(2008/07) July 2008

holly
shld be okie... i went to BKK during CNY... i think i was abt 28-29 weeks then... but rem to bring ur gynae letter just in case... coz during coming back check-in at BKK airport, i was asked for the letter n they even photocopied a copy lor...

bbp
i use jason' earth. abt $6.50 a tube. u wan one to try? i can bring and show u

chest rub i use nature organics. find it nice and it's natural

pinkbunny
i know those kraft ones are processed cheese slice. it says so on the packet. i looked ard the shelf and i saw some brands that saw natural cheese slice. so i guess natural better than processed? but it's more ex by abt $2 a packet!

at the rate my kids eat cheese (imagine 2 slices a day), i definitely finish at least 4 packets a month.

cellow
sometimes the grandparents will also feed the kids from their spoons. can't say much or can't stop them in time. actually i also feed them from my spoon but of cos i know i m not sick. the one thing that iwon't do is let the kids share spoons. got once, my mil did something funny. she wiped jx's nose then tried to use the same piece to wipe jh's nose. i immediately stop her and said no. but i realise that old folks tend to think it's ok....

esq
i agree with cellow. if can, try to bf e3. i think it makes a difference to the allergies. jh was bf till abt 11 months and i m still feeding jx. she really has less problem with her nose than jh. and jh used to get rashes more often also.

i was telling hb abt the article on FM/cow's milk and thinking it may be a good thing that my kids dun take much milk. even jh is only down to one bottle a day and less than 200ml. if my kids inherit my hb's allergies and lousy stomach, dun think they can take much milk too like the father.

holly
wow enjoy your trip. a lot of pple go overseas during their second trimester. since u have decided to go, must enjoy lor. won't have another relaxing hol already....

cellow - sayang and kisses to C2

holly - yes, am travelling now. shld be fine as long as you r feeling fine. bring all your multi vits and extra pills along.

SY - can help me order one of this :

http://www.iherb.com/Nature-s-Way-Sambucus-for-Kids-Berry-Flavored-8-fl-oz-240-ml/9342?at=0

dor dor - hope you are feeling loads better. take care .

mich,
C1 never did any allergen test before .. after the ordeal on wed for C2, i dun think C1 will allow PD to get anywhere near him for the test. he very smart now... when we get into the PD's office, he knows tis for vaccinations. during the MMR last month, he kept running to the door when we entered PD's office and said 'open doooor... open doooooooooor!' like very kelian and imprisoned agst his will. wanna laugh and cry at his antics.

cin,
*wave* first thing in the morning log in already ah!

Holly
Don't worry, just enjoy ok?

Hi hi cin bunny!

Girls, anyone has been to melbourne before? Can help suggest some kid-friendly places? Because... Guess who is going to melbourne!!! In Nov to visit friend, and poppy's boyfriend.

Hey gals, pls ignore my post on spree on 水娃娃童裝 Kids’ Apparel. Found another even better kids' apparel site. Keep u all posted soon.

dor dor, there might be a phase where the kid is v scare of toilet bowl or potty. How i knoe? cos my boy been thru it. Suddenly he was so scare of the toilet n will scream when we bring him in. eversince he was few mths, we already let him sit on potty. so all of sudden, he doesn't wan.
no use forcing. it might backfire. when it time it time. Now, he is fully potty trained and even encourage his sis to do it too. Be patient. dun force her, cause stress to yrself too.

mummies, Eboy said NO! his vocab has expanded to words starting with B, M, P, and now, N!!!!

*anybody jumping up and down with me?*

yes, i know its nothing to shout about cos its like soooo long ago for your kiddos.. but its a big thing for me, cos at least he is progressing and that means, no extensive test on him!!! Yay!!!

YEAH YEAH YEAH!!! *jumps with mich!*

as long as there is progress, then nothing to worry about liao! YEAH AGAIN!

PB

can't help much! as i went for honeymoon and biz trips so wasn't looking out for kid-frenly places. but you can't miss Queen Victoria market and for some discount outlet shopping at harbourtown.

PB, wow, melbourne! that little island to see all the cute little penguins diving OUT from the sea to the surface??? what's that call, philip island??? thats all i remember of melbourne....

