(2009/11) November 2009 MTB

back from robinsons sale...
bought the same car seat tha superwalker bought for my #1...so #2 will use #1's old car seat as its more comfy

ayukie, book my gal again?? LOL :p *faints* i never tried goon before tho the names sounds like goondu leh :p hahha

ariesgal, so ur last day at work will be 30 oct??

piggym, sure sure...join us for high tea

devlina, alamak! why IP address kena blocked! geez... its very painful not able to surf SMH...

Hi all mummies to be,

I have a relative in M'sia who is doing confinement. She is very experience, cook very well & can take good care of mummy & baby. If you are interested, pls PM or e-mail me [email protected]. Thanks.

wow... today thread is going fast, just finish reading.

Seems like lots of confinement rules. Hm... I have engaged a CL, she mention will boil herbs at least once a days for me, so i guess i can bath with herbs. But might need to check with my mum whether i can rinse off with warm water from the shower... :D

Washing other parts of the body, hm... i ask my mum before whether i can wash my own panties as my CL ask me to wear disposable panties which i don't like. My mum says last time when she do confinement, she still cook and etc... seems like can wor

Washing the private parts,my last ante natal class, the midwife mentioned we should clean everytime we go pee, she says we might have the "sting" feeling when pee cause the urine is acidic, so she suggest, use the warm water from the shower, and run together with the pee to dilute it.
In ways, we can wash face, hand and etc.. using hot water from shower.

According to my mum , we can only eat "Bu" food 2 weeks after we give birth, i think is to wait till the lochia finish.

Dangui, bai zhen and Bai foong pill all have the same effect to "bu" blood, but my mum told me bai zhen got one of the ingredient that is not so good, so I only eat bai foong pill from Eu Ren Sheng after mensus.

Will go for gynae visit this Sat, hopefully my prick test reading are ok. And the bb stuff that i bought during Taka fair will deliver this Sat too, gonna start setting up the nursery room.

Karen, the Eu Ren Sheng Bai Foong Yuan quite good lor, but the chinese shinseh said the bai zhen soup got 'pu' the body that Bai Foong Yuan don't have wan wor!So, my mum make the bai zhen soup 4 times per year, only for daughter and DIL :p

Ya, my mum told me can only eat the Eu Ren Shen Bai Foong Yuan, the other brand scare not authentic

I take the Bai Foong Yuan also because easiers, just down the whole bottle can already,no need to boil.
But I don't always eat,cause too heaty for me, I am the "heaty" type , Ican't take Dangui, even the black chicken soup, there is one time not sure that stall put lots of dangui or what, after i drink ,straight away got sore throat. But i can take liang cha very well haha... drink like drink water like that and i boil every once or twice a week. haha...

Shirlin> I also had my normal 3 meals, i dun even snack but still gain 3+kg religiously every mth, i hv no idea why.

Rue> My mum will be staying w me on weekdays to take care of baby, and goes bk during weekend.
i most likely will give her 800-900 cos she purposely quit her job to take care for me so i cant give too little, pai sey.
But i tink if yr mum is already a full time hsewife, i guess 400-500 is quite reasonable ba.

Ashley > Yr hubby so good, give $$ on your behalf to your parents =)

Bath in confinement > I am going to bathe everyday w little dreamers's confinement bath and shampoo, i cannot take it one.
Already pack it in my bag to hosp for delivery in case i has any chance to bathe in the hosp too after the long sweaty labour man.

Baby Mattress > Oh i jus bought my baby foam mattress from Seahorse, apparently they can tailor made the size of the mattress u wan and the last i went, they are having a 50% sale.
So in the end i customised mine and paid only 50+.
i order mine abt 2 weeks ago.
The material is those good semi-hard foam ones, so far those that come close all cost more than a 100 even on fairs w disc so think we got quite a good deal, ur may like to check if keen.

Cord blood banking> have decided to take up, meeting the sales person this sat.
my gynae had a tied up w stemcord so my initial paymt is abt 850+, annual maintenance fee is 250.
If you made a successful referral, u get $50 rebate on each yr, the person u referred also get to enjoy $50 rebate, so its a win-win situation, all can be deducted from the govt CDA a/c, no need to fork out a cent for it.
Let me know if anyone of you are keen then i can do a referral and both of us get $50 rebate ya *wink wink*

I am quite convinced of the goods and benefits of cord blood banking, esp after i heard of TCS actor - Chew Chor Meng's health condition, somehow it was reported that if only his mum had done this cord banking for him, it might help his situation now but then back 40yrs ago, there were no such thing, then they said if only he had done cord blood banking for his 2 daughters, their cord blood may have a chance to help him too.

Placenta > Still contemplating whether shd process the placenta into pills for consumption anot.

Disposable panties > I know ERO selling their panties 3 or 4 for $10, actually for those who can't wear paper disposable panties can consider getting these cheap panties, wash or throw after use lo.
I got the disposable panties from TMC as recommended earlier, its really quite good and i can tell it can really hold the huge pad in place, cost $4 per pc, not cheap. i only bot 2 for just in case during the hosp stay.
So i was tinking, for home use, alternatively can get those fr ERO ma, at least still hv alternative whether to wash or throw, the better quality ones (3 for $10) are really comfortable,abit like lycra material, i am wearing it since 2nd tri until now, great stretch.
For those 4 for $10 ones are more cottony, can wear a few times and throw lo.

