(2008/10) Oct 2008

good morning mummies

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">WISH ALL OCTOBER THREAD MUMMIES, DADDIES &amp; BABIES A MERRY CHRISTMAS!!</font></font>

Morning mummies...

Mummies using Avent bottles...wat teats are you all using now? I'm using the No.2 ones but my boy seems very frustrated when drinking...most of the times he'll 'suck, suck, suck, cry, suck, suck, suck, cry'...wonder is it the size of teats or what...

Hi pinkimum,

is ur blocked duct better? if not, can try to go to TMC parentcraft. they can help u clear... my bbies unable to latch on and i have pump n often have blocked ducts. if really painful, i will visit parentcraft and they will help me clear. one session can settle liaoz

Any mummies got milk bags to sell? I'm running out liaoz

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">Dear Mummies &amp; babies
Have a Blessed &amp; Merry Christmas!
</font></font>

Have A Blessed Christmas to All Octobers mummies &amp; family !! ...

2010649.jpg

Morning

Dimpletot,
I don't wana stop my milk supply. Just want to have just enough and no need to pump out.

Jenny,
I think my ducts finally cleared! But my breast is still pain when I press on that area. So not sure is it due to too hard and too much massage or still got some ducts not cleared? Yeah, I always question myself on breastfeeding when I have this problem. But as you said, it is for the boy and when I see him suckling happily, seems that it is all worth it.

lh_jyc,
Yeah, feeling much better now. I thought if you pump, then will not get blocked ducts. I went parentcraft before, and it was so pain that I was tearing when the consultant massaged for me! Anyway, I am overseas now, and did not manage to find any lactation consultant here.

Since the birth of my boy, I have not bought anything for myself except a pair of jeans cause I can't fit into my old one. I feel so deprived. Beside no time to shop with the boy around, I also don't know what to buy cause I feel my tummy is so big and flabby, there is no nice and nursing-friendly top. And since I am not working, most of the time I am at home, so don't need so much clothings? But it feels kinda sian.

It's a nice and wet day today!! hehehe..
Here's wishing all Mummies and Babies and Daddies a Merry Merry X'mas!!!

Monyetnakal
Your bb very chubby! When is his DOB? Don't look like an Oct bb, can sit up so upright =)

Central Mummies
Seems like most mummies can't make it on the 26th..sign.. was still hoping to meet up before 2009. I'm afraid i will need to cancel the gathering at my place liao...

<font color="ff0000">elchwong,

Hi, Skylar has been using the No.3 teat since she was 2 months old, she is a very impatient gal especially when she is hungry cos the lesser hole teats can't give her the milk fast enough.

Hi Freda, my baby DOB 19 Oct .. He can seat because the back of the sofa support him :p.

For central mummies gathering.. I prefer in Jan 09, may be 5th or 6th Jan?

icylemon, lili, Gionna,
My boy's 2months old...guess I can start him on No.3 teat since he's a very impatient boy and I think my milk flow when I direct latch is faster than te No.2 teat...shall get No.3 later as it's frustrating to feed and coax every feeding when using bottle...

Halo mummies

Wishing everyone a Merry Christmas and Happy new year.

Little Doggie and Jenny

I am using the silicon teat. So far, no leak leh. Seems both of u using the latex one and it leaks. Y not try using the silicon teat.

babe99,

haha....the reason y i using nuk's teat is becos my bb seems 2 prefer latex one nowadays, cos softer then silicon one. previously using only avent one- no. 2.

jenny,
so looks like we got 2 go buy nuk bottle liao...sighz

<font color="red">hi mummies!! merry christmas!!

