(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

no worries .. come come

the sky is looking really grey over at queenstown too. I can help shelter you from your cab if necessary. rem to stop right outside my unit, the 2nd one from the end of block NEAREST to the entrance of the stadium.

Oh dear raining heavily...hope rain stops soon for mummies to go gathering.

miss83, I read somewhere that sleeping longer hours at a stretch could be a sign of growth spurt as well? could be they want to conserve energy by sleeping longer duration and only waking up for milk?

Yesterday, my bb napped at 4pm+, woke up at 5pm+ cuz he pooed, changed diaper, latched on for 5min only and went back to sleep till 10pm! was so worried why he didn't rouse from his sleep at all, and we keep on going into room to check on him. on lights, wash his buttocks, wear diaper all with his eyes closed. finally do a wipe on his face and he woke up. The moment he opened his eyes he wanted to drink milk! we anticipated that and had his milk warmed, else he sure cry murder.

If ur babies show signs of crankiness, like fussy over feeding/ hands and legs moving freqly n cries loudly over peeing/pooing...itz a case of too much wind in e stomach...

Went 2 pd today n get him ridwind...he cried until face flushed red yesterday nite..scared us to bits. Thank goodness my mil placed him over her shoulder so tat tummy in contact w her body...

Pray hard tat taking ridwind will make feeding an easier task..i was qite overwhelmed by his behaviour...

Oso itz good to get milk ready as crying oso contributes to e wind in e stomach to some extent...talk abt fast response!

Now will learn to stuff his mouth w milk/water b4 he screams...

Last but not least, if ur bb shows some behaviour tat puzzles u for a period of time...don wait! Check w e pd...waz commonly observed among bbs mat not mean tat it is ok for ur bb...never take e signs for granted...

Mummies, enjoy the gathering! I'm sure it would be v fun with so many babies around!

Alfafa, u staying at Stirling Road? That's one of the last 2 batches of HDB terrace still existing in Singapore. Is the govt gg to demolish? How long have you been staying there? you must have got it at a hefty price considering the location. 8 years ago when we enquired on a similar unit in Whampoa, it was selling at 600K for a floor area not much bigger than a 3-rm or 4-rm flat. But what I really like is that you can have your own little courtyard where you can have some little pots of plants. You must have been lucky to get the house cuz most ppl are holding on to it and refuse to sell probably waiting for enbloc? Hmmmm..if next time u hosting mummies party again, if can then I join. difficult for me cuz I got to fetch son to and fro sch and got to settle him, else leaving him at home with maid he sure cry. bring him out, 2 children I can't handle.

Daphne, y are you catering for food since you got a maid. At first my maid also dunno how to cook, but if give her instructions specifically, she can whip out quite a decent meal. But really got to be specific as in what to cook, how to cook, how long to cook, how much ingredients to put etc. I'm like a talking recipe and from time to time I just pop into the kitchen to see how she's doing. Believe it or not, when CL left that day, that was also her first time cooking for me, hb and elder son. But it turned out well. Maybe you can give it a try.

tusky, did PD say it's ok to rub the ru yi oil on bb's tummy? I did that for both my children and so far so gd. *touchwood* Another school of thought is that bb got sensitive skin, shouldn't anyhow rub oil on their skin. Since it works for me, I just carry on with it. I tried out with Alfafa/babe's method of carrying bb over the shoulder and patting his back and it works most of the time. The sit-up way not v effective as my bb will forcefully lean himself backwards or arch his body when we try to burp him in that manner if he's awake. If he's asleep, he would shut his mouth tight and won't burp no matter how long we tried.

tuskywoolie
during the day no need to give bb the dream feed. it's not good also if bb sleeps the whole day..most likely he will get cranky at night.
during the day make sure he has a routine of eating-activity-sleep. activity can be bathing time, changing diaper and talk to bb, play, etc.
sleep during the day is 45mins-1.5hr. if bb doesnt get enough naps on the day, he can also get cranky at night.

