(2008/06) June 2008

Ellysia,
Y is the CC so slow in teaching alphabets?

I have started my boy on enrichment early this year and he is learning addition now.

Zuen,
R u attending the chinese enrichment program?

Connie,
What school is ur girl attending? She's much younger and can master e sound of most letters? Shauna can only do sounds of some letters. I started her on ballet and just started LCentral for phonics.
I am intending to continue with CNL. She likes the sch and I like that it is a Christian environment. Her cousin hasn't got a space in jurong Calvary and I tried calling. The waiting list is very long. E admin asked me not to bother to Q. -.o"
I guess there is no perfect solution. Although Kids r v adaptable and CNL is definitely not e strongest in academic, I have decided that I wanted Shauna to enjoy herSelf in pre-school. I am signing her up for enrichments to help.

Yup, will sign her up for e Chinese enrichment, more bcos I want to keep her away from home during the holidays. But she needs Chinese class lah. She speaks Chinese with any mo accent.
Did zac perform at geh poh cc?

Zuen,
my gal in Summer montessori at my block.
They r stronger in English n art. Almost everyday got artwork home. Zac wif them on enrichment on Sat and he know a-z well n phonic sound. started 3 session on addition. Think my gal will end with chinese enrichment in future.

I let him go for chinese music but not the enrichment after class. He can ask maid to carry him n fall asleep on the way back. I explain to the teacher that it will waste my $$ cos he will end up sleep in class which he is currently doing in his class. The chinese teacher usually ask him to sit infront cos he always fall asleep. his chinese improve a lot with less ang mo tune.

Yes, he went to the performance.

Does Shuana enjoy the ballet? do u notice their memory v good now? Can start ask them to memorise chinese poems. The school only have a few.

Connie,
S skipped her nap since she started her afternoon session. She ends up turning in early now, usually in bed by 9+pm. S just started LCentral n hopefully she will learn her phonics soon. She loves her ballet classes.
We were at e performance too but I forgot to ask her who is Zac. I supposed we saw each other but didn't recognize,
hehe.

Chinese poem! Imysrof duno lor. Lol. No wonder I need to sign shauna for chinese enrichment. Hehe.

Zuen,
Even wif nap, occassionally my boy still can sleep from 9+pm till morning 7-8am. If she skip her nap, what does she do after class? that is 3 hrs b4 dinner.

I bought the san zijing and poem books from JW. $2/book. San zijing got pinying and explanation.
My colleague recommend the audio one with san zijing song.

I have given birth to a bb gal, 3.84KG last week. Been busy with moo moo and taking care of #1 and #2 together with hb.

Intend to start ICR or phonics class for my boy next year bec' now is busy with #2.

His CC only start of alphabets and i oso tink its slow. My boy seems to learn numbers ored but he still can't recognize all the alphabets. Talking in English and Chinese r no problem and he can switch btw 2 languages. If people ask him in English he will ans in English, and same for Chinese.

The CC will have chinese phonics next year. So will be only taking English phonics as enrichment. Also thinking to enrol him in piano lessons but dunno his interest will persist or not.

Connie,
Shauna is at my brö's place during the day. She has her cousins to keep her company.

Ellysia,
Congrats! By natural birth? Really big baby wor.
Shauna can recognize all the letters but do get mixed up at times. Have to teach her ourselves.

Yup. tis round i manage to push out without assistance. Both pregnancies got epidural, but this one is shorter (around 10hrs) as compared to previous (19hrs).

Ellysia,
10 hours! That is still very long wor.
Then again, with epidural, I suppose not much pain. Hehe. I had epidural too with no 2 n I really think that it is God sent. I enjoy my 2nd delivery so much. Hohoho.

Zuen,
Ya, now like more mobile as they grow older. Can't imagine having to go thru the stage again.

I wanted to have a dragon but hb not supportive. Expenses too high.

Zac is in the stage of asking "Why" and "what" now. Very irritating.

Have u start weaning off the nite diaper for Shawna?

