(2009/01) January 2009 MTBs

Dink: That's different. For her, a native of Batam, it's considered 'going home', so it is alright. I dun quite understand their system, but I think it's something like China's. I think they need to control the movement of people within their own country. Hence, only 'natives' can live in, find a job, buy a house, etc in their respective areas. If you are a 'native' of another area, you will need special 'license' (permission) to do these. To a certain extend, they are treated like 'foreigners'. My Indon is from 'Cilacap', not sure if it's same region as Batam/Bintan. If not, will need to apply for visa? Basically, I was told its like 'coffee money' la.

Kelly: I've no problems bringing Indons (or Filos) to M'sia. I think the problem is if they are 'visiting' their own countries. I was told Filos who return to Philippines need special permits before they can leave the country again. If this was not prepared in advance, they would be stuck at the customs.

As for Indons, they can return to their hometown but not other Indonesian islands.

shyan received her first 1st birthday present from her gruncles and grunties... its a fisher price "laugh and learn" learining home. the dad took 30mins to assemble everything so she can play with it. she's so happy now :D

sperzz: i also haerd that there is this medical hall at serangoon garden there also selling super cheap milk powder. been telling hb abt it but he refused to walk/drive over there to take a look (its just 5mins away from his mum's place). so u help me get 2tins of gainIQ and 1pack of comfort dry ok? thanks ah. as for payment, just transferred to you. i added in the high-tea $20 and minus out damien t-shirt $10.

and hor, one happy thing to share: just received baby bonus!! yeah!

Autumn Leaf : sorry to hear that. Babe, you're PR now? You can go look for those job agency. Eg. kelly services for jobs. Meanwhile, look for someone who can help u with ur kids.

Autumn Leaf, sorry to hear about this. Do you have family in Singapore? Actually, if you are close to your family and they are in Aust, perhaps you can consider going back to Aust, never mind the maintenance and the house. In the long run, it may be better for you to be able to rely on your support system.

Anyway, now I guess you need to think about your PR, because I assume it's sponsored by your husband and if you get divorced, then your PR may not survive and you may have to apply again (in which case you may need to find a job)? Better find out more from Immigration.

If there's anything I can do to help, don't hesitate to contact me. Try Facebook (I may not come in here regularly).

Chin up, woman. You're a strong lady. Hugs.

Good morning ladies, rainy thursday!

Autumnleaf, sorry to hear that. It's tough but stay strong and stay positive for your 2 very adorable kids. Is there anyway to salvage the marriage? Try counselling? I agree with pinkie, if your network of support is in Aussie, not a bad idea to bring up the kids there. It's less stressful and it'll give you the support you need too. Sorry that I do not have any job lobangs, but if I do, will let you know. You take good care alright! *big hug*

morning ladies...

mgteo/kelly: no no...i am not going to wean kyler off pacifier for now...i need my sleep and i do anything to shut him up. anyway he is not really very addictive to pacifier, he can sleep without it...just that sometimes when he fuss, i will just stuff the thing in..keke...
prob i will wean him when he will understand me ba..

mgteo: i pump twice only...but really stopping soon, maybe another 2 weeks, will need to stop before my holiday lor...

EMQ: yes...data cable for iphone..but i realize the car charger seems to be more worth leh..cos come with the charger and the cable too...so the cable can take out and use at other place..

data cable is $11 not $12 anyway...

autumnleaf: sorry to hear about that...your own family is in australia? perhaps u should consider going back there, at least u got some support..
u are a strong woman...take care ya

Anyone knows the govt subsidy for playgroup? Isit $300? I just realize my baby's childcare charges $900 per month for playgroup, even more expensive then cherie hearts. Sigh

autumn: i'm so sorry to hear about that. Be strong for your two beautiful kids. THey need you now. I totally agree with Precious and Pinkie. If your family is in Australia, you need their support now. If you don't mind relief teaching, you can apply with MOE and leave your names with the schools around your area. They will call you if they need teachers. But of course, this can't be a long term solution for you; relief teaching as there will not be fixed salary. They will only call you if they need you

Precious/mercs: i tot that playgroup onwards should be cheaper than infant care

kelly: ya...my side the playgroup is cheaper than infant care...i am paying $350 for infant care (after subsidy) but playgroup will be $220/250 (after subsidy)

Autumn leaf: sorry to hear abt that. Take care and be strong for your 2 beautiful kids. And I agree that you should go ahead with your lil gal’s celebration. Yes, should not let this matter affect her childhood. Maybe you want to try marriage counseling? Really no way to salvage the marriage? He really has decided? Or it is a moment of folly???

