(2009/01) January 2009 MTBs

ni, jh used to have all these heat rash on his neck, calamine doesn't work and i tried candula cream, works wonders! no more heat rash liao...

ah, mummy was stressed! shyan so sticky, and pooed, and the laundry is done, need to hang clothes and i was halfway cooking her lunch.. no choice, gotta do things one at a time... first i finished up the cooking, then bathe her... not to forget, i need to shower and then prepare her stuff and send her to the clinic. she's down w a terrible flu.. lots of phlegm in her throat...

what's left now is the laundry and my cafe world!
so bad, at times like this stil thinking of my fake cookin

Hi mummies anyone has recommendations on good recipe on soups the double boiled canto type both online or hardcopy are fine. Thanks for sharing!

Btw can someone help to explain how to double boil soup? I have both slowcooker (which my nutritionist friend said it's not a good way) and the 'clay'/ceramic type of boiler. If I use the boiler I have to put it in another pot and fill it with water right?sorry if my question sounds real stupid, I am terrible in cooking!

piyo: I went there this morning, clocked $180 dollars liao... now still thinking if I should go back and get more Pigeon wide neck bottle 50% off with trade-in. UP $18, now only $9.40.

cherryale: double-boil soup usually about 1 - 2 portions only... u are doing for yourself or for baby ?

morning, its gonna be a short week! 4 days work week! very fast weekend is coming!

over the weekend i made ABC soup for Kyan, he loves the soup, that he din want his porridge only want the soup, potato, carrot and chicken!! HB says its nice too. Haha. Motivated to make soup for them every weekend! yeah!

dink/chere: i signed up for bb jumper gym.... no choice, gotta start kyan on something, says hb. and he pays, so he made the choice on bb jumper gym. near tampines

dink: i find it ok. cos 30 mins on flash cards and stimulation on the brain, the other 30 mins will be at their play gym area, for motor skills development. and i think kyan wun be able to concentrate on one full hr of flash cards, so 30 mins just nice for him... you gng for trial on april 10? i starting my lessons on apr 10, 1.30pm

cherryale: I think double boil is not the same as slow cook leh. for double boil, you put the things in the ceremic pot, then put into a bigger pot and slow cook under fire for an hour, for things like bird's nest. this will ensure the 'good' things won't escape and you get all the nutrients. think slow cooker does not work the same way. but then again, if you don have time to watch the fire, maybe slow cooker is the next best option.
er.. hope my explanation helps!

Morning,

ni : wow...since Kyan love the soup, maybe u can try to add abc pasta/mee sua into the soup or use the soup to cook porridge which i normally cook for Adler.

Can I check, anyone of ur kiddo taking > 260ml of FM?
After Adler's recovered from his stomach flu, he has gd appetite, taking 2 solids + snack + 260ml milk (about 5-6 feeds/day) and occasionally cry for more after finished.

laugh: wow, great, he'll put on some good weight in no time. I know someone's daughter who drinks 500ml before sleep. my friend's boy 240ml 4 times a day... leon is on 210ml 4 times a day but sometimes he'll ask for more and I usually give another 60ml... this happens mostly for 1st and last feed.

Morning everyone! I am so glad its a short week. and hb comes home tonight! Yay, the children miss him actually probably only meimei misses him cos she will go round the hse calling papa. My son is happy with mummy around.

jan: Shyan can call dad liao?? so sweet....Kevan still oni eh eh or scream

cherryale: if u wan dbl boil u'll hv to put all ur ingredients in a 'clay-make pot' then put into a big big pot w some water n use small fire to cook for at least 3-4hrs depending on wad u cooking lah......it's like steaming
normally u'll use dbl boil method to cook tonics like black chix etc....for soups now we'll use clay made pots under small fire

ann: ya ya....her daughter drank 500ml before sleeps....hahaha

laugh: Kevan now drinking abt 240ml each time but at times he no finish coz too tired

cherry: LeAnn will call DaDeee.. and looked at hubs. But when she calls Mama, she will be looking at someone else..can be maid, waitress...but not ME!. Arghh...

ann/suika & sperzz : thks for the feedback. I was quite worry on the sudden jump fm 180 to 260ml or more. Afraid that he can't take so much at this age cos my # 1 has never cross over to > 240ml.

