2007 Buangkok Mom??

nothing worked for him. I left him to cry and let my MIL drag him to school.

was pondering on the options:

1. send meimei to full day childcare when she turn 18mth, de still go pcf
2. send both to same childcare but my hb say dun want de to affect meimei
3. both stay home & employ maid - children learn nothing from ILs/ maid, except become more pampered.

considering option 1. have recce cherie hearts at anchorvale cc last evening. environment ok, with view towards water (after the park is completed). what else to look for in childcare or what must I ask them?

Hmmm...full day care?tot u can get mil to look aft her too?
i tink option 2 is good...coz by then i tink de will be more settled le...some more can look aft each other...

but de told me he like pcf teachers and friends. it might be disruptive for us to introduce so many changes within 2 months if we choose to withdraw him from pcf.

MIL will be looking after little cousin after my SIL give birth next month. I dun think she can handle 3 kids- 1 crying boy to school, 1 demanding girl & 1 more infant. so better have option b4 SIL go back to work after her maternity leave

vamiga,
there was no maternity packages..so i use the child/family package as guideline? Or can you share with me how much you paid?

Daphne,
my hb know i am very serious abt how my kid shld turn out(or at least i try my best to teach him), so hb will keep quiet also..Spare the rod and spoilt the kid....

today i happend to be early to pick up son..and saw their so call dinner portion..pathatic...sigh..
a 1/4 fill bowl of plain soupy meehoon! sigh..no wonder my son is so skinny..But bo bian cos i need the childcare.

Wan,
why dun you consider option 2? But withdraw de from pcf at this moment and let him rest at home for 1-2mths and forget abt the bad experience of gog sch..
Then pepp him abt going to sch(cheri hearts) with mei mei and how he will have to keep a lookout for mei mei in sch..Sort of a big bro responsibilty for him!

Ivy,

I have discussed with my family and kinda kiv option 1 until meimei turn 18mth & little cousin arrive, ie around end Mar-Apr. cherie hearts will be getting their license and starting operation in 2 weeks time if everything go smoothly. I brought meimei to anchorvale cc yesterday. she had great fun playing with the toys & another new friend. I think she is that type who can adapt faster.

the thing abt de is that he really likes pcf, his teachers, his classmates. they are starting a 'project' on 'myself', so we are preparing the things for him to bring to school tomorrow. I dun want to spolit his momentum. but on the crying from 7am-9am, I'm clueless what to do.

he has picked up many new songs, games and sometimes make some 'imaginative' toys with paper. this is something I treasure sending him to school as he was reluctant to learn when I teach him 1 to 1. in a school environment, he could relate to other children and teacher's instruction better.

btw, the cherie hearts menu looks yummy! but I dun think meimei can eat much at her age. I realised the fees for cherie hearts is on the high side, compared to those located at HDB void deck. ard $100 more every mth. but the location is most ideal for me and I really like the environment (not sure abt meimei)

wan, the cherie hearts u toking abt is at the swimming pool there?
tink opt 2 sounds good, let him learn to bring meimei to sch..

yes. it is opposite the brewsbaker. usually very quiet on that side. they are building a new playground behind the childcare and obtaining their license in around 2 wks time.

the ironical thing is de didn't cry today. but he was running a fever, so we brought him to see a doctor. he look a little bit 'disappointed' that he can't go school today. I really dun understand him

Hi Daphne,

My son also will apologized what he have done wrong but I still punish him to stand at a corner if it is a repeated or serious mistake like hitting pple.

Hi Wan,

Are u there from 7am to 9am? Is it because he knows that you are somewhere around the corner so he cry? Reassure him that you will be back for him and if he did not cry in school you praise him and offer to bring him to play ground or a sweet as an encouragement.

Hi Ivy,

I also with MIL. She always like to feed the kids snacks before they sleep and I will scold my kids for taking the snacks and then my MIL heart pain to see them scolded by me and will "sometimes" ask when I am around if she can offer snacks.
Nevertheless, now I move to my mum's place and no need to see her so often and let my hubby stay with her. I will only come home with kids to my house during week ends.

wan, was it you or may who went HK with kiddos huh? my family planning a trip there end of march wor.. Its the first time i bring sr out of SG alot of things duno like her food, shld we bring stroller? she has nvr been in a baby carrier, doubt she would like it if we put her in one for the trip..
those pigeon instant food nice anot? was wondering if i shld bring a few packs over for her meals..
milk wise i got no problem coz i'm still latching her ..

