(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

Charis:

I also use GF's books with an open mind cuz it's almost impossible to stick to the dot with her routines cuz babies are afterall not robots. But i like her logical reasoning why she does certain things & how she derives at her routines. Been meaning to get her potty training book but havent seen it around it the book stores. Maybe i havent tried enough. At what age does she advocate toilet training?

Hope yr kids recover soon[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tam L> think my girl not very sticky to me even before I put her at infant care, maybe due to character, maybe due to play pen time everyday, so she didn’t fuss or cry when she didn’t see me and carry on playing happily but she will cry very loud during diaper change or cleaning even if I’m there but not the one changing her. In fact, the second day, once I put her down at the diaper change area, she cry v loud then she realize I’m changing her instead of the teacher then keep quiet. But this week, the teacher say she’s much better already, at most fuss a little but not like last week. Eh u can find delrosa on this website luvbabies.weebly.com. I buy my diaper/fm/delrosa from there.

Cheerieheart> yipppeee!!!

Charis> she’s good just that she doesn’t sleep at the usual time there but today she slept slightly longer than 1 hr so seems like she is slowly sleeping longer, hopefully so. The teacher has to carry her to put her to sleep though cos they say when they place her in the cot either she’ll make noise, or she’ll happily climb and not sleep, but we’re ok with it since at home, she still sleeps on her own in the cot. Me! I tell u, the first day I bring her there, I already want to cry. I think of the times I can’t spend with her I so sad. Before I sent her, I also tear when talk about it. Now, I’m ok already. Think it helps that she adjusts very well. But now cos she sleeps more when she’s home, she only has one hour wake or so before she sleeps for the night, means I only play with her for one hour each day! So now trying to think of alternative arrangements etc at work nxt year so that I can spend more time with her at least for this first few years. What happened when u send ur son to emergency child care?

Smalldreams> hope aifah is much better now!

Christine> my girl didn’t know how to swallow for the first two weeks so I kept wasting about 10-20ml of milk and some cereal but after that suddenly got it!

Tyl> it’s ok la. Another time maybe in the sch holidays =) oo how u celebrating his bday? Thanks for the wishes!

Bigfoot> ok will do so. Just have to play by ear and see how. Wa ur IFC actually introduces food ah. My IFC just give food I prepare and porridge for lunch everyday. Haha.

SP callalily> can I check how much should our LO be eating and drinking now based on GF? My girl’s on 4 feeds day 140ml, 60ml milk plus 3-4 tablespoon of cereal of breakfast, 60ml of porridge for lunch, 2-4 tablespoon of puree for dinner, but I notice she seems to be hungrier more these 2 days so not sure if I should up the milk or up the food intake. Any comments?

Taggies> my girl likes them too!

Snack> heh I also give my girl snacks to eat when I know the dinner is going to be long and I want to eat in peace after feeding her meal. Heh. Not often so shouldn’t be a habit. She seems to eat anything I put in her mouth so that’s good.

LSn..

Oh yes she does. Will hav to check with her..but no hurry.

Andie..

Thanks. Is that near Kembangan MRT?

SP..

No specific age if I recall. I didnt buy the book..jus browse thru n took note of impt info. I bought 3 of her books previously..quite ex..so hubby "ban" me...haha.

She has some notes on how to tell when your child is ready. I believe in readiness too. Anyway I started with my boy at around 15 months..and he was off diapers by his 2nd birthday, including nite time. Didnt use potty..taught him to pee with the seat adapter.

andie> i saw the poster say brown rice paradise open in dec leh... organic stuff really ex though... :p...

sure, u're welcome... i'm at bedok north...

tyl> ayden so sweet... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]... this morn i just look at mattias and say: "you so cute, how can i go back to work?" dilemma, dilemma...

melissa> hope en xi slps more at ifc and wake up more at hm... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]...

xin > yup, I am taking leave on 1 oct so can't take on 30 sep. Can't fight with my collg cos she also have school-going kids unless I decided to play punk and take urgent leave. ;p

callalily > i realised that about G.ford, but if its good, then I don't mind signing up for the online membership. But good idea to get the book too, cos I can read on train but just too lazy to carry so many things to work... bag, pump, his bag, milk bag...

