(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

Waiwai> I haven't been pumping since Rayanne is 3mos.. And honestly i doubt she'll want the ebm..she's more likely sucking for comfort only now...

I'm the only one who can put her to sleep the last 16mos...
And ESP the last 2weeks she clings to me whenever we go out and she dun even want her daddy to carry.. Can die...
She will hug tight tight and dun let go.. Lol...

Even helper bathe her, she wants me to dress her.. She will run away naked frm helper and run to me...

I prob will let her continue to sleep in the bedroom on her own mattress and RL will sleep with me on bed...
Later on then see how as the time comes ba...

Kam,
I checked delivery status since last month, but it only states that it's shipped. Hm...what should I do? At first, I thought Christmas season, that's why so long, but can't be this long right?

joli,
ya lor, shouldn't be this long. We have bought quite a lot of books from them and never encountered that. Maybe you can go to their website and look for contact that you can send an enquiry?

Sam went for MMR yest - praying hard no fever, else cannot go for Kindermusik liao haha

Going to Playgroup

The PD asked me whether Sam was in a playgroup. I told him no, & he told me not to Sam into a playgroup. He said to bring him to those 3-h 'enrichment' classes with the parent sitting in to let him 'socialise'.

Gosh! He must be really 'anti-social' for the PD to say that. Or was it bcoz he staretd bawling the moment we were at the PD's doorway. He was happily playing & running & making a nuisance of himself till we neared the door. Then he bawled non-stop & kept crying to go out of the room & nothing worked.

This PD is very 'bochap' & take it easy. If he says that Sam needs to attend a 'class', I guess he really shd? The firs thing I thought was.. "Autism"??? Hiaz

Anyone got list of classes that I can check out?

Want those 3-h or so type where he can sit, run, play with frens etc.

LIST OF WEEKEND CLASS
1) Growing Up Gifted
2) anything else???

oh shanis has her MMR jab yesterday... pray no fever, else no music class for her as well.... haha

and i'm still headache over which CC/kindergarten to register for next yr playgroup...

Hi Jul.
Now i am planning to send Jermaine to Edufarm.

Is 2 hours, Monday to Friday.

Can only register when she reach 17th month.
Can only start lesson from 18 month onwards.
Cost $175 per month.

if join this apr, must also pay June sch fees. & there is no class in the month of June & Dec. Dec sch fees also payable.

huishan

Thanks! Edufarm is Star Tots right? That's the one that is full for the branch near my ILs'

Connie::
nope.. it Jurong Christian Church =)

Enrichment::
is there any trial or classes that parents can sit in with the toddlers during the lesson?
at least to familarise the toddler the environment & the things to do etc?

is gymboree gd?

jul::
Zech also cry when he is seeing a doc. he was still okie (din cry) but looks afraid when we are in the waiting area...

does that mean he need classes?

he cries esp seeing males doc.

female doc he is still okie.. but like going to burst into tears.. & half way thru then he start bawling la...

Jul,
That's very funny of your PD to suggest that. Most kids don't like to go to clinics and to be checked by doctors, esp when they are younger, cos most of the time are for jabs. I thought it's very normal? I have heard of friend's kid who screamed till the PD gonna make special arrangement for her when she brought her kid to the clinic. How would attending an enrichment class helps them to get over the phobia?

By the very limited time I spent with Sam that day, I don't feel he is anti-social at all. He played with the kids and he played with the adults. He looked into my eyes when I called/talked to him. I have a nephew who has problem (not officially diagnosed as autism yet), and I can tell the different between a kid who has socialisng problem and those who hasn't.

jess. kam

I was very blur & distracted by Sam's bawling that day. So I didn't pay as close attention or ask the right questions.

Maybe.. the PD meant that I shdn't send him for daily playgroups yet, but to go for 3h weekend class to slowly phase him in? I need to ask him again when we visit him next mth for the 18 mths booster.

