(2008/06) June 2008

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">morning mummies..

ellysia.. tks for the suggestion but will c c first lah.. cos realised some pop up after mia for some time.. ... heee....

for cord life: there's a motherhood exhibition on the 5-8 June at expo and cordlife is presenting a talk as well.. normally during bb talk or exhibition, there may be $300 discount.. so mummies who can wait and have time.. might be good to attend the talk to learn more.. oh ya.. if got referral will have another $50 off...

congrat to sharon.. any news from fei fei and i am snow?</font></font>

angel
sorry wrong person...hehehe....

peachbloom
me also due on 12june...but might be early also...coz my previous 2 deliveries both at wk37+...just estimate by end May lor

Felicia is right about the limtied use of cord blood. actually cord blood is very rarely used in Singapore. It is very new technology locally.

One thing I don't like about private storage is that, it promotes the idea of saving up for own needs when public bank is a better idea. Like public blood bank. people can share. I am hoping in the future, public cord blood bank can be more popular... and maybe be like the organ transplant act... pple who donate their own cord blood have priority to use the cord blood from teh public bank.

I just called SCBB, interesting for this lady to share wif me tat i tot i can just share here. Accordingly, usu cord stem cell is suitable for transplant to a patient tat is 40kg n below (Asian Capacity), ie. suitable for children who require transplant.

Private - So if we keep privately wif the intention for siblings to use (below 40kg), should b fine. But there again, when the pte extract the cells from the placenta, they will just keep it for u since u pay, irregardless of how low the cell count is. As long as u willing to pay, they willing to keep for u. So if cell count is low, may nt be sufficient for use too.

Public - Accordingly, the chance of the child himself need to use his own will nt be there. They will rather find a match fr public for u cos it means the child is nt suitable to use his own. For public, they will just extract all your placenta as much as possible n if the cell count is low, they will nt keep.

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">tinyfeet... they will reject if the stem cells is low or not suitable for use in future even if it's private.. </font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">TF, there's truth and untruth on the cell count volume thingy.
When i signed the stemcord agreement, there's a clause stating the min volume of cell count before they'll accept the storage.
I got a letter from stemcord about 1-2weeks later after my delivery to confirm they manage to get the min volume cell count. Unless they lied to me lah, coz their agreement did stated if the min volume is not achieve, they'll refund us the money.</font>

Cordlife Pte - when i ask them, they say so far S'pore only 1 successful case abt the boy need transplant, then the mother purposely conceive the 2nd to save the 1st. Was more of immediate case. This story is in their brochure. I was wondering abt cases tat people had store n taken to use later n there is none.

So since there's so much limits, SCBB wld be better off if can help to donate to children (below 40kg) who needed more, since abv 40kg, wat u store is nt sufficient. Jus my thot.

peachbloom
So nw my decision is very clear. I will nt keep pte cos chances is slim. Rather spend more on insurance. And if i wnt to donate, SCBB say my case cannot cos they dun wnt to interrupt my delivery since its high risk delivery where in case need emergency. So answer is do nothing

Just wanted to share. For my #1, I had BH contractions that were 5min apart (even as fast as 3 min) for 1-3hrs daily from 36 weeks onwards. Even the nurses thought I would progress to labour because the CTG showed such regular contractions, but they were not strong enough to induce labour. I went hospital 3 times and was sent back because not yet dilated, all false alarms. In the end, #1 was overdue, I was only 1 cm dilated and had to be induced at 40wks + 3 days and my boy was 3.5kg. For #2 this time, I'm v happy that the BH happens mostly at night and not regular like last time. While I'm looking forward to seeing my bb, I hope she will stay in for a bit longer so that she's bigger. Less likely to get jaundice and require admission if they are born closer to 40 weeks, cos more developed. My friend was 3cm dilated for 1 whole week before she delivered her baby, so I also have doubts about 3cm dilation with no associated contractions, as cervix may be dilated but not effaced. If got bleeding / show, but no contractions, can still wait at home, labour can start anytime within 1-2 days.