I have just been barred from bringing my own son to school. I get blamed for my son not gg to school due to ILs over-pampering him. I told my hb, that's my limit. will send meimei to childcare once she reach 18mth.

slimz,

yes, I brought them to hk last nov. food wise, she can take congee but hk food is on the salty side. u might want to bring the travel cooker if u want to cook. we brought the stroller but didn't really use it. hk is very hilly and alot of steps. end up will fold up the stroller and have 1 more burden. u can see my photos in fb.

r u gg F&E or follow tour? itinerary?

shannon,
so your arrangement is to stay apart with your hb? i suppose my hb dun say anything when i complain abt mil cos he is travelling so much and he knows that i have to cope with so many things on my ownself that he dun dare to step on my toes further..else i might just blow up on him.

Wan,
how much is CH fees?

Ivy, playgroup is $840 b4 subsidies. w/ $300 subsidies pay $540. sign up b4 Apr 09, pay $486. Is it around $100 more than what u r paying at faith?

Wan,
CH got charge GST? If have then the usual price is abt 200 more than faith... If no gst, then the promo price is only 100 more than faith, hence a very good rate, esp if the location is ideal for you.

Ivy,

how do I check if they charge GST? the person in charge gave me a price list. I assume no GST. as I am new to this childcare search, I found myself lost when I found out the difference in the pricing. even among cherie hearts franchises, the prices can range from $650 to $980. so anchorvale is mid-range

my hb saw a banner near compasspoint for bubblesland childcare playgroup only $245. he ask me why do we need to pay so much more? I also dunno...

wan,
erh, call to ask? Cos alot of time the price list din state GST, then when you do payment then tell you must add GST!

well, the fees differ becos of the teacher-student ratio as well as quality of the teachers? I suppose you have to ask the CH whats their ratio and how many of their teachers are certificate, diploma and degree holders.

aiyo, why your ilaw din force him to go? If tmrw he say dun wan to go, then again no sch? I suppose it have to be align with your plans. If you think he really like pcf but just need more forcing then gotta bite the bullet and force him till he is adjusted, dun break his routine.

ivy,

I was barred from 'forcing' him to school. this am, I just dropped meimei and left without a word. they blamed me yesterday for talking to my son on school. come on, I have to encourage him, dun talk about school, how to encourage?

really very sian abt the whole episode

if I really go for option2, my problem is how to 'force' him to go when no one carry meimei for me? aiyo

poor wan...
take things easy lor...but i tink his momentum of gg to sch is not there...how bout u dun let ur in law settle this?like u take care of him gg to sch b4 gg to work...dun go thru ur ILs?then they fetch him?aft droppin de...then pass mei mei to them...this is an extreme measure though...will take weeks...ur work permits?

Sorry 4 MIA so long!! Bz playing nurse again.
Hubby extracted his wisdom tooth last Wed so was on MC almost whole week + Jx fallen sick again after 1 week of sch after CNY & spread the germs to hubby & Jb since weekends.
I think Jx's class aircon is too cold & sometimes he dint wear his jacket. I prefer his teachers last yr who would switch aircon to fans when the room is cool enough. NEA shld energy-audit PCF 1st.
hahahaa..:b

Hi Ivy,

We took the basic children/family package of 3x8R prints but add on an album of some 5R as I want a handy size instead of a bulky 8R. Can't really rem the exact price as it was 2yrs ago, think we paid $300+ & it includes softcopy of e selected pix.
U can always customise, she is quite flexible abt that.

Jx used to take 2nd helping when at faith even tho he is a small eater. U will have to train ur son to ask. Have u seen the way they slice the apple? Unpeeled & light can shine thru, w 1-2 slices per kid. That's y Jx was v thin then. Still thin now, as we sort of missed the window for his growth. Sigh~

Hi Slimz,
Saw MindChamps' ad the other day. Looks interesting w so many enrichment classes incorporated. So it's not a childcare but more like a pre-sch?
Any idea how much is its fee?

We went to HK for a mth last Aug when Jb was 1yo.
Stroller is useful for theme parks, malls & changing diapers pants (dont expect any diaper station hor & benches r limited in malls). Disneyland has stroller rental on 1st come 1st served basis.
Other than that, HK is not stroller friendly. We dumped ours there toward the end of trip when the front bar broke after too much carting up/down long flights of MTR stairs w JB in it. Not all exits has escalator/lift.