*mich is still jumping*

pb, i ever been to melbourne but tat b4 havin kids! hahaha nice place.

i ever surf net and saw there thomas the train! they called it puffy or wat. cant rem. but guess boys will be more excited. can also go n watch penguins at penguin island.

oops michelle, think u r rgt, it philip island. guess it really too long ago for me ;p

been on ocean rd too but guess not too kids friendly, unless yr kids love to run n run n run... heeee

Hmmm. Maybe need to expose poppy to penguins now more so that she will appreciate them. Rather than bring her all the way there then she "whatever" then haha

We'll just be missing The Wiggles concert. Wasted.

Mich
I'm jumping too, can u see? Faster say yes, I'm getting very chuan already!

alamak! Just went for gynae scan, my girl is breeched!!! *biting fingernails* Have to talk to her to turn down. I am so scared of C-section!!!

Mich,

Congrats! Sorry ah...cannot jump now..hehehe....
it seems Ethan will talk a lot in no time!!

PB,

WOW! Nov is going to be hot in Australia rite? Remember to brings loads of moisturiser! The air there is very dry... i remember peeling like a lizard. and oh! Sunblock too!

Holly,

Relac! And enjoy yourself in Phuket ah!

batgirl
oh dear, keep talking to her to ask her to turn.

jx was also a breech bb. initially i was quite scared of c-sect but it din turn out as bad as i tot. in fact i tot the recovery was faster and i felt better during the confinement month.

michelle
it's great news!! actually jx still babbles a lot but we find it so cute and just enjoying this stage....

PB
going aussie?? envy envy....me thinking of going to taiwan end of the year

cellow
i asked PD abt fish making cough worse. he says that it will make it worse only if they are allergic to fish. so maybe C1 is allergic to fish. if it's normal cough, it shd not make it worse.

jx has to continue her singulair cos allergy still not totally cleared up. PD did say that singulair has been associated with some temper throwing by kids but it's still safe. anyway he has cut to alternate days only.

cin
noted on the order.

cellow - waves bk ( abit late i know..hehe)..yes, everymorning dont know why wake up at 530am!! i think i miss bean too much..lesson learnt..will nt take long hols w/out her again. today talk on phone w her, and halfway when she said "mummy come back later", i started crying and cld nt stop so had to pass phone to hubby

also, she contacted HFM this week..of all the times to fall sick! i was all on my way to airport to catch 1st flight home but in laws insist situation under control..and thankfully, yes, she was only in pain for 1 day and now back to her usual active self.

mich - hurray for e-boy..and erm, "enjoy" the NO stage. lol . and like batgirl, cannot jump now so I visualise a jump - same same ya.

pinkB - melb! erm, yes philip island, great ocean rd and yummy fd is all I can remember. the penguins r super cute

batgirl - talk to baby, i heard sometimes tt works!

Batgirl
*pat pat* Don't worry. C-section is not that bad. I recovered quite well and only feel a little pain.

Cin
Sayang Sophie!

Michelle
Congrats!!! *jumps with you* Yay Ethan! I tell you after this he will progress with more and more words! Emma was like this before and now she copies whatever things we said.

Penang
Anyone been to Penang? What's good ah? Should I stay in the city or at the beach? Which hotel is nice?

Batgirl,
Dun worry.. C section is nothing.. I have it twice and coming 3rd time... Give your girl some time, she may turn..

Pb,
Mel , would be 4 seasons in a day.. Philip island would be rather cold so remember jackets.. Bring a torch light coz can really see the penguins .. Very dark.. I brought Elijah went he was 2plus and I was pregnant with Ezekiel ..
It can be hot in the noon, rainy in the morning and cold at night..

Cin bunny,
Hugs hugs.. That is why till now I still dun bear to leave the boys and go for a couple holiday...

Sy,
When there is cough better not take fish or banana coz be it allergy or not it will cause phelgm..

Michelle..
Happy for you.. Like batgirl and cin bunny .. I can't jump too..
My Ezekiel only can speak few words butblije to mimic the brother in making noise...

SY,
Thanks for the great idea of getting Declan to Vitakids to test out the chewable DHA. Wah, but that salesgirl really like buay gam wan to let him try. Good news is, he takes it! But since they change pattern like they change diaper, I'm wondering if I should bring him to a few more stores to sample a bit more first. What do you think?
The chest rub you're referring to, is it this one? http://www.iherb.com/Ah-Choo-Chest-Rub-Eucalyptus-2-fl-oz-60-ml/16000?at=0

dor,
Can use anything to distract Ember when you put her on the toilet bowl? iPhone, Hello Kitty, etc?
How about potty?

dd,
How come Earth's Best is twice the cost of Oragel? I just went to a BP to survey prices and the difference is about a dollar leh.

