(2010/04) April 2010 mtb

celynlee,

I am so afraid my boy will cry...the needle to inject the dye is huge? and fasting too...whenever he hungry sure cry. how did u manage to keep ur child from crying all this while?

dawn,

not i make. the kids make. simple one. buy stickers to them to stick 'happy teacher's day' and stamp or paste stickers to decorate.

janet,

i'm not sure about the needle cos i refuse to see it when they do for him. i leave him with the nurse to handle but i do hear loud cries coming from the room. once done, they return to me to pacify loh.

distract him, play with him, walk around. he was too sleepy too. when we went into the scan room he hasn't sleep but very sleepy liao. so i told them give me 5 - 10 mins, i will make him sleep. so i carry him walk around, pat pat and he fall asleep. i put him down slowly and they secure him down too. they told me if he stir and change position half way through the scan, they have to redo and i need to sedate him. lucky he didn't and we finished the scan in his sleep. he woke up when i told them to remove whatever on him, he woke up crying, maybe cos its painful when they remove it.

http://www.iherb.com/Sambucol-Black-Elderberry-Immune-System-Support-Liquid-For-Kids-Berry-Flavored-4-fl-oz-120-ml/16697

1)

5)

6)

max 8 minimum 6 for spree to jalan. (restocked longest available since last 2 months - went OOS 2 times last 2 months & they email me restock - immediately within 1 day all stocks snapped up again)

local repost cost on buyer. best max 2 - 4 per buyer -other wise its more cost effective to pay US$4 for 8 bottles to directly ship to you. you can get other stuff to make a box.

dawn

try to make the teacher your partner in discipline. of course not blindly over looking the cane marks but give them the benefit of doubt. its veryhard to work with a parent who doesnt trust you. the last thing we want is the teachers to be bias against our kids cos they feel we are always trying to find fault with them

celynlee,

think for mine may need to sedate, because even when he sleeps also move here and there...sian...my appt is next week.

definitely not looking forward to it

Hi Dawn,

Hmm... I honestly think it is perfectly alright to ask the form teacher about your son's injuries. At least let them know you are aware of them and that you are not too happy about it. Hopefully that keep them on the toes and keep a closer look on your son?

If you seriously feel the teacher is not doing her job well and such injuries are appearing too often to your liking, then may have to consider changing cc liao.

Hi Maddie,

It is fine to regress abit on and off, don't worry too much about it.

Pull-up pants - I will bring her to the toilet to pee just before we go home from our outing so I will let her wear the pull-up pants then and there in the toilet.

janet,

the scan takes about 15-20 mins. my boy was sleeping on his tummy cos he sleeps better that way. jiayou. hopefully, he can do without it.

janet,

they 'tie' him to the bed and it will move into a machine. so he was like in the middle of a 'cicle' and the scanning take place.

ok, thanks. for your help.

So your boy ok now? no need to go back for review already...considered discharge?

so good.

janet,

yah. he was discharged long ago. after the scan, another 6 months of review before discharged.

he had enough of medical appointment when he was young. standard checks and jab + UTI + hydrocele. i almost visit kk every month for either one of the appointment.

Maddie, rurucat, Cellow, celynlee- yes lor..I was so desperate for a pump buti din wanna open my new medela pump parts to sterilize coz I quite like avent..same like celynlee, I tink avent works better for mi n wanted to keep using it. I fully agree tat medela is really sturdy n durable. Till nw, no prob n brought for servicing for mm's use n the tester said no prob.

Cellow- oh ya!! I din tok of tat! Can Use BM for sore eyes.. Hehe..hb bought eye drops for mi n it's so much better now..

Celynlee, Janet- hugs.. Sounds painful..Hope our kids stay healthy n ill free always. Best if the govt can give CCL for each kid rather than 6 days regardless!

Mommies r always the greatest!! Realized tat though we might not spend as much time wif them but in times of emergency , they'll always call for "mommy" firs!! N tat warms my heart..at least we r not forgotten in the lil ones heearts. stand aside daddies..lol

rant

hb was sick the week before national day - refused to see doctor as usual.

i was having my mensus over the weekend day 2 & its very tiring with the kids.

he disappeared after dropping us off at my parents place to rest at home.

ndp eve we took leave as the kids were dismissed earlier - i tot ok nice to bring them out. ended up at home - he didnt rest - watch tv instead in the room while i & thankfully, maid & MIL was around to help out with the kids.

Friday SO BLOODY sick forced him to see doctor on anti biotics, cough mixture, anti plegm & lozenges.

all this while mil kept makign crysanthemum for him not good enough.

yday i woke with a tad of sore throat. today i am starting to have plegm & my nose is stuck.

Thank you so bloody much! Think you are a Hero men not to see doctor onset illness? Think again!

Hi Vic Ma,

My hb is also like that. There was 1 time he had lung infection w persistently high fever over 39 degrees for 1 week and still refused to see specialist that I had to threaten to leave home then he agreed to go!!! I was preggie with #2 and #1 not in cc yet. Haiz... Can't stand him sometimes!

vic ma,

mine will be like a baby, grouchy and keep nagging about here pain, there pain, here not comfortable, there not comfortable and refuse to see doc. i have to scold him and tell him don't tell me if you don't want to see doc.

ya i want to tell him taht he is not much help lor cos he risk reinfecting the kids.

