(2009/01) January 2009 MTBs

for leon birthday, i din give drumstick, only give mee sua and egg.

Below are the birthday items and meaning for each item:

mime_msword.gif

Birthday Game.doc (21.0 k)</td></tr></table></center>

gwen : regarding cut cake, think individual, my # 1 birthday usually fall ard CNY, so he will cut cake at least 3x, he has 1 cutting in reunion dinner with my family another cutting in reunion dinner in HB family &amp; oso another in school.

EMQ : if hosting dinner @ ur house, i oso think steamboat is the easier. But if eating out, u have to act fast as most of the resturant r mostly fully booked. I have hard searching for mine too but finally found one.

dink: ya lor,... sitting on it for the longest time and hubby also never moved an inch ! ... I scared CNY, then relatives, ILs, parents will nag and nag if come to my house....

ann: window grilles do very fast one...but its the cleaning up la.
u can choose design yrself then ask him to make.
aluminium is cheaper, wrought iron is more ex...
make already really more comfortable..

dink: condos got certain designs allowed and certain colours nia leh...
u better check 1st...

mercs: I also just stopped pumping, din really wan to stop initially but want to diet so stop liao, now pump every few days...

ann: ya lor...peace of mind la...if not for my MIL paying, i think i will drag also..mine is more ex cos of the stupid semi circle balcony! stupid govt design.
white colour will be more ex hor..but its still cheaper than wrought iron la..

mercsboy : u so funny... no need sad face lah... hehe... this contractor that 1 went to is lucky to hv a DIL to do website for him...

mercs: wah, good idea, maybe I should drag until my MIL action since her son is also sitting on it ! ... wahahaha...

gelato: I only pick 8 for leon to choose... if have everything, also good lor... will be more fun !

Yesterday was baby Chinese birthday. We also let him eat chicken drumstick and red eggs. He love the food, wanted to play the birthday game, but no time to gather the items..hee..

Ni, today is kyan's Chinese birthday! So happy chinese birthday Kyan! LOL

i din know we shld only let bb eat drumstick on the lunar birthday... we gave drumstick on the ang mor birthday liao... hehe...

gelato: no la...not sad la. nowadays contractor also quite high tech liao...
are u feeling better already today? still not well?

ann: hint to your mil la..

Gwen: If I'm not wrong, cutting cake is = to celebrating a birthday (a year older), so I think to the old folks, cutting cake twice is like getting 2 years older?

But I think there were a few years when my #1 had 2 or even 3 cakes. Last year, when #2 celebrated her 2nd birthday, I think she had 2 cakes too - 1 small lil brownie at the resturant where we had lunch &amp; another at home at her party.

But when we celebrate on the Lunar date, we do not buy a cake la. Usually mee sua &amp; red eggs lol.

Ultraman: Hosting at home.

I hate those dinners outside, feel so commercialised, machiam conveyor belt in a factory. So noisy, cannot linger &amp; chat (defeats the whole purpose of reunion!).

I used to dread going for reunion dinners with my ILs. In my 10 years of marriage, think I've only had reunion dinner at my PIL's place once! All others (eaten with them) were at restuarants. I so hate that ordeal. I feel that there is no warmth in the whole experience. In order to maximise profits, resturants force you to dine at certain seating, then must start &amp; end at fixed timing, they do not let you linger, food is served like in those 7th month dinners (fast &amp; quick).. sorry, I hate that kind of dinners. No offence meant for families who prefer that.

Not that I'm bias, but I love my mum's reunion dinners. She'd take the trouble to plan real traditional treats, everything she serves has a special meaning, &amp; she painstakingly self-prepares most of the items lor. &amp; best part I enjoy is - it is always at home (although getting cramped with 9 children (&amp; spouses), 7 grands &amp; 3 maids &amp; my mum's bro who always join us. We can take our own sweet time to eat, make all the noise we want, chat &amp; catch up. We really get to bond over the meal &amp; enjoy each others' company after that.

Then the practice of issuing ang pows after the dinner, followed by watching TV, then preparing for prayers (my parents are taoists), then the kids will play with the sparklers.

Definitely much more warm than those restuarant dinners.

Gelato/ Laugh: Thanks for your suggestions. I've recorded them in my iphone. That will kick start my planning. Kekeke...

Yes, having steamboat. Then thinking must have some ready cooked food for the lil ones who may not be able to sit &amp; wait.

