(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

pumpkin seed,
i did bring it along actually but i forgot who had asked for it already! well, u can let me know if you are still interested
as for the beco, actually wanted to try yours today but had to run off so will be great if a demo can be arranged!

Asura

Pupsik size 1 is 20-21, 2 is 22-23, 3 is 24-25, 4 is 26-27

Measure the diagonal distance in inches between shoulder and hip bone, the way a seat belt goes
If in doubt (e.g. borderline case), go for the smaller size because it has to be a snug fit.

One thing is that the dark brown part does attract lint but it's not that noticeable.
Can throw the whole thing into washing machine to wash. Whether it dirties easily probably depends on the colour you choose. I've used mine about 10 times and still looks new.
Breathability - it's cotton twill so I think it's perfect for Singapore weather.

You girls can go check out the FAQ on her website for more info.

All I can tell you is what I feel about it. I recommended to another mummy on the forum and she bought it too. Think she's pretty happy with it as it doesn't give her aches like the MIM sling as her baby likes to be carried a lot. Baby is now 3 or 4 months.

Alfafa,
yap, Zi Yean is really near my place .. never tried their dim sum though only the zi char. well if u ever feel like having a dim sum partner can let me know, though i think we need more kakis then can order more food heehee

Oh if any mummy wants to drop by my place and try it on, maybe we can arrange a small gathering next week? Let me text Ashley...

hmmmmmmm ... need to have a think about. am set on getting a balboa as a standby sling/pouch, but still needs a bit more consideration on the beco carrier. not sure if it can last for years given the material. thanks for checking it out though.

pumpkinseed,
where do you stay? might have to drag my husband along as well cos if its gonna cost that much i must make sure its something that he will use too..

ann, Haha, yea must bring hubby along to try. I made the mistake of buy first then he hope he got to use cause buy already but turn out he scold me blame me waste money! Refuse to use cause he love bjorn synergy too much. Thinks beco not man enough. Haha. And I don't really like the waist part cause I find it hot, so I sold mine off. So definitely must bring hubby!

hello mummies...

Gathering..
it was such a wonderful day for both ugin and i...although my boy has not been too friendly and very vocal..but i had such a great day. ugin came back crashed out..hahaa..and hope to see more mummies the next gathering.

alfafa...thank you for sparing your home to us for the gathering...it was a wonderful party and get together for the babies and mummies..

misscandy
thank you for organising the food....

pumpkinseed...

can you help me to get the supplier for the carrier..i think starflower is interested too..
so maybe can ask around if anyone else are interested then we can have discount and order together??
thank you
otherwise pls email me the contact at [email protected]

Anyone wants to go for Clarins skincare/bodycare workshop with me tomorrow at Volvo? It's organised for the staff and their friends. $20 only, all participants will get free goodie bag. One friend backed out so we have 1 free slot. I use their products for stretchmarks and firming so quite useful for me

alfafa why don't you come since it's near your place? It's Alexandra Rd 7.30-9pm

pumpkinseed..

i saw the website on bebelove..
they are selling the piece at $210...
maybe i jut grab it from them...
is it easy to out on??
i like ythe light material like you mentioned..
in sin...must get these kind,..
so i plan to use the beco for myself...
bb bjourn for joe and the combi for ...........

oh the beco is on discount...
it's selling at $220/ pc for the one i wan..hehe

pumpkinseed...i think i order straight from the site...

thanks alot..

Gathering
It is such a shame I had to give this gathering a miss
My #1 is down with flu and I have no wish to bring the bugs with me and spread it to other mummies and babies. Hope to meet up with you all the next time.

Baby carriers
I used the MIM conventional sling with #1 (from 1 month old all the way to when he was 18 months) and I am using the MIM pouch sling (similar concept as Pupsik, just that there is no cushioned sides) for this new baby. I have to say that although the MIM conventional sling as a lot of cloth to deal with, it does have its advantage of being very versatile. I could use it to sling my boy on when he is in the sleeping position cos there is sufficient cloth for me to pull and play with. I cannot imagine having to carry him in that sleeping position for long but I managed to do it with the sling for a 3 hour stretch! I had to do that that time cos we went to a place that was not stroller friendly. Most of the time it was for about 1/2hour to make sure my boy goes into deep sleep before transfering him onto the stroller.

So, for mummies who are looking at slings with elasticised edges, which will in turn from some gathers... there is this limitation of not being able to use that sling in the abovementioned manner.

