2007 Buangkok Mom??

shannon,
ha, your hb sounds abit like mine..good thing is that my mil usually watch tv in her own room.

Which cc your kids are in now?

Wan,
kids usually will cry when they start new environment. So be prepared for meimei to cry for a few weeks or more..My son cried for 4 mths before he stop! But his crying is 15min for the first few weeks, then down to 3mins for the next few mths. I know cos i hide in a corner to peep and also teachers will tell me he will stop crying once he start playing.
During the first few mths, sometimes he will say today dun wan sch..i try to talk to him but if he still firm abt not going then i strike a deal with him, ie no sch that day and i take leave to go out with him BUT next day must go sch! And during that day, i will "educate" him by saying wah, this one need money, that one need money, mummy need to work and you need to go sch so that we can go shopping on weekends! Haha...seems to work well.
I suppose kids are like adults, they have their off days too that they dun feel like gog sch.

shannon,
ha, your hb sounds abit like mine..good thing is that my mil usually watch tv in her own room.

Which cc your kids are in now?

Wan,
kids usually will cry when they start new environment. So be prepared for meimei to cry for a few weeks or more..My son cried for 4 mths before he stop! But his crying is 15min for the first few weeks, then down to 3mins for the next few mths. I know cos i hide in a corner to peep and also teachers will tell me he will stop crying once he start playing.
During the first few mths, sometimes he will say today dun wan sch..i try to talk to him but if he still firm abt not going then i strike a deal with him, ie no sch that day and i take leave to go out with him BUT next day must go sch! And during that day, i will "educate" him by saying wah, this one need money, that one need money, mummy need to work and you need to go sch so that we can go shopping on weekends! Haha...seems to work well.
I suppose kids are like adults, they have their off days too that they dun feel like gog sch.

ivy,

children nowadays are too matured for their age. they seem to understand the adult's world at a young age. I also tell my son if mummy dun work on that day = no $, then he won't buy things. he is very sensible usually, except for the 15min b4 gg sch. so I hope he can tackle the 'bully' problem soon cos he needs to fend for himself and grow up

he will tell me saturday and sunday are his off days, as if hinting us to bring him out. but these few weeks, he knows he shouldn't be crying to sch. so he didn't really request for outing. but I'm thinking to bring them to marina barrage tomorrow. has been a stressful week...

ivy,

children nowadays are too matured for their age. they seem to understand the adult's world at a young age. I also tell my son if mummy dun work on that day = no $, then he won't buy things. he is very sensible usually, except for the 15min b4 gg sch. so I hope he can tackle the 'bully' problem soon cos he needs to fend for himself and grow up

he will tell me saturday and sunday are his off days, as if hinting us to bring him out. but these few weeks, he knows he shouldn't be crying to sch. so he didn't really request for outing. but I'm thinking to bring them to marina barrage tomorrow. has been a stressful week...

wan & vamiga.. tanks ..
tink will still bring the stroller and use it when nec .. thanks!

grace, welcome! ehh..i nvr heard of them b4, sorry cant comment..

mummie heard of monte kidzworld? its at HG green .. they ve kindermusik classes there..

wan & vamiga.. tanks ..
tink will still bring the stroller and use it when nec .. thanks!

grace, welcome! ehh..i nvr heard of them b4, sorry cant comment..

mummie heard of monte kidzworld? its at HG green .. they ve kindermusik classes there..

Welcome Grace!

I've no idea abt the cc too.

Ivy & May -- Thanks 4 the info. on MindChamp.
Great concept but huge price tag!
Think I'll rather mix & match our own enrichment classes based on individual's interests then.
heheehee...

Ivy,
I'm also into letting kids zz early (wish i can join them too!haha..).
Jb is usually asleep by 8pm & Jx, 9pm & they used to zz much earlier when they r smaller.

Perhaps u can cut down on milk to encourage him to eat more? It's a vicious cycle, u see.
Kids won't starve themselves, so they will eat when they r hungry. If it's difficult to cut his milk habit, u may 1 2 try cutting down the amt per feed instead.
I'm always grateful towards Jx's v experienced PG teacher who made me see that a full bottle of milk is v stressful for his small tummy when I was asking her y did she cut down his feed in cc on her own accord. She asked me to imagine how bloated even an adult will feel after gulping 250ml of milk in 1 go.

Hi Shannon,
It must b v tough on u to juggle the kids after work w/o much support. Is ur hubby like that all along or that's a recent change? Just curious bcos he doesn't seem to like kids that much for u to want to bear him 2.

Hi Wan,
There's a "bully" in De's class?