Irene
Hi, just to share. i met mdm rokiah last fri. had serious blk ducts. lucky she managed to slot me in her last appt. she managed to clear 10-20% of the blk duct patch. said if she din come midnight i might ended see doc and cant bf as has to take antiboitic. it was really painful. i called her bef lunch and by evening the patch harden so much. so sore n painful. tears flowing down when she massaged. i stay in condo so she told me to quicly go down to sauna aft that and compress n massage the infected area. my maid helped me with it. i went again the nxt day. sauna really helps to melt the blk ducts. it really gets better.

afcai
since last week I try to latch on 1 side only for 30-40mins til breast empty..and next feed then change the other side. coz this way bb will more full and wont be hungry easily as he get to drink the hind milk which contains fat (hind milk can only be reached after 20 mins suckling)

re:tummy
any idea when tummy will be flatten and back to normal size? really sad to see my tummy still flabby like 3 mth pregnant..now is my 5th wk already..

i think if bb neck is not strong it is not advisable to put on her stomach to zzz and they will feel uncomfortable.

i tried massaging bb ard the belly button in anti clockwise direction. to remove wind and to make her shit. quite effective. i make up song n sing to her. eg, wind wind go away.... mr wind goes away.... little princess do like mr wind, mr wind goes away...

sorry to drop in...
i am a Aug MTB

wanna check wif mummies who give birth at ESH...

do ESH now provide clothings for bbs during the stay at hospital?

Asura & Misscandy
very funny, bb every thing also loud, complain also loud...hahah

Colic
Can try this exercise to remove wind: push bb knees (legs bent) towards her stomach then straighten. Repeat a few times.

Actually for my firstborn we used a variety of mtds, ridwind, ruyi oil etc but after some time they dun work. So my conclusion is we just have to bear with it and it will eventually go away...

Sung, I have the same issue too. BB can sleep for just a few mins then wke up and she can be yawning away, eyes half closed then suddenly eye big big...I give up liao, just try to soothe her, pat her and carry her if it makes her feel good...

Hi for all those who responded to my post, Thanks!

To overcome wind *loud poot sound actually a sign of wind in stomach...after 1 - 1.5 hr feed, pd suggests gently massaging e bb's stomach in a clockwise or anticlockwise fashion...placing him in e tum on e bed position is not so suitable for young bbs...mayb when bbs r older n stronger...

If ur bb has sensitive skin, ya don directly apply ru yi oil on his tummy...place a few drops on ur palms...rub really hard n press on his tummy to give a warm feel...some moms may do a push down motion to push out e wind...i do it onli @ nite...

Miss 83, ur sharing of e feeding / sleeping routine sounds wonderful but now tat my bb has wind in his stomach...tink itz better to resolve this problem b4 trying out ur suggestion...if he sticks to a 3 hr routine, we don mind waking up @ nite...like wat some moms said, sleep too long oso scared...

Fairy mos, 1 galfrien of mine puts lotion of her son's skin b4 applying ru yi oil; acts as a barrier in case of sensitive skin...actually if u use gripe / ridwind, not sure if itz necessary to use ru yi oil...some pds not a fan of this...
Jus observe ur bb...if he/she likes it, guess can go ahead...

My bb now can finish his feed better after taking e ridwind...cross fingers tat feeding / burping him is a joy...don wan to see him doing disco* (shaking hands/legs wildly) while doing e feed...

Oh ya...i noticed bb gets more well behaved when u full or haif swaddle him...more focused on sucking e teat/nipple! Oso fees u frm controlling his hands...jus need to manage his mouth n head...

My bb weighs 4.75kg/57cm...after 1 month 2 days...gain of 1kg n 3cm frm 1st pd appt.

heee thanks to all your well wishes, the gathering was a huge success! 13 mommies were present, along w 13 babies in all shapes and sizes. majority bb girls so the handful of bb boys were surrounded. soooo cute.

btw, mommies who came? rem what i said about the coke bottle caps? you won't believe this. hubby already msg me at 4.15pm to say that he just won for himself a new x box! and that was just from the two bottles of coke he bought at lunch! would have gladly given away the caps we had over lunch to any one of you mommies to try your luck 'cept that hubby says he wants to try and win another set. lols do try! the probability of winning is extremely high!

p/s am so proud of bb grace for co-operating with me today. hehe think she's a sociable bb like mommy cos she was surprisingly independent n well behaved today, giving me the chance to play host. The moment my last guest, misscandy left, she started fussing n crying. sociable bb. looks like i need to bring her out more or organise more gatherings!

tuskywoolie
actually the dreem feed method also depends on ur bb weight. as long as ur bb have a healthy weight and not a premature, bb should be able to sleep 5-6hour straight. but so far my bb also can sleep 4.5hr the most at night..never go further than that..

alfafa, wat brand is ur sling again? wanted to buy online.

misscandy, also interested in ur sling. wat brand huh? or which website to order?

