(2008/06) June 2008

Hi morning,

didn't sleep well cos of back pain. I sneezed last night and there was a sudden pain on my lower back near the buttocks and now i can't even sit properly! didn;t know a simple sneeze can be so debilitating, sigh

morning kylene

From 4th month onwards, i have been sneezing and coughing throughout the night....

My sinus is getting worse too, dunno if it is due to this pregnancy.... been having this since 1st trimester....

Priscilla,
actually I don't sneeze often, but last night don't know why sneezed once and must have have pulled a muscle or something, so now buttocks very painful if i sit. or if i get up from sitting position.

elaine,
Dun worry too much, my bb also 2.2kg at 35wks but doc did not say do any test only ask me to rest so given a week mc to rest at home and me try to drink more milk and eat more lean meat then 36wks bb is 2.7kg liao. So dun think too much. My doc also 1 2 to induce next monday and now on a week mc too.

TF,
Ya heard tat beef also help bb to gain weight me did not eat cos me dun eat beef so only drink more milk and eat meat.

Priscilla,
Me have heartburn too during my 7-8 mths, me try to eat small meals and no oily food and tat seems like work for me. Dun worry tat only last for a few weeks it will go off, you can also ask doc for medication. Think the pain tat you have is bb is lower now and trying to get engage cos me now also have tat pain.

Kylene
Jus be careful when sneeze lor.... cos mi cough and sneeze can feel the strain at my tummy... was thinking poor baby... each time i cough tummy will like strain like tat... dunno how the small one feel inside....

Christina..
heartburn is so xin ku lor.... drink cold and hot drinks also no use.... haiz... still got the burning sensation one.... even last night did not eat much, went food expo and only eat fish cake also have heartburn...

jus wishing now baby to come out faster and all pain and the sinus and coughing will be gone...

Mi only scared baby will be like mi got asthma...

Priscilla,
you can ask yr doc to give you medication to relieve tat. Dun think too much and a few more weeks to go and bb will be out. As long bb is healthy everything is worth rite so for now maybe you need a good rest ask doc give you few days mc to rest.

Elaine, sorry to hear that your little one is not putting on too much weight. please don't be too worried. like TF said, at least cross over to 2kg. I was born at 36 weeks. I was healthy except for some jaundice (which could be due to my parents having different blood group - ABO incompability) anyway. I believe your little one will be fine even if he/she has to be born earlier than expected. If you have not been drinking milk powder for preggies, you can try it now to bring up the weight in case nothing wrong after doppler test and you still want bb to be born bigger.

Priscilla, you can ask your doctor to give you antacids. safe for use during pregnancy.

<font color="aa00aa">Priscilla, you can try to drink Eno. During my 2nd trimester, i oso keep having indigestion, after drinking Eno, it does help to get better.</font>

jus back frm gp... got muscle relaxer. hopefully can ease the joint pain... cant really walk now... limping away... somemore on right leg... when driving can really feel the strain man....

Felicia
Will try to drink eno today and see how....

Christina
now worry too much also no use liao.... jus hope baby will have healthy lungs....

hi morning...
i'm still here... uneventful night... :p

cactus...
yeah... my gynae was telling me some pple can walk ard with a 3cm dilation for a few weeks b4 delivery, so its reali hard to tell when i will deliver. at tis point, i am jus scared of the pain cos my tolerance for pain is not high. anyway, shall see how it goes. its been said that not using pain relief during labour can help bb latch better oso...

TF...
oh dear... i can imagine how frantic ur hubby actuali felt when he heard the paging.
well, i hv been having pretty strong BHs for the past 1 week which can last 1-2 hrs at one go.... on and off pain... and sometimes i feel light menses cramps oso... not sure if these are signs that my cervix is dilating.
u know wat? i hv asked gynae if i will be put to CTG during checkup. she said she dun see a need to, unless there seems to be probs... thus so far i hvnt done CTG. in fact, even when i was found to be 3cm dilated yest, she didnt suggest ctg.

ellysia...
u cld be faster than me... :p backaches are a sign of labour oso.

priscilla...
feeling pelvic pain cld be a sign that ur bb is engaged already.
for heartburn, if can, take a glass of warm milk b4 sleep. i usu take antacid after dinner if i feel that i'm going to feel terrible and it reali helps. i will keep burping the wind...

soyabean, I think your doctor is responsible. There's normally no need to put on CTG during check up unless doctor wants to check on well being of bb or if bb is overdue. in your case, you are just at 36 weeks, not overdue and probably your bb's heartrate is alright too so no need to put on CTG. My friend was put on CTG when her doctor said she was 3cm dilated at routine check up.. cos she was at 39 weeks already. Higher chance she would deliver soon and if so, her doctor wanted to prepare her for it cos she is a first time mom. Most bbs are born between 38 to 41 weeks.

speaking of bb being engaged... I think my bb is not engaged yet. contrary to the signs of mega water retention, pelvic pressure and pain, and a feeling like I"m carrying a bowling ball down below esp when I"m using the toilet.. and tummy looking lower than ever before... last night I thought I located my bb's head and felt that it was way above the pelvic region... sigh. long way more for me...