Guess crying is inevitable in a new environment, esp for younger kids who can't control their emotions yet. It's just how fast we can help them to adapt if it's just only stranger anxiety.
Perhaps reading books together abt 1st day of school will help?

I'm also wondering if wanna send Jb to Kindertots at Fernvale Pt for its 1.5hr daily playgroup.
A short write-up:
http://www.kindermusik.com.sg/newsletter_may08.htm
http://www.kindertots.blogspot.com/ (the boy in organge shirt in 2nd & 3rd slides is my friend's son who just joined the 2hr group)
Ha! Just realised as I read that the blogger is the teacher Adil I had spoken to over the phone & she sounded nice & professional.

I like the idea of no uniform (less start-up cost as I just wanna try Jb out for the time being & move him to PCF at Nursery or K1). Going to reccee it next week.

Welcome Grace!

I've no idea abt the cc too.

Ivy & May -- Thanks 4 the info. on MindChamp.
Great concept but huge price tag!
Think I'll rather mix & match our own enrichment classes based on individual's interests then.
heheehee...

Ivy,
I'm also into letting kids zz early (wish i can join them too!haha..).
Jb is usually asleep by 8pm & Jx, 9pm & they used to zz much earlier when they r smaller.

Perhaps u can cut down on milk to encourage him to eat more? It's a vicious cycle, u see.
Kids won't starve themselves, so they will eat when they r hungry. If it's difficult to cut his milk habit, u may 1 2 try cutting down the amt per feed instead.
I'm always grateful towards Jx's v experienced PG teacher who made me see that a full bottle of milk is v stressful for his small tummy when I was asking her y did she cut down his feed in cc on her own accord. She asked me to imagine how bloated even an adult will feel after gulping 250ml of milk in 1 go.

Hi Shannon,
It must b v tough on u to juggle the kids after work w/o much support. Is ur hubby like that all along or that's a recent change? Just curious bcos he doesn't seem to like kids that much for u to want to bear him 2.

Hi Wan,
There's a "bully" in De's class?

Guess crying is inevitable in a new environment, esp for younger kids who can't control their emotions yet. It's just how fast we can help them to adapt if it's just only stranger anxiety.
Perhaps reading books together abt 1st day of school will help?

I'm also wondering if wanna send Jb to Kindertots at Fernvale Pt for its 1.5hr daily playgroup.
A short write-up:
http://www.kindermusik.com.sg/newsletter_may08.htm
http://www.kindertots.blogspot.com/ (the boy in organge shirt in 2nd & 3rd slides is my friend's son who just joined the 2hr group)
Ha! Just realised as I read that the blogger is the teacher Adil I had spoken to over the phone & she sounded nice & professional.

I like the idea of no uniform (less start-up cost as I just wanna try Jb out for the time being & move him to PCF at Nursery or K1). Going to reccee it next week.

vamiga,
his per feed is only miserable 180ml leh..if i further cut down, he will be eating even lesser. In fact, i think there was once that i left him alone with his dad while i went for a mtg. And he did not eat or dirnk anything for 7hrs straight! He is the kind that you dun ask him eat, he wun ask from you...skinny boy lo.

So far pd say he is acceptable weight range...Maybe if i can find a real good trustable maid then i can leave infant with her and also ask her pick up X back for dinner by 5pm. Pray hard hard bah...

vamiga,
his per feed is only miserable 180ml leh..if i further cut down, he will be eating even lesser. In fact, i think there was once that i left him alone with his dad while i went for a mtg. And he did not eat or dirnk anything for 7hrs straight! He is the kind that you dun ask him eat, he wun ask from you...skinny boy lo.

So far pd say he is acceptable weight range...Maybe if i can find a real good trustable maid then i can leave infant with her and also ask her pick up X back for dinner by 5pm. Pray hard hard bah...

vamiga,

thanks for sharing. I have researched and asked more experienced mothers/ grandmothers and realised it takes some children up to 3mth to settle down. so I have another 1.5mth to go. good luck to me...

I dunno the real reason y de cry. but he will tell everyone he doesn't know how to deal with the 'bully' in school. when I asked the principal, she say children are excited when they play, so bound to be abit 'rough'. de needs to learn to deal with these situation himself

fernvale pt is the temporary 'kopitiam' bldg right? didn't know there is a playgroup there. anyway, it is abit out of place from both anchorvale or buangkok for ILs to bring. but just kpo, keep me in the loop if the school is good

vamiga,

thanks for sharing. I have researched and asked more experienced mothers/ grandmothers and realised it takes some children up to 3mth to settle down. so I have another 1.5mth to go. good luck to me...