Most eating places doesnt have high chair (our nearest Mac only has 2) & aisles in char chan teng is too narrow to leave baby in stroller w/o blocking others. Most of time, we take turn carry Jb while others eat & my maid carried Jb in sarong to feed him.

Agreed w Wan that HK food is saltier. Instead of porridge, I usually order kway teow or mee sua soup & give it to Jb san soup. He likes rice soften w hot water + bits of our food too.
So it really depends on how adventurous abt food SR is.

Which airline r u using? SQ's basinnet is for up to 14kg but u'll need to request in advance when booking tix. Good to schedule the flight to coincide w bb's naptime so that u can enjoy ur meals in peace b4 feeding her when she wakes up. SQ provides warmed-up Heinz bb food. Bring snacks & toys to distract her on flights too. I dont recommend travelling on budget airlines or packaged tour w bb. Can vomit blood.
hahahaaa...:b

Hi Wan,
Cherie Heart is branded mah, so have to pay 4 the premium.
heheehhee...
How's De feeling today?
Mayb bcos still not fully recovered so dint go sch?
Let him rest more at home lah.
How come u r barred from sending him to sch? By whom?
Jx's classmate's mum called me yesterday for ideas after her daughter refused to go sch since CNY when she can't do her spelling. Refused to wear uniform & keep crying since wake up etc.
So today, she went w/o uniform & her mum left her in the class crying but Jx said she stopped after awhile & let teacher changed her into uniform.
So must toughen heart if u know De is actually perfectly ok in sch. Else he knows he has alternate option to fall back on if he protest hard enough & will fuel it. Must nip in the bud.

daphne,

work for me is flexible. my bosses know my problem. nothing to hide.

the difficult part is he is staying with my MIL since birth. cannot 'separate' them. de won't follow me home. my routine last week was send mei to them, drag de downstairs b4 gg to work. I can't bypass them unless I send both of them to childcare. but yesterday, they blamed me for making him cry. he want to cry, I also can't control. nobody should blame nobody. FIL kept nagging nagging nagging

Hi Wan,
Perhaps u can request to the teacher to let De went into the class earlier once she is ready?
Jx's sch lets the sch bus kids go in 15min earlier than the rest but if some parents r rushing off to work, can just request to drop the kids into class earlier too.
Perhaps he owuld like to "help" the teacher get ready for class like straightening the toys etc?

Hi Wan,
Perhaps u shld let ur PILs know that if De can't settled into PCF, the more drastic option will b to go full day childcare?
Then perhaps they will have the incentives to help physcho De abt sch when u r not ard too?

Another thought is that if De has issues following u home, has that habit spilled over to following u to sch? Perhaps enlist ur PILs to go together?
So De is in ur PIL's place even during weekends? Like that, in future how?

vamiga,

I must make friend with Jx's classmate's mum. same problem. last week I brought him down extra early, teacher changed uniform for him too. but my FIL kept saying I hurt de with all the pulling etc. he just stand and watch while i struggle to bring him down. only know how to nag.

I ask my hb to talk to his parents. not my parents, I can't insist. suddenly missed my own mum liao...

Hi Wan,
What if u change the routine to associate sch w something pleasant?
Perhaps bring him to breakfast at coffeeshop 1st?
Or even bring him home the night b4 & let him look 4ward to going to his grandparents' place AFTER sch? ie. no sch = no going to grandparents.

vamiga,

ILs brought him back to anchorvale home today. dunno about tomorrow. little cousin arriving very soon. I have to settle these issue before the next issue (jealousy) surface. de is too sticky to his grandparents liao. I already regretted letting him stay with them since he was 8mth old. a mistake made can't be reversed. I already applied what I learnt on meimei. I won't let mei become another de.

we tried to bring him down to ntuc 1st last week. he stood outside ntuc and cried until everyone stared at us. he knows changing means gg downstairs and gg downstairs means gg school, even after ntuc. so he kept crying.

whatever we implement no use cos ILs will interfere. I rest my case

hmm..agreed wif vamiga...
actually i dun reli bother if alfonsius wanna cry on purpose...i will tell him its shameful...i dun bother if ppl's r lookin..coz once they reach parenthood..they'll noe..take a few days off...like fetchhimt o & fro sch..makehim stay wif u..tell him that if he's continuing to be like this...then u will consider bringin him home to stay..no more grandparents...& top it off by sayin..u may have to change childcare near ur hse instead of ur ILS..c if it will work..or if reli have to be extreme...tell him dat the teachers @ the new childcare may not be as nice as the teachers here...c how it goes le...extreme measures for extreme problems...wat u tink..but but but...i tink if u wanna be soft & let ur ILs make the say...juz be reli soft...but if u wan it YOUR way...u have to be reli firm...if not de will be confused too...