It was quite bad. He'd cry & struggle and you know, he's very very strong. Hubs held him, tried to hold his leg, PD tried to hold his leg together with hubs & jabbed him. Stressed! Luckily the PD was very fast. But it's very disturbing (to me) to see him bawl & not respond to any of the toys, bubbles, musical toys, lights etc.

Jul,
How was the last visit? Was he also like that? Some bad experience?

I think it would be good for Sam to start with weekend classes, those can have parents to accomapany one.

I am lucky. I have 2 kids who enjoy going to the PD clinic cos have toys to play and got biscuits from the PD (but choy choy choy, don't want to go clinic often). Both don't cry after jabs, the most make an eh sound and that's it. They enjoy taking medicine also. Or I have weird kiddo :)

huishan
can startots use CDA to pay huh? which startots are u looking at? i'm also looking at that. got one near my hse but its full! so now dunno how... =/

Kam

Sam has been bawling at the PD's since 5 mths old. It wasn't so bad at 5mths coz the PD let him sit on the examination mat and he stopped crying. But once he lies down on the exam mat (even at 3 or 4 mths old), he starts bawling. But he couldn't move much then, so it wasn't such a big issue. Now he can move a lot more, a lot faster & is a lot stronger, so maybe it's more apparent? It gets worse each visit!

I think he hates gog to the PD coz it's aws jab - aka pain pain time. Even when he's sick, he doesn't want to let the PD exam him. Guess he associates PD = pain pain?

And yup, I'm looking at weekend parent-accompanied classes now. I dun even know where to start! I've only heard of GUG & JG coz the mummies here mentioned. Am I the only non-academic mummy here?

jul
startots is RC playgroup, so shouldn't residents or citizens get piority huh?? aiyo...but everytime i call them i feel like vomitting blood! coz i think their 'helpline' is centralised one! its hard to get proper info. they can't even tell me waiting list how long!

kiki

Yeah yeah, it's centralised. Very strange haha. I also asked how long is the waitlist & they said they'll get back to me. Until now, still haven't gotten back. But no denying that it's very cheap.

You're aware that we can't sit in or have a trial for Star Tots right? But I guess for you, it's just near ur hse. So u can easily 'spot check'?

huishan

Oh cannot use CDA? Sian.

jul::
i can understand cos the very one time he started bawling in clinic was I was alone with him for the first time. it wasn't even for a jab!
had to "fight him" not to stop me from telling the GP the symptoms & answer GP questions as well.
Z was pulling my clothes, hair, face... so embarrassing... lol
had to make it a chop chop consultation.

kiki

Can use CDA at some kindys too. I think, if I'm not wrong, that it all depends on whether that CC/kindy/PG/whatever is 'registered' with the CDA?

rach,

Same same.. I'm trying to think of a plan on how to arrange the sleeping arrangement too when no.2 pops.. This is my plan:

1) Me and eliza sleeps on the bed. As my bed is pushed to the wall, i will place eliza in the inner most side and I will sleep on the outer side. then, no.2 will have to start good habits of sleeping in the cot right from day 1. Daddy - sleeps on the floor mattress.

2) Eliza would have to sleep with my helper (depending on how well she can get along with her in 4 months time), then no.2 and i and daddy will sleep on the bed.
3) Eliza to sleep on the mattress in my bedroom (daddy or helper will have to assist to put her to bed), then no.2 and daddy and i sleep on the bed.

Personally, I'm looking at plan 3 as I'm starting to let Eliza sleep alone on the mattress already.. In the event if no.2 is too cranky throughout the night, me and no. 2 will have to move to the living room.. lolz

jess
GUG only 1 parent allowed.

huishan
how come june n dec hols also got to pay fees if no classes are running?

Jess,
Usually such classes only allow 1 parent. They would say space constrait.

Jul,
I am only "non-academic" in that sense. Cos I have no clue about such enrichment classes and my children will never attend one :)

Enxuan> yah I also thinking plan 3.... Rayanne already sleeping on own mattress in our room... Just that I have to latch her to sleep then I climb up to my own bed now...
But when #2 comes dunno how...
Then CL will sleep with me with #2 on bed... HuBbY sleep living room...