False contractions / Braxton Hicks - Uncoordinated contractions, tummy gets v hard and can feel pressure. Can be painful, feel like menstrual cramps, may even be regular (like my case, 5 min apart), but does not get stronger and more painful over time.

Real contractions / labour - Coordinated contractions that start at the top nearer your tummy and spread downwards to push baby out. Gets stronger and more painful over time, worse than any menstrual cramp you ever got. If it comes with show / bleeding, go hospital immediately.

My epidural was a horrible experience. Half body pain, half no pain. They increased the dosage, so I felt paralysed. After 6h, epi wore off, but anesthetist forgot abt me, pain was unbearable. When he came to give me fresh dose, it was time to push and I couldn't feel anything, even needed nurse and hubby to hold my legs. End up pushing for more than 1 hr. This time round if I can tahan, I don't want epi if possible. One of my girlfriends had the same experience.

Felicia / ioio
I'm no expert in the low count thingy too :p I just regurgitate wat SCBB just spoke to me. And its true tat we do nt knw wat is the low count threshold tat both SCBB n Pte Cord refer. Maybe one will b stricter than the other loh, until we can to see statistics numbers to justify wat they talking abt. Everythg is very general speech...hee

hi ZuEn,
just nw u mention tat hubby not as willing to massage ur leg for u as compared to pregnancy time.... i was like... it sound so so familiar..... when i'm preg with my 1st, i was like a KING everyday got e best treatment moreover i got lots of vomiting n discomfort but once baby is out my hubby also stop all e massaging even i request
now preg with 2nd one... still vomiting but my massaging session come upon only when i request no longer like e 1st pregnancy so shiok... hai..... hubby also not as excited as 1st pregnancy maybe becos we need to take care of our boy so not much time talking to my unborn baby..........

TF, actually you have raised a point that hb and I considered... just didn't want to be the only one saying all this and being a perceived wet blanket on this thread. I really do hope more pple support the public bank cos I can see the benefits if it takes off... esp if donors are given priority.

BabyD's experience is not unusual. It's not only dilation but also the thining of the cervix (Ellysia around?)- effacement. as for epidural, I dun think it is all the anaesthetist's fault. There is a very low risk that the anaesthesia won't work properly too...

thanks too, to all for sharing info about cord blood banking. TF: good to know you've decided. i have to discuss with hubby again and see how things go from there. i'm generally indecisive so i think will have a headache on this one... hmm...

Cactus
Hee.. i understand. I also feel abit wet blanket as i type. But i'm those tat I will drill all facts out b4 i do anything. So if nt proven, i will commit. But i tot i just share wat 2 parties (pte n public) told me here.

peachbloom/danryan...
me too! edd on 12th June. gynae est. tat i will deliver btw 5th-12th...but somehow i have a hunch tat mine will be late...cos watever pain and cramp symptoms supposed to experience has not happen to me yet...so i reckon i will deliver early...

just my thoughts lah...

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">yup.. for me quite indecisive oso whether to donate or keep... so we intend jux keep it first but i hv check if i want to donate later to public bank.. i rem they say yes.. so not really an issue.. but it's like still having to pay for the admin and testing fee lor...i think it really depends on individual lah... ;p</font></font>

hi cactus, understand what u mean about public banking. is it a fact that donors are given priority? what i last understood was that once donated, it's public property and one's child may not be able to use his or her own cord blood even if they might need it, depending on availability.. do you know how long they keep it for?

actually since TF has taken a step to share some possible negativity about pte cord blood stoarge, I also want to share that there has not been any prove that cord blood can be effectively stored for beyond 15 years. In fact, sometime last year, overseas, a cord blood facility suffered a power outage and all the cord blood samples were ruined. Think it was in the US. My hb did quite alot of research before deciding we'll be donating to public bank. He contacted his friends at KKH paeds department and was advised that there was little value to pte storage. I don't want to bad mouth any pte doctors on this thread.. just want to say that there may be some doctors who may encourage moms to store cord blood privately for 2 reasons - they may be given incentive by pte cord blood organizations or they just want to educate moms and be seen as a knowledgeable doctor. All this is a figament of my imagination. no proof. but I do know some dcotors in pte practise prefer to prescribe a certain drug over another because they are given a better bulk discount, or free gifts, or sponsored overseas trips by the drug company...