daphne,
u witnessed how I bring de to school few mornings. he is really struggling and refuse to bulge even it is only a few floors away. if I bring him home, how can I bring him to buangkok every am? it will be more diffult to 'reach school' with all the travelling...

he is seeking attention, I know. but we are already giving him alot of attention. he is very confused with the different 'instructions' from us as ILs don't follow our rules

wan,
think its problematic for you cos de stayed with gparents since baby, the bond is there with them and not with you.(something that is hard to change at this moment.)
The way i see it, the gparents wun allow you to let de go into a full daycare...cos they will "she bu de".
The only way is to talk to your hb, ask him what he want for his son. And from there, either ask him to work with his parents to ensure de go to sch (gparents bring him) OR go with your methods. Either way, you and hb must be on the same foot, else hard to achieve results.

Vamiga,
Ya, i know how thin the fruits can be, and also the portion of the main meals. But X is really a small and SLOW eater, he eat little but frequently. So its hard for him to have a 2nd helping...Now i can only look forward to fattening him up during my maternity leave (where i can bring him home for dinner) then hopefully he is able to expand his stomach and able to eat MORE then ask for 2nd helpings in sch..haha...me very ambitious hor.Handling a infant plus taking care of a toddler in maternity leave, all by myself! I really pray hard hard i can make it.

ivy,

u may not imagined how I used my 2nd maternity leave to bond with de. b4 that, he could 'ignore' me totally. even if i 舍不得they move to ILs' place, I did not object as they are old and difficult to travel to & fro. so heartpain, bb stay with them. de didn't enjoy car ride when he was a bb. difficult to bring him back sengkang too. regret big time!

since birth, he never parted with his grandma. so i can't imagine what will happen after cousin arrive. another round of jealousy...

wan,
its the agony of a working mum...need to work yet hope to bond with the kid. i understand the heartpain of your own child not being close to you...cos i have seen of frens who grew up with grandparents and they treat them like parents more than their own parents!

hope you managed to work out something with your HB soon...

I just suggested to hb I becom SAHM. he ask me to eat grass :-(

going home to have a 'family meeting' on this issue, after the rain stops

thanks for all the suggestions. really appreciate ur 'listening ears' to relieve my stress. mb I'm the one suffering from anxiety now. hahaha

wan, i'm not experienced enuf to give u anymore tips/advise.. jux oni can lend u listening ears.. and hope that this matter clears up pretty soon for you..
jia you!

vamiga.. i duno abt mindchamp wor.. tink it was may who is thinking of sending her #1 in there..

anyway, thanks for the tips on HK trip..now i headache over the stroller issue, to bring or not to bring.. hmmmmm ..

slimz,

dun wori. we can discuss abt ur hkg trip. just bring the stroller along, but depend on ur itinerary for the day b4 deciding if u want to bring. disneyland should be ok, but they also have stroller for rental anymore. if u r gg to lantau island, abit tedious to walk up with stroller & baby. anyway sr can walk abit, so u can let her walk if u r tired of carrying her lo

I flew cathay. they gave me a bassinet, but abit tight for meimei. as the flight was not full, she lie on my lap.

Hi Slimz,
Don't worry too much abt the trip.
Holiday supposed to b a happy affair, else will need another hol to destress.
hahahahaa...
Wan's suggestion is good. Just bring stroller along, no need to headache. Can use it in airport too.
How many days do u intend to go?

Hi May,
U know the price range of MindChamp?
Just wanna KPO.
heheheehe...:b

Hi Wan,
So how did the family meeting went last nite?
Hope u can find a solution soon.
Saw Jx's classmate's mom just now. She told me this a.m. her daughter woke up good mood changed into uniform but then changed her mind & took it off!!
So still cried all the way to sch in home clothes & slippers & teacher changed 4 her when she stopped crying after awhile. We peeped & saw her happily taking pix in her slippers w their teacher who is leaving tomo.
hahahaa...
Just have to press on.

Now economy not good lah, mayb that's y ur hubby doesn't support u being a SAHM.
My hubby is exactly opposite, still prefer me to b a SAHM. Think bcos we have tried out both ways & find that me being a SAHM is better for every1.