Would like to thanks alfafa and misscandy for organising this gathering.I enjoy it very much. So happy to see so many babies and mummies around

alfafa,
thanks for opening up ur lovely home to us today. sorry, i had to leave earlier in order to get my husband to send me home so couldn't help to clean up! looking forward to future gatherings with u mummies to exchange tips

looks like the gathering was fun...envy u mummies for the gathering.can I join in next time if there is a gathering ?

To Sung:
I got catered lunch for my ML cos I take care of bb alone at home and it is by NEO Garden.. so far their food taste quite homecooked and I don't feel very thirsty after meals which means they din put in a lot of MSG.. u can try check it out..per month about $200 + for lunch or dinner..but they only had catering minimum for 2 people...

To Alfafa77:
I agree with u for saying our little ones make our heart melts.. My boy begin to smile and blabber non stop and he starts to mimick my blabbering with him as if we were having conversation..and his grins always makes my sleepless night and extra fats on me feel worthwhile.. hee.. but of cos I wish the extra fats would be gone soon! feel so sad nowadays when I go shopping... the tummy just remains there like a spare tyre...and not deflating at all.

anyway, any mummies have slimming tips to share ? I dun BF anymore so cannot depend on this for slimming...

And btw any mummies have difficulties getting their babies drink water ? cos I heard babies on FM can get quite heaty easily but I had problem getting my boy drink water..he will wails loudly when feed from bottle.. hence i gotta resort to using plastic spoon and cup to feed him slowly and initially he would just drink and wails later..but today I realise his new acquired skill..he would not swallow and let the water flow out from the side of his mouth...and smile at me..thinking I am playing some game with him...

*faints*

prosper, mine is a pupsik. if you know what size you want you can try WTS and WTV section here. just do a search (keyword pupsik, whole word) for quick results. or you can always go to http://www.pupsikstudio.com/ to buy direct. The good thing about buying retail is you get to choose your own fav print.

MissCandy's is a Balboa. I believe you can only get that via a BP. not sure if there is one now. Actually i have the contact details of the lady organising the bp cos i enquired before. let me dig it out but gimme a bit of time. Am still cleaning up the house.

sportyger! yes yes I have one. No problem will bring it for you the next time we meet, or you can come pick up anytime too but let me know in advance cos I'm not always home. will sms you

ann,

no worries. almost done liao. btw there is a chinese restaurant Zi Yean near your house which serves v v good dim sum. they are running a 50% discount fr mon to fr, 8.30am to 11am. super good deal. do try. maybe nerxt time i look for you to makan dim sum heeee

sportyger, ann, prosper n all mommies. you are welcome. hubby n i love to entertain, so it has been my pleasure. would love to host more but if anymore mommies wan to join we would need a bigger place liao.

mummybean
of coz you can. the more playmates for our little ones .. and for us (lols) the better! silent readers are welcome too. just pm us the nrext time.

v helpful to meet fellow mommies to exchange tips, try our various products n share our anxieties n fears.

miss83

actually I also dunnoe...ha... I am waiting for mine to give me an answer too... and my colleagues warn me not to do exercises yet cos it might cause the uterus to prolapse..so now I am jus working on my diet and do more housework..

Alfafa:
thanks ! ya I also wanna have more playmates for my boy. But hopefully the next gathering is before my ML ends. Or else won't be so flexible for me to join u mummies.

reverie_island
understand your feeling. It was so painful on Sunday night for me too, can't sleep well and having high fever. luckily she slot me in Monday Afternoon slot. If not, dunno what to do. She was in Malaysia over the weekend. Oh ya, she mentioned the sauna to me also. she say effective to clear blocked ducts too. I stayed at HDB, so no such luxary.

thanks alfafa n missycandy for the gathering.. itz been a pleasure to meet up with mommies n babies.. so glad tat baby ziv give me some face in being guai guai let me swaddle.. phew.. looking forward for the next gathering liao.. =)

alfafa thanks for organising and hosting!
missycandy thanks for organizing the food!

Was nice to get out on a rainy day and meet you all. Great to hear your tips and see the various slings as well. Think am gonna stick to my Beco though it is so tempting to get the Balboa. Which reminds me, those interested in the Beco, just PM me, I'll gather the numbers and call the distributor to see what deal she can give. I think she has done BP on the forum previously. Maybe she can give good deal as I have recommended 2 friends to her already.