sophia > thanks for your website. Yeah! Another channel for yummy recipes!

christine > I introduced something different to Bryan by adding the rice cereal into his milk 1st cos PD suggested I thicken his feed. Then my mum took it as a play time and fed him plain porridge (just a couple of mouth) slightly b4 he turned 6 mths. Primarily I cook porridge for him on weekends... cook it soft and well-blended and not too dry. Start with something mild tasting, like carrot before moving on. He only started on sweet potato recently cos I thought that was pretty sweet and very dry, unless I add milk to it. Maybe you just have not found something that caught your gal's fancy. Just try small amount of different thing, and make sure she is in a good mood, i.e. not too hungry, not sleepy... and that's how I move Bryan into weaning.

Melissa..Good to know that your gal is ok so far..though do up her Vit C intake..with fruits and vege..cos Im sure you know in infantcare viruses pass around very easily.

Yup understand its not easy..especially if the child is not adapting well.

Fr Yael, sent him fr e-care fr 3 days when I was taking a course.

He was ok fr 1st day..quite happy to go the centre..anyway it was only half day..but fr next 2 days, he was more reluctant..that was when I got worried..and called the principal..haha..and she said he was fine, only whine for the 1st 10 min..so she said I have "separation anxiety"!

Anyway even til now, when my kids go to the babysitter occasionally, I still get separation anxiety!!

I sincerely hope u can make some adjustments at work..in my opinion, put to u gently..its still best to take care of yr lil' one on yr own..or if not a home-environment with another constant care-giver is still better than infantcare.

charis: yup, nearest mrt is kembangan, but it's not that near the mrt station though. Need to take a bus. Can check out the webby http://www.mybrp.com.sg/

xin: was there 2 months back eh...open for business already. Went there to get organic cereals. Yeah bedok. My parents live in bedok north too. I'm at Simei. My ILs at old bedok road. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] So weekend dinner don't have to drive too far heh.

melissa:

GF recommends 3 milk feeds & 3 solid feeds at this stage.Total milk intake abt 540ml to 600ml per day inclusive of milk used in cooking, cereals, cheese, yoghurt etc. Her milk feed timings are 7am 210ml to 24oml, 2.30pm 150ml to 210ml and 6.30pm 180ml to 240ml.

As for solids, breakfast abt 7.30 to 7.45am 2-3 tbsp cereal + 2 tbsp fruit puree, lunch 11.45am to 12noon 6-8 tbsp solids and dinner 5pm abt 6 tbsp of solids.

I noticed yr gal is taking rather little. When u mention she's getting hungrier, which part of the day r u referring to? Is she also sleeping thru the night with just 2-4 tbsp of puree? I think u need to increase both the solids & milk components..maybe u share more & i try and see if i can come up with suggestions?[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Charis:

I agree with you her books rather expensive but if the books buy me more time and makes my life better, it's well worth every cent!!! Anyway, i m a collector of books, so prob get the toilet training bk. Like you, i dun really believe in toilet training so early. Earliest i will try is prob 1yo.

big foot:

I am amazed how u can take the train with all this barang barang. The few rare times that i have to take the train wif just my small bag already driving me nuts esp during peak hours!!! That aside, i think better to get the book cuz dun have to keep logging in to read stuff. Faster to just pick up the book and refer. Anyway, her books r rather repetitive. So far, my 2 survival guides r: The New Contented Little Baby Book & the Little Baby Book of Weaning. I am probably gg to get the Potty Training one of i find it useful after browsing

andie>yay, glad you are joining us on 30 sept. I can finally meet pretty Emma. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

melissa>assuming hubby can take leave, we're going for Ayden's first photoshoot, lunch, then playdate at xin's. :p

paktor time will be next Mon on our wedding anni. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

xin>for us, no choice lor. every morning say bye to Ayden will feel sad. But need to earn $ for him mah. :p

bigfoot>we don't feed sweet potato to Ayden alone. We always add it to porridge so its not too dry. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

callalily > what to do when i don't have a driving licence. Kanna nag by my mum, dad and hubby for the longest time ever. So I have to trust my big bag by dumping everything in, except for milk bag. Thanks for the comments on g.ford's book. Maybe I should hunt them down too. Good books are worth the keep!