Connie,
Wah, u wanted 3 ah?
I surrender with 2. I realized that this year flew by bcos we are so busy with 2 kids. I m enjoying my time with shauna now n hope that isaac grows up quickly.
Shauna passed the why stage. Still will ask but doesn't drive us crazy like a while ago.
Shauna still doesn't wake up to go toilet on her own in e night leh. She wets our bed so frequently. I will wake her up for night pee. But when I am too lazy sometimes, I put on a diaper for her. Most nights, she will wake up after she wets her diaper, asking me to help her take it off.

Zuen,
Wow, mine will sleep through eventhough the diapers overflow. think I'm still a long way to success.

Not sure y, I wanted a dragon so much. haha.
Time with kids are super fast.

Connie,
S wetted e bed last night again. -.o" she peed before I manage to wake her up to go to the toilet. My poor bed.
Have a dragon baby lah. The govt will thank u. Sgp need more mummies like you. I can hardly breath with 2!

Zuen,
Maybe cause I have helper so makes my job easier except for the time allocation issue. Now both grown up so activity can be done together.

My hb says no $$ for policy so not considering at current moment lei. so sad

How do you handle the wetted bed at night? Change the bed sheet?

Connie,
I also got helper but still feels tired lor. During weekdays, we only see them at abt 8pm wor.

When she wets e bed, we simply shift and try not to sleep on e wet spot! Lol. We only change e sheets e next day and spray lots of febreeze! We are intending to change our mattress when we manage to drive her out of our room. :p

Zu En

I tink 10 hrs is ored considered good bec my #1 is so long!

I dun tink my boy can be toilet train for night time too. Even when he nap we let him wear diapers bec' he wet the bed sometimes. Now he sleeping on mattress in another room with my hb. But when #2 cry at night and my hb come to help, my #1 woke up and ask for attention! can be frustrating when we r ored v tired.

Ellysia,
Haha.. Actually I didn't mind the hours of waiting for my #2 cos I was on epidural and was happily sleeping and watching tv. I am one of those lucky ones to take to epidural very well, no side effects at all. When I delivered shauna, it was natural without epidural and I wanted to die when labor was only 6 hrs lor. Lol.

I hate it too when both wake up at e same time n fight for attention. But shauna usually sleep thru watever drama that Isaac puts up. Hehe.

Ellysia
Maybe cos mine was fast so I Really can't imagine how u go thru tt 10hrs. Constant pain or no pain till last hr.

Zuen
I plan to change mattress too cos e spring spoil n smart me remove e logo so now warranty void. 10yr warrant n spoil within a yr. My next task is train my boy diaperless at nite after my gal kick off e pacifier. 3 days thru e quiting, her molar report n she cried not sure due to molar or pacifier.

Zuen
Wat is e timing u set at nite to bring shuana to pee? How many times? I setting 4x. Like too many rounds but he pee every round.

Zuen
Wat is e timing u set at nite to bring shuana to pee? How many times? I setting 4x. Like too many rounds but he pee every round.

Zuen,
Maybe zac is not ready for the nite training. I will be v tired if cont like that. he pee b4 sleep, 12, 3,6. Only manage to reduce to 3 after 2 days then stop cos he fall sick n skip school whole week. He will change to am session next year.

I find it weird, my maid go fetch him and at time came back late. She told me Z request to go shopping and refuse to go home. She is close to another maid in the same class. Both always go walk with the 2 kids. HB find it weird too. AT time they came back closed to 4pm.

my boy wake up easily so at night, can be v stressed when i need hb to help me n my boy woke up and also want my hb attention.

I heard from a couple of frens tat usu night training can be carried out only at 4 yrs old esp for boys.

Mine still insist to poo inside diaper although he is toilet trained for day time. night time still using diapers.

both my delivery i am on epidural. so only pain for few hrs then later part no pain. but during pushing was still painful. i happy tat i manage to push #2 out naturally cos #1 has to use forceps and recovery slower.

Ellysia,
Use forcep will recover later? Both of mine use forcep. #1 already no strength after gynae arrived. #2, he want to make it easier for me.

Temp stop the nite training cos he is sick and I'm not feeling well plus something happen at SIL place.

yah. use forceps need to cut open bigger so recovery slower. i found tat natural give birth healing is so much faster.