I dunno the real reason y de cry. but he will tell everyone he doesn't know how to deal with the 'bully' in school. when I asked the principal, she say children are excited when they play, so bound to be abit 'rough'. de needs to learn to deal with these situation himself

fernvale pt is the temporary 'kopitiam' bldg right? didn't know there is a playgroup there. anyway, it is abit out of place from both anchorvale or buangkok for ILs to bring. but just kpo, keep me in the loop if the school is good

Hi Ivy,
I now staying near Shenton way n my kids at cc in town,
Hi Vamiga,
I think maybe the relationship have been too long frm coutship to marriage >10yrs. Having bb is to fill up my life as not much topic with hubby.

Hi Ivy,
I now staying near Shenton way n my kids at cc in town,
Hi Vamiga,
I think maybe the relationship have been too long frm coutship to marriage >10yrs. Having bb is to fill up my life as not much topic with hubby.

vamiga,

I meant 'koufu' bldg.

shannon,

isn't it abit sad that ur kids won't see their daddy everyday, even if he doesn't need to travel? I also paktow for >10yrs b4 getting married, but I think parenthood is a partnership, not very healthy to do it alone, except for unforeseen circumstances. sorry to be kpo...

vamiga,

I meant 'koufu' bldg.

shannon,

isn't it abit sad that ur kids won't see their daddy everyday, even if he doesn't need to travel? I also paktow for >10yrs b4 getting married, but I think parenthood is a partnership, not very healthy to do it alone, except for unforeseen circumstances. sorry to be kpo...

Hi Wan,

I hope my hubby do his part too. I sometimes ask him to bath the kids, or apply cream ,or play with them.very simple tasks but he just sit in front of tv. Talk to him that the kids need him, ask my son to call him to come into the room , he would just shouted "can't u wait?". my 3 yrs old boy then turned to me and say," Daddy don;t like me. Daddy dont want me."

But the Daddy still the same.

Hi Wan,

I hope my hubby do his part too. I sometimes ask him to bath the kids, or apply cream ,or play with them.very simple tasks but he just sit in front of tv. Talk to him that the kids need him, ask my son to call him to come into the room , he would just shouted "can't u wait?". my 3 yrs old boy then turned to me and say," Daddy don;t like me. Daddy dont want me."

But the Daddy still the same.

shannon,

hmmm, can't offer much advise but I think ur boys will need their father figure. my son was actually more attached to my hb & I was jealous at 1st. but now, I'm starting to appreciate that he shares the responsibility.

on the bright side, ur boys will grow up more independent, unlike my son who is pampered since he was born. that's why I intend to send my gal to childcare to 'break the cycle'.

cherie hearts anchorvale will operate from 2 mar. I will start her when she hits 18mth. I hope I won't have to face 2 crying babies...wish me luck

shannon,

hmmm, can't offer much advise but I think ur boys will need their father figure. my son was actually more attached to my hb & I was jealous at 1st. but now, I'm starting to appreciate that he shares the responsibility.

on the bright side, ur boys will grow up more independent, unlike my son who is pampered since he was born. that's why I intend to send my gal to childcare to 'break the cycle'.

cherie hearts anchorvale will operate from 2 mar. I will start her when she hits 18mth. I hope I won't have to face 2 crying babies...wish me luck

any aspella mummies joining baby contest on 28feb? our official address is anchorvale, can't qualify. can go down to support if any of ur kids taking part

wan,
be prepared for crying babies if you are starting meimei along with the opening of the cc.
Cos all are new kids and might seems chaotic. But everything will settled down within 2 weeks or so...Thats what happened for faith too..

wan,
be prepared for crying babies if you are starting meimei along with the opening of the cc.
Cos all are new kids and might seems chaotic. But everything will settled down within 2 weeks or so...Thats what happened for faith too..

wan, i'm planning to send in sr's fotos for the contest =P
but beforet that, we need to change our address at NPP .. hee... my NRIC add is still my mum's and HB's is his mum's!

ehh.. can we change add online huh? hee.. dun wan go down npp so ma fan.. urgh

wan, i'm planning to send in sr's fotos for the contest =P
but beforet that, we need to change our address at NPP .. hee... my NRIC add is still my mum's and HB's is his mum's!

ehh.. can we change add online huh? hee.. dun wan go down npp so ma fan.. urgh

Hi Slimz,
SK CC also having a baby contest. Join lah~

Hi Shannon,

Perhaps plan some outdoor family activities like playing ball at the park to help bonding? Something to get ur hubby off the tv?
Have u considered counselling?