Adler will call DadDad for hub and mum amm... for mummy...

kamy, I do not like to use slow cooker. I remember seeing my confinement lady use the doubleboil method when making my daily tonics last time. My intention is actually to boil soup for the family on weekends.

suika, thanks for your advice. Where do I get those clay made pots for soup?

ni, what type of pot do you use for ABC soup? Does Kyan eat rice now? I am trying to see if I can give Ashley rice instead of porridge so that it is easier when we bring them out. Currently I will just give her a few mouthful, not sure if she swallows or chew. Probably the former.

cherryale, I bought those clay pot at the neighbour shop that sell pots n pans. Delia like to eat rice but I think she swallows it instead of chew. She only got 6 teeth.

Delia is very naughty n assertive. Whatever does suit her way, she will scream n cry very loudly. Nobody can touch her things.

cherry: Kyan takes rice now, thou MIL dun like him to! hahah. so its only the weekends that i can give him fancy food. I use the claymade pots to boil the soup. mine is black color, think can buy frm OG, specially for boiling soups one...

sperzz: K is not talking either.. only maaaa maaaa.. paaa paaa... daaaa daaaa... doubts he noe what it meant thou... K is also very naughty, u cannot snatch his things, he will scream the house down!

cherryale: for daily soup u can juz get those claypots to boil....i got mine from those small shops that sells lots of stuffs inside....'wu jin dian' those old ppl call it

ladies > another headache for me.Yest my MIL says wanna go temple pray for qing ming for my FIL.she say bring baby along.

any of u all encounter? actually i'm not so comfortable bringn baby to such places.how??

mgteo : maybe, if he can take so much then no issue loh..

cherry : soup using double boiler method & boiling method, the taste might be diff. Personally, i prefer those double boiler soup, it taste more original & tasty. Moreover, soup will not dry up so easily & dun need to watch the fire so often.

sperzz: i also guess lah... wah, her acting also v good... keke

Ashley: Leon's cereal change on weekly basis, he has taken almost every brand... Bellamy, Organix, Nestle (all types), First, Healthy Times (he don't like)...etc...

Bbstarlet: my parents and in-laws both excuse me and hb this year, say no good to bring bb to this kind of place... but is it becos she want your FIL to 'see' his grandchildren ? alamak... headache...

ni: Leon's weekend menu is exactly the same as weekday menu... wahahaha... I will cook whatever my suppliers give me, ie, my mum and in-law...

suika > actually i dunno.but i heard start tis friday i tink.u in tis situation,tink can exempted ba.

ann01jan > ya lol.she wanted my FIL to see lol.as for my mum,she feels they already not around,how to see.
actually i also not so comfortable for baby to go.tht's why i command my hubby,jus see 1 look and then bring her out of the place.
i dun dare to let my own mum know,e moment she knows,she sure nagged abt my MIL.

bbstarlet: u gg where to 'shao mu'? my family goes during eve of cny time...that time i oso bring Kevan go but it's temple lah

ann: i think kyan is getting a bit sick of porridge so i try to be different on weekends! haha. ur mum and MIL so nice, i gotta buy my own ingredients...

ashley: kyan is on nestle too. sometimes i give him the one with fruits, he likes it, cos its sweet!

bbstarlet : the actual day start on 5th Apr but normally can start "shao mu" 10 days before & after. Is up to individual whether u feel comfortable or not to bring ur toddler, if u dun like the idea, maybe ask ur hb to tell ur mil.

bbztarlet/suika: started liao, my parents went last weekend.

bbstarlet: one way hor is to make your baby sleep lor... will that work ?

Thanks Ladies,

i gave him the healthy times, he used to like it, but now give me the want to vomit face, ok, i shall try nestle next!

I am also hoping my son will eat rice, but till now, he still prefers porridge. I think for my trip this coming may, i need to wake up early to cook porridge for him -_-

suika > my FIL is in temple 1.

laugh > a bit tough leh,my MIL will insist 1 lol.

ann01jan > haha,great idea.but my gal very wild 1.whenever outside,she will wake up.

bbstarlet & mummies bringing kids to shao mu: I was told not to bring the baby's pram into the area. Years ago when we went to Buddhist Union, someone there told us so. He says afraid the souls of the young ones will 'follow' us back. So ask us to keep the stroller in the car. Scary la... so now we dun bring the strollers out of the car when we go shao mu.