(2010/02) February 2010 mtb

Serene: Wow, what a nice day for u.. I always think that for a child, it's always great to have parents seeing them off at school and receiving them at the end of school.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Have a great day!

I just went to the Taka baby fair ytd! Bought a Pigeon rapid steam sterilizer which comes with bottle & baby food warmer, 5 milk bottles, a pacifier & a nylon brush. Pretty gd deal at only $159. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I am still in a dilemma which Madela breast pump to get? Any suggestions? Wana do more research 1st before i buy.

As i do not know my baby gender yet, cant shop any clothings or accessories. Hopefully my gynae apptment on Mon can tell & i can make a trip down to SHOP...

mORNING MUMMIES...

Tam: Initially i think sending them and receiving them is nice but when it becomes a routine. You get bored of it. Hehehe.. I hv no child yet but i am talking based on experience taking care of my younngest sister who is 10years younger then me. i took care of her when since 2mths old...

Tiffany: Is it a big fair? Are things much cheaper?

TGIF indeed! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tiffany: is the Madela pumps cheaper at the fair? The ones I want to get are the $700+ ones, got bigger motors and are double breast pumps. But all the stores which sell it don't ever have discounts for those.

raine/tiffany: U wanna buy medela pumps? is it good? i read reviews that many mums like the avent better then medela. Very confused... There is a website that i read before that hv reveiws of breast pump..

ezmeralda:

It a big fair at Taka basement. But not all brands can be found. Things are slightly cheaper abit & they throw in freebies for certain products.

Raine:

Price not much diff for Medela pumps, maybe a few bucks savings.. Ohhh I think it $759 if not wrong..

Tiffany: Ooh.. u went to the Taka fair.. Are there many things to get? Just wondering if they have baby cots/cribs, bedding etc?

Ez: Yup, agree that maybe everyday may be quite a routine but once in a while will be quite nice.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Like a surprise visit.. But think once the child reach 11-12 years old, they won't wanna see their parents in sch anymore. Haha..

Tam: Hahaha, i think they paiseh man see u. At that age they think they "big" already n dun wanna be seen near their parents. Lets just think of us when we are at their age... But i do hv a friend in my secondary school days where her mum pick her up everyday till finish o level. No car mind u, her mum took bus everyday. She the only girl in e family.Everyday rain or shine her mum will come.

i bought a pregnancy pillow last night.. hmm its from UK. Shipping plus item plus insurance abt $93.

Tiffany: At the fair u saw any pregnancy pillow?

Ez: Haha.. yup.. 7-8 year old, liked mum to come.. but 11-12 onwards, hope mum doesn't come.. hee.. Wow, ur fren didn't feel awkward? But credits to her mum, really it's a lot of effort esp gotta take bus everyday to pick her... Now we're gonna be mummies, more appreciative of mum's efforts.. hee..

Any mummies beginning to find sleeping difficult?

I turn left, i felt aches on the right,turn right i felt aches on the left. Face up, i get breathless... Gosh !!!!

Tam: Yalor, sumtimes when i think back mum really hv done lots of things for us. i think since they hv their 1st child till this very day, they haven sleep enuf.. hehehe

I hv never seen my mum sleep beyond 7am no matter what time she sleep. When i ask her she not tired ah werk n cook she will say, what to do.Responsibility what.... I always ask myself if i can do what my mother did. hehehe.

Ah im dying to know how my baby is doing. Today i am week 16. Last time i check was when i am week 10. I hope i go back sg next week. I swear i will call the clinic n make appointment once i get back singtel signal....

Ez: I also find sleeping difficult.. Quite hard to get to sleep every night.. Didn't get aches though, but it's like just can't sleep... So kept turning and tossing around.. I think all mothers once have a child will sure always think of the child first.. basic instinct.. so i'm sure u can do what ur mum did.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yesterday whole day meetings, making feel so worse, serious headache & giddiness. Although i still have vomit urge but normally will be after eating something. When i wanna puke, it seems nothing inside my stomach. I think all my food have been digist..

Now still feeling nausea, giddy and headache..

Apple: Hi gal.. Hang in there k? Cos I think ur MS is improving.. but the giddyness and headache still there.. even I also now will feel giddyness and headaches quite frequently.. But I'm thankful that I can stomach some food.. So at least baby get some nutrients.. The weekends are coming.. Jia you! U can take a break and rest for the next 2 days.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tam L,

Yeah, I always wanted to be able to send my kid to n fro school esp at their young age now. Do you know my boy is very happy to have mummy to send him and when he sees me just now when he come out from class, he is so super happy and hugged me... This kind of warmth feeling is a very touching one! Think I will seriously consider quitting my job after my maternity leave. Frankly, I'm prepared to give up my job for my kids. The most, budget abit but the joy I shared with my kids is nothing to be compared. I really don't want to miss out these precious bonding and time with them.

Tiffany,

I went down to the baby fair yesterday.