I'm a july mummy, I'm letting go some brand new items which I'm not using any more

-Dispoable Under Pad 45 x 70cm 5pcs $3.50
- Reusable tissue (which was bought in TMC Mrs Wong BB class) 7pcs $3.80
- Avent Nipple Cream $15.50 (usual $22)

pls email me if interested [email protected]

hihi!
super bz day.. :p tml n day aft on course... yippie.. dun need to work.. hahahaha... :p

regarding bath all these, i use tap water to brush teeth wash hand etc... den initially when the wound down there still healing, i will use tap water to wash to keep it clean too...

saphira,
dun think the water molcule will change after boiling.. the difference between boiled water and tap water is that boiled water is 'sterilised' liao... supposedly cleaner than tap water...

saphira,
Yah agreed with shihui, water molecules doesn't change after boiling. Boiled water means no bacteria. My sis just told me today that she read from a book and said that why last time women in China dun bathe after giving birth is due to water is not treated thus it means it contains bacteria or germs and after giving birth we will have wound down there so if u bathe with untreated water, will get an infection. Thus thats why it also passed down that we have to bathe with boiled water. But in such mordern days our water goes thru treatment thus i dun think there's any effect bathing with water from water heater. Actually our pores will be opened after we bathe so for us we need to dry our hair and body thoroughly and avoid fan blowing us direct.

Shihui,
Pai sei just now didn't chat with u cause was reading story to my girl half way.

Sporty,

for the car seat, would you put in cushions if you are placing a newborn in the carseat?
Those car seat pad and head support.

morning gals

karen, hope ur prick test reading is good this sat
good luck!

babylele, if ur mum purposely quit her job to take care of ur bb for u (like my mum), better give abit more la...cuz its a sacrifice on her end...

morning gals.. before i start my battle at work.. better post first =p... 1 day to friday.. let's countdown

Went down to robinson yesterday.. hmmm not all items have additional 20% discount.. example like avent, medela etc... baby clothing mostly have.. nothing much to get tho...

Have you girls decided which first month cake to order from? i am thinking of getting from chocoz =p the cakes are nice wor.. but for colleagues i don't think i giving them that =p bad me...

hmmm taking about bathing... my mum don't allow me to bath... haiz not to mention with herb.. i don't think i can tahan.. anyway there is a dry shampoo right.. anyway have any idea which brand?

sporty... another 37working days for me to go... tentatively my plan is to stop work on 9Nov but i might push forward to 2nov.. my EDD is on 12nov.. thus i dunno if it's advisable for me to go on leave earlier.. i plan to go back work after chinese new yr =p.. next yr is at valentine day right?

Jane.. sorry din reply you last night.. pai seh.. can i get 1 from u instead of 2? I wanna try if it's suitable before getting more.. you let me know ya.. thanks!

kimifin, the car seat tha i'm using the newborn already have alot of cushioning...thas why i dun intend to use any additional cushions/head support... u can use the head support etc if your car seat is w/o much cushioning kind...

anise, for cakes, i may wanna get from melrose bakehouse for my relatives...for colleagues maybe will try sweetest moments or what...haven decided...aiyo, ur job like very cham...always so bz! actually we can pop anytime from 36 weeks onwards...thas why i'm taking leave from 37 weeks onwards...

Just curious, I tot if we hold a buffet, then no need the cakes to give to the guests? Only give cakes to those who din come?
Can advise?

I also find the cakes + ang u kueh packages v nice...

re: first month cakes. i think iw anna order from choz. what is the website for chocoz?

sporty> yup, i had a fren who ordered from melrose bakehouse and a colleague who ordered from sweetest moments. the sweetest moments one i remb got the lil card with bb's photo

kimifin, whether u wanna give cakes to pple who attend the buffet is up to u! i only gave to my relatives who came for the buffet as my mum insisted... as for frens who came, we didnt give any...

jane, yes...sweetest moment is the one u can print a bb card with his/her pic!

sporty> yah, only ting i remb abt it was the nice box with ribbon and the card. i din like the taste of the cakes though. but i saw like quite exp!

Babylele: I am considering Stemcord too but I havent spoke to my gynea yet.. am goin to talk to her next week during my appt..so I will let you know =) Btw for the seahorse mattress.. how long does it take for the mattress to be ready?

Saphira, Yup yup boiling is a matter of cleaning the water only.. in Singpaore i think when u use the water heater already quite safe.. =) Washing often is good coz it will reduce build up of bacteria/germs...

Good morning gals.

Now having problem finding comfortable positions to sleep, had been tossing and turning since yesterday and still have 10 more weeks to go....

kimifin,
For me i will not give cakes to those who came for the buffet. But is up to individuals. Me not having full month celebration, will just get bengawan cake vouchers.