Hi Ivy,
Meanwhile, u can also packed some healthy snack for him after dinner while waiting 4 u to pick him home. Just inform the teacher & pass to her.
I used to pack sandwich 4 jx during his tv time when i know i won't b early.
When's ur EDD?
Really garang of u to plan to handle 2 all by yourself! But i know some supermoms r able to do that v well.

vamiga,
me also kpo, mindchamp cost abt $1k after subsidy..

After dinner time (5.30), i asked teachers to make a btl of milk for him (he is the only one drinking..) and thats 6.30, then i pick up at 7pm. Then go home, its just fruits cos i pack him to bed by 8.15pm, at bed time he will down another btl of milk..Sigh, almost 3yrs liao, milk seems to be his main source of food still. But bo bian, i dun wan to feed him solids at 7pm cos he wun be able to slp till 10 if he eat so late.

Ha, yes, no choice also. Have to handle two by myself till i go back to work and infant will go into infant care. Hope that everything will settled down via setting up a routine.

vamiga,

MIL agreed to send him to pcf and ignore his crying. de was still having a cough yesterday, so he skipped school. he asked me to write in his pcf handbook to explain to teacher that he is on MC. he also asked me to add 'will not cry' and 'happy'. I use the booklet to communicate with his form teacher.

economy good or bad also can't stay home, unless strike toto!

ivy,

hope you can resolve the diet problem soon cos growing boy can't rely on milk alone

btw, isn't 8.15pm a bit early for bedtime? de sleeps at 10.30pm after we bring meimei home

wan,
ya, i made up for it by prepare 1 set of breakfast for him to eat at 7.30 when he reach sch, the cc breakfast is at abt 8.45am, so he will have 2nd serving by then.

8.15pm is not too early considering he roll and talk in bed to me, will prob doze off in another 1hr. Then he gotta wake up at 7am to go out with us. So avg abt 9-10hr of slp every nite. Anything less than that, he will be a cranky baby next day.

haha. mb my son is not sleeping enough. but he is older, so can't compare

my girl dozes off around 10pm and has 2 naps in the daytime. if I'm preparing her for childcare, do I need to 'regulate' her routine cos naptime at childcare is 1-3pm

wan,

how old is de now?
actually i have always advocate early slp cos its only after he slp then i can do some work and the household chores. Then again, he usually only nap 1.5 - 2hrs in the day time.

I din regulate him before he go cc..I think when they see peers slpg then they auto will follow also His cc nap is abt 12.45-2.45pm, i will try to stick to this timing for weekends too.

de is turning 4yo in march.

meimei will b gg childcare when she turn 18mth in march. any other preparation? I will freak out if another cry to childcare

last yr when i enquire.. its abt 1.2k before subsidy.. now i think increase price again.. they will b opening another branch at bishan in june.. but im still waiting for tpy branch lor.. if by jul still dun hav, i will hav to put in my ofc childcare liao...

Dear all mummies,

I am new here.
Any comment on Learning Kidz Child Development Centre @ Serangoon Central?

I am thinking of putting my baby boy with them in August.

I have no other better option. I can't leave my baby with the maid alone which my MIL insist.

Please advice.

wow, the tread have been so long.

hi Ivy,
Yes. I am staying apart wif hubby.he will stick to his mum back at sengkang.anywhere, he did not help me much to juggle the kids after they back from cc. he just take dinner and watch tv and MIL will occupy him and complain abt the maid. Even if he visits us at my mum's place. he also just sits in the living watching tv and never bond with the kids.

hi wan,
Be firm and your boy have to be in school by this age. It may take weeks to stop his crying to school but ultimately he get to learn. I also have a 4yrs and a 18 mth boy. Both of them went to cc when turn 18mth. the younger one just started one week ago and still crying when I drop him at school. He stopped after an hour I left him. It is getting better once he have more bonding with teachers and used to the routine.
I believe de had just been too sticky to PIL and their environment and PIL always been protective. You got to bring him out often back to your home or outings w/o PIL. Bond more with him and communicate more to understand his needs. Some times my son told me he do not want to go to school and I will ask why first and tell him the how the teachers will love him. His favorite friends is there with him..assure I will fetch him once I off work. Mummy need to work in order to provide....talk to him clamly and firm. You may also back his favourite toy and let him bring to school to reduce his anxiety.

Welcome grace!
I have no idea of that CC.