tyl > i started giving Bryan sweet potato in his rice cereal these 2 days as an alternative to fruits, since I am trying to curb his phlegm problem. Otherwise, I only use it in his porridge once. Woo! Enjoy your paktor time!!!

melissa > that's what I thought about IFC's meal plan till I saw the logbook and find all 'funny' things in there once a while.

andie> tt's near my place... shall see u n emma then...

i also thought tt e poster mayb outdated but tt day bought too many thgs at cold storage liaoz... so didn't go see...

tyl> i go work is more to earn money for myself... with hb's pay actually can get by alr... :p...

oh btw, DH was saying HSBC card has 15% off at cold storage till this Sunday.

xin: can PM me your add? Thanks!

tyl: yeah, must let Emma socialise otherwise 'fraid she'll become selfish cuz grow up alone. Can't wait to meet the other babies too! Our first playdate [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

big foot:

Driving licence is very useful! Should try & squeeze in time to get one! U r most welcomed! Hmmm...actually if Bryan is not a GF baby right from the beginning, may be a bit hard to follow her timings but no harm laying yr hands on her books for knowledge & maybe reference[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Xin> ya I hope so too. Same same, now everyday I see en xi, I tell her mummy loves you, you’re so cute, mummy miss you blah blah blah. Haha. xin, then don't work lah, just work part time as and when. when ur boy older, then go back to work =)

Charis> I totally agree w u. just discuss w hubby and he supported me in my decision of taking 2/3 load first then if need to supplement, then give tuition at night when she’s sleeping then if have number 2 next time, then consider half load if tuition works out well. Though I can’t be SAHM, at least I can have more time at home. Oo ok, then I better start giving more fruits/veg, I so scared I overfeed her. Haha. Think we mummies are just mummies, can’t bear to leave her LO. Last time before I had en xi, I told my hubby that we must go holiday by ourselves even when she’s here. Now that she’s here, he say go without her, I say don’t want lah. Haha.

SP> hmm ok, so I know my girl is taking enough milk as in she’s taking at least 560ml of milk everyday not including cereal. Oh kk I forgot to add my girl takes about 3 tablespoons of fruit puree at breakfast too. Heh actually I shared the minimum that she eat cos I paiseh to put too many tablespoons here in case I overfeed her, after I read your post, I started to really count so this is the comparison between GF and my girl. I think based on this, I should perhaps up her milk intake instead of solids right? Any other comments? Oh and what I meant by she gets hungry is usually even though she reaches the time like 1130am or 330pm, she won’t cry for hunger and if we feed her, she won’t finish it quickly so we can even feed her at 12pm etc, but now she sure wants to drink by that time and will finish it at one short. Oh yes and she sleeps through from 7pm to 7am but now when she wakes up, she is definitely v hungry, can’t wait to drink milk not like before where she can wait a while.

GF

7am 210ml to 24oml

breakfast 7.30 to 7.45am

2-3 tbsp cereal + 2 tbsp fruit puree,

lunch 11.45am to 12noon 6-8 tbsp solids

2.30pm 150ml to 210ml

dinner 5pm abt 6 tbsp of solids.

6.30pm 180ml to 240ml.

Total milk: 540ml to 680ml

Total no. of tbsp: 16 to 19 tbsp

En Xi

7am 140ml

Breakfast 745am

60ml (4tbsp cereal) + 3tbsp fruit

1130am 140ml

12pm 60ml (4tbsp porridge)

330pm 140ml

6pm 60-90ml (4-6tbsp) of veg

7pm 140ml

Total milk: 560ml

Total no. of tbsp: 15 to 21 tbsp

Tyl> sounds good already!!

*sorry for the v v long post everyone.

update on the hsbc plat card: the 15% cash rebate only if spent SGD600 in the month of September. Rebate applicable for purchases in Cold Storage, Giant, Guardian, Jasons and Marketplace between 9-19 Sep.