Nevertheless, I must say I am SO tempted with Pupsik! But I cannot justify getting it cos it is so similar to my MIM pouch sling!!! How? :S

tuskywoollie,
thanks for sharing that. what a wonderful and useful article. i esp like how it says "bb drinks in you along with your milk". V useful reminder on teaching boundaries too. I have filed that in my memory bank for later use.

cindy,
oh yah almost forgot already haha .. let me dig out my bank details. yah i think my hubby won't want to use beco, unless it's in boring black. He likes the bjorn air i bought, but then again he has only used it once for 10min at the supermarket, and that's only after I insisted that he tries. Have only tried the bjorn air briefly myself as I'm still nursing n the pouch is better for that purpose.

re: beco
ok been reading a fair bit. It seems that beco can only face in, am i right? worried that bb might get bored leh.

daphne,
you are welcome. your combi is another toy for mommy lah. haha me too keeps buying things. can't stop thinking about beco liao. pumpkinseed (both mommy n bb) looks so pretty with that on.

pepper,
yah lor mine also. the moment you guys leave she show pattern. :p

miss83,
i'm in my 9th week but I still have a very noticeable belly.
imagine a thin girl w protruding belly ... looks really if i were to wear my fitting tops, which is why i don't. I don't dare to do abs exercise due to my c sec wound.

bluebell,
interesting info. ok will try out the knee exercise on my bb. thanks!

reverie,
same here! i make up all kinds of silly songs. i never knew i could be so creative. some of my songs are soooo silly haha

pumpkinseed,
aiyaaaaaa but it's at night though. I don't usually like to go out at night cos that is when hubby is home to keep me company.
thanks for asking though. hey you stay at bukit timah? maybe we can meet at the railway place (not sure of the proper name) for drinks sometimes.

seabreeze,
thank goodness! so happy for you. I rem how anxious I was with my bb's jaundice level rising instead of going down too. In the end PD ordered a liver test as well. Thank goodness we got the all clear.

JG,
from what I know, bb bjorn's bb can face in or out. but only front carry, no hip or backpack style. Ergo is like beco, bb must face in but they have front carry plus back pack style. Maybe you can consider Beco, which is very close to ergo. Think Pumpkinseed has lobang.

Tuskywoollie,
re: difficulty in latching due to softer or smaller nipple, I find that compressing is the best solution. One of my nipples is much smaller than the other, and both are really soft so I always compress it at the beginning to help bb latch on properly.

alfafa,
I know, I know. Contemplating that too. But still cannot justify cos I have the MIM conventional one, plus the pouch one. If I were to get Pupsik, hubby cannot use it at all cos our differences in height is enormous. Ha! :p But the $25 one is a delicious deal.

misscandy,

re: the video link you gave. that boy can really sings. Looks like this Britain's got talent show is tons better than the american version. Susan boyle is excellent and so is this boy. His voice is so pure that when he sang he brought tears to my eyes.

He's gonna be a star to watch out for surely

Yes Beco only faces inwards as they say that outward facing carriers make baby put their weight on the crotch which is not good for spinal development. No idea how true that is. She seems to still look out from the side when I carry her, then if wants to change scenery, turns the other side.

I don't have lobang, just that I managed to get a good price offered during one of the fairs she participated in. Recommended 2 friends to her already, so thinking if can recommend more to her, we can negotiate something with her? Anyway, I texted her already, invited her to this thread. So if any questions, all those interested can ask her direct. Price wise, not sure how low she can do but what I think is valuable is if she can meet us and do demo. I felt more reassured after she showed me that my 2.5week old baby can fit comfortably. Baby A struggled a bit at first, but settled in nicely after that.

alfafa, I am nearer Adam Rd so Serene Center or Holland V is perfect.

Wah seem like the gathering is fun today... I so sad cant make it today...

Oh ya... when is the next gathering??? Tuesday & thursday out please...
My place is alway available... do let me know... ;p

uuuuuuuuuuurrrrrrrrrgggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhh..i am such an implusive buyer lah....ugin loves to look outwards ..and if i buy beco he'll not be happy...but i like the snuggle feel of carrying baby how??
i have placed a carrier from the site oredi...and used paypal to settle it...
will it be too late to cancel or it's still worth to buy???
pumpkinseed what do you think???
HELP!!!!

Does anyone have advice on baby's sleeping schedules?

My little one is still awake! On my b-feeding pillow while I surf. She suckles on and off everynight from 11pm til about 1 or 2am, then sleeps til 7.30-8.30am, wakes up for feed, plays a while, then back to sleep til about noon.