Thank you mummies for sharing about confinement. Looks like I have to get a big termos flusk as i would it warm water to wash hands.

About full month. I was thinking about having a celebration but thinking twice because of H1N1

Kimifin: So far whenever i go for 1st mth buffets, my frens dun usu give any cake or vouchers. What i can rem is, for those who came to the 1st mth buffet, usu nv give unless are close frens. Those who dun cme at all, do get a voucher.

My intention is dun give to those who come for first mth..den those who din invite i will give..IE like my work pl coz they usu give the baby something.so i guess have to return favour lor..

Carseat: Anyone bought Combi?!?!haha still havent bought mine le..haha coz my car is a vios..if put britax one ar..backseat no space le..

Taurus033: u tried sleeping on side.. i rem last time my SIL has a pillow like a S shape which she use during her 3rd trimester..mayb u can try that?

Yiling,
Tried sleep on my left and right and also put pillow in between my legs but doesn't seem to help. This discomfort only started recently.

jane, the cakes there quite ok la...but can buy for colleagues to share...heheh

taurus, ya lor...same as u...i cant find a comfortable pose for zzz...so everynite i have very poor quality sleep!

saphira, this h1n1 thingy had subsided...so maybe u can reconsider whether u still wanna have the full mth celebration...

yiling, my car is a vios also...and the britax car seat tha my #1 is using fits well and next time gonna fit in 2 britax lor! LOl

taurus033,
Place a flatter pillow underneath you belly when u sleep side ways. Another one betweeen your legs.

Here's a picture to brightens up the page and for inspiration on taking nice pictures. Got it from the internet

2913478.jpg

Morning ladies...

For my baby's full month party, I will have buffet lunch / high tea at home and all the guests that come will also have a small gift - am thinking of getting a petit package from Sweetest Moments since my FBI card got 10% discount. Those who didn't come will also have the package. I think it's nice to let the guests have something when they go home. Just my opinion.Oh I intend to order cupcakes too!

raining, such a nice weather to snooze at hm. heez, guess wat, i'm at hm! Hav 3 days compassionate leave cos grandma passed away this morning but i can't attend her funeral, nt even mention visiting her in hospital when she was alive. Haiz.

Anyway, i'm interested in chit chatting while pumping at hm.. haha, will u all be chatting via msn? Haha, also interested in small gp high tea session. Heez

Babylele,
i've signed up with inthewomb to process my placenta.

Re: washing pte parts
my mum mention abt using diluted dettol to wash pte parts aft pee. Still clueless on wat to do.

Re: preparing for confinement
my MIL has nt started doing anything for my confinement & i start to "gan cheong" le. Haven buy herbs, red dates, longan, bb handkerchief, towel, blah blah blah. all i'm responsible for is done. Hmm, nd to give her some $ for buying all these.. haiz

re: sweat glands
think my sweat glands gg crazy liao. Keep sweating like nobody biz, even on MRT. Make wearing mask so uncomfortable.. Thinking of nt wearing masks liao.. haiz.. at hm, will keep a handkerchief beside me to wipe off sweat, like baby constantly w hanker nearby.

Ayukie,
since robinson has lauched BPA free ameda pumop set, y dun u call mumfairy to ask if they carry that? Then can can the BPA free one by topping up more $??

saphira, ur gal looks very ang moh-ish in tha pic

swanston, morning!!

rue, condolences to you ! whats ur msn? u wanna join us for high tea...sure sure
when will ur ML start?

Jane, am thinking of ordering from Cupcake Momma. I've never tried theirs though.

Rue, my condolence to you and your family...

Re: washing pte parts,
Use salt water when peeing and after peeing. Better to get a water spray to keep the salt water for spraying.

Ashley> i tried ordering from cupcake mumma more than once
their cupcakes are very pretty. i had them for my ROM
i was wondering if i shld try others

Sporty> i am on ur msn list !

Saphira, funne, Rue and taurus, u all have msn?

ladies, I have msn...swanston and jane are on my list...think Sporty is too...but at home i seldom on my msn.....will get on msn next time when i'm BFing at night and need to chat to you ladies

saphira, i also dun use msn at work cuz blocked...so will be online on weekends/weekday nites

yiling, after putting in 1 britax at the back seat...2 person still can sit lor!

ashley, i think u are on my list but i never met u "online" on msn tho :p

jane, yes yes u are on my list!!

sporty,
I seldom use the internet in the weekends or weekdays night. Always very busy with my gal
I do go to facebook at lunch time weekdays

<font color="119911">saphira</font>, our list already indicated who is who in the forum and fb leh. except for those who requested not to be identified are not stated on the list.

Cupcakes: There are a few pls for them. I have tried cupcake obsession ( Abit on the pricy side though but nice) and i came across Mongstir which does very nice cupcakes too..

taurus03: have u tried sleeping on ur back but put pilows to prop u up? i saw in some book b4.. it is the last few mths that are really tiring i
guess...

my msn is [email protected] =) do let me know who are u if u add me..i got some ppl add me den till today i dunno who are they! haha

for those who msn is blocked in the office..maybe u can try iloveim.com or ebuddy.com