SP_callalily: yup, a driving licence comes in handy especially when we have LOs. That's why DH and my FIL have been bugging me to get it. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jessietan,

It's the truth lah ... as I watch how contented and lovable little Arwen is ... it is a result from happy parenting. I believe DH and I shower Nat with a lot of love too. Just that perhaps I get quite tensed up with challenges and Nat feels it sometimes. But lately, I'm trying to give her more breathing space and time to be on her own, to explore in her own cot or playmat. Am still thinking if I wanna get a playpen for my long stay in Singapore or not. But it's such an iffy thing coz' some kids like it and some just don't!

And yeah ... you must've been really shocked at Nat's little collection of toys. LOL. But fret not, nat's just inherited some today and I'll be getting her a little rubber ball soon. Hopefully that'll keep her occupied and wanna explore. I dunno why I never thought of getting her a ball when it can be so fun! You're such a funny mommy lah.

I imagine nanny's face of horror when she sees what you do with Arwen. Hehhee. After sharing, seems like a lot of LOs here are fond of labels too! So our LOs are not weirdos after all. LOL.

andie - DH simply cannot stand it when Nat has mess around her mouth, or hands or on the tray. I told him it's part and parcel of growing up! So now he'll try to control himself but he'll still keep wiping the tray. LOL.

tam L - Oh yeah ... you are right, I actually read something about developing separation anxiety as part of the milestone thingy, now that you reminded me! And yeah, Nat's at that stage where she recognises people and will suss them out. Like it's as if she's wondering if they can be trusted or not?! LOL. But she was totally okay with Aunty Jessie yesterday ... even went chomping off her knees. HAHhahahaha.

cheerieheart - Glad to hear that Kenan poo-ed! Avocado is really such a great fruit eh? Not only does it contain a lot of good fats but it also helps in constipation with its high level of fibre. So maybe now u know that avocado is a fruit that works with kenan!

charis - I bought Organix rice cakes for Nat. Bellamy also has rice cakes. Organix has got other snacks around our LO's age. So you can try it out.

pauline - Nat found the soup a bit too gelat for her liking upon 1st try. So I might let her try again next few days to see if she likes it.

lsntyl - Yes yes ... I need to make a conscious effort to take Nat out and to meet people. No wonder they make taggies! Now I understand!

smalldreams,

How is little aifah now? Tummy flu is no joke ... What did the doctor say? NTUC sells happy baby puffs? How come I've never seen it before? Which NTUC do u go to? Okay ... when Nat went to see the gastro paed for her prolonged diarrhea, she pointed out something.

Usually, soy formula is not effective at the start of the diarrhea as the system needs to be cleared out of the bacteria or virus first. So only after like about a week or so, when the intestinal walls are healing? Then it's a good time to introduce soy. But if you're not comfy, why not continue to give BM? I mean since it's not lactose intolerance but just tummy flu.

Andie..

SP..

Agree on buying the books part..but hubby not so easy to "buy over"..kekeke!! Unfortunately, not all GF books can find in the library.

blessedbaby,

Have read good and bad about salmon in the posts here. So I might wanna hold it off. Plus in general, books recommend threadfin or cod or whitefish for babies. I'll probably wait till she hits 9 months then I'm a bit more comfy. Maybe just omit the cheese bit in the salmon? I must say AK is quite bold in some of her recipes.

Maybe more 'ang mor' style? Like she actually recommends well cooked eggs, even with egg white! She says as long as it's cooked, then no risk of salmonella. But she never talked about egg allergies. So errr ... and also she introduces orange juice in her cooking already and I read that citrus fruits can cause oral allergies? So I guess whenever I look at her recipes, I'll just modify a bit from there.

Melissa..

That's good..supportive hubby is very important too!! Giving tuition is good idea..but can yr hubby take over her bedtime routine? I had to reject a few tuition assignments cos of this..cos Elly is very sticky at bedtime.

Yr gal's intake looks ok to me..I use GF books as a guide only..actually its still how the baby is. Example, my boy and gal hav different appetites. My boy was not so fussy..but Elly is! And if we don't feed her fast enough she get upsets, and then she don't want to eat

already..haha!!

Lil' lamb..

Ok thanks! Unfortunately can't get these brands at NTUC.

Bigfoot..