Hi Wan,
Yes, Fernvale pt has a Koufu. There's a free shuttle van from my place to the "mall" every 45min & the timing is just nice for the playgroup.

Won't even need to drive unless it's raining.

Turned out both teachers are previously from Jx's PCF. They invited us to stay on for a trial class w another mother-gal pair.
The room isn't v big but ok size for 10-12 kids, w lots of toys, partially motessori.

It's quite a fun session & Jb took abt half an hour to unstick his buttocks from my laps. By end of 1.5hr, he only rem my presence on & off.

1 thing i like is that parents can accompany the kids to play till they settled down. After half hour, only 1 gal was still sticky, so the teacher offered to carry her from the mom. True to her promise, she manaaged to distract the gal from crying further within 1-2 minutes after the mom left the room.

If we signed up for 1-3 day week, it provides the flexibility of changing to another day of the week if we can't make it on the designated days.
The other mom signed up on the spot for a 2-day week while I would like to get Jb jabbed against chicken pox 1st & see how.
My other concern is that 1 boy has runny nose but allowed to attend class, which is abit "dangerous" at their age, as they would still put fingers/toys into their mouths. Some of their toys r faulty too.

Overall, it's a better & less rigid option than those similiarly priced RC-based, v structured playgroup that I'd recceed since Jx's days but not up to the fun & well-kept std of MyGym,which hourly rate is 3x more ex & in Woodlands/Marine Parade etc.
I'll KIV it for the time-being. No hurry.

Hi Slimz,
SK CC also having a baby contest. Join lah~

Hi Shannon,

Perhaps plan some outdoor family activities like playing ball at the park to help bonding? Something to get ur hubby off the tv?
Have u considered counselling?

Hi Wan,
Yes, Fernvale pt has a Koufu. There's a free shuttle van from my place to the "mall" every 45min & the timing is just nice for the playgroup.

Won't even need to drive unless it's raining.

Turned out both teachers are previously from Jx's PCF. They invited us to stay on for a trial class w another mother-gal pair.
The room isn't v big but ok size for 10-12 kids, w lots of toys, partially motessori.

It's quite a fun session & Jb took abt half an hour to unstick his buttocks from my laps. By end of 1.5hr, he only rem my presence on & off.

1 thing i like is that parents can accompany the kids to play till they settled down. After half hour, only 1 gal was still sticky, so the teacher offered to carry her from the mom. True to her promise, she manaaged to distract the gal from crying further within 1-2 minutes after the mom left the room.

If we signed up for 1-3 day week, it provides the flexibility of changing to another day of the week if we can't make it on the designated days.
The other mom signed up on the spot for a 2-day week while I would like to get Jb jabbed against chicken pox 1st & see how.
My other concern is that 1 boy has runny nose but allowed to attend class, which is abit "dangerous" at their age, as they would still put fingers/toys into their mouths. Some of their toys r faulty too.

Overall, it's a better & less rigid option than those similiarly priced RC-based, v structured playgroup that I'd recceed since Jx's days but not up to the fun & well-kept std of MyGym,which hourly rate is 3x more ex & in Woodlands/Marine Parade etc.
I'll KIV it for the time-being. No hurry.

Just to confirm that Junior school house is the 1 that took over the space from Kiddy Academy behind shop N save & it isn't v well-run as well?
I just realised that Junior is actually part of Cherie Heart Group multiple-brand franchise...

Just to confirm that Junior school house is the 1 that took over the space from Kiddy Academy behind shop N save & it isn't v well-run as well?
I just realised that Junior is actually part of Cherie Heart Group multiple-brand franchise...

vamiga,
yes, Junior schhouse is the one that take over kiddy academy.

I also only know today (from the papers ad) that its part of the CH group! No wonder the uniform is yellow color too...

But as i mentioned before, i really condemn the sch environment liao..haha..

vamiga,
yes, Junior schhouse is the one that take over kiddy academy.

I also only know today (from the papers ad) that its part of the CH group! No wonder the uniform is yellow color too...

But as i mentioned before, i really condemn the sch environment liao..haha..

Thanks, Ivy!
I saw the same ad!!

Actually was quite interested in exploring the franchise & nearly called 2 book a seat 4 hubby. Then realised it's 4 Junior sch house, (my impression is it's lower tier than CH,not sure rt or not) & rem reading abt that lousy SK branch here, so not v confident abt the franchise scheme anymore.
hahahahaa...

Thanks, Ivy!
I saw the same ad!!