After confinement then HuBbY shift in..

Initially tot to shift rayanne out to her room with helper...
But that's tough... And dun wan her to feel rejected also...
Headache....

potbelly:
yup, my hb and I in 1 room, peipei in 1 room, haohao in 1 room. wahaha

rach:
hmm... quite tough for your case as Rayanne is so attached to u.

Jul,
If socialising is really what Sam needs, you all should really think of arranging playdates with a few mummies. Why pay them the hefty fees for doing things that you can easily do at home - singing, crafts, painting, story telling, etc.

kam

U mean like host a playgroup? Nvr tot of that. maybe I dun have the confidence coz I'm not very artistically inclined, nor have v gd imagination & creativity hehe

Jul,
Ya, team up with a few mummies, so each of you can take turn to host a playdate. Or can fixed at someone house if that's more convenient. Then each mummy do one thing, like one sings song with the kids, one do the story telling, etc. Can factor in free play also. No need to be "talented" lah, cos no matter what, you are more artistic, more imaginative and more creative than your young toddler. Not sure about few years later, but good enough for now :)

For ideas, can always check on website or on mummies blogs. I do think this kind of playdates is better. First, less exposure to germs. Second, they see familiar faces every week, which helps them to mingle better. Third, parents involvment and attention is what a child wants most.

Just sharing only. I have not done it before.

jul
serious?! school hols we also must pay for school bus?! *faint*... lol.

kam
your kids go CC mah..so no need go 'enrichment' (2hrly kind) prog. i think if a child goes daily CC then on top of that wkends still go enrichment is a bit too siong at this age. the parents also siong! no life!!

jess
can take turns ah.... =) for gymboree if its not a full class they allow 2 parents.

waiwai,
When haohao starts sleeping in his room, are you still bfing him? Wouldn't it be so tired every night to walk to his room to get him for night feed?

I am planning to let hubby sleep with #1 in one room, me and #2 sleep in another room. Then later when #2 gets older, will shift both boys to sleep together.

wai wai

ya... hehe. i don't have no. 2 yet. but i keep wondering if i can put both of them in the same room. currently yihui is sleeping in her own room. i wonder if any mommy here has successfully put 2 children in 1 room?

jul

kam is right. i know a few sahm. they stay near to each other and they meet like twice a week to "homeschool" their children. they take turns to host the session and they do story telling, craft, etc.

jess,

usually they allow 1 parent on the main area, while the other parent stays at the back of the room. then halfway through the class, they can exchange.

this is because each class usually has quite a big number of ppl if you add the children and the adults. so there is very little space for the toddlers to run around and do their activities. That's why they restrict it.

<font color="119911">Sengkang Mummies </font>
Not sure about the 'learning' part, but I'm most interested in letting Ian meet his friends

Nanny

Mummies, I am also looking for nanny services in Bishan Area, to start Oct/Nov 2011. Mon-Fri, 7am-7pm. Price negotiable. Please pm me if you have any good contacts. Thanks!

kiki,
You would be surprised that many kids at HR age attend weekend enrichment class despite that they attend cc/kindy during the weekdays. It's getting very common (or has become a trend) for such enrichment classes. Most would start chinese enrichement class before the kid starts P1.

Itsy,
Playing = learning mah

potbelly

Haha luckily I'm a FTWM, got excuse not to home-sch hee

Sengkang Weekend Playdates

I'd offer my house but I'm afraid it may not be very convenient coz it's not that close to the LRT. Plus I don't have toys as Sam's not really interested in them.

Kam
Yes, my friend send her boy to enrichment class n come n stress me. I tried Little neutro tree for 1 trimster but think he look at gal more than teacher. So drop.

Most parent sending kids to phonics. Does it help?

I'm looking at swimming class but kanna hb reject.