Agree tat good books are worth to buy and keep!! Especially GF books..hard to find some of the info online..I bought my 3rd GF book- Toddler and Baby book..it was useful..cos I was jus clueless with having to manage 2, with bf and my elder so active!

I urge u to take driving if u can! Im doing it now too!

Aiya, my boy din poo again today. Hm… do your LOs poo everyday? Is it ok that they don’t poo everyday after starting semi solids?

For mommies whose LOs are crawling, do you confine them to a certain area for play? What do you do to restrict them to the play area? E.g. do you put them into playpen or use a play yard or maybe leave them in a walker?

TYL: Thanks for the info about Taka’s Tiger jar promo. Think I’ll check it out but not sure if I’ll buy. The other we were eating durian at home and I was wondering if I could give Kenan. Hee, maybe next round I’ll let him try a bit and see what’s his reactions like! Btw, will transfer the amount to you this weekend, ok?

Bbin2010: You tried the tiger jar ya? How do you find it?

Febie: ya, I meant the email with the details for the bash [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Charis: my boy loves to stand, but needs help to stand up. He tried to pull himself up but not successful yet. However, he’s not crawling yet. As usual, slower than other babies in reaching his milestones lor. I wonder is it becoz I was leading a rather sedentary lifestyle when I was pregnant :p but no complaints, coz even now, he’s already a handful, always rolling around or tries to crawl. Thanks for your comments on my blog. Sigh, been busy with Kenan so haven’t got time to blog. Hope to get down to some writing later.

Cyang: if you love the job, give it a try! It’s not often that we can get a job we love [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Xin: May I join in the gathering too? Hope that my boy get motivated by other babies to crawl!

Smalldreams: How's little A now? I hope she's not feeling too uncomfortable. Is she ok with taking medicine? I have such a hard time with Kenan.

Little lamb: In one of your previous posts, you reminded us not to let our LOs eat too much orange coloured fruits/veggies. A few days ago, i was looking at my boy's photo taken with his 12-month-old cousin. I think his skin looks a bit yellowish in comparison, so wonder if it's due to the papaya, pumpkin and carrots i've been feeding him previously. So now try to cut down on those. I'm so glad to have found avocado. Will also give him prunes/plums/peaches. Hope these will work for him to ease his constipation!

For mommies who are looking to buy Gina Ford books, I saw quite a few titles at Kinokuniya. Maybe you could go check it out or just give them a call.

On getting driving license, though i have one, i dun dare to drive now. Sigh, wonder if i shd go for refresher course again (haha.. ya, i went once already then din get to drive much thereafter and lost the confidence to drive). Now, hubby's car very precious so dun dare to touch. So dreaming abt getting a small little car for own use. But too bad COE very ex now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] So i'll go on dreaming.. hahaha!

Febie: abt looking for condo function room for the bdae bash... er, you think mine is too small? Alternatively, I was thinking of hortpark. They have function rooms of diff sizes for rent, but not sure how much. Don't think will be too ex, and i think the environment is quite nice [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

big foot - For me, I bought GF's books so I get recipes from there. Like sp_callalily said, gotta pay for membership before you can join the website forum.

Cheerieheart no worries abt the location,,,

I think function room can't accept us now... The list is growing privately....shall update tmr when I'm in office...

Febie, have a banquet lah. Easier. LOL. My brother had his small wedding dinner at Raffles Town Club , I think 100 persons 5k like that, nice atmosphere[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

TYL, blessedbaby, Jessie, I wonder why Raelynn doesn't like to chew on her taggies beannie pillowcase. She only loves to chew on her Cheh Cheh's toys, much to her sister's annoyance. So, she will snatch the toy from Mei Mei's hand and she will start to 'ee ee ah ah' and protest loudly. LOL. :p

Littlelamb, yup, taste was a bit strong. I just used the leek for salmon miso soup today. And I still got a lot of them. 3 stalks of leek really go a long way. Tomorrow, will use the leek to cook gravy for fried fish liao. Imagine, I used to avoid eating leek during CNY but my mum will insist... Haha.

Jessie, then the march in will kill lor... Hahaha... Imagine 50 babies storm in... Hahaha.

Dun worry... I have a grp of super on committees...

