(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Sure missy..

Thanks yiyi.. there's one Q&M near my place but not sure if they are exp if kids.. I dun wanna scare my kids the 1st visit to the dentist...

Is city sq mall.. Keke.. Think other branch may not accept bit u can call and check.. The one I went to has full of toys and the lady dentist is quite good with kids..

nowadays..kids r really so "xin fu"..so young can go dentist already..i remember that i nvr went to dentist in such a young age..n only being checked in de school foc yearly when de doc came our school..

Seabreeze,
Congrats on the smooth delivery! 2 hours fast fast, same as me.

My Eames is the same as your SH, he laughed when the bb sister cried. But now he starts to know how to sayang the sister already.

Missy
hope to hear good news from you

huh? simi gd news? no gd news la. boring news have. LOL!!!

yiyi - usually its mid dec.... no new yet... hee

1 more day of work n long weekend!! whooopeeeee!!!

Mummies ...

Just to give a short update on my gal's thyroid condition. Was send down to NUH on 1 Nov cos her TSH reading went up and T4 went down. My PD quickly referred me to a Prof in NUH who specialises for such condition.

Did a radio-scan of her thyroid gland and the good news is that the scan showed that her gland is of a good size and correct position so the dr cant tell why the reading is hywire.

The whole visit and scan at the NUH is so tiring and made worse by the lousy service there. Cos the dr are avoiding giving my girl sedative medication so we purposely time her feed to coincide with the scan timing so that she can zzz thr the scan. And guess what happen? The timing was all screwed up bcos the porter picked us up from the ward late. We kept telling the nurse that now the bb is sound asleep and we wan to do the scan and the nurse kept telling us to wait for the porter AND when porter arrived ... we say ok faster walk there but they insisted that I need to sit in the wheelchair. Damn fed up and as expected ... by the time the scan started she was no longer in deep sleep. Had a hard time putting her back to zzzz and luckily managed to complete the scan.

Dr said that since structually she is fine ... then its 50% chance that its temporary (BEST case) and 50% case thats its hormonal (WORST case). But he said we give ourselves 3yrs first cos we do not wan to take the risk of her not having enough of the thyroid hormone and affect her development. So if for the 3yrs ... her hormones level are easily controlled with the medication then he will see if we can stop it after 3yrs.

Anyway I have cried enough so its time to move on. We are couting our blessings that its not life threatening and that no damage is done. Dr said that if bb is a boy ... still need to do NS hahaha so thats how normal the bb is =p

Medication is relatively cheap ... only cost me $4.20 for 42 days of supply heehee

But think she is traumatised by the whole visit cos they had to insert the plug in her hand ... now keep crying and want ppl to carry *sigh*

Anyway ... we got her name from the fengshui master oso!! Missy name is Ang Yu Xia 洪瑜霞 =)

Thank you ladies! Just brought her to PD to check for jaundice. Still there but acceptable range heehee

My PD oso said that as long as the physical gland is there, there is still a chance that the condition is temporary. So we are all praying for the best! Am fine liao cos there is nothing we can do for now. Need to be strong n positive for the kids - what more 3 right?!? Heehee

Blurjen ...

No ang mo name for the 3 kiddos heehee for now Yu Xia name is the most 'challenging' cos its both 2nd sound. Read wrongly become fish n prawn haha but I say then means she have a blessed life, full of fish n prawn to eat haha

Btw, u can pop by next week liao cos me can wash my hair tom le!! Bb is 2 weeks old liao haha have been bathing everyday though except i just bun my hair up. Luckily weather has cooled down alot!

Seabreeze, no ang mo name also good dun need to think of another name. ha ha I cant stop laughing when i saw the fish n prawn wahaha!!!

So i can drop by next wkend?

Seabreeze, I'm sure everything will turn out just fine for little 瑜霞.
There's a chinese saying "No fish, prawn also good." Like you said, she's blessed, she has both! :D

Blurjen ...

Sure =) weekday night oso can. You can arrange with Liping or sms me lar

Lizy ...