Cellow,
Oh well, I kinda guessed that might happen but does C1 get cough that often before he went to school? Just wondering if his coughs are coming from school instead of fish.
Well, we don't use serving spoons in both sides of the family. BUT if any of us are sick, we normally use another pair of chopsticks to kiap the food. Thought that should be the usual practice?
So how did you tell her MIL not to feed C1 from her plate? Was it to the effect of "DO NOT FEED HIM FROM YOUR PLATE!!!!" or was it "Uh Ma ah, you're not well yet, you shouldn't share food with him or else he may fall sick also leh."
Haha, writing the CAPS made me smile.
Wah seh, your BG-ing friend is solid man. 14 months considered short.... I consider that loooong.

PB,
I think Edam are the ones with the red skin... if my memory serves me right.
*After doing a search on Cold Storage*....
Yup I'm right, it's the one with the red skin, they sell it in a chunk so you gotta slice/grate it yourself.
Penguins - if you're visiting animal places, try to plan such that the kiddos get to see feeding time (if they have). It's more exciting cos those animals are moving around as opposed to stoning in one corner. Dec really enjoyed his animals in USA.

Holly,
When I flew back home from Germany while having Dec, I was already at 29 weeks, so just remember your letter! But your bump so well hidden, don't think you will kena checked la. Cos I didn't kena check to and fro, but that's also cos I place my bag in a strategic position cos I don't want to get checked and all also. So enjoy and take care of yourself!

Re vaccinations:
Shit, I think Dec is overdue for one of his booster. Ugh. Time for me to be the dutiful mother and bring his health booklet to the clinic to ask. Next week next week... can somebody please remind me? *shy*

Mich,
Haha, congrats... and yes as cin said, enjoy the stage!

cin,
Where are you?????? I'm so excited thinking about Eastern Europe. Please share with me... where are you now??? Did you manage to hit St Stephen's Day in Budapest?
And seems like your hormones are taking over!

SD,
Penang? FOOD FOOD FOOD!!! Oh... I love Penang's food. The most touristy area for food I think is Gurney Drive. Touristy but food is still good. Eh, unfortunately, I dunno anywhere else liao.

C-Section,

Thanks gals for sharing the experiences. Still can't help but shudder at the thought of being sliced open. But whatever will be will be... Will also try talking to my girl. try every means, if all else fails........kua kua kua....

Cin,

*pat pat* When will you be back?

sD, check out eboy's blog on our Penang escapade!!! Stay in beach resort lah, then venture out to city for great food!

Yes, eboy's no phase had started and it's no to every question asked. It's still cute to me, not yet irritating. Ha ha

DD
Tried bribing her but she rather dun want anything than sit on the toilet bowl......sigh
Today after so long of not going public toilet, I went and after that jus asked her if she wants to go. Her tears jus well up when she replied "NOoooo"......sigh.....long long way to go.

Cellow
But somestimes I think I rather she still pee in diapers......like times like this lor.....

Hard to convince ur inlaws I guess. Cos I feel its no use convincing my parents or inlaws too. Jus have to try to avoid it ourselves.
Hmmm now that u mention.....I remember my parents always use a serving spoon. N I was abit out when I started eating at my inlaws place. Cos it was like huh no spoon then hw am i supposed to take the food....haha
And worse is they have friends over for dinner sometimes as well. Not all eat together lah but then the food is jus there on the table. ANd I think they recycle the soup too as in they will pour whatever is in the bowl back to the pot reheat n scoop back.....Ewwwwww
So yah not a fan of eating at their place.....actually we dun only like once abt 6 mths?? N I will still show black face whenever my hubby even tells me we are having dinner there.

bbp
Tried all lor. Even the old trick doesn't work. Cos the moment she sees the toilet bowl she gets all tense up n wary already.
Cos when toilet bowl not in sight she everything OKIE 1. Keep telling her go J8 must use J8 toilet okie? She okie. TOilet flush anot?? NO. Must tell me when shishi okie? OKIE.
But when at J8.....ask her want shi shi??
She goes n the super xiao jie whiny voice....NOooooooooooo.

Dor,
distract with iPhone? That's my ultimate technique Liao. If I know dec would rather not play iPhone than to do what I want him to do eg. take med, I know it's really game over. Is that the same with ember? But if she's willing to at least go at home, it's a good step already.

Someone put a leash on waiwai! She's been bitten by the online bug!