Btw, any of yr 08 kids are able to write yet?

Yest i go out jalan with my baby, i met a mummy who said her #1 is able to write and he is also 08 born.

Good morning ladies! Long long time never log into here le... hope everyone and their babies are fine..

Re ICR, Isaiah has been with ICR Jurong East for a term already, now into 2nd term... I sat in on 1 lesson before and I wasnt impressed. Teacher just read a story book then play alphabet cards, stuff that we can do at home if we got time, but guess we are too busy. He knows all the first phonics sounds of A-Z but not through ICR but rather through leadfrog dvd haha so somehow I think ICR abit waste $$ but he enjoys the class alot so I let him attend.

Ellysia, Isaiah can write A-Z and sometimes 1 - 10... but duno how to read words. Congrats on your delivery!!

Zuen and Connie, you all want to change house ah? Centris or caspian? Buy caspian ah, we bought one there last year cause near his childcare n in law place...then we can be neighbours!!
Going TOP next year, very fast. But if can earn $$ when TOP, we'll sell it and wun stay there.

feifei can share which is doctor is it? Im also worried they short sighted.. kids nowadays too much Iphone

Btw have u all decided which kindy to send to next year? I managed to secure a place at JCK, still thinking whether to send him

Roxy
I suggest u go ahead w jck since got slot. They r much cheaper n advance although pressurize. My frien gals there, comment v good although ratio high. I didn't get vacant there so I will maintain at Cnl n enrichment at summer n see how. But u must tahan e long bus journey. Wat is ur kids plan after he attend kiddy? No more cc? I'm not moving but my bil will temp stay there while he renovate his place.

Ellysia
My boy classmate can write n will auto do homework. Envy. My boy still lazy to write. U need to get thick pencil for them to train writing else their holding grip will not b good.

Roxy
Icr Allow u to sit in? I attend once but Only my boy allow to go in. E teacher show me his work, didn't sAy much but he already done those in his enrichment class so I ignore. Furthermore. Icr only English so more x. Current one got maths n he just started on minus.

Wah, u all make me gan cheong. Shauna can't write, she can only do tracing. I dun think she knows all e 1st sound yet, currently at LCentral and enjoying herself.

Roxy,
Jck is hot cakes, shld go for it. Shauna didn't manage to get a space too so we are also staying put with cnl cos she seems to be happy with the school now. She was rejecting school last term and we had a hard time. So I am just more than happy that I dun have to force her to school now.
We are not buying a condo now, the price is too high and sadly, no sign that the price is coming down. You can sell caspian bcos you bought it before the new ppty ruiling? Your hb is ruling old boy, right? Caspian will be good for you.

Connie,
Zac started maths ah. I am thinking of signing shauna up for xin suan next year. I need a bigger pay rise!

Zuen,
How much is the xin suan? I'm keen too but many pple look at me a KS now. hahah

No choice, he pronounication was v bad, I don want to end like my friend sending to specialist and phonic to solve the issue. I start early to cut cost.

I changing Z to am session next year. My maid kept bringing him to walk with another maid after class. At times reach home around 4pm. Saw some photo of her with the maid. Furthermore, he doze off in chinese class quite frequent since he wake up around 7+.

Connie and zuen... I see... good they happy in CNL... btw is zac better? I saw ur fb post. how abt bringing him see Chinese doc? wat class is it for maths? I called up e xin suan school at jurong east cun rem the name off hand they say child must be 4 yrs old n must learn how to write 1-10 already faintz....

Yes we bought it last yr so new ruling dun apply to go but I think now difficult to earn $$ with the economy gg into recession

im not sure abt the school bus ride scared too long distance n time consuming... currently thinking of sending him to jck in morn then go cc in noon.. shiong got to pay 2 sides heng e cc is cheap.

Connie, summer seems very good can even
learn maths think we"ll go take a look.. zu en which Sunday school is it? I brought Isaiah to chc children church he dun like...