<font color="green">pinkimum,
me too. i seldom get to sleep in the afternoon. unless i put baby on my chest to sleep then can sleep for a bit. but cannot do anything. my house is a mess now cause most of my time is spent on carrying baby and trying to put her to sleep.

freda, lili, ppp, littlealmond,
i cannot make it before the 29th as my dad wants to go shopping to buy some stuffs for my nephew and nieces.

pinkimum and jenny, i had blogged ducts when breastfeeding my firstborn last time too. I consulted lactation consultant and she taught me how to massage. massage or do hot compress only before you pump or feed. u prob know where ur block duct is from the red/not red lump on your boob that hurts when u press it, so massage that lump, then slowly massage in a straight line from that lump to your aerola. than hold the aerola in between ur fingers and massage gently. idea is to clear the entire passage of the milk ducts for the milk to flow freely. jenny, ur boobs hard even after pumping and no milk come out probably coz the duct is blocked so u have to clear it first like what i said above. it could also be because its so engorged the pump cannot "latch" properly to the breast. so when u are doing the massage above, ur breast may soften a bit and some milk may leak out, then ur pump or baby's mouth can latch better. u try?

pinkimum, i latch on baby and only fed bottle 3 times so far, she is 8.5weeks old. i dun generally pump after latching her. the reason why ppl pump after latching is :
1. when they need to store milk for outings, when mommy not around, when mommy going back to work
2. when going back to work soon, so gotta establish pumping schedule so that boobs know when to produce milk and get boobs used to the pump.
3. to increase supply when supply low.
4. to prepare for those episodes of growth spurt when they suddenly increase their milk demand
5. for me, i pump once a day, usually after the morning feed, coz I wish to maintain a slightly higher supply than what my baby needs, and also at night sometimes i drink DOM, so i need a spare bottle in case she wakes up unscheduled.

If you are pumping to ease engorgement, than you do not really need to pump after feeding. if you do that, you are telling ur body u need more milk than what ur baby is feeding. so natually ur body produce even more milk, more and more at next feed and it continues to blocked or be painful. perhaps u can try massaging before pumping or feeding like what i said above, but if u pump, pump only to ease engorgement. then slowly daily pump less and less. until ur ss is just right for baby, and perhaps a bit more.

hope this helps....

breastfeeding mommies, do jia you and dun be disheartened. its tiring but its worth it...

MERRY X'MAS to everybody

currently baby seline &amp; i r at indonesia, back to my hometown for 1wk liao, this weekend hb ll cum to fetch me bk &amp; then soon goin to back to work le.. xian

hows everyone? sure busying shopping for x'mas

wishing u all have a wonderful peace night &amp; enjoyable x'mas

any mummies alrdy back to work? how do u manage to express milk during office hours? mind to share?

i m so unbear to leave my baby &amp; go to work, worry 1st few days i ll cry when leaving her in the morning

hi bbgoh, i will try to pump every day at work at 11.30am and 3.30pm. coz in the morning before i leave i will pump, and when reach home i will latch. so the stimulation is every 4 hours once i start work.... hope to get a meeting room. i was able to get one most times with my first one, but now office less mtg room sliaoz, so crossing my fingers when i go back in feb. i am using Avent manual pump, so its easy. bring the pump in a lock lock box, assembled. pump oredi, wsh with baby detergent, rinse with boiling water, assemable for next session. put bottle of milk in my own mini bar i bought for this purpose coz my office fridge super dirty.

Merry Xmas MOMMIES and BABIES!

lili, ppp, littlealmond, monyetnakal, jenny,Freda, hehehe i dun stay near TB lah. i am asking coz i wld wld really love to join you girls during gatherings. TB is very far from me in fact. hehee. looking fwd to join u all next time soon....

jenny, yes i know, sigh...its really hard when u are nursing baby and the big one is crying for u. u only have one you...cannot split into two. so tough....i realy dunno how does moms handle 3.....all must be super well behaved and not jealous type?

Why is everybody wishing Merry Christmas? I went to ask my husband if today is Christmas. My gal said,"Oh, bcos someone first said 'merry christmas', so others follow."

Jenny,
I once pumped at 3am, some time last week. The result was very disheartening - only a few pathetic drops. I was so angry I poured whatever little there was away. I almost wanted to stop pumping bcos of that experience. I also read that we must rest well to increase supply, so I decided to sleep until I happy, rather than struggle to wake up at wee hours just to pump that few pathetic drops.

pinkimum,
I also haven't bought myself anything after the birth of my baby. My mother asked me to go buy some CNY clothes but I told her I'm a size S. If I go buy now, I'll probably have to buy M or maybe even L, which I can't accept. I am a size S, or XS. I refuse to buy M or L.