If Paypal, I think they can reverse the transaction. It's up to you! But I do think, it's worth having a demo for the carrier. Maybe we can organize another gathering around it *wink wink*

pumpkinseed..
normally i put ugin to by 7pm..
will shower him again at 5pm..let him has his evening feed then settle him for awhile...play. talk or sometimes he will sleep by then...
every 4 hrs he'll wake up for his feeds...and till about 830am...
maybe you can set a routine for her..then she might have a specific timing..
hehehe maybe follow france time zone..haha

but i have placed an order le..
hmmmmm....maybe if not good for him..then put in the forum and sell it lor hor..
hhahaa
or give it to my fren who is giving birth soon...

pups

ok then. sell your MIM pouch? :-D Also it's best to try on the sizes if you could. Think Ann bought size 2 based on their size calculator but I personally thought that it looked too loose for her.

daphne,
maybe starflower can get it from you?

Pumpkin,
ya ya another gathering around it is a good idea. Wow this is like a tupperware party, they must give a better price!

Sling
Seem like many mummies are using it rather than the pram. I have a MIM sling but never really used it bcos dunno how.....so which one is good? Pupsik, Balboa, Beco or MIM pouch? May consider getting one....

v happy w my pupsik so far due to the snug fit. that said, the snug fit also means it is more challenging to put a growing bb in and out of the pouch. It is great because it has very little cloth (regardless of how useful the long tail of a sling can be it is still ore irritating to me than useful lah), has a ready-made pocket to fit and it doesn't use any rings. Rings are painful after a while. It also wraps really nicely into a small little row since it comes with no rings and very little cloth. The cloth is slightly stretchable by the way, so it moulds well to a bb's shape. I like the cushioned side as it gives extra comfort to bb, plus it makes it easier for mommy to grab and adjust when adjustments are needed.

Tried Balboa for the first time today. I have to say, it is even easier to use than my pupsik as it has a more generous pocket size. Cons, material is not stretchable, perhaps that's why the bigger pocket size. Also it comes with rings. Pros, really easy to use leh. Not fitted to size also means it is easier to switch between diff users e.g. maid, mother, grandmother ... hubby too if he doesn't mind girly prints. hehe

Maybe get a pupsik which is much cheaper, and a 2nd one which is balboa. That's what I'm planning to do.

As for carrier ... hmmm ... beco looks soooooo pretty! you should have seen pumpkinseed with it. But of course, the mommy is a pretty model mah. ;)
I already have a bjorn air, can;t really comment on the usefulness myself cos I've only tried on a few times to experiment with bb. Never gone out with it. But material is very very lasting and cooling.

bottomline is, join the gathering next time so you can try all to your heart's content. Between the 13 mommies we had like 6 different types of carriers

Combi
Beco
Pupsik
MIM sling
home made sling
balboa

Re: BB Carrier
I have the Beco carrier. The material's quite tough and probably may feel not as airy as the bjorn air.

Good
* Can carry up to 45lb bb/ toddler!
* Can adjust seating for newborn.
* Bb is securely fasten against your body.
* Foldable material
* Hubby likes it, too. He says it's just like carrying his backpack except reversed.
* Nice design - people stopped me to ask about it here.
* The Jacob design is quite unisex for both mum & dad to carry. Plus, if you have a different gender baby next round, better to get a unisex carrier.
* Hood is useful for bb to block the sunlight and she sleeps much better.
* With some skill, can eat & nurse bb discreetly in it.
* Bb feels comfy sleeping in it.

Bad
* May be a little warm for hot weather. Air-conditioned area is better.
* My back aches after a while carrying her. Maybe because I did not tighten the thick waist strap. I usually tuck her legs inside the waist strap as it's cold over here.
* No front facing when carrying bb in the front.
* A bit fiddly with the hood buttons.
* Bb cannot see much, only up and sideways.

Hi Hi regarding e slings...where r e places that sell these brands? Which ones r papa n mama friendly?

Alfafa, u mentioned compressing...is it e same as EBM?

I look forward to e dayz where i can bring him ard w/o fear of him screaming his head off...

babe, just wondering if why you get back ache is because you tuck her legs inside the strap. The waist strap is supposed to distribute the weight to the hip, so if you are fastening the waist strap tightly enough to the hips, then her whole weight should be evenly distributed to the 2 shoulders and hip. If I saw the video and demo correctly, the legs are supposed to be tucked in, in a lotus position just above the waist strap. This is pure theory for me by the way because my little one will only allow me to dangle her legs out of the carrier.
I find the fabric good for weather here, the thing that makes me warm is her head pressed against my chest! That's why I put a face towel between my chest and her head (also to absorb any drool).
Regarding looking around. My girl is a busybody and she doesn't seem to mind the limited view. Actually, that's probably because she falls asleep half the time in the carrier. Otherwise she seems happy looking sideways.
Also, the Beco doesn't provide for front facing because they want the baby to be resting on the bum, not the crotch.