Roxy,
Wah, school in am and cc in pm. Siong on the pocket! I tot ur mum or mil is helping to look after isaiah?
We are attending Faith Methodist church but skipped quite a while bcos shauna has ballet in am and phonics at 1pm. Unable to fit church in between. Waiting for her to upgrade in her phonics class to change timing.

wah shauna is taking ballet already... does she like it?

my cc quite reasonably charged, only $230 per mth... so if add kindy costs, its still like wat normal cc charges nowadays

btw i called yamaha at frontier cc. They have vacanies for music wonderland for kids from jan 2012... im signing up for tues 8pm slot... are u all interested? we can go together! cause parent need to attend also

Roxy,
Shauna is all into princessy and ballet stuff now and is totally enjoying her ballet classes. I think she's happy to b dressed up as a ballerina more than anything else.

Ah, that music appreciation thing. Not sure if shauna will be keen. Let me go home and ask her. The kids have their own opinion now.

Have been busy with the other forum for #2 which they have been using fb, and busy with #2 too, she is now 3mths old.

U all can add me to fb, my email is [email protected], do pm me to let me know who u are.

My boy still haven't attend any enrichment. wanted to start next year but now busy with #2 and MIL dun want to take care so have to send to ifc = extra cost. so hb said have to do all our maths before decide got money for his enrichment. I oso want to send him to music but phonics is our priority. Yet hb feel tat his talking / speech is fine but i tink he can't write bec the CC never teach. CC will only teach writing next year. he is still doodle and scribbling during art.

Connie,
Haven't enroll. Yes, I think it is CMA.

Re: writing
I was surprise when I realize that shauna can write some of her ABCs in upper case. I always tot that she can only trace. Maybe ur kids can also write already just that they dun have the opportunity to do so.

Zuen,
Gals are faster. My boy still not holding the pencil properly. His 8 is 2 zero. Not sure who teach him that. HEard iciban kindy at yunan is good. Academy is well prepared for P1 & P2. At current moment, still didn't see CNL positive side towards P1 & P2 preparation. But they expanding the school, next year students no double. 2 class of N1.

Connie,
Shauna writes 8 as 2 zeros too! Yes, Yunnan ichiban is very academically driven. I visited them 2x actually but I always discount them thereafter. Maybe bcos the administrator is a p**, who is more interested in pushing sales and telling me how good academically driven they are than telling me the teaching methodology. Actually, she couldn't answer my questions much. The compound is very crowded and therefore very noisy. The teachers don't look very professional too. But these are my perception lah.

I emailed mrs chong to ask her about the syllabus for nursery, k1 & 2 but she hasn't reply. Not sure if it is bcos it is school holiday and she doesn't access her email.

I am having problems with my new maid now. She has been with me for 1 month. I am very tempted to send both kids to cc and do away with the maid. But that would mean that we will have to labor with housework after the kids sleep. Nightmare. And my hb worked on weekends so I will be on my own minding the kids. -.o"

Zuen,
Haha. Maybe this is what the teacher teach in sch ba.

Do u find that CNL are stronger in Chinese? All enrichment is chinese. Let me know once you get the news from Mrs Chong.

Me too have the urge to send both to CC. But the life there really study and not much play according to my friend. My boy's peer is there and his mom withdraw him from enrichment cos the sch shifted but the teacher told the boy's mommy not to waste $$ as ichiban cover all syllabus till P2. Well prepared so those sending kids there actually can skip enrichment. But no play for such young age, I wonder will there be any impact? What you think? You must be tempted too since you visited twice.

I might visit them next year and decide.

What happen to your last maid?

i went to ichiban kindy before.. they use those teaching boards & tables, eg one side of board is octopus then got many alphabets at the side and the kid will have to find letter O and pin onto the table. Classrooms are quite small

Are you all referring to Ichiban montessori which is a childcare centre or ichiban kindergarten? If its montesorri, I do not really like the place cause the kids all run around just play and play... and not much discipline.

Just managed to get both kids a place at berries and same timing, so happy!!

I'm withdrawing Isaiah from ICR. The teacher was playing handphone inside the lesson, faint. I heard one mother complain about it to the school and I questioned Isaiah about it and he said yes, the teacher using handphone. Suddenly the teacher is no longer with ICR, wonder whether she resigned or got sacked. I'm sending them to Icreativelearners