(2010/02) February 2010 mtb

Bryest, for IFC personally I think you should look for one either near your home or near your office.

I shortlisted the few IFCs near my place and did my research online check out other mommy forums and see what are the comments etc, then both my hubby & me went and take a look at the place. Observe the babies and the care-givers/teachers there.

Callalily:

My hb don't like to have maids or part time cleaners so got to do everything ourselves. After staying at home for almost 4 months, I really respect all SAHMs...they are truly under appreciated!

Callalily/Siva/Jesline:

I give my boy NUK pacifier but I think his cheeks are too fat or wat...everytime got a deep red mark. Feel so bad when I see it...sometimes when I paranoid then I wonder if the mark will be permenant..Want to ask, how do you get baby to associate pacifier with sleeping? Even we give our boy pacifier, still have to rock and pat and walk aroud before he sleeps. Hoping to train him to just suck the pacifier and sleep.

Siva/Bryest/Callalily/Lois:

I also thought that we are suppose to introduce solid only at 6 months...but it seems during our parents' generation, they introduce much earlier. Like 4 months or so...my MIL has been bugging me when we want to give my boy solid although he is not even 4 months yet. Think we will wait a while more. Will either start on Bellamy or Heinz organic rice cereal.

Jes T:

I also plan to just keep the pump in the fridge after use in a zip lock bag..save on washing. Will sterilse once in the morning before going to the office first.

bryest:

Which area are you looking at? Wanted to send my boy to infant care last time (either in town or west side) so did some research on it before.

lovie,

tats the 'result' of desperation... trying to get flat, bo bian hv to try till get it... no matter where...

cloh,

yalor, very far so cant visit her everyday... haiz...

kath,

haha.. i was tinkin back of the days i not working... thou tiring, @ least not compel to leave hse in such nice weather...

re leaving bb wif caregiver,

perhaps tat time during ML, i had a few occasions leaving gal wif MIL for a day or 2, so the 'separation anxiety' got lessen... still will miss her but didn tear liao...

Helo mummies:

Thanks for the info on the method to wash pump. When in a rush, can try putting pump parts straight into clean airtight container eg tupperware after pumping n put into the fridge. Just take out from fridge and use it again to pump next time. Concept is similar to our EBM where we put into fridge immed after pumping n take out to use when needed. Read fr some blog abt tis method n I tried this after baby turned 3 months old...So far so gd...

Grapa:

YES! SAHMs are truly under-appreciated!I gave in to a PT cleaner after ONE mth of housework! Truly hate doing household chores. After engaging a PT cleaner, i am extremely happy. Both me and hb are not for maids for the time being too. We still love our privacy[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My gal was a total nightmare fr birth till wk 3! She refuses to sleep at all. Had to pat, rock, walk etc until when we decided to give the pacifier. And fr then on, peace was restored! I only give the pacifier during sleep/nap times so now she has associated herself with pacifier & sleep. For Aly, her nap times are fixed so abt 15mins prior to nap time, i juz pop pacifier into her mouth, leave her alone and 15mins later, she will be asleep w/o patting/rocking/walking. After that, she will juz spit out the pacifier on her own or on bad days, i will have to help her remove it.

Yup, our parents' generation all start solids at 4mths but i refused. Afterall, we are the mothers now rite? Thankfully, neither my parents or in laws have bugged me to do so[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. If they bug me, i will just tell them that the latest studies recommend solids at 6mths onwards[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. Not easy to find Heinz organic rice cereal. Perpetually out of stock. For bellamy, there's a BP for this if u r interested. Here's the link http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/3696296.html?1275442704

Can share the IFC which u have done research on? Central/West area rite?

Callalily, I'm staying in Ne (SK), and my estate is a young estate so I have 4 IFC within walking distance.

My first choice IFC (Faith Educare) is located opposite my block and it operates from 7am - 9pm. The timing is ideal but the centre is small and it's full plus they played me out!

2nd choice IFC is runned by NTUC My First Skool which is diagonally opposite. Almost registered there but they only accept registration with a birth certificate so I cannot even reserve a space and if I do return with a birth certificate, the space might not be available.

3rd choice Junior Schoolhouse is 5 blocks away, the centre supervisor was willing to hold a space for us as long as we paid a refundable deposit first. We toured the place and like what we saw. The centre is big so they run infant care to kindergarten. So Jared's there now. It's his 2nd day there today and I'm happy with everything. I spoke to his teachers and they were very nice, friendly and patient ladies. Most importantly, I feel at ease and I'm not tearing so much already!