I hope so too. The master keep telling us its a beautiful name ... only come home then realise sound like fish and prawn hahahaha but must tell her fr young on the positive way to retort if ppl tease her name ... dun wan her to 'hate' me hahahah

Many of us have 2 kids by now... Do u intend to have another one or stop at 2?

I wanted another kid but hubby said too ex in SG... zzzzz

How do u feel?

Seabreeze, big hugz to Yu xia, hope things go well for her. We parents hope our children will be healthy n no development issues. I can understand how u feel like how i worry for my boy. He went thru another hearing test cos he ain't talking yet. Although hearing is fine, the prof in kk wants to rule out autism n eames has to go bk for check up 3 mths later. He understands in struction but just dun talk. 0 vocabulary. I really hope is just normal speech delay n nothing more serious. I m especially stress when I see that all the march babies can talk.

Scrumpee

SH oso not talking much ... everything n everyone is pa-pa. Same can understand instruction, my #1 oso started talking when he attends school. Even at those weekend playgroup, he is always the quiet one. Now we are constantly asking #1 to keep quiet haha so dun worry too much!

For YX, we are taking 1 step at a time. Not thinking too much now ...

Mummies who ordered cod liver oil, they are here. Pls PM me to arrange for collection. At home 24/7 for now haha

Hi my son is so quiet outside home , esecially atthe playground he doesn't want to play now, (before he was ) , now he likes to go outside home but f i take him to playground he jst see people, see tress, & other things, doesn;t want to play

seabreeze,

am sorry to hear about your gal. but she'll be blessed! it's most heartbreaking for us when our little ones are not well. jia you jia you k!

scrumpee,

dun worry too much. my boy too not speaking much, everything to him is "ba"..hee hee i keep asking him why he wants to eat meat everytime(ba meat in hokkien) :p he can understands all i tell him so i think it's fine. pd also said as long as he is uttering a few words is fine. i noticed all his words are starting with "ba"..."bas" (bus), "bak" (bike), "bal" (ball). other than these, he's only saying "da" (daddy). i'm sure they'll start speaking lots soon! i heard boys can start being really talkative after 2 yrs

ling - its prolly a phase.. my girl also starting turning "anti-social" just before she went to school... in the past she was fine... but 2mths ago.. she started become shy... and takes time to warm up to other ppl... whenever meet up with other mums n bubs, she will stick to me/hb or just stand there alone and be very upset... very poor thing... but once she gets a bit more familar.. which usually takes half an hour or more... then shes better... but according to the sch teachers, she is ok in school.. she does mix around n play with other kids... so im not too worried... i just take it as she is really shy...
give him some time to warm up...

talking - kirs vocab also limited... but i guess she will pick up in time to come...

Its actually q normal for them to change behaviour as they are now more aware of their surrounding n ppl. They now recognise their caretaker, parents n be wary of strangers. Seperation anxiety peaks during this time too ... SH can cry the hse down even when i go toilet for just 5mins n my hubby is just NEXT to him!

Lets not forget that TERRIBLE TWO is just round the corner!!

Sung
my son don't even talk 'ba', its always, 'ah huh', 'huh huh'. But last Fri when we were waiting for our turn to see the doc, both hubby and I heard him saying 'Ma Bo'. We looked at each other to confirm what we heard because his was facing away from us, so not sure if we heard him correctly. In any case, I really can't wait for him to talk non-stop.

Shy
My boy is also very shy in front of strangers, either he will hide behind me or, he will just stare blankly at them...and whines when we bring him into a room of strangers.

Seabreeze
Your gal will be strong and well. Don't worry too much.

Jennifer
Salute. You thinking of having another child? My hb actually want another children but i refuse. Had phobia of looking after them especially when they fall sick.

hi scrumpee

my boy still baby talk too. there is a parent guide book "it takes two to talk" for children with language delay. they dont sell in normal bookstore. and i was told to wait for 3 mths if i want to borrow from library cos pp r queuing to borrow. i went to pathlight school at amk to buy. hv yet to start reading so not sure whether it is good. however heard from my friend that speech therapists do use this book as a guide too. maybe you might be keen to buy and read up before the next follow up

seabreeze
congras!!! take care n rest well!!!

missy
think u mail my items to me as not sure when i can pop over to yr place to collect. let me know how much to pay for the postage... thks!!!

hi scrumpee,

I have the same experience too. my girl (born in late Feb 2009) is not talking too. She can only say mama, papa occasionally, but there is no consistency. When I brought her to PD at KK for checkup last month, PD also recommended me to bring her back in Jan to do hearing screening. I don't think she has hearing problems as she understands all complex instructions 100%. But very worried now and keeps wondering when she will start talking. Many of my friends told me not to worry as many kids start to talk only after 2-3 years old. But I am still very worried as her older sis can speak full sentences by the time she was 2 years old. Really sianz....