Ooooooh, a very auntie tip to share. Vanilla essence/extract/pod (whichever your budget allows) in oven/microwave gets rid of any lingering smells :p

cin
oh dear hope sophie gets well soon....u must also be careful cos u r preggie now

bbp
yeah why not? just bring him to a few more stores to get samples. i think he will be ok with it since he din reject it.

yup that's the chest rub that i got. i use it on myself too...haha

dor
really sounds like a big headache with E's toilet phobia. will she go without peeing for a day? wd she pee in diaper since she's so scared of the toilet flushing sound?

yesterday jx saw a cockroach and she cried until wd tot she had fallen down! really very princess....she screamed and cried so loud and after that refused to walk past the area. so when we say cockroach she will be very scared.....

PB,
Haha, I was feeling stressed and sian a few days back and decided to do some shopping! So I'm going to....
1) buy stuff from iherb
2) buy some dresses for myself!

SY,
I think he should be fine too. So I've decided to just order cos I too lazy to go to more Vitakids to try. Haha.
So please help me to order the following:
1 bottle of http://www.iherb.com/Nordic-Naturals-Children-s-DHA-250-mg-360-Strawberry-Flavor-Chewable-Soft-Gels/15338?at=0
1 bottle of http://www.iherb.com/Ah-Choo-Chest-Rub-Eucalyptus-2-fl-oz-60-ml/16000?at=0

Bbp
No use her toilet phobia overcome all.....haha
I even offered to buy her a bubble tea, bag, hello kitty....LOL
Yah thank god now she's okie with home toilet so at least jus make do with it till I have more idea or she realise that its really no big deal.
But I gotta make sure I dun go out too long n make sure she pees before we go out for now.

SY
Last time even we put diaper for her when she says she needed to pee and there's no decent toilet near. She will just keep quiet after we put the diaper on and wait till we reach home to pee. But she will never ever pee in the diaper.
Now......She also dun wanna put on the diaper....sigh
But now she okie with home toilet so still okie lah. N I will remind her to go if she has not peed for a long while.

DD
I saw a few mentioned on my FB only....really ALOT now??

It's Monday? Boo hoo! I dun like Mondays.....

How was your weekend??

Cin, enjoy yourself make the best of your holiday. Bean is in good hands....

Anyone wanna take a day off go zoo? Gotto be a thurs.

Bbp
Yay on buying dresses online! Come to think of it, I don't think I've ever seen you in a dress! But taking care of baby while in a dress is tough la. Must show us your haul ok? Where did you buy from?

Girls (everyone except waiwai!), there is a shop called ministry of retail (online) that has quite nice stuff at reasonable prices. Can check it out

Anyone watching supernanny? I'm really into it :D

Last night before bed, I did something that surely won't win me any prizes for intelligence - I flipped through "makan places lost and found" (from the show staring gurmit singh and michelle chia) and a pool of drool formed under me haha. But I've finally come to the conclusion that there's too much yummy food and too little meal times. So life is too short to waste on bad food hehe

Oh cin, hope soph is feeling much better!!!

Another recipe to share. For older kids - marinate chicken drumstick with peanut butter, dark soy sauce, olive oil, ketchup and bake for 15-20 min at 200degrees C. For older kids, you can wrap the base of the drumstick with aluminium foil for them to hold the drum and bite (when cool). For younger kids, can simply peel off the flesh for them. I love this recipe. Great as a bbq recipe too

Pb, can you find a job in raffles place or vivo city, or anywhere within 1km , easier to meet for lunch ha ha. My random thoughts.

Woke up feeling so tired really dunno how to perk myself up for work today. It's getting tougher. Is that a sign for something??

how does your man in the hse react when the todd starts to whine?
i usually ignore, but Mr C has to step in, and for the past 2 weekends, C1 has been smacked. i really cannot take it.... children are for loving, not smacking. yes it is very difficult to ignore and even my hand itches to fly to his backside sometimes. but.
discipline also cannot always smack one mah.

C1 is not a happy kid this morning when we dropped him off at school. and neither was Mr C.
sigh.

Cellow, what happened?? Normally we try to understand what the whine was all about and whether you believe or nit, we reason with eboy until he stops whining. Surprisingly, itvworks all the time. Explain and explain, dunno he understand or he just simply gives up and move on doing other things.

had to go into office early this morning. When i was leaving, the boy asked loudly in an alarmed voice....WHERE IS MUMMY? WHERE IS MUMMY GOING? when i said I am going to work...he started sobbing and said...I DON'T MUMMY TO GO TO WORK...I WANT TO READ BOOK AT THE SOFA!

not a happy camper at work today to say the very least!

