fools' Day!!

Dun be tricked! Heheh.. i fooled one colleague yesterday! (She almost cried)..

Planning to fool another tmr.. heheh..

chubby_tiger > Im opting for c sec like u too. Have u decided a date? When is ya edd? I plan to do that when im in week 38, just like my 1st gal.

Mummies...what a day for me. I actually was caught phone driving by TP! Damn it! I answered the call cos it's from SCBB. Then kenna stop by TP, he asked me if the phone call is life and death, I said, almost, cos it's regarding my baby and her blood. Then he started preaching I should just stop by road side, but there were many car(I was along parkway parade). Then when I gave in and said, 'okay, you do whatever you have to do to me.' and I started msging my hubby, then he said, 'okay, this time is verbal warning, no more 2nd time.'

Phew!! If not $200 fine and 12 points deducted. Lucky man... Thank god. Baby is my lucky star!

edie: maybe u shd just tell the TP, "I think my baby is coming soon and i need to call for help" hahahahaha...

in any case, i heard a story from a friend. Hubby sped and/or ignore red light to send wife to hospital cos baby was coming. Hubby subsequently received letter on the offenses. Hubby wrote back to plead for lesser fines n stuff citing "Wife was delivering" as reason. TP got back, under such circumstances, you should call an ambulance. Else you are imposing more danger to yourself, your wife, your baby and the other road users.

-_-|||

Edie..Heng lehz..ur bb really lucky star 12 points leh..$200 can buy alot bb things hehe..Lucky TP still considerate enuf!

Yeah went to chinese medicine shop and bought some confinement herbs to brew the longan tea and also bought 6 packets of herbal bath for bathing..LAst item to buy i think is essence of chicken! too heavy to bring back..I heard need to drink during labour? Is it true..not so sure also juz bring along 2 bottles then c how..

Cant wait to go for massage tmr..Back hurts so much!!

sko5, phy, blueturtle: Cos my #1 is also a csect due to umbilical cord ard his neck so we end up opt csect incase any complication arise. This #2 i actually caught in btw to go for natural or csect but doc advise it will not b a 100% natural del will use forcept cos there is alimit to push due to my 1st csect and unless we intend to hv many children n goin thru the labour pain of cos he wld storngly recommend at the end decison is still up to us.

My csect date will be 29 Apr, 1.30pm. got a shifu to choose date for me n i will be in 38weeks by that time.

Sometime i was thinking do we really need to buy herbs for shower during confinement? As long we shower in warm hot sld be ok, right?

Finally another 1 task down for me, already place order for my confinement meal.