Another IFC Sparkletots located a few blocks away opened 2 months back but since we have already registered Jared, we decide not to check-out. Too much confusion.

Gyan: Ok, i will sms you when i am about to drop by your place. Should be there around 1pm plus. Don't think i will join the contest... hahah, too lazy. :p

apple: My PD is at Tampines, near my mum's place. Sunday should be ok, i'll PM you my address and hp no. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] You just let me know in advance what time u will be coming.

Lois: I have ordered organic brown rice cereal (Happy Bellies) from the overseas thread, but haven't arrived yet. So don't know good or not. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Err... Bryest, if your mum is available to take care of your bb, why do you want to put him in IFC? I heard that there is a higher tendency for bbs to fall sick in IFC, coz if 1 bb is sick, they may pass the germs to another bb...

Grapa,

I'm looking at IFC in town or west area. Do you mind sharing your research?

Mambobb,

I just quit my job but I have another offer which I plan to start when my boy turns 6mths. My boy has been crying very badly when he wanna sleeps and my mum can't seems to pacify him at all. He can cry till he finally fall asleep which is sometimes an hour. I can't bear to see him crying so badly every day and it's not good for his development. I'm looking at IFC as I'm hoping the teachers there are more experienced and may be able to handle him so that he won't cry as much.

Jmi:

Very comprehensive! So many IFCs near yr place...so convenient! But SK is way way too far for me! Somewhere in the west or central would b ideal for me. So far, hb still against IFC so for the time being i will be SAHM till aly's 6mths. After tat, i will only be working PT (half days) so tentatively leave with MIL/mum. No fixed plan yet. Exploring options..

bryest: I agree with fressia on the bb tends to fall sick easily coz they may pass the germs around. Mayb u can try to tell ur mum how to carry him and pacify the way u do?

My hb also cant pacify my boy to sleep whenever he is sleepy. I am the one who can make him sleep. But sometimes when there is no choice have to try. Today my hb is at home all alone taking care of my boy coz my nanny (relative) is not free today.

Teachers in IFC even tho are more experienced bt still is not 1:1 looking after the bb. Even the teacher in the childcare told me that she also not encourage her grandson to be in IFC. But if no other choice, then have to look for one which is convenient for u and of coz the center must be very clean and professional.

Freesia: ok thks.

The package nw delivered to me yesterday bt I was not at home. I have asked to transfer to Tampines Singpost so that I can go down to collect. Will update again.

mini,

tink tat 'lump' is here to stay!! don pin too high hopes on osim... haha...

bryest,

tot ur boss gave u no pay leave?? u quitted in the end??

bbin: haha.. did u put it on daily? haha.. later i am going to my slimming session during the lunch time.. no time to have time, need to tabao back in the office to eat.. hohoho

Freesia: I go citispa. I signed up a package years ago for #1.. went for a few sessions only coz want to save the rest for #2.. haha.. in the end, sign up another 20 sessions again recently =p.. didnt tell my hb.

The slimming is called lipo-massage. It uses a machine to 'rollup' ur skin to slim n tone ur body at the same time. U can check it out here for more details [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

http://www.citispa.com.sg/

- on LPG Cellutone Contouring

http://www.lipomassage.com/home.php

mambobb,

if i lazy/bz/reach home late, i'll skip a session... so not daily lor...

when i was pregnant, i kept complaining tat i'm fat... my hb did 'offer' to pay for slimming package... haha... but i juz tot those tings bluff one.. nvr really hv faith in those tings... incl the osim i got... lol! anywayz, i juz treat it as normal massage lor... coz got kneading function...

i'm oso gg for massage tmr... took half day.. hven been using my package... tat time during confinement, they even called me to ask if i wanto book appt... follow up calls since they noticed i hven visited for quite some time liao...

Bryest, where r u working ya? I have info on some IFC in Tanjong Pagar area...

Jmi, good tt U r coping well today! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Arghh! My boy looked at me n cried at e IFC this morning! Then e care-givers suggested me to leave 1st...So heartpain man! I seriously don't know how to tahan when I go back to work next Mon... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Goood Afternoon mommies...

been such a tiring wk lately.. I'm sick again !!! Arrrgghh...

Issit true tat our body immune system will be weaker after giving birth ah ???? Damn sianz leh.. always sick...

Mambobb :

Hav transfer $9.45 to you.. Ref # 2914186383

Thks !!!

Cloh

I had my papsmear test aft i deliver.(Ard 2 mths later..) The result turn out to be fine and tat ive already had my "1st official period". Juz tat the 2nd one is taking too long! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

bbin

Hahahhahahaaha.. I can understand!

