(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="aa00aa">monyetnakal
Your bb so cute!

monyetnakal - Your Jon is so cute!!!
Ermm... but that's a lot of shots there. How many shots for $45 for the xmas setting? And how many shots for the CNY setting? The studio provides the xmas hat and horns? So cute.... Jon's outfit is also nice nice....

Re: PIS battery pack - abit weak lor. I tried once at home before deciding if I shld bring it out to pump when shopping, realise the motor slows down after 15min, like stuck at 2nd gear when it shld be at 4th gear. You can probably increase the suction to get the same effect.

Shag, now me thinking what my girl shld wear to match the setting.

whitepaper - Haha.... don't worry abt CH being chubby lar... babies are meant to be chubby!! My gal also has double chin :p. Now that CH drinks 70ml per feed, he may lose some weight. But how much did you prepare for him? Rmemeber you mentioned he drinks 170ml? so you threw away the remaining 100ml?

Re: warming BM, I use 85 degree water from airpot to warm. Is this too hot? Any cooler will take me 30min and hv to change water 2nd time to really warm the milk leh. Any mum here using electric warmer? Is it faster?

everafter - I only bought extra breastshields, so that I don't always need to sterilise the same set everyday at home. I am a pumping mum you see
. When going back to work, may not hv to time to clean and sterilise after each pump also, so it's good to hv spare sets on hand lor. I did buy extra valves and membranes. Hv not used them yet. And yes, so expensive to buy from local stores.

xinying - What time will you be going to SL?

Thanks mummies.... I love the his xmas photos also

Here is the CNY .. no smile, i think he's not really comfortable sitting. No time to do any editing yet.

2074613.jpg
2074614.jpg

Just back from pump session 2.

monyetnakal,
Your boy alot of hair. Did u take the CNY settings? Share pic leh.

FeatherG,
i latch baby on when i'm home. Only pump when in office at 11.30am and 4pm. Earlier stages, i pump 1 side while baby suckle other side to increase supply. It's difficult at fist. Cardle hold baby, when he sucking well, then pump other side.

Surf, for xmas seting both hats and the santa bibs are provided by SL. So I just dress him in white singlet and white short. I took total 4 photos, Do some editing so may look more :p.

Warming BM:
I read in the book (forget what book is it) they say that we can train baby to take room temp milk (no need warm as long as it is not cold), so can save time in warming the EBM. Dun really tried it yet coz dun know whether will hv effects on baby.

Pump Sterilize:
Even now at home I did not sterilize every pump. On average sterilize 2 x per day, pump 7x per day so only sterilize after 3-4 pump. The baby seems ok until now.

xinying, talking about hair, recently my boy hair dropping
. especially the one at the side, can see one stripe of botak, luckily didnt show on photos.

Today MIL come to my hse, she is talking care of baby Jo, thats why today free to browse internet. Usually dun hv much time thats y very seldom reply the forum.

Joanne - letting go of the shields at $19/pair. If I am not wrong, local stores sell ard $20 for 1pc!! So expensive. Does not come with connectors as I forgot to order that the last time with the pair :p. You can PM me if you keen. BTW, you didn't activate your PM function?

monyetnakal - Oh, SL provide the bib as well...
... hehe... good good... then I no need think of outfits to buy for the Xmas shoot. Just dress my girl in simple attire can liao. Probably not taking CNY shoot since can't seem to find anything in the cupboard that matches the theme.

Oh, u also a pumping mum like me? My bb had diarrheoa during 2nd month. Brought her to PD, she says everything also must steam sterilise *faint*. Either I buy 8 bottles or I steam sterilise my one and only bottle 8 times. Other than sterilsiing bottles after each use, I try to sterilise pump set after 2-3 use lor. Extra pump sets will come in handy in my case.

Xinying - oh, but will be crowded in afternoon yah? What are the shooting hours?

jetudes,
I'm looking for a preloved silk sling for new ones you can actually get it from the site jollyhoppy provided...

The Bjorn carrier is good to use but can be a hassle if you want to 'pass' the baby to your hubby or vice versa as we need to 'unhook' the carrier, carry out the baby, hook the carrier and put back the baby...it's also bulky to stuff it in bag when not in use...it can also be quite warm for baby or maybe just for my boy as he gets hot easily...

For those who undergo CS, do u know when we can take seafood? 3 mths after the operation? If so, tat means this CNY, i cant take the good food...

monyetnakal
your boy so cute!!! his eyes... wooooooo~~~!!!

mousebb
hahahahaha... okie... will tell CH next time when he grows up that Auntie mousebb saved him from torture by mommy who wants him to lose weight!

surf
Had been wasting alot of 100mls of milk yesterday lor, till I gave up and gave him 70ml only at each feed. He like go back to 1 week old, when he drank only 60ml... hahahahahahahaha... so wierd... and got alot of excess milk now...
warming milk with 85 degrees celcius water is fine...

<font color="aa00aa">Whitepaper
Haha! You so cute lah.
For the last few days after her 6-in-1 jab, wenmin's appetite seems to improve. For the last 3 days, she broke her records and was taking around 745ml daily. BUT BUT today seems like her drinking habit is back to normal liao. From morning until now, she only drank 300ml++ nia.

I suspect I may have taken the wrong food cos yesterday wenxuan LS 3 times and wenmin pooed twice...

mousebb

Wenmin might have passed her growth spurt, which typically last 2-3 days (in some cases, up to 1 week).

Taken the wrong food? Can you recall what you ate?

monyetnakal,
the santa romper is ur own one or SL one? ur son got alot of hair leh.. veri cute

feather,
my son sleep in sarong in day time y?

r&amp;r mum,
cny lunch? when?

featherg,
You cannot be the one to feed bb using bottle. Must be someone else. Also you may like to try using NUK's latex teat. It worked for jill's baby.