Hey all mummies, how are you doing?

Congrats to all those who are preg with #2!

Congrats to those who have given birth too! Seabreeze and Keron&Jeris, look forward to seeing you little ones soon!

We recently moved and fell ill one after another so been MIA.

Question for everyone, please help: the little girl keeps crying/whining when she wakes up in the morning or from a nap. It's nothing major but to hear it everyday, twice a day is starting to wear us out. Any thoughts?? She's normally happy going to bed/nap.

Seabrezze, I love the name Yu Xia! Very nice name! Hope everything will be smooth for her from now onwards! You are a great and strong mummy!

Jennifer, I stopped at 2 loh.. already inserted contraceptive device.

Reason: Want to retire early and enjoy back our 二人世界 sooner.. keke..

Scrumpee, my boy is only just started learning how to speak.. They can catchup very fast. don worry... How I encourage him to speak is by singing (this works after a few tries): "if you happy and you know it clap your hands" He clapped. If you happy and you know it call mummy.. he called.

P.seed - Did you gal sleep with tummy up or down? if is up, can try down position... but must monitor, as this happens to my little gal too.. She got any wind/colic? Try massage with ruyi oil everytime after bath...

yiyi - so smart hor. but hor. i sing to her. she only clap her hands all the way... wahgahahahahah!!!!!!!! plus now she loves to dance n groove... every song she hears she wil dance.. i sing to her she wil dance.. whahahaha

a bit like voice activated dancing doll.. LOL!!!!!!

Think kee is stuck at home too long, he is super clingy!!! On top of that he throws toys all over the flow and when I raise my voice to sayno no, it doesn't have any effect. Urgh....

Now my turn...

HAve been wanted to ask..
My girl used to be very guai. After she turned 1 yrs, she started to change. Her temper was hugh. It has been a long time i nv scolded her. It happened evedryday. Every little thing, she will throw tantrums. started to whine, eh, eh , eh.....she wanted in her way.
SHe dun take NO for that.We tried to attract other attention. It only works sometimes.
1))She wakes up.. not happy, yelling to catch attention. Attented to her and ok.
2)Refuse to listen to us. Stare at her, scolded her. She can do that for half an hour standing there graping my arms and cried.
In short, she just like to oppose our instruction. Is there any good ways that i can share from mummies here.

and yes, i have been trying my method by using soft talk. Tell her not to cry and why mummy rejected you. She understood and say yes, mummy.. but it still happened again.

Mummies ...

Thanks!! We are really praying hard and crossing our fingers that her condition is temporary. Went for my gynae check yesterday and my gynae looked pretty upset to hear the news. He was v nice and explained to me her condition again and tell me that he oso hope that its temporary.

Prosper ...

You are not alone ... SH has a fiery temper too!! He will go around hitting his leg and even resort to lying on the floor and cry!! NEVER happen to my #1 before and we think its just HIM. We say really NU PI QI ...

Usually I will ignore him and tell him to stand up. Cos its a cause and effect thingy ... if I keep giving in everytime he does that ... then he will realise that the 'method' works. I oso think he is going to be good fren with Mr Cane soon ....

P.seed ...

Could it be that she still want to zzz? Or she is just frustrated to be woken up? For SH if he auto-wakes up ... he is usually q happy ... if he wakes up crying means that he still wan to zzz

Missy, you description very funny leh! voice activated dancing doll!! At least she is enjoying music.. she got music and dancing interest leh..

My boy also very naughty now.. He will hit his cousin when he cannot snatch the toy he wants. I wonder did he also do that in school.. A big ganster bully... I hit him.. he laugh at me thought I playing with him.. unless his daddy hit him then he scared.. Cos I am always the "good cop" and daddy is always the "bad cop".