Precious: I think infant care subsidy is $600, childcare is $300. Your IFC is Agape ah? More exp den playgrp? I am also considering the option of putting back into playgrp when kyan is 18 mths. Getting more sticky to me. Buay tahan!

Mercs: I suppose the cable/ car charger are not the original ones? I dun have a problem with that though. Will check with HB abt car charger vs cable. Good to have a car charger too, cos when the kids start playing with it, my batt can go flat. Can u PM me your hp no. Sending #2 to CC now (1st time I'll be driving alone with her) hope she's ok... or rather, hope I'm ok... kekeke..

ni: my SIL son hor..although now go IFC, but still stick alot to her leh...when go relatives' house also dont allow people to carry...sure cry one..
stick to u better than dont stick rite...kyler cant be bothered with me one...everyday send him to ifc, i havent bye bye with him...he AUTO bye bye with me leh...

Jolene: How's your preparation coming along? I've received my banners, ordered cake & balloons & settled catering. But we are still working on her video presentation & the door gift! I've delegated movie production to HB & know what, in the end, he waited for me to select the photos! He thinks only technical aspects... sigh - man.

Good morning all, just wanted to share Ryan's photoshoot shots:

http://www.annielarue.com

Enter website, click on 'client' on top. Password (below) is 'Ryan'. There will be a slideshow of his shots playing.

The gallery will stay there for viewing until we choose the shots we want. Happy viewing!

Kelly, thanks. hub thinks too expensive already... haiz.. maybe just book Nirwana Suite will do...

Autumn leaf, sorry to hear this...You are pretty and young... stay strong and positive...

Autummleaf: sorry to hear that this happen. U have to be really strong for the sake of yr 2 kiddos. U should go ahead with the party. All kids deserved a one-yr old party, big or small scale. U really have to stay cool & explore yr alternatives.

Autumnleaf: Sorry to hear that. Stay calm & a cool head so that you can think & explore options with a clear head. Maybe you should speak to a counselor to know what your rights. Also, try to see if the situation can be salvaged. I am sure you have some hints prior to this news. Try to talk to your husband again because you have every right to know what happened and what made him change heart and mind.

Men are fickle-minded when it comes to the affair of the heart. Maybe he was just impulsive. I have a few friends with similar situation, but eventually the husbands turn around.

Be strong, all of us here are with you, and let us know if you need any help. I will be glad to lend a listening ear, and within my means to assist. take care.

autumnleaf: sorry to hear that...agreed with miyuki, you're young and pretty...is the stupid man give up you and your 2 lovely child...be strong and positive...

pinkie: ryan is so cute in the photos, look like you...

autumn leaf: sorry to hear that. stay strong and calm and think through your options ok. Family support is very impt. have you told your parents? are they able to come over to help?

miyuki: I just stayed in Nirwana Villa (banyu biru villa). Not bad as it has kitchen facilities. but I find it a bit overpriced. the villa is double storey but the ground floor is not air-conditioned, so can be quite warm in the day. I think angsana villa looks better... but not sure if they have kitchen tho. but the pool is nice. restaurants are very expensive! I spent like ave S$100 per meal for 4. so ex! when r u going?

Ni.. cool kekeke must be lots of fun eh.. any pics to post?
mine is jan 12, but celebrate on 9th.

Mommies: are you all still feeding milk via bottle or beaker/cup?

Mercs: hey, I rem you mentioned that you installed the window grille some time ago. The workmanship and price ok? I haven't done mine and have to do it really soon! can I get the contact from you? thanks!