Merry Christmas all!

Mummyenya, i just bought 2 ameda bellows from ur ebay store.. i lost one of my bellows at work, and urgently need it to pump..not sure whether u'll b coming here or checking ur store over Xmas tho.. pls pm me if u see this? Thanks!!

Hi Mint,

lili was taking the yellow mjb earlier and later changed it to yellow rosie after i made my choice. since she wants the yellow rosie... is the yellow mjb still available?

sorry for the incovenience caused.

daisybuttons,
Thanks for the advices, very informative. I still have some frozen ebm, so not intending to store more now. And I seldom pump now. Most of the time I just latched on. Think I need to pump when I am engorged. Hope I will not have blocked ducts again, so painful.

rains,
Same as you, I used to be xs or s. Now when I wear jeans, my tummy tuck out like a tshirt:p

Joanne,
I also spend whole day carrying my boy and trying to make him sleep. And he doesn't like my chest, only sleeps on daddy's chest.

Breastfeeding mummies,
Is there any food to avoid? I had thai food, tomyam and curry for dinner last night and my boy was fussing last night, not sleeping well. Not sure is it linked.

Wishing all mummies a VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS! ;D

pinkimum- Hey mummy, yup think there's a linkage to the food u ate while breastfeeding....Try to avoid spicy, hot food/caffeine related drinks etc... Hee just rem wat u ate = wat ur bb be feeding on from ur breastmilk... ;p

elch, i using teat 2 for my gal @ 2mths but i usually poke the holes bigger same for my teat 1 i also got poke bigger..
else my gal suck till fed up cos very slow the flow

<font color="0000ff">MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL YUMMY MUMMIES!!!!</font>

curioxete
ehehe..no wonder i find the name so familar.
I hv received your order. you may collect from the mummy selling them, she stays at serangoon north. OTherwise, I'll ask if she can post out ASAP.

Merry Christmas!

Pinkimum
Must avoid Strawberry, raw food, spicy food, coffee , tea.
U eat curry, irritates baby.

Purpleangel, mint
Ya. I changed to yellow rosie cos i see still have the colour lei. Paisey.

<font color="ff0000">Merry Christmas!!</font>

pinkimum/ jenny,
i also latch usually and only feed EBM when I am out and at night before I sleep. Yea, I have no idea how much Izzy drinks since I latch directly. Plus nowadays she latches for a very short while (she is 11 wks old now) so I also wonder if she drinks enough. Not much of a schedule, usually every 2-3 hrs. same la, i only pump max 2 times a day, nowadays i cannot even wake up at night to pump... sigh..

i realise most nursing tops are sold online - at least the nicer one... i recommend Maternalove (www.maternalove.com/) and MIM (http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/onlinestore.html).

dimpletot, that is why my hubby said mummies r very wei2 da4. benefits of breastfeeding are oft more for others, your bb (better immunity, comfort sucking..), family (save FM). for the mummy, is only weight loss &amp; it can only do so much lar &amp; i think works best for first time mummies (i dun see much weight loss this second time round - i only lost 6kg so far!!).

elchwong, i am still using Sz 1 for my avent bottles. no complains from Izzy!

enya, wah, both babies look so happy! erm, i have decided to get the Caramel Nursing Shawl from you.. I will email you my contact. Sorry for the delay and rush!

Morning mummies...

Essana,
I don't know why all of a sudden at Week 7/8, my boy just don't like to drink from bottle though he started drinking from it for every night feeds since he was Week 2...tried No.3 teat yesterday but he still fuss...going to feed more from bottle and latch lesser from today onwards since I'll be going back to work on the 5th Jan...

littlealmond
didnt take anything....i try to drink more water. really alot more water. n then eat more fish. n pump consistently at every 3 hrs. supply then came back. i latch on at night at that time. now ss also drop alot. now whole night no pump, morning can only get abt 140-180ml only. somemore no latch cos bb is bottle feed n he also sleep thru the night.