<font color="aa00aa">TF, i understand!

cactus, actually for me i support SCBB as well. But since me and hubby oredy store our #1 with pte, tats why this one we're not so anxious on the storage thingy.
Frankly speaking during our #1, we din research much on the cord banking thing, as stemcord office was in glen hospital, so we just enrol when kena approach during my normal check up.
Plus at tat time, we dont even know there's SCBB.</font>

Peachbloom, No no! There is nothnig about priority for donors. It's just a suggestion of mine. I'm hoping that one day, such priority can be given.. cos an unrelated match is so much better than a related match.. that's what I feel. It should be like organ transplant act. And as altruistic like public blood donations.

ioio, I think you may want to decide whether you want to donate soon (whether to pte or public or not) cos whichever way you choose, you need to sign consent forms, etc. usually we are advised to do all this by about 32 weeks.

Felicia, don't worry. i'm not judgemental. I just want to share what I know..

oh danryan and shycloud, we're all same edd! cool. a good friend of mine getting married 7th june, and i had to tell her kiv rsvp, depending on whether i pop by then... i think even if i do go i will have to bring along all my gear (hospital bag)!

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">eee... cactus.. does it mean even if we dint go through the doc for the signup.. they will still gain from it.. for me.. i dint go through my gynae and jux sign up during the talk as my doc nv mentioned anything to us...</font></font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">peachbloom... may i noe where u plan to deliver?</font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">TF/ cactus, pls dont feel it tat way, ok?!
We are here to share what we know.
In fact during this 2nd pregnancy, i done more research than my 1st pregnancy, and i even called stemcord to ask about our agreement with them. I think me and hubby was really too blur during my 1st pregnancy. We just realised our agreement is those indefinite type. We are quite shocked, coz we tot is 15yrs. And hubby and i was thinking to stopped it when our kids reached certain age coz like wat you said, there's no proof of effectiveness beyong 15yrs.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">ioio, you signed with cordlife?
For me, when i signed my agreement during my #1, i realised there's a column stated gynae's fee.
And i remember i asked the person in charge, she told me tat fee is for our gynae to help to retrieve the cord blood. Initially i tot it was compulsory fee and the charges is the same for all gynaes.
Later i realised i was wrong as some gynae actually wont charge a cent to their patient for such work.</font>

sharon,
songratulation! one day nvr log in only someone already popped!

how about feifei now?

yesterday i went for weekly checkup. no sign at all... now i left 11days to my EDD...

Peachbloom, according to SCBB, donor will be given priority, but nt to your donated one if its nt available. Priority to watever tat match when u need.

Storage insurance - ha, talking abt that, i did try to drill Cordlife abt hw they insure the storage. They say they have no control or compensation if due to Acts of God. They only will refund if in the event they dun store properly.

Decision - Once u decided to store n keep in pte, u can pay yearly or one lump sum. But along the 20 years, if u decide to lapse, they will refund u pro-rated. The only thing is the initial admin cost is nt refundable n tat is the bulk. If u decide to lapse, they just throw away, they dun allow u to donate.

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">yup.. some gynae dun charge as they think it's jux a service... i dint ask my gynae whether he charge leh.. but i sign up b4 asking him.. told him after tt n he jux say rem to bring the box upon admission and pass to the nurse.. if he want to charge i oso no choice liao.. hee... </font></font>

TF.
Ya my EDD is 18June. But due to recently problem raise - irregular contractions, bb move less, gynae need to monitor closely and I have to monitor also just in case may have to go pop lo... Since its #2, he was saying will be much earlier than EDD.. Hope to pop anytime from now lo hehehe BUT now everything back to normal so just keep my finger crossing.