Any mummies have any good window grille contractor to recommend?

kamy: yes...i installed window grille few mths back...workmanship and price ok for me...
mine is abit ex cos the stupid balcony is semi circle in shape...and i chose white aluminium so i need to top up abit more...
u want i find the contact for u...its at home...
or u give me yr contact, i asked the guy to call u for appointment

mercs: thanks! I also want to install white aluminium, hope it won't look odd against my bronze window panes. argh..
no worries. you can give me the contact when you find it. I have your number. I sms you later hor. Thanks!!!

xpink, the chinese medical hall name is

Jintaitang
10 Ubi Cresent #01-50/51 Ubi Techpark

Blk445 Pasir Ris Dr 6 #01-28

Blk118 rivervale Dr6 #01-28

Blk735 Pasir Ris St72 #01-354

5 Tampines St32 #01-06 Tampines Mart

USA Grad Student Research with Singapore Parents - Quick Survey

I am a graduate student at the University of St. Thomas in the United States (Minnesota), currently participating in a study abroad course in Singapore at the National Institute of Education, Nanyang Technical University.

For my doctorate program I am conducting a research study in which I am requesting your assistance. The study is to learn more about couple's relationship as they take on the role of parenthood. Since this website is designed for parents, I thought you and/or someone you knew may be interested in helping me with this project. I am hoping to compare my data from USA parents to Sinagpore parents.

This may or may not apply to you. If you doesn't, please forward this to people you know so it can reach other first-time parents who may want to participate. Thanks for your help!

Do you meet the following criteria? Do you know someone who does?

* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to two years?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?
* Do you want to share information that could help other couples transition into parenthood?

If you answered YES to these questions, and are 18 years of age or older, you are eligible to participate in this parenting research study. This survey is being conducted through an online questionnaire and is estimated to only take 5-10 minutes to complete.

To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.
http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

If you have questions about this study, e-mail [email protected] or contact Dr. Kurt Gehlert at the University of St. Thomas Graduate School of Professional Psychology at (651) 962-4656 or the University of St. Thomas Institutional Review Board at (651) 962-5341.

Participation in this survey is completely voluntary. All information will be kept confidential. Thank you for your consideration.

Robyn Maley

Autumnleaf:Be strong for your 2 lovely children.yeah,do carry on the celebration..am sure u will emerge out of this stronger. =)

bbstarlet:me also enrolled zonghan in littleneurotree.. but will be in different branch from you i guess..

Autumn, feel so sad for you. Really no way to salvage the marriage? Stay strong and take care!

cherry, kindi wont accept govt subsidy.

daymoon, LNT really good? I've one branch near my place leh maybe I'll try out first.

EmQ, so fast you've settled 7788 for the party? I still haven start but not kan jiong cos it'll be just a small party with my family.

Morning! TGIF ah...

Mercs, ni, kelly, thanks for the info. My CC, PG is cheaper then IFC, but didn't expect agape PG to be more expensive then Cherie hearts PG, a difference of $150. Gonna shop around for alternative PG soon. Sigh....

Daymoon, giggler, do they have trial at LNT? The last time
I called, they do not offer trial for our babies age group.

Mercs, your CC is very cheap! I am paying $600 for IFC, and will pay $600 for PG if I continue the same school..price after subsidy too.

kamy: my windows are bronze colour also...i dont think it look funny...white aluminium sort of brighten up my house...
but one thing, its easier to get dirty..
i forgotten to jot down the number yday...
i think i also have yr number...i get him to call u then..

precious bb: ya the cc is quite cheap..i wonder why? perhaps cos there is smaller and typical neighbourhood centre? and there also got teachers from china? standard lower ba??

mornign ladies,

was busy yesterday.. hehe. as i was on leave..

Autumn, be strong for ur kids, they need you. i think u need to talk to a lawyer soon and i think they can help better.

pinkie, the photos looks lovely..

this weekend is Ryan bday and i am getting excited.. i finished packign all the goodies bag for the kids.. i still hv not done up his photo slide.. :p

morning mummies! This week went past so quickly. Today I managed to wear my fav black pants which I was not able to fit in earlier after givng birth to #2. Yay!!

I just started to take a weight loss drug, hopefully it works

Cherry: waaaa... you become junky ahhhhh LOL .. just kidding.. yeah, please share so all of us here are your junky pals

Gals: Playgroup also got subsidy ahh? I tot only IFC? Does this mean those private ones like Gymboree etc also entitled?

ni, not nice to advertise it here but need to get it from doctor. I just started yesterday, heard it will target fats at tummy area first, then face. Exactly where i need it