Frankly I only bought a pck of XXL diaper, a pair of socks, 1 pck of maternity pads, 1 toy and 2 pck of pigeon bottles detergent. Even I know my bb gender, i also intend to wait later to buy, thinking also she can wear my boy's pass down, infant wear are all pastel or white colour so is fine. As for those big items like bb cot, stroller, car seat etc, all i already have so didn't buy... However, i forgotten to check out booster set for my boy since intend to let him use that next year while the bb uses the car seat.

Tiffany,

I also went to Medela counter, and talked to the promotor. She told me basically they have 2 range. The classic range for occasional users and the another range which they called it the latest generation, that one is for mummies who seriously wanted to pump more often and intend to breastfeed longer period (this range is more expensive!). The NG range can stimulate the breast and thus ensure the milk flow continuously. However, if you latch on yr bb most of the time and pump only 1-2x a day, classic range should be ok. Classic range has not stimulation function. I cannot make up my mind too thus just get the catalogue and intend to study further.

Some told me, if i want to get the classic range, might as well consider Ameda brand, heard this brand is quieter than Medela.

Ez: My giddiness and headache seem to come whole day..

Tam: I'm still hang in now.. But now feel very bloated and start to have vomit urge after finish my lunch.. Hiaz..

Yvonne: I feel the dizzy and headache can make me can't think at all.. Can faint anytime if it is serious.. Hiaz..

Re: Pumps

I breastfed my gal for 1year and am a working mum. Initially started off using Avent Uno ISIS (Single electric pump) but the downside to Avent is that the pump seems to need repair every now and then. I finally changed to Medela Freestyle (a dual pump)... no problem with the pump, and pumps faster as its a dual pump. Its alot more expensive but worth every single cent if you intend to bfeed long. And another plus point is that since its freestyle, it means you can free your hands to surf the net, walk about etc... hee... freedom wor! No nid to sit by the electric point to pump. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Just my few cents of pumping experience lah.

I bought my pump from US, cost me $527 including shipping. Taka is selling it at $799 now... the original selling price is $1k+. But would suggest that you gals wait to buy pump to fully utilise the warranty as its mostly 1 year. As for those buying from US, you will forgo the warranty, so no difference when you buy it.

jaspire,

Do you pump very often per day? If you latch on most of the time, then u don't need a very good pump, I mean if only pump 2x or less a day, don't need to buy such an expensive pump right?

I just came back from my checkup. Grrr...waited for more than 1 hour to see my gynae today. Dunno why there were so many mummies seeing doc today. As a result my gynae was in a hurry and didn't spend too much time scanning at baby. I asked him can see the gender or not? He said a bit difficult for me...then he tried to check and a while later,he said that he saw no testes so might be a girl. But then again he later said the baby's legs were squeezed together so couldn't tell la. haiz. Now i have to wait for my 20weeks detailed scan to know the gender...that's like,in 4 weeks' time??? I cannot wait.....so gan cheong leh.

Oh,and he told us that i'm a bit anaemic(which i know coz usually i will feel faint after doing blood test)and hence just now he asked my hubby to do blood test also. Scared we are Thalassaemia carriers. I hope not.

Anyway gynae said baby is growing well so i shld be glad. Saw baby's spine very clearly.

Serene, I used to pump many times a day though i do latch my gal. B4 returning to work, i latch my gal fully but i do pump after latching to store the bmilk. After when i return to work, I pump at least 3-4x day. Hence the pump does make a difference. My boss also do not like the time taken for me to pump, hence I need an efficient pump. The time taken to pump using the Avent and Medela freestyle differs greatly for me wor.

Serene: I agree.. The bonding with our child, esp when they're young is very impt.. I'm also considering being a SAHM for at least 2-3 years after giving birth.. Though finances will be tight, but it's only once in our child n our lives that we see them growing up and passing the different milestones.. Btw, u mentioned pigeon bottle detergent.. Is it good? How do u use it?

Apple: Try to take short breaks to rest.. Don't stand up too often and stand up slowly.. *hugs*

Yew yew: 4 weeks past quite fast.. I also think i've gotta wait til my detailed scan to see baby's gender.. n my scan is more than 4 weeks later.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Anyway, try to eat a bit more meat cos u're anaemic.. Did the doc give u iron pills?

Tam: Yup,i am currently eating multi-vit pills which contain iron as well. Also began eating pig's liver(said to replenish blood)even before i got pregnant but i'm still anaemic. Haiz. I also eat quite a lot of meat leh. Dunno why.

hi .. just some information regarding food.

re : pig liver

1. 很多人認為他補血.事實上他會打散子宮內的廢血

http://tw.knowledge.yahoo.com/question/question?qid=1608022602360

2. Experts recommend that pregnant women (and those planning to become pregnant), should not eat liver or any liver products, such as liver sausage or pâté. Why? Liver contains very high levels of the retinol form of vitamin A, which can be harmful to your developing baby, particularly in the first trimester.

http://www.babycenter.com.sg/pregnancy/nutrition/foodsafety/liverexpert/

Re : eating mutton.