Personally the cons for me are:
- Hood buttons are fiddly. I prefer to fix them on first before wearing the carrier
- I don't know how to nurse with the carrier. Maybe it will be easier when the infant insert is removed?
- I suspect the Baby Bjorn Air may provide more airflow. However, it felt less comfortable for me as I think the mesh fabric is rough.

Don't think any carrier is perfect, depends on what is more important to you. I just couldn't resist how pretty the Beco was and how compact it folds to. Can use it as hip carrier when folded too.

Note to self: restrain from buying the Pupsik or Balboa!

Ok need advice from you mummies about Maxi Cosi Cabrio carseat. Perhaps you can tell from my Beco that I am very particular about things looking pretty and matching :p

a)I have currently have one but in a boyish colour, can get summer cover for it which costs $65.90.
b)Am tempted to get a barely used 2nd hand one in a girly colour for $260, no warranty.
c)Alternatively I can just buy a brand new one in girly colur from Mothercare at $358. Good thing is will have warranty.

What do you think??

Reply from Ashley (www.cozybabies.com.sg)

I can give your friends $210 with legwarmers or $200 without legwarmers but must have min 3 orders.

* think this applies to the normal ones, not the organic ones
* have asked if she can deliver to someone's house and demo at the same time

Pumpkin Seed
Hehee, I only watched the cd once and forgot what are the methods. It's actually quite straightfwd to strap the whole thing.

Yea, my back aches. I will try to tighten the waist strap and put her feet in the lotus position as you've mentioned. Just a bit worried her legs will get squashed. Legs out is better but must wear thicker socks as her feet gets cold easily.

My bb also sleeps most of the time in the carrier. Think babies sleep really well when there's a lot of background noise and movement. We were having dim sum at a noisy and crowded restaurant and she was sound asleep in the carrier.

To breastfeed in the carrier, simply loosen the straps and unfasten the infant clips direct her mouth to my breasts.

I also put a clean diaper cloth between the carrier and her face so she can rest on softer material.

Think it's impt to have newborns/ infants facing us so they feel secure, similarly for strollers.

Hi Mummies, sorry to intrude but my carrier less than 1 month old,still brand new, happen to belong to the Organic Range,Sand Colour. As my boy does not like to be in the carrier, I hope any one of you deary mummies can take over. I'm letting it go final price S$175 if can arrange to meet at Jurong Point or pick up from my place.Please Pm me. Cheers!

Hi Pumpkin Seed,

Sorry to intrude. Just asking since I read that you are a BECO carrier user, when did you start caryying your girl in it? Mine's coming to 5 weeks old and I have the BECO but not sure if she's ready to stay in the carrier. Appreciate you sharing your experience. Thanks!

YY I started since 4 weeks.

Further to my earlier post, Ashley says the organic series will be $10 more. Delivery and demo waived for purchases of 3 pieces and up

hmmm... last night kirtsen drama again... haii... refused to sleep... whine n whine.. until 5am+ i buay tahan... i tried the dudu method... i used a blankie becos my air con was on so no problems with that.. heh... then after wrapping her, put the beanie bag on her and tutu in her mouth... after that i knocked out... and she slept all the way til 9plus... hahahahahaha! i shall try it again tonight... maybe also becos last night she merlioned again... haii... luckily this time round kena my hubby's side of the bed and his pillow... WAHAHAHAHA!!! my side of the bed already kena so many times already! lost count man... hahahaha... =x

next gathering - wooo hooo! 2nd week of May? Wednesday? 13th? at Sassy's ?

re: carrier

i am using both MIM and Ergo Carrier so if there is a next gathering you gals can try out the Ergo heehee its bulky but v comfy

Alfafa ...

We same PD clinic one heehee yap really glad that his liver test was fine and i actually told the nurse at the polyclinic that there is no need to see the dr hahahahaha cos she mentioned that she wan to send him to the dr as he is still yellowish.

My boy is 4.736kg ... gained abt 1kg ... v happy and proud cos he is TBF hahahahaha no wonder it was much more tiring to sling him than my #1 =p but nonetheless happy that he has gained weight