We are looking at lots a of places...

Wanna make it a memorable one for all...

WAH LIAO EH, damn hard to post picture in forum sometimes, have to shrink and shrink , so duh lor.

Okie, just now I donated SGD 500 to Baobei liao, conversion is USD 373 . I still have SGD 1049.60 left with me. I am still deciding on the items to buy but should be done latest next Monday. TB things so cheap, can buy alot siah!

Lamb: Arwen hates the playpen now.... so I think I go buy 200 those plastic balls and dump them there for her to play inside. keke

Febie : I am SO EXCITED!!!!!! YAY!!!!!! Thank you thank you and the rest for doing this!

ER.... the contributor is under my business name.. so sorry can't change that.. DollsAndDivas.. so corny hor.. now you all can guess I am a closet Ah Lian eh..

Jessie, nice idea abt the playpen being ball pit...

U are cosign me to spend money.... Hee hee...

I'm also feeling excited....

Muz start planning Liao.... Hee hee

Melissa: Thanks for sharing the webby. Shall go have a look. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Usually at home, Enxi only wants u to change her??

Callalily: Looking at the schedule u post, I think I'm seriously under feeding Ryan. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] No wonder he's not gaining enough weight.. Ydae at the PD for his jab, the nurse just commented that he's weight gain is a bit on the low side.. I'm only giving him 2 semi-solid meals per day now.. The Gina Ford weaning book sounds good, maybe I should go check it out to have a better idea about how much I should be feeding Ryan..

Cheerieheart: Actually Ryan sometimes don't poo everyday.. sometimes once in 2 days.. As long as his poo is not hard, I think it's fine. U monitor the situation for 2-3 days and see how?

Littlelamb: I guess Nat has met Aunt Jessie before so she's ok with her. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jessie: Just received the Taobao stuff today. Thanks a lot! Haha.. 'closet ah lian'?? No lah.. dolls n divas gave me a more 'goth' feel wor.. Maybe i've got a different perception.. heh.

re:kindermusik

sorry toupdate the person in charge called me monday ,said that they have confirm term starting next week, so for the trial class I have to check with them again after oct. They asked if we can go for the trial this week, so rush how to go rite.So I will check with them again in oct.

Ok I m going bk to enjoy my media player, dunno y can't seem to load drama/serials....

Febie> i have a blown up play gym with balls.. u can try it out on Monday at my place.. shernise din really like it unless i on the aircon hahahaha...

xin>if don't really need to go back work, then do part-time better ba. can spend more time with mattias. They grow too fast lor

lamb>you can rent a playpen or borrow one from friends? more practical than buying esp if Nat doesn't like it?

just bring Nat out on more playdates lah. When you're back in SG, can also go on playdates with your friends, if you don't feel comfy joining us. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cheerieheart>Ayden doesn't poo every day. maybe every other day?

We don't confine him to any area when he's crawling. Just let him move around on the floor although someone is always with him.

no probs about the $. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Are you also giving Kenan green veg like spinich? To counteract the yellow/orange fruits/veg. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I've a driving licence but I don't drive too. Too long since I drove. Anyway, not getting a car since its too expensive.

Jessie>lol. Ya hor, maybe have a banquet. 5k divided by 50 couples works out to $50 per couple. At least don't have to worry about catering. :p

Thanks for the update on the donation.

Febie>all the babies will crawl in. :p

callalily, charis > yeah, maybe I really should consider learning driving esp now that hubby is changing job and he can walk to work. We are still wondering if we should change to a weekend plate for our car.

Andie > maybe we should go and learn driving together? Hee.

lil_lamb, charis, callalily > I will go and find the GF books. Sounds good enough even to keep as reference along the way. And this morning, I found reading on train a pleasure again (thanks to Bryan for sleeping almost through the night).