We are having it on Fri to accomodate my 2 SILs (since they'd need to eat with their HB's family - it'd also mean we can join my mum on the eve, yipee!)

mercsboy : Thanks for asking... i m still sick, but at least i can rest my throat today.. was shouting at my xiao bao bei yestd... hehe... he's oso not well, then keep running to the kitchen to play water... alamak... in the end i take cane, he got angry, cry &amp; cry... then after crying, came &amp; hugged me... i dunno want to laugh or cry... haha...

EmQ : If your maid can cook, can prepare some fried bee hoon or tang hoon stuffs, with some finger food... so that the kids hv sth to eat b4 the steamboat starts... otherwise, can order stuffs like KFC... but the qty must be small, else defeat the purpose of steamboat. =) now that i m typing this, i m imagining how will our reunion turn out this year... hehe...

My gal had 3 birthday cakes on her 6th b'day too. 1 for her Church Kindy celebration, 1 for PCF Kindy celebration &amp; 1 more at home! hehehe..

ni : Happy Lunar B'day to Kyan! How are you celebrating for him? maybe i shld take leave to celebrate for caden too.. hehe...

gelato: Take care yeah. I also battled with sore throat the whole of last week. Then now it's a throaty cough with phlegm. But certainly better. Weekdays I try hard to tong, so I dun miss work. Then weekends, I try harder to tong, so I dun mess up the kids/family schedule... so cham manz...

My maid can cook normal stuffs only, I hope the reunion dinner can be with more traditional, meaningful stuffs. Kekeke.. thank God my FIL is another fantastic cook. I will most likely plan everything, then leave the cooking to him &amp; maid... kekeke..

I'm sure your reunion dinner will be a happy family time. It would definitely be fun to have all 3 kiddos at the reunion table, now that #3 can start eating some things. I'm looking forward to that too!

*the other day, my neighbour's 3 kids were at my place &amp; my MIL commented, imagine u have 5 kids, we'd faint... but I was thinking to myself, imgaine I have 5 kids, I'd so love the joy of watching the kids play lor... I honestly wouldn't mind... well, but I guess that's my MIL's hint that she has enough of grands... hahaha...*

EmQ : Thanks. I know what you mean, we're in the same predicament. haha...

As for the menu, i dunno what's traditional, but can share with you, what my MIL normally cook... braised chicken with tang hoon, pig's stomach soup, curry chicken, wu xiang, steamed fish, fried prawns with the flour coating (dunno what's the name of this dish)... hmmm what else? i think can include fat choy - the vegs that look like black hair...

EmQ: The traditional food are usually these stuffs. But please note these items are usually use it for the Chinese prayers also.

1) Friend Tang Hoon
2) White chicken. (don't how is it called. But it is the white type not the fried type)
3) Abalone
4) The hair thingy with cabbage. I think they called it don't know what choy...
5) Deep fried Wu Xiang.
6) Roast Pork
7) Steamed Sea bass or that CNY fish
8) Black fungus with something else that I can't remember.
9) If you are a hakka, there will be the Hakka yam coins.
10) Peppery pig stomach soup
11) scallop with asparagus (I can't remember if this is part of the CNY dish)

I think that's about all.

EmQ: I have the same thought as you. Never like going to restaurant for CNY reunion dinner. All food is well-prepared in advance and you have a limited time to finish the food as they need the table for the next timing. Damn stressful...

Hi EMQ,

Our family have a few kiddo eating out is always a challange.

This coming CNY my Dad had ordered take away Reunion dishes from our favourite resturant and we will do it at home

For take away they will do special packaging to keep the food warm.

Another sugesstion for you.

ann01jan: let me know if you have not gotten the contact from mercs.
it's really fast and easy, just have to get down to do it. I also waited for so long. everytime relatives with kids come to my house, they will close my windows! so finally done. the fixing of grilles only took 1 plus hour. good and efficient.
u can try the bulk discount lah. but the price is very cheap already.

Emq: I receive this email for seafood. they have free delivery, so save you some trouble on marketing.

Chinese New Year is round the corner, our annual seafood sale at ridiculous prices is up again!

We wish to invite your family, your friends and YOU to our factory for seafood products all at wholesale prices (Guarantee at least 15% cheaper than Supermarkets)!!!

This time it will be up every weekend from 16th Jan 2010 - 11th Feb 2010 (9am - 6pm)

- Camel Nuts and a well-known otah are just beside us!

Factory Location:
Blk 27 Defu Lane 10 #01-176 (Hougang Area)
Singapore 539208
Map : http://www.streetdirectory.com/asia_travel/travel/travel_id_1/travel_site_89290/

A ‘ONE-STOP’ place for all your SEAFOOD needs!