Actually was quite interested in exploring the franchise & nearly called 2 book a seat 4 hubby. Then realised it's 4 Junior sch house, (my impression is it's lower tier than CH,not sure rt or not) & rem reading abt that lousy SK branch here, so not v confident abt the franchise scheme anymore.
hahahahaa...

vamiga,
haha, so you intend to go into the business huh?
Then contact them directly for the CH franchise lo. I think they are fast expanding.

vamiga,
haha, so you intend to go into the business huh?
Then contact them directly for the CH franchise lo. I think they are fast expanding.

haha...
all mummies...i oso have bad impression of junior sch house...kept changing management & principal de...my niece used to be there...but nanny kept changing...affecting their adapting system...lots of teacher from china too..have some doubts...initially wanna put my alfonsius there de..everything discussed ok le...then when the time comes when he turn 2..they changed principal then everything bo pa kay le..sigh...
slimz: dun tink can change add online lah...muz go police post de...gonna change sticker ma...
wan:din c ur de...how ws he 2day?

haha...
all mummies...i oso have bad impression of junior sch house...kept changing management & principal de...my niece used to be there...but nanny kept changing...affecting their adapting system...lots of teacher from china too..have some doubts...initially wanna put my alfonsius there de..everything discussed ok le...then when the time comes when he turn 2..they changed principal then everything bo pa kay le..sigh...
slimz: dun tink can change add online lah...muz go police post de...gonna change sticker ma...
wan:din c ur de...how ws he 2day?

ivy,

by the time mei reach 18mth, the school would have started for a month. most of the children should have settled down ba. my girl should be easier to handle than my boy.

she is down with fever these few days. I'm on child mc to take care of her. de is still having cough. so the virus is still in the air + the haze worsen the situation. de will skip school if cough persist.

hope mei will build up her immune system soon. otherwise she will fall sick easily when she starts childcare. have mixed feeling about starting her. abit of excitment & worries...

daphne,

de has been singing many new songs these few days. he especially like the 'where is thumbman', 'little peter rabbit'. there is another song that goes 'what shall we do?'...'go out & play'. his '10 little indian boys' has a little girl version that goes 'woohaa woohaa shooting dancing'. enjoying every moment when he tell me all about his school activities, minus the crying part...

little cousin arriving next week. I'm also very kan cheong. so many changes, decisions, surprises...

ivy,

by the time mei reach 18mth, the school would have started for a month. most of the children should have settled down ba. my girl should be easier to handle than my boy.

she is down with fever these few days. I'm on child mc to take care of her. de is still having cough. so the virus is still in the air + the haze worsen the situation. de will skip school if cough persist.

hope mei will build up her immune system soon. otherwise she will fall sick easily when she starts childcare. have mixed feeling about starting her. abit of excitment & worries...

daphne,

de has been singing many new songs these few days. he especially like the 'where is thumbman', 'little peter rabbit'. there is another song that goes 'what shall we do?'...'go out & play'. his '10 little indian boys' has a little girl version that goes 'woohaa woohaa shooting dancing'. enjoying every moment when he tell me all about his school activities, minus the crying part...

little cousin arriving next week. I'm also very kan cheong. so many changes, decisions, surprises...

is junior schoolhouse at coris? I have bad impression of the premises. looks very dark from outside. anchorvale CH much better. good view with swimming pool. anyone interested to join mei?

Hi Vamiga,

Thanks for the advise. Tried but he will just give a cool smile and stand one stand while I play the ball games with my kids.

hi Wan & Dap,

Yup. the junior schhse is an condemned cc. Firstly, the hygenie fails, then the teachers ..

Hi Vamiga,

Thanks for the advise. Tried but he will just give a cool smile and stand one stand while I play the ball games with my kids.

hi Wan & Dap,

Yup. the junior schhse is an condemned cc. Firstly, the hygenie fails, then the teachers ..

shannon..take it easy ba...some men juz dun like to get involved de la..maybe they feel its women's job...watever is it...juz enjoy ourselves...ultimately, we won't be losing out...lol
wan...interested in joinin mei but my mei too small le...gonna wait a while...haha
hope de get well soon.
a lot of virus in the air reli...juz now when i send alfonsius to sch...few kids down wif cough & flu...hope he dun get it...sigh...

shannon..take it easy ba...some men juz dun like to get involved de la..maybe they feel its women's job...watever is it...juz enjoy ourselves...ultimately, we won't be losing out...lol
wan...interested in joinin mei but my mei too small le...gonna wait a while...haha
hope de get well soon.
a lot of virus in the air reli...juz now when i send alfonsius to sch...few kids down wif cough & flu...hope he dun get it...sigh...