Looks like all mummies were having fun. Too bad i cannot join you all today. Can imagine all the babies been placed together, they all will be sooooo cute and fun. Did anyone take photos for all the babies? I wanna take a look.

balboa sling thread - http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2007728.html?1240915730

u r all welcome. great big thanks to alfafa for allowing us to mess up her home. so sorrie didnt help u to clean up. grace was indeed very guai! lol... b4 i left cn see she was starting to fuss already.. hee hee...

sportyger - ooo thats ur camera ahh we were asking whose it was.. hahaha...

actually most of the babies were quite well behaved leh... LOL... in front of others act guai.. back home start to wayang... haa... =P

only thing is didnt put all the babies together and take one big grp photo la.. heee... only have few here n there... =P

Alfafa, ya thanks for organising the gathering, think my gal have alot of fun..just finish bathing her and she is very tired, sleepy soundly liao

Glad to meet and share tips with other mummies

missycandy u r right man, can really say tat tehy r well behaved but then haha, when mine gone back home he started to show out his true colour liao..wahahaha..

Dear Alfafa, thank you for being Such a GREAT host! you and hubby! please do email me [email protected] hor your UOB acct details. hehe i need to pay you back!

missycandy:: Thank you for helping with the food!!

dear all mommies, i had loads of fun.. haha was the only mommy with #2 liao! oops. haha!! Hope to have more of such gatherings k! hehe Trishelle needs more friends!

alfafa,

Thanks for opening up your house for our gathering. Was quite fun.. but hor.. my gal very naughty when she get home.. cry and cry.. haiz.. must be never exercise her lungs for whole day.
For the pupsik pouch, u mentioned size 1 and 2 but hor i go website is S, M, L and SL. So Size 2 is M?

pupsik sling,

mummies who are int in the size 2 (M) pupsik sling can pm me. I might want to sell mine (the grey checkered looking one) cos i dun seem to be very good at using it.. eyeing the balboa or beco :p

considered brand new lah cos never actually used it outside before!

Hi,I have a Beco Butterfly 2 Carrier to let go. Bought it for less than a month ago,as my baby is really not confortable in it..I have decided to let go it at a loss. Bought it for S$240,now letting go at S$180. Interested parties, please PM me. Thanks..

Prosper, Asura,

what size do you want? Someone just messaged me that she has a size 2 turquoise colour for sale ... probably same as mine? See below message. Hers is a solid colour like mine, not fancy fancy ones like Ann's. I would have like Ann's actually. WOW at $25, that's the best price I've seen already. I had to haggle so much to even get it at $28. Didn't help that I'm a size 1 which is extremely hard to find.

"But I do hv a Pupsik pouch avail for sale at $25. Size 2, turquoise color. Condition 9/10. No defects or stains.
Let me know if you're keen in tat"

Hey mummies, so far have 3 interested in the Beco. I bought from cozybabies.com.sg (distributors site)
It is also selling at bebelove.com.sg

Normal price is $240. I got it at special price of $210 inclusive of free Cuseberry leg warmers. Ashley, the distributor previously mentioned that she wasn't sure if she could keep the price at that level as her cost price looked like it was going up. But no harm asking. Maybe if she can't do much about the price, can still give the legwarmers? Plus can ask her meet us at someone's house to do demo.

It does seem expensive but I personally feel it's worth it because of the even weight distribution. I guess I will know much better as the little one gets heavier! Plus it's so pretty hee hee

Ann, did you bring your Obuba today? I forgot to ask for it!

actually mommies,

I would strongly advise having at least 2 carriers. I'm definitely getting one more pouch (most likely balboa). Reason being babies drool so much (if not yet they will soon!) that you will have to wash your carrier regularly. You need another one on standby. That, plus sometimes you just want a diff colour mah.

Asura,
wait let me check my sizing guide

pumpkinseed
I so regret not trying out yours. Because now I'm itching to buy one! aiyoooooooooo But because I just bought my BN bb bjorn air, I'm hesitant to just buy another. Can I check, is it easy to clean? Or does it get dirtied easily? looks like the type of fabric that frays or attracts lint easily. Also, is it suitable for Singapore weather? What I like about BB bjorn air is its breathability. But if beco is the same I might consider selling my bb bjorn and get becvo instead! hahaha