I just did a super duper big 'crime' last night by adding half a teaspoon of Delrosa into Bryan's milk. He has been refusing all his milk for more than a week, unless it is mixed into his cereal cos of the texture and taste. I was standing in my kitchen wondering what to do, when I went 'hack la, just try and see if he takes'. And he finally finished his 150ml in 3 attempts. So happy! DH was even suggesting adding some hershey choco sauce to give him choco milk, which make me really really frown.

melissa>you buy stuff from luvbabies? are you able to meet the min $200 for free delivery? I can't seem to accumulate enough purchases to get that. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Tam:

Their weight gain does slow down quite a fair bit after 6mths. Like my gal, she only gained like at most 500g in 1mth? Not unexpected cuz they r definitely more active now[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. This GF's weaning book is definitely worth getting.I wonder how come no one raves about it!

Melissa:

After looking at Enxi's feeding schedule, this is what i think. She may b taking a little too much breakfast. Maybe decrease the tablespoons of cereal to 3 and keep it at 3 for the time being. U may wanna consider dropping the 11.30am milk feed and up the number of tablespoons of solids that u feed for lunch to mayb 6tbsp? I dunno if u r feeding protein at lunch but milk will decrease the absorption of iron in protein. Perhaps, try and see also if u can up the nightfeed a bit more? This feeding thing a lot of trial and error. There r some days which my gal is like Enxi and would eat faster and ask for food earlier and just when u think they might need more food, the bad days come and then they cant even finisg the usual amts!

cheerieheart:

It's ok not to poo everyday after starting semi-solids as long as poo was not hard pellet kind.

Try non-orange veg like zucchini, cauliflower, spinach, peas, broccoli, parsnip, turnip,? I m totally paranoid abt orange nose syndrome cuz my niece has orange nose for the longest time like almost 2 years! Hence, i always make it a point to alternate the orange and non-orange veg.

Unfortunately, not all Kinokuniyas stock all GF"s books. Next time, i will just give them a call b4 popping down. But thanks for sharing[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lamb:

Aly likes the potato & leek soup. Prob reminds her of her favourite zucchini & leek soup. But like i cheated a bit by throwing in half a carrot to make up for the proportion of leek and maybe that's why she finished it readily. Try the vegetable broth...think Nat will love that since she has a sweet tooth. I cant believe Aly loves my own yucky recipe of tofu, broccoli & sweet potato!!! I am gg to replace the cod in fish lyo with salmon maybe this wkend and see if Aly likes the end result. Getting kinda addicted to cooking for her...

Shortlegged Pig:

I know. I am not concerned abt my gal's weight gain cuz she certainly can afford to lose some weight!!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. She's been continuously on the 95th percentile for both height & weight!

Thx, mommies!

Maybe tmr i try to make food to interest my ger.. I think it's quite a challenge. She drools while seeing us eat, then when we feed her, she dun wan.

Charis,

I'm also learning driving now. It's better to get a driving licence and standby since my hubby don't usually use the car when he's working.

Cheerieheart,

My boy still poos everyday after he started semi-solid but since 3 weeks back, he started to only poo once every 3 to 4 days. I checked with the pd and he says it's normal. When they grows bigger, they won't poo everyday. As long as they poo at least once within 7days and the poo is not hard, they are fine. Bring him to see the pd if they don't poo after 7 days.

Tam,

How heavy is Ryan and how old is he now? My pd says they won't gain mich weight now cos they are more active as compared to when they used to. I realize my boy might not be drinking much milk too cos he latches for a while only after he started to sleep on his own for his naps. He will just latch for about 5mins on 1 side only, then I'll let him lie on the bed and play since he doesn't wanna latch and sleep nowadays. After he lie on the bed, he'll just sing and talk to himself, then fall asleep within 5mins. So happy that he doesn't need me to carry him or even pat him to sleep. But he'll still need me to latch him for the 5mins before that and he needs me to just sit beside me. Still figuring out how to remove the latching and sitting beside him parts.

Jessie,

I received the taobao stuffs from febie already. My boy likes the tortoise bag so much. I just show him the bag and he keeps laughing.

Febie,

Thanks so much for passing me the stuffs.

jessie:

Arwen really has beautiful eyes! Thanks for sharing yr suggestion on converting the playpen into a ball pit! Think i will do that this wkend. Prob convert one area of the living room into a safe play area for Aly cuz she's starting to cruise a bit and i dun want to have to constantly follow her around cuz sometimes, i have to get small household chores done. U r really really blessed to have such a wonderful nanny!