Kath

Hey, tat time when we met at TCC at Bugis, u pass me 2 pce of PAMPERS to try on, right? It's not those velcro type nor is the those plastic type and i like it alot!!!! Unfortunately, i dun know what's the name of the pampers, Active Baby or..? Now, i cant even confirm are u the one giving me tat! Haahahahaha.. Juz wanna "tee kam"!

lovie & cloh,

tat time i went for 2nd opinion wif another gynae... he commented tat period will come within 3weeks after stopping bf...

for those that interested to get the home swimming tubs for babies

mamabebe is willing to charge @ 60 dollars onli deliver to 1 location onli

any1 interested?

include 1 80 x 90 tub, 1 round neck float . 1 swim diapers

min 6 orders ( will try to find an mrt location for delivery)

http://www.momnbebe.com/

email mi [email protected]

pl note tat i didnt earn any commission from that . im march 2010 mum. jus hope to find more mums to spilt the cost so i can get the tub cheaper n u all alos can benefit from it . thanks

Hi All mommies

Sorry to disrupt,im 2009 mummy, have a few brandnew items to let go

Interested mummies pls do contact me at [email protected] or hp 82884133

Thankyou

Item1:

BrandNew Philips Newborn Starter Set[Price$36,Original Price:$45.90]

Contains 2 feeding bottles (260ml/9oz) with newborn teats(No2) ; 2 feeding bottles (125ml/4oz) with newborn teats(No1); 2 newborn teats(No1); 1 Newborn soother and 1 Bottle brush (altogether 8 pcs)

Item2:

Munchkin Drying Rack[Price:$10, Original Price:$15]

Item3:

Cradler gotten from Taka BabyFair

[Price:$15,Original Price:$21.90]

[PriceTag intact]

Item4:

MyBreast@Friends from MotherCare[100% BrandNew]

[Price: $70, Original Price$81.90 ]

[PriceTag intact]

Item5:

Montaly GiftSet_100% Cotton

[Price:$15,Original: Unknown]

Consist of 2 bodysuits,1 pair of Mitten & booties & 1 cap

Item 6:

Disney 100% Original Gift Set_100% Cotton

Price:$18

Item7:

100% Original Chateau De Sable

[Tag intact,Gift Box as well]

Size: 6mth

Price:$45

[Original Price:$34+$34+$9 ]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4055482.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4055483.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4055484.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4055485.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4055486.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4055487.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4055488.jpg]

Lovie: I think is normal for period to be irregular after give birth leh.. That what the polyclinic customer service mentioned to me when i wanted to book for pap smear checkup.. SHe told me to book after my baby 4th month which my period had get back.. I told her my period have come back, but however they say they only do after 4 months, if not it's not accurate..

My gal fever look subside, but still need to monitor... Hiaz.. Just now she keep playing with her saliva, blowing with bluuuuuu sound.. Cannot tahan!

so it's true tat onli after stop bf than period will come issit? coz till now still nothing.. onli abit of spotting last mth..

bbin: Actually i think once the breastmilk supply very low, the period will come... Then after that it either get back monthly or not.. Cos it may not resume normal due to stress or lack of rest...

Whoofy

My hb says he will strangle me if i have no.2 right now.

U get wat i mean?

Wahahahaahahahah

Mini

Aiyooooooooooo.. At least uve got spottings! I only got "mood swings" as for now!

Hahahahaha.. Being very tempermental lor!

bbin

Ive got my "1st period" but from then till now, no more liao! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Kath

Ohh..! THank god! I found ya!

Hahahaahah.. AM so happy!

I find it so good to use lor!

I think this can be on par wif Mpoko!

Is it very ex?

apple

Is it? I didnt know abt tat!

Tat time my gynae ask me to take and so, i went along and take..

Jesline, the more 'branded' the infant care, the more expensive it is. I'm paying $490/month after $600 MCYS subsidy for Jared's infant care.

Still quite expensive. Imagine, if MCYS subsidise $600 per mth. Our baby bonus $1-$1 match of $12000, can only last probably 1.5 years. Not to forget, we need to pay for vaccination and medical fees.

Jesline & Bryest :

It reali depends on which schools u choose.. some are pretty reasonable.. Like wat Lovie says.. after subsidy is abt $600-$700+..

My Little Skool House is more to the high range ones..

There's another one at Jurong Point is under NTUC call My First Skool.. it's much cheaper..but think got long waiting list.. Tats why I already register Jolie for nursery in 2013 lor...

Another one is opposite Jurong Point call Whispering Hearts.. even cheaper.. but of course dun expect centre to be very impressive..