Our products include:
Chinese Pomfret
Grouper Fish Fillet
Scallops (USA / Canada
Premium Sea Cucumber
Shark Fins
Crab Meat
Tiger Prawns
Pink Leg Prawns
Steamboat Products (Tofu fishcake, sotong balls, lobster balls)
Tempura and Breaded Products and many more!

Seafood Bundle

We will be offering free delivery services with orders above $120 / delivery charges of $10 applies to orders below $100.

(Last delivery Order to be place by the 10th Feb)

We ONLY accept Cash upon delivery.

Price is subject to change without prior notice.

Please feel free to call me at 6287 0255 / 9005 0948 for any enquires.

You can also fax or email your order to 6288 7477 or [email protected]

(Please include the delivery address and contact number)

Have a great year ahead!

And we hope to see YOU soon!

Tian An 添安
TheSeafoodCompany Pte Ltd
www.theseafoodcompany.com.sg

kamy: already given ann contact to the contractor. think she arrange for quote liao..
dont think got further discount already for bulk la...
my friend just did hers, but i went see the work not as good leh, abit crooked then the balcony the contractor didnt add another reinforcement for her..mine did, one more bar, cos he scared will flimsy..

my colleague, who is very pro at taking pics, saw my Pigeon FTG bag, asked me if that is a camera bag.... does it look like 1? hehehe...

mercsboy : haha... i m very surprised he asked me that, cos' he can be a professional photographer wor... his camera bag is almost the size of a laptop bag lor...

the FTG is very useful, can keep for outings. =)

BBYang: Thanks for the suggestion. Good to consider... esp if FIL suddenly 'fly my kite'... kekeke...

Kamy: Thanks for the lobang. Will take it down too. I took down the Fassler one that mercs (or someone else) posted earlier too.

Ultraman: Hahaha.. great minds think alike... yup, so I always find excuses when FIL wants to eat with his bro in some resturant.. kekeke...
normal dinners are fine la, but reunion is a no no lol...

gelato &amp; Ultraman: Thanks for more sharing on the dishes...

gelato: At least your MIL 'takes charge' lol... I thought such things usually handled by the matriach of the family lol... my PILs are like 'retired' since HB &amp; I got married lol... I machiam matriach like that... kekeke...

EmQ: so you guys are eating at home i guess. For my case, MIL will cook as my FIL will return from HK. My mother will also cook too. Now I'm thinking whether i should cook also for just 3 of us. Maybe steam another purée for M and this is his food for the reunion dinner. Lol

gelato: thank thanks! just had a fun and fufilling day off with kyan on his lunar bday! went for CNY Photoshoot, den taka shopping, with kyan's gf! haha

Ultraman: Yup, if I host, it has gotta be at home ba... I hate the idea of eating out for reunion dinners lol...

Come to think of it, I will need to go &amp; buy more bowls, plates &amp; cutleries. I've been living with a set for 6 since we got married. Back then, we were certain we do not want to live with his parents... &amp; we dun think we would have more than 4 kids... kekeke... well, guess things changes...

Nice! but if both your mum &amp; MIL will cook, where will you guys go? Or would that be over different days?

When there were 3 of us, I find it too 'lonely' for reunion dinner. Then it became 5 (including maid) but we couldn't manage on our own. &amp; now, it's a real crowd, big enough for reunion dinner.

Hi mommies n daddy, thanks for the enlightenment. though my mom has told us not to get another cake for bb actual day, but we still go ahead with the idea but its an ice cream cake instead. she kinda fine with it cos bb did not get to taste the cake earlier when hb said chocolate cake too heaty. this time we got a strawberry flavour and bb kinda liked the cold feeling. haha..

only shame thing was both hb n i did not manage to take leave today (bb bday) cos too many pple on leave this week. sigh.. the least we did was taking him out for dinner.

Good Morning... the sky is sooooo dark....looks like it's going to rain...

EmQ : Take pride in what you're doing! 能者多劳!hehe... My MIL got no chance to pass the baton to her DIL cos her DIL (yours truly) cannot cook, &amp; dunno how to entertain... The only help i gave was to wash the dishes... nowadays it's the maid's job liao... haha... hopefully my BIL find her another DIL that fulfils her wishes.. =D

ni : where did you all go for the photoshoot? must make bookings in advance? i saw chere's &amp; sperzz's pics in FB... very cute!

Gwen : birthday or no birthday doesn't really matter to bb at this stage, i guess... don't feel bad, the consistent bonding is more important. =D