Seabreeze, God will bless 瑜霞.
Don't worry and you take care too!

Terrible 2:
Yes, I'm also learning to deal with it too.

Vera would lie with her tummy on the floor and do the "breast stroke", cry/yell/shout when things not happening according to her way. She does this especially when outside like the shopping mall, kiddy palace when we want her to go home and she refuses to leave...
she would struggle and swing her hands left to right, hitting me or pinch my neck to show her fustration when I tried to hold her up. What I usually do is to put her down and let her continue with her "act", soon she would realise that she has a lot of "audience". Only then she would stop and come to me. ONly then she would listen and I can start to reason out with her or negotiate with her to stay a little longer and we have to go home.

When at home, I realise sometimes she would do some forbidden things to seek our attention. She would try to go near the plugs while looking at me and see if I would stop her. If no reaction from me, she goes a little closer until I do something. There was once, I was working with my laptop, she came into the study room, walked to where I seated tipped toe and reached for the mouse and look at me while banging the mouse on the study table. I asked why were she doing it while mummy was working, she said: "baobao...." For this, I gave in. I mean looking at her innocent angelic look, how could I reject her... But sometimes she really driving me nuts when she keeps crying when she wants something and refuse to follow our instruction. There were few occasions, we wanted her to keep her toys first before we left home for dinner, she refused and kept saying "out...out.. walkwalk.. walkwalk" And she purposely threw the toys out of the box to "protest". We spent quite a long time to finally made her keep her toys. A lot of crying/yelling from her, a lot of talking/reasoning/negotiating whatever you call it from us..., When she cried... we let her cry coz we know it's pointless since she won't listen. We wait until she stops crying. We were fustrated too but we can't show it and keeps telling ourselves to keep cool. Like many mummies said, if we give in this time, she'll do the same next time. It's always a battle and the ones with more patience win. Thus we usually late for dinner/appointment with friends and family. Sometimes I was so angry that broke my rule of not beating her and always regretted myself big time after that... especially when I saw my hand mark on her thigh... I felt like crying... I finally realised how my mother felt when she caned me. :p Oh, I notice something quite useful. Instead of ordering her to do something, I would suggest or ask for her "help". Like I would tell her, would you like to do this, why don't you do that, it's better. Sometimes, I would say, Vera could you help mummy to keep the toys? I realise she seems to like responsiblity... maybe that makes her feel like a grown up... I guess...

Srumpee, I understand how you feel when our little ones don't progress like the majority. But since you said that he understands instruction, I believe it's just a matter of time for him to speak up. Some kids including mine.. sigh... just don't like to be forced to do something.

Jennifer, we want 2 but still pondering if we should go for #2 now. We find it rather challenging to discipline Vera and we have no confidence if we can handle another child...

P.seed, I hope you're feeling better now. The weather has been quite bad lately. Vera also cries the first thing she wakes up in the morning usually does this when she can't see me first thing when she wakes up. And when she saw me she would say "baobao" and my hug does calm her down... I believe our littles do this for our attention.

Lizy and seabreesze,
Yes exactly the ssme behaviour. But one thing for sure. she won't stop crying. I tried to let her cry...non stop for half an hour. still win me.
When people tell me, let them cry and they will stop when they are tried of crying. BUt my girl different, she wont sit at one corner crying. She will grab me, climb onto me, squeeze my neck, hug onto me, then at the same time crying loud into my ear. SO i stand up, so that she can't reach me. BUt her voice still very annoying.

jme and isabel
oh...we are in the same boat. How huh?? I really don't know what to do. But I have proceeded to make an appt for him to see speech therapist at KK.

yiyi
I will try your singing method. Because when I sing this song, he will follow the actions...so hopefully it will work on him.

Prosper
my boy also will 'shua lai' and lie on the floor when he doesn't get his way...I think is a phase for the terrible two.

Oh..another thing, wonder any of your tots does it. My boy loves to roll his eyes, look at things with the corner of his eyes. Everytime he does that, we will hit him or say No or use toys to distract him.