Priscilla,
may I know what muscle relaxant u got from the GP? I"m wondering if i should take any medicine for my buttok/back pain.

soyabean
about engagement, i can only feel baby's hiccup on my right side near my hips area... not too sure if baby engage liao... her head has been down since 28 weeks and is in good position for natural.... spine towards my tummy...

Priscilla,
thanks! I think I have anarex at home, sounds familiar, will go look through all the meds at home. since the gp gave it to you, must be safe during pregnancy.

morning ladies and congrats to those who have popped over the past few days! sounds like back pains are getting more n more common for many of us towards the end of the pregnancy.

hi ZuEn,
think this is a bit late to mention, but if your little one is still in the hospital, not sure if you wanna consider using the Zaky. it's a hand-shaped and weighted soft cushion that is placed on the infant to comfort and soothe the baby, used in many hospitals nicu overseas esp for preemies. can check out their website @ www.zakeez.com The Zaky was actually invented by a mommy whose baby was premature and it caused her much pain whenever she visited her baby but could not hold the little one in her arms, hence wishing she could just leave her hands with her baby.

have also been experiencing this pain down the right side of my lower back, which caused slight numbness on my right leg yesterday. does anyone else have that experience? also have a question -for those who've had contractions or BH, can i ask how it actually feels like? i haven't been experiencing BH nor any forms of contractions thus far, except for yesterday when i felt slight cramps but not sure if those were contractions.

also wondering if i should put towels underneath bedsheets now.... many a mattress have been ruined because of the bursting of the waterbag while sleeping. apparently amniotic fluid is extremely difficult to wash out. anyone's done any precaution for that?

Anyone has the latest bill for delivery at Mt. A, single bedded, natural with epi? One of my gf delivered last nov and had to fork out 1.7K cash. She told me got discount on payment with credit card. Any idea which credit card?

cactus...
i was actuali surprised cos i thot all gynaes will make mummies go thru one ctg b4 labour.
how did u actuali feel ur bb's head?

priscilla...
my gynae told me b4 cant reali tell where is bb's head from the hiccups cos usu when bb having hiccups, the whole body jerks. :p

soyabean...
actually i can feel continous movement only at one position... but not to sure if it is hiccups...

it will be like tum tum tum at only one position.... near the right side of the hips area....

feifei

breastfeeding for baby is good.... dun give up... it can boost their immune system.

I also intending to breastfeed my ger... but not too sure got milk a not... hehe...have to wait till after birth...

the lump i have it during pregnancy dunno since when but i dun have engorgement... not too sure if it is associated with breast milk...

<font color="aa00aa">feifei, do u engaged massage lady? The lump at armpit most probably is the milk duct. A professional massage lady shld be able to help you to reduce the lump and you wont feel pain after that. I heard some ppl will take mths for it to dissappear , or some will only reduce after stop BF.</font>

congrats feifei on your girl. On engorgement, can try applying cold cabbage? or get your baby to suckle more?

Jessica, for Mt A maternity package, think the credit card, UOB ladies platinum promotion period is until Dec07 and not applicable anymore. Not sure if any other credit cards got discount, but you can apply for The Family Card which will give you 5% discount on first baby and 10% discount on subsequent baby. I just got my card last month.

Felicia,
I did but can't ask her to do now cos myh wound not recover lor...so pain and upset =(..

Nss,
Tks ger,..i applied col dcabage whole nite yest, this morning 3+am, dripping liao, massage with hot towel and pump, only pum 15ml after that boobs still pain =(...

Hi feifei u feeling better nw ?ur below tummy still pain?u must wait for 3wks than can ask asih (malay massauge)to help u as u c-section...if i am not wrg she told me b4.

feifei,

is like that, initially can only pump 15-20ml.. will increase slowly.. you need to let your ger latch on to reduce the pain, after latching.. pump with your pumps again.. it may help to clear the milk duct a bit. Dun give up
.. the milk supply will come slowly

Hi bbcupid, ioio and Tera, just want to check if got other positions to lie down during scanning only. hehe... Tera, lying on side is definitely better than on the back during scan but gynae never ask if i wanna lie on my side. Gg to visit gynae this afternoon.

TF: Ur hb is really cute. He really on standby mode 24/7.

Prisc: don drive already lah when ur pelvic joints are aching. Take cab better.