I told him off this round

i told him each time the kids are very sick it costs $70-90/ visit to the GP or PD, & usually I am the one who has to take leave to do this and look after the kids.

by spending $60 on initial visit & rest properly onset of his cough - he can get well faster - now we were quarantined at home for 2 weeks including NDP holidays - poor kids cooped up at home! this is not good!

i am not asking for zoo, whatever trips - going to the nearby play ground or something simple also can - but cos he is not well - we have to stay at home more often.

so i told him - you pay lor. your own sickness cos so serious GP $80, children $150+ then i fall sick i myself have to pay $60-70 & take 2-3 days off for my own mc & to look after the kids - VERY FUN RIGHT?

totally unfair cos i hate be linked to the phrase " oh she is on urgent leave again"

#2 this time round very strong - didnt caught the cough but he kena food allegy so suay!

trying to find out what on earth it is!

chill chill vic ma, i understand the frustration, u muz also take care too, the weather very bad these days, drink more water

Dawn

i am impressed i am still alive now - with green tea, cough syrup (OTC) lots of water - i am still ok. ya & a gargle.

dunno where all my Vit C went to.

When u dun have enough rest, nothings works well, all sorts of bugs will come and find u.... no matter how much Vit C u take always seem not enough.... thats a like of a mummy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

BTW anyone knows how to strengthen kid's nails?? i notice these days my boy's nail (both toe and finger) will chip/ peel off...

Dawn

u can fill an old nail polish bottle with lemon or lime juice & paint even our nails - it helps to strengthen it.

i wont recoment nail polish brand nail strengthening formulas since they might bite fingers.

but - best to leave alone cos lemon wait yummy to them you have a thumb finger sucking or nail biting problem wait.

but its quite common a home remedy to use Lemon juice. u can kkeep the bottle of juice in fridge for 1 week, daily use 1-2 times paint on the nails.

alternatively i dont know if it works but Vit E oil suppose to help strengthen nails & keep them moist - maybe wil prevent chipping. you might want to get capsule Vit e oil so that its Edible in the 1st place so if they happen to lick its still safe.

i have enough rest - but you have this ongoing continuous exposure to a mega bug which doesnt get killed even after 2 days of antibiotics - that's another thing.

its like sitting next to a garbage bin & hoping not to smell like garbage - abit hard lor.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/7409025.jpg]

Sry to post here...

have this mickey shoe, brandnew, sole 15cm

bought 29.90, selling $20 (or offer me) with normal postage.

fits my boy (big feet) juz nice now, bought wrong size

Brand new not worn yet

morn mummies!!! ....

Been a while since i last posted here....Been on bix trip to India ..hehe..eye opener for me ^_.

Mommies with kids who have sensitive airways....hw do u all manage? ...My boy has been phlegmy for the longest time now ...he does not cough at all & we only hear the phlegmy sound when he gek his crying ...sigh ..any take on this?

Got a burning question i need to ask, please give me your honest opinion -

My gal joined her cc since mid-dec 2011, so she is in her class for 8mths. She likes her teacher very much (and so do i) and she is more or less settled down in school (still have on/off crying at drop-off).

My gal's playgroup class started small at the beginning of the year (4-5 students) and when it grew bigger, the school assigned on-course student teacher or other mmi centres' teacher-on-training to assist the form teacher. But starting july, the form teacher is now alone 1 to 8 students.

I am not sure if it is a coincidence but I started to receive phone calls (2 so far) of scuffles of my gal with her classmates (she bit them!!!) and once she got scratched by her classmate. I talked to another student's grandma today and she said she also received some phonecalls recently regarding her grandson's bad behaviour in class.

My Hb's take on this matter is that the teacher cannot cope with 8 young kids under her charge. Also, as the children grew bigger/stronger, the tendency to fight back is stronger as the child becomes more possessive and aware of his/her personal space/thing etc/

Previously with 2 teachers around, maybe the teacher managed to break up the fight before it gets physical??

I have spoken to the school's administrator and also the supervisor and they kept saying they will hire a new teacher but since june until now, cannot even find 1 teacher????

Should I change cc for my gal? There is a Mindchamps cc that is starting a PG class in Oct, class ratio 1:6.

I am half-hearted because the cc is about 15mins drive away vs the current 5mins walk and my gal has to adapt to a new environment all over again.

Help!!!!

morn mummies!

maddie....problem is the phlegm...I know my boy is phlegmy only when he gek his crying n starts coughing..Other than that, he is as normal as can be ...pd mentioned this will be off & on but Im wooried that it may lead to something bad eventually.

xiao lao hu: i think u have to monitor... prolong phlegm also not good... it maybe juz a phrase which hope it will pass soon, else i think u better seek another opinion juz in case to confirm it will lead to nothing serious...

u may also wanna take note of the air quality? maybe he is sensitive and need more cleaner air...

at a stage, my boy was having runny nose only in CC and its so serious that the teacher tell me bring see PD, but i say at home he is not having any runny nose at all.... went PD and PD told me too it will be on off and prescribe allergy med (she say he mayb having some allergy to something) and true enough, he recover after sometime . BTW that time his lungs was congested with phlegm too, the phlegm juz refuse to go off....