1. 吃羊肉會令胎兒“發羊吊”﹖

羊癇風(癲癇的通稱)和羊肉是沒有關系的﹐而且羊肉含豐富維他命B12和鐵質﹐營養豐富﹐孕婦吃絕對有益無害。

http://tw.knowledge.yahoo.com/question/question?qid=1105062702832

RE: Pump

Avent manual pump, used for 1st mth and give up because it just too slow and req'd a lot of effort.

Medela PISA , bought after dismissing the avent manual. Its really great. Supply was excellent after the using it. So far most of the ppl I know uses this pump BF successfully and without much difficulties. But it very bulky and requires a socket or 8 AA batteries to operate.

Medela Freestyle, shipped from US at 6 mths , because need to go oversea for a short trip. It was light and work as well as PISA. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] No need socket to pump. Just need to fully charge the battery when you reach home. ** like the handphone**

Ameda Purely yours, so far many mummies I know also successfully bf with pump. And some who has tried both PISA and Ameda comment that they are gives the same result. And furthermore Ameda is cheaper and more portable than PISA.

Medela mini pump, saw a friend use in the hospital. It looks really bad , cos' it suck the nxx out. It feels painful just by looking at my friend use it. Aniway, my friend change to PISA the next day.

Highly recomm mummies to get either Ameda or Freestyle

jaspire,

At least your work environment has a proper place for u to pump yr milk and yr boss at least is understanding. For my case, all men except i'm the only woman in the office and we don't have a pantry or anything except the unisex toilet! The moment i thought about pumping milk after back to work, i feel disheartened! Unless I have a car and can rush to drive back home to pump every lunch time!

Tam L,

Is just a normal detergent for washing bottles, pacifier etc. and can use to wash vege and fruits too. It's safe! I used that since my boy is born until now. Besides pigeon brand, there is also tolly joy also.

Re: AXA insurance (FBI/SBI)

Just met up with the AXA agent at 3pm. Gosh, the meeting last for 2 hrs and just ended!!! Besides explaining to me the 6mths free medical policy for my baby, of cos they tried to get info of what other insurance policies I have and what are my future plans etc.... The sales director came with the agent who called me, so can really talk long time... but none of any hard selling. However they will visit us again either 1mth b4 we gave birth or after birth to let us sign the actual doc and he says prefer that my hub is around cos he knows that my hub is the main decision maker and also i hint to him that i may retire next year haa! So he knows the bread winner eventually is my hubby!!! So definitely has to meet him lor!

This is how the freestyle looks like

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/2864470.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/2864471.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/2864472.jpg]

It's a double pump, and inside is a rechargable battery, very much like a oversize handphone. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and can be put in any big bag that you have. It comes with handfree kit.. which i didnt try to use. According to Jaspire, it is selling at $799. I got mine from U/S also ard $500 cos' i shipped in myself.

I just lend my set to a friend who just went for an oversea trip.. Basically after she use my freestyle, she cannot go back to her PISA liao. I am shipping in for her now.

Yew yew: Ic... maybe gotta just monitor and see how.. since u're already taking multi-vits and eating meat, should be ok..

Serene: Oh ic.. So we can't use normal detergent for washing baby's things? Also, do u use special laundry powder for ur child's laundry? Do u mix adults' clothes with ur child/baby's clothes when washing?

Apple: Ur backache better now? If not well, maybe tml u go see doctor? Btw, I haven't really announce my pregnancy to friends.. only a few colleagues and a very close friend and my immediate family knows.. I also dunno when and how to tell my friends.. hee..

Jgal,

I thought PISA is the highest end and most expensive in Medela selling @ $799? Freestyle is not in Medela's catalgue that the promotor gave me yesterday. Could it have changed the name?

Tam L,

I think it's better to use the mild detergent specially for washing baby's stuffs and in case didn't rinse properly, this detergent is edible...no harm. Yes, I used Kodomo laundry detergent for my boy's clothes till now, wash separately by hand from ours.

apple,

I think if you're not pang tang, sure can share with your close friends about yr pregnancy esp u r reaching 3mths right?

Serene : Freestyle is the latest and most expensive model from medela at the moment. Think singapore medela does not bring in the model, parrellel importer such as first few yrs bring it in.

apple_gal : yeah.. its < $520 to ship in depending on the exchange rate and shipping cost at the point in time. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Serene: Oh.. Okie thanks! Will go and have a look at the baby detergent.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jgal: About the Freestyle pump, is it noisy when using?

Tam : it's quite okay.. not as noisy as PISA.

If anyone of you intend to buy in singapore because of warranty, can purchase online at First few years. They can deliver , if i am not wrong free delivery for the pumps. You can order after your delivery so that you can maximize your warranty [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

http://www.firstfewyears.com.sg/warehouse/list.htm?pid=15

Jgal: Can the medela freestyle fit milk bottles from other brands?

jaspire: Heard that the breastpumps bought from US are 2 pin type? So you just need to get those travel multiadaptor to fit into the power socket right?