Feifei: Yup, got try applying cold cabbage to soothe the engorgement?

<font color="aa00aa">feifei, do not put the cold cabbage on ur breast for too long, coz i saw in a book tat it'll reduce milk flow. I know is bit contradicting, coz on the oth hand, cold cabbage was said to help to reduce engorgement, but its side effect is reduce milk flow.
So, dont put too long. Maybe you can try to massage ur breast more, ask ur hubby to help lah, else you'll be too tired doing massage and pumping by urself.

Ya, for c-sec must wait at least 3-4weeks before can do any massage</font>

Hi ladies, im back! too busy to post on forum. everything is fine, just that my son gt jaundice lor.....

End up epidural c section (initally opt for GA). The staff at opt threate keep asking me to try epdiural c. with my hb encouragement, i took it again. The experience this time is wonderful. no feeling at all, unlike the experience when delivering #2.....i guess my previous anethestic SUCKS!!!!

Went to visit feifei, as i was still at hospital. Too bad, din manage to see her daughter

Morning mummies! So many post.... within 2days leh.

Soyabean,
This your #? Normally if #2 will dilate alot faster as what my gynae told me. Sometime also from alot of walking or exercise we do also. SO your gynae didnt mention of break water bag etc since already 3cm? Unless U don intend to take epi den I think can wait till regular contractions and bb move MIN 10x a day
I remember when I have #1 also dilated 3.5cm b4 going hospital cos bb not moving much lo.

Went to see gyane yesterday for pain again. V area pain nv, pelvic also and joints! Crazy.Lay down on bed turn also difficult! Den gynae say bb engaged and sure dilated liao (he didnt do VE leh) I ask him didnt do how to know dilated. He say from the symptoms i told him and also not my #1 liao sure dilated faster than previous. He say I have 2options. Cos BB also move less... He say can burst water bag 1st june or I wan to wait till regualr contractions and bear with all e pain i have now lo. Another options is monitor bb movement closely this few days. MIN 10x days to kick or box. IF one day don have must go hospital. 1st june I will be 37weeks plus.. Now bb is about 2.8kg nia.. He say everything is ok with bb. Just that how I wanna decide.. HE told me to go back see him tomorrow and monitor again and let him know my decision. HAI debating with HB cos was thinking to wait till regular contraactions and scare SAKALI no dilate much Long labour how! Though gynae told me guarantee chop for my case can be fast etc... So was thinking tomorrow see him ask him DO VE (he seldom do this one.. don understand y) before I make decision lo...

peachblossom, I think the chance of waterbag bursting before contractions start is slim. 10% only. And even if it ruptures, the fluid may just trickle. only in some cases it will be like waterfall.

soyabean, my hb noticed bb's head first. He told me where he thought it was. then I felt it. It's hard and round and quite small, right at the bottom, nearer to my left side.

Soyabean, some doctors include CTG in the package but my understanding is it's more of a frill than a necessity. what's more important is to monitor bb's heartbeat at every visit. erm, only if bb is over due or close to term or if mother is experiencing contractions/false contractions, then CTG will be done. Some doctors prefer to have CTG done anyway though... esp if it is private clinic cos can either charge or make mother feel more reassured (esp if it is within the package).

Little mickey Kyler is born yesterday at 1920hrs (37 weeks), weighing 2.565kg, length 51cm.. Normal delivery with epi. Both mommy n baby well.

Cynthia, sometimes doing VE may bring on start of labour. not sure if that is what your doctor plans to avoid in your case though... I can understnad your anxiety and apprehension. So exciting.

Felicia,
If you are worried, then must monitor your BP on your own regularly ya. Towards the end, I actually brought my BP machine to office cos I low iron and suffering from pre-eclampsia and I get dizzy spells alot. I cannot tell if the dizzy spells are due to low iron or high BP, so play safe and carry the machine around lor.

Feifei,
Welcome to the club. If your bb not able to latch on properly, expressing the milk will help.
Jia you, dun give up on BF-ing hor.

peachblossom,
Thx for the recommendation. But alittle too late le. By the time the hand reaches me, I think Lil ZuEn already discharged liao. Hehe. Thanks anyway.

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">cactus.. yup yup cos bonjovi dun sound like she is writing the msg for herself.. so cool.. hee...</font></font>

Hi Bonjovi,
U pop or? Confusing hehehe.

Cactus,
Yap I also heard about doing VE might trigger labour. I don mind trigger even for now lo... Just want a confirm one from him, SAKALI i ok with bursting water bag this sun, go hospital and he do realise haven I siao liao! Aiyo... dono.. tmr must give him the answer.. think jsut see how its goes. my Edd still far away.. just that all e pain is irritating lo