Ruru cat: my son's CC also same situation as urs, more and more teachers quit, but no new teachers yet....

and recently he also comes home with bruises more often, which i nv bought up to teachers (those minor ones) coz my son is a super active child too... so can't blame teachers... but i suspect also due to lack of teachers

My hubby also wanna switch CC but my son is settled well there already and i am reluctant to change.

maybe speak to the supervior again?

tell them if can't get a proper teacher, at least get another help to assit the teacher. 1 to 8 is really alot...

change Cc will be my last resort.

RURU

i think convenience & similar circulium is better than what if the car is not around - youhave to take bus to fetch? Nearby you can get maid to go fetch not a problem cos its going to be daily.

& change & adjustment - i think its good to give the child more time - the root problem could very well be she wants more of your attention - individual one on one. discuss with the teachers on how to continue from here with regards to the biting so that you & the teachers together with more awareness can help her overcome this.

biting & beating is usually a phase - but it has to be corrected - no means no - remind & remind until they stop it - if the teachers & PRincipal has no clue on this discipline - Ask the new school if they have a better answer.

being professional childcare - they must know how to handle kids & discipline kids.

if they push the beating or biting problem to the parents stating its family problem - then they are not very good teachers or childcare to start with.

children will be children - they will react to whatever they are unhappy with or to get the attention they want. we as adults, parents/teachers must show them the way - in love & kindness. (even though we might be biting our own teeth to do it)

ruru cat,

i'm not sure of the ratio of students:teacher but i believe they are still within the guideline of MCYS.

biting is just a phase thing. yu xi had been doing that to gor gor many times till we keep stressing and telling her no. good thing is that she didn't do that in cc but was biten by other kids twice. so now, she had a taste of being biten, she will tell me cannot bite and had stop it.

i will let her continue with the class. changing school doesn't means that i won't face the same issue of teachers leaving. its just how soon i need to face it if it ever happens. we can't stop anyone from leaving a company anytime they want. i will also need to face the issues of my girl re-adjusting to a new environment and teachers.

early aug, yu xi's class also becomes bigger that now they have to spilt the class into 2. her favourite teacher is assigned to another class instead of her class. then just last week or so, received notice that a teacher resign in gor gor's class. so now instead of 2 small class of about 11 students each. these 2 small class is combine into a big class and manage by 2 teachers. i can't stop things like that from happening. if i have to keep changing school cos of these, i better put them at home and look after them myself.

very sorry if i sounded very rude or piss off.

ruru cat,

i extract this from mcys website on setting a childcare centre:

AGE OF CHILDREN PROGRAMME STAFF-CHILD RATIO

2 months - 18 months (Infant Care –Educarer) 1:5

Above 18 months - 30 months (PG/Toddler – Educarer) 1:8

Above 30 months - 3 years (N1 – Educarer) 1:12

Above 3 years - 4 years (N2 – Teacher ) 1:15

Above 4 years - below 7 years (K1 / K2 Teacher) 1:25

K1’s ratio will be 1 : 20 wef Jan 2013

Not really relevant, so bear with me. Posting it here first to see if any mothers need replacements before I post it in the general page.

I have 4 sets of "Replacement Parts Kit for Medela Freestyle Breast Pump" for sale at $32 each. Any interested parties can PM me?

in case you're wondering, I got these from US for a friend and since i'm paying for shipping, might as well buy more to make shipping worth it.

Hi Celyn,

Yes, there is really no guarantee that in the new school the teacher won't leave as yet. Sometimes the teacher may be good but don't stay long also no use.

Yes, 1:8 is the MCYS regulation but certain schools set lower school ratio.

Thanks for your opinion. We have been talking for more than 2 years, we all each know each other's style, why will I get offended? No worry lah.

Happen to chance upon this thread... and seem to be pretty active and have learn and know loads of things...

I'm a mummy of 2 and my darlings are born in Yr09 n Yr10.

Just wanna know beside going to cc what other enrichment classes you sent your kids to?

I'm a working mother hence only left with weekend available with my kids. Untill today I'm still undecisive on where and what to enrol my kids for. And partially it's also due to the high costs...

After reading so many things in the forum, my kids seem to be lagging behind and not catching up with the modern bringing up. Will this affect their learning/future?

We're just an average income hsehold, any mummies out there can help to suggest any budget enrichment classes?

I'm really a useless mummy... I don't do alot of activities with them. I always wanted to read to them but I always dunno where to start from. To be honest, I don't really like reading and give up very easily. Whenever I go looking for books eg. at popular, I will go round and round and clueless on what to get for them and always leave with no purchase. All I know is buy DVDs with their favourite characters like "Dora", "Barney", "Thomas", etc...

Need help and advise from you guys....

Many Thanks. Cheers [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi AJfamily,

Eh, I never send my gal to any enrichment class once she started her full-day cc as I want her to have fun on weekend.