Awwwww, doggiebb it's getting tougher going to work especially one full weekend with the kiddos huh?? Go back earlier today!!

Me going in to office later so I can sneak the first 20 min playclub in before I go in!!!

hahaha we need a restraining order for miss waiwai!

i dun dare shop online for my own clothes.. could never get the right fit..

sayang sophie bean... hope she's better now..

wasn't too tough for me to get to work today coz my little one was still snoozing.. coz he's not feeling so good and was whiny yesterday because of it...

but we finally put up our hospital set and geez! the little cordless phone is SO SMALL! is that the one that dropped into thaddie boy's ear?? and the little pair of slippers for the boy!

met up with ernie and bert too.. and someone wanted to have a conversation with them, not realising they can't answer him haha.. kept asking where cookie (monster) was.. why he's not there.. bla bla bla.. funny!

hope we all have a good week ahead!

DD
You went to downtown east to meet the sesame street characters! Cool!

Waiwai
Because you are the MINISTER of sprees! Haha

Doggiebb
Sayang sayang. I also get "mama no go work! Papa go work!"
poor bluebunny

Mich
I also want to work in town! This one hour travelling time is really getting to me.

Cellow
Ummm bluebunny would pick poppy up and just walk and ignore her. If we are out. Her whining stops soon after. If at home we'll both try to distract

Wow yest we went to merlion park and perhaps it was too hot or what but poppy had no appetite and only ate 1 spoonful of her coriander chicken that mummy so lovingly prepared. Refused, threw head back, screamed then finally cried big tears and mucous all so we gave up :S

michelle,
i m sorry to say that i myself run out of patience to explain to C1. budden C1 is Mr C's respty and C2 is mine (otherwise we will never get anything done) so usually by the time i get to talk to C1, Mr C has already said his part, and already smacked him.
sigh.

details arr. too much to type la.

oh oh PB,
peanut butter! peanuts are highly allergenic for kids below 3 years old too! if havent introduced yet, best not to start....
I have allergens on my mind now.

dor,
ya recycle soup too.... same as my ILs. eww.... see already also think 'i wont kiss you, why m i sharing the same saliva-full food as you' haha

cin,
sophie get well soon! when are you coming back? need to protect bean2 as well fm the effects of sophie's hfmd.
the toughest part abt C1 being sick when i was preggie was quarantining myself away from him.

batangel,
pls turn around and come out head first for batgirl mummy ok.

sayang doggiebb!

Wat is this abt recycling soup!?!!

Cellow
Ah poppy has been taking peanut butter for a while liao. There are versions with lower sugar count at the more atas supermarkets

Lol on JX and cockroach!

Somebody give me a hug!!!!!!

Bluebunny brought poppy to a playschool we like and they have an opening so she can start in a month!!! I know some of you have already taken that step and I'm prob being a whiney baby about this (cellow, don't spank my bumbum) but it's such a milestone for me that I actually feel tears in my eyes now

I was hoping perhaps they didn't have space, so we could delay the inevitable. Sheesh. If just the thought of sending her alrd makes tears form, then I wonder how it'll be when I actually do send her

Arghhhhh!!!!!

Hug and pat pat please!!!!!

Sniff

PB...we didn't go all the way to downtown east lah.. knowing how far I stay huh... it was in town..

http://www.toysrus.com.sg/inside/ElmoLive.htm

FOC and can take pics wiv them too... go go.. this weekend at paragon.. next weekend at vivo.. near for you! unless she doesn't like sesame street!

bbG didn't eat solids and drink much milk over the weekend due to the cough and runny nose... gave him lots of soup and water though.. my poor baby will lose weight...

and PB: I'm so like you on the childcare/playgroup thingy too..
and still cannot let go of my bbG haha.. but i need to brace myself coz they will be 3 next year and should really attend classes? sigh...

ps: had a numb face the whole morning coz my breakfast must have had LOT of MSG and it didn't even taste good!

PB
ohh.. school is fun..
think abt the friends she will have..
kayden has this fren, a girl, who always hug him when he goes school.. makes him wanna hug us to..
and since she's will be attending when u are at work.. u will stil see her when u get back..

MBS
woohoo.. they upgrade me to level 52 and a bigger room..
view was amazin but stil no chance to go swimming.. it was packed like sardines...
me forgot to bring camera, for the second time..

anyway, my increment got screwed by my manager.. hence i told my boss i wan cut cost and work from home.. so now every thurs i be workin from home..