R&amp;R's mummy

I'll be working by then leh... where will the lunch be? If I can, I'll join in, but without baby lah, coz after lunch go back work

xinying, no news abt your NYC yet; they sometimes dont reply email that fast. Yea, I did 3 settings in total (1 for Emms, 1 for Izzy and 1 for the 2 of them) &amp; i took 5 extra unedited shots. sigh, so silly, forgot my own reasoning of "if it is more than $100, might as well take their LBS package!"

chris lin, i think your hubby complain cos he wait so long.. heh.. luckily my hubby out of town!

re: Medela membranes,
how often do we need to change these membranes? Mine stays quite well-fitted to the valve, not flapping open or anything..

babe99, to truly know what is the temperature is your office fridge, think you will have to use a thermometer. But could it be that, alot of pple is opening the fridge very often, in that case, the fridge is not able to get cold.

purpleangel, been busy these 2 days after Emms' Nursery ended at 11am, so didnt manage to go down to Broie du jour, maybe tmr..

Chua Wan Chuen, Mums n Babes at United Sq allows u to try the Bjorn before buying.

monyetnakal, Jon looks so cute! Smiling nicely leh.. oooh, the CNY ones a tad bit stern-looking. U should see Izzy's xmas ones, downright pouting.

whitepaper
no lah.. wont get 1 fridge for personal use cos not sure if will BF for long. Will try to tahan at least 6 mths .

essanna
ya, hb also says bring thermometor to chk. Will try to search for my thermometor. keke.

featherG
mine, breastfeed and sleeps in sarong during day time. Nite time, we let him sleep in his cot.

i started seafood a while liao.
Stopped coz bfing, worried Marcus may be allergic.
So far ok. I'm gonna start taking peanuts!
Screw my gynae! Haven't had peanuts since feb!

xinying,
Thank! Got your PM! Think the color looks weird on my boy leh...paiseh I'm fussy as I bought the current one and regret about the color, thus don't wish to regret again...=p

cheerbear, babe99
i am wondering if i should let bb sleep in sarong. BB only sleep well when carried or sling.

xinying,
thanks for the advice on timings. R u TBF bb.If pump one side how to combine the milk then freeze is it.

BTW, my hubby tries bottle feed, my gal also resist quite a bit/. already using NUK teat.. how

Xinying
Wah, actually to know if Marcus has allregy to peanuts, you should eat some now. Just get prepared. If nothing happens, then good ah. That's what I do.

Grobag
Anyone knows if Mothercare sells them?

Jill
Thanks!! Hee, you are always there to help me look out for swim diapers.

Monyetnakal:
Your baby is adorable,even when he don't smile
Love his eyes.

Elchwong:
I don't mind a 2nd hand sling actually, coz I already have one at home. But guess its easier to buy a new one than to search around.

The Bjorn is more for my husband to use. Hmm.. but from what you say its really a bit troublesome, and my boy is scared of heat too. Essanna thanks, I'll try make a trip to try out the Bjorn.

Peanuts:
I been eating lots and lotsa of peanuts. Just ate peanut candy too.. But what are the symptoms of allergy, if any? *touchwood*

All of you got nice studio pics to post, but I can only post one that I took on my own, didn't bring Kaijie for any studio shots.
2075522.jpg

Then har, a very embarassing qn to ask, but i need to find out, any of you mummies feel pain during s*x?

Wan Chuen
Peanuts allergy is one of the worst. If one is allergic to it, and he consumes just a teeny weeny bit of it, it can kill him.

xinying
pls put marcus in! its a size 3 pouch. he shd feel happy inside cos quite long

re:posts
so many today. now v gong after cmg bk fm JB... eyes very heavy... wanna slp ....

re:peanuts
too so much i dunno if bb is allergic or not, but i notice she sneezes and rubs her eyes way too often ...

wan chuen
at least u started... gosh... i had yet too... no time and too tired. i missed it though, but yes, i tried it once at 6 weeks after delivery and it is painful.

<font color="green">hi monyetnakal,
i'm using PIS with battery at the ofc. usually i hide in the executive toilet. so tiring to stand for 30-40mins. so far i pump 4 times already. still got battery. don't know how long it will last though cause just started last monday.</font>

re: peanuts
oops, my gynae is way relaxed i think. I have been having peanut butter on my bread almost every other day during my pregnancy!

hmm, maybe i should stop seafood. actually i only eat prawns once in a while.

the other thing that I was told not to eat is oranges.

essanna
Why oranges cannot ah? I have been eating. One night I ate two. I think it's bad. Anyway, I am also thinking of cutting down caffeine. I think all these cause baby tummy upsets.

I have also been eating prawns.

karen,
actually i forgot why. Anybody knows? My CL told me not to eat as long as i am bf.. not sure if it is the same reason as not giving any citrus food to babies under one. Citrus food may cause rash &amp; digestive upset due to acidity.

See this link http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/forbiddenbabyfood.htm - but these are really food that <font color="119911">babies should not eat</font>

According to Kellymom, there are NO foods that a mother should avoid simply because she is breastfeeding. http://www.kellymom.com/nutrition/mom/mom-foods.html

Chua Wan Chuen, Mothercare also let u try bjorn before buying. actually i regret buying one cos feel that bb can b in it for only few mths. he's now 6.2kg liao..i think its up to 12kg. But will i b able to tahan his weight? *Question mark*

Whitepaper, i remb u mentioned ur PD said something abt bb vomitting thickend saliva is ok? Am i right? Bryan kept vomitting alot of this (thickend saliva with some undigest milk)and my mum says he got sore throat and that makes him uncomfortable.