SHARON! What A GO! True laughing gas helps alot beginning stage. I also hate the pushing part. Its like been constipated for months to get that head out of us! But sometime without EPI will be able to feel the contractions and push out faster whereas some with EPI may take bit longer time if too numb totally no feeling.

Soyabean,
The stitiching part wont feel anything. Why? Cos we already so tired and our focus is at our bb. Looking at our bb distract us and V area already sore even gynae jab med on our V area before stitich we dont really feel a thingy

Still have not receive any updates from angie_bb about her induction in hospital to be done this morning. HOW about Feifei &amp; Iamsnow? Pop liao????

ioio,

better to check w public banking whether they would except if you changed your mind after with private.

my understanding is no.

Soyabean,
I pump ard 6 times daily, out of which 2 rounds of pumpings are throw down the drain, so tat is oni 4 pumps usable for her consumptions. I do let her latch on but she not too keen cos it is too slow for her, so her latching on is like appetizer &amp; for play oni.

Sharon,
CONGRATS!!!!! U made it!!!!

ioio, I don't know if there is any benefit to doctors if we opt for pte cord blood storage. it's just my guess. cos statistically, there is little value to pte storage. I believe public storage is better in the long run for more people. That's what I feel personally.

cactus: thanks for clarifying

the concern with having just one public bank is usually the waiting time should the child really require it. like with organ transplant, the wait is generally long, by which time some patients would have passed on as they cannot wait it out. but ya, if more people support it, they'll have a bigger store, which means chances of a match will be higher and wait time shorter.

ioio: i'm delivering at NUH, under Mary Rauff. you are the one doing the updates hor? can add me? baby was 2.5-2.6kg at 35 weeks. now 37w2d and edd 12 june. thanks thanks!

Felicia
Ya, smtx gd tat we in tis forum then we hear from all the enquiries n verify wif one another. Its like 10 persons call MOM, u get at least 5 different answers...hee.. Ya, some gynae dun charge.

Initially i also tot hw come pay for only 20 years for cordlife. Wat hapen aft 20 years, n cordlife explain that's the legal age for the child to decide if wnt to transfer to his own name so he fund himself. But the storage can continue infinity. See different ans again on the life span of the storage effectiveness.

TF, I wasn't award that donor will be given priority of any sort.. I could be wrong. I didn't ask SCBB..

For those pple in the insurance line, acts of god is really a very wide exception. things like power supply failure is also act of god.. what is not act of god is the company never pay electricity bills, then cause power supply failure. actually this is just one example.

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">roooller, tinyfeet.. i hv signed with cordlife liao.. so now chk oso no use liao... haiz.. hee.. as tis is the only one and oni one bb tt we wants so i am thinking of keeping the cordblood w us first.. so shall c how later.. techno is improving.. shall c wats the progress...

crystal... everytime u pump, u put it in a bottle.. if it's not totally filled.. do u fill up the existing one or use a new bottle?</font></font>

ioio: everytime i pump into a bottle, if its not totally filled then i leave it le.. the nurse told me that BM from diff pumps (i.e. diff timing) should not be mixed together.. so everytime i pump, will use new bottles..

actually, I feel that if there is a demand, there will be supply. Pte companies all just want to earn money. that's what I feel. also, these days in ssingapore, families are getting smaller. just 1 or 2 kids most of the time. parents are getting more affluent and willing to spend on their newborn. so if they can afford a nominal payment per year for storage, they will do it. it is very natural. I battled very very hard within myself, and then again with my hb before I decided not to store ptely. We can afford the $ for storage.. but it just felt against ethics to store it ptely. I don't like the way pte companies are making profit from all this when there is so much unproven...

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">thanks angel and roooller.. i was like thinking of that Q and wondering whether half a dozen of bottles is enough.. hee...</font></font>