(2007/11) November MTBs

petitegurl, gloomy, gemini and skye:: ALL your bb are sooo cute!! TIME fliessss.... i miss the times when we were anticipating their arrival! hahahas...

Seems like quite a lot of baby girls here ya?
Yup, Cindy..same sentiments..i missed the times when i latched on my baby...but i only bf his for 1.5mths sigh...

Mentioning of boy/girl identity..haha..a lot of ppl asking if mine girl or boy? No one immediately can identity boy at once...even more funny...took him to poly clinic for his 3rd jab the missy there keep saying "she" "her"....i need to interrupt her polietly to correct her hahahaa..then she say "Ohhhh i tot is girl girl mah cos he smiled at me soo sweetly..!" :p

RE : Going back to work
I've been jobhunting and will most likely be going back to work in April / May. Quite sad to lose all my freedom and time w baby but then again, I'm really going mad sitting around at home doing nothing. The sad thing is most of these jobs require fairly long hours, and most days I'll finish at 7pm earliest. Which means I don't have a heck of a lot of time w Joseph on week days.

I'm also not sure what to do about baby's care. I've got a very good maid at the moment who's doing all the housework, cooking and looking after him. But having heard so many stories about maids abusing babies etc, I'm thinking to get my mother to quit her job to come over on weekdays to help look after him. Then there is the problem of how much should I pay my mum, and is it really necessary? Because my mum is not very good at babycare and the maid in fact is better at feeding and looking after him. So my mum will be quitting her job just to play with the baby pretty much. So I'm not sure whether to get my mum's help or just leave the baby with the maid. What do you all think?

And one more thing is, my hubby and I value our privacy a lot. So in the evenings after dinner and the dishes have been done, the maid goes to her bedroom so we have our freedom and privacy to play with baby. But if my mum comes stay with us on weekdays, I can't exactly tell her to go to her room after dinner. So how?

Sorry to drone on and one here but not sure who to discuss this with....

tinkabel,
can give me yours?
i hv ur link in my home pc but in office, cannot put under 'favourite'... MIS rules! (sucks!!) :p

Twiggy, i understand what you mean. I also cannot face my baby the entire day and be a SAHM. Fortunately I am able to work from home and send Mischa to my mum when I need to work. Other days I will be taking care of her.

BUt when i had my son few yrs ago i was a full time working mum. my working hours are more erratic. my days can start at 9am and i wont be back at my mum's plc to fetch my son until 9pm! That went on for a good 3 yrs when i finally settle down with my hubby in his biz then we get to enjoy quality time with my son. I had no choice though i missed him alot and also missed his milstones. My mum will be telling me abt his progress while i was at work.

I think that you should ask ur mum to help u if she is willing to quit her job. As I always says, to me a maid is a maid. they can be very good helpers in housechores or even babycare once a while.BUT that is what u see now cos u are ard in the house. when u really start work, she will be alone coping housechores and babycare. I can understand why there are cases of maid abusing the kids although i dun agree with their actions.
As u mentioned that even if ur mum quit her job, she will be more like a playmate to ur bb, but tts a good thing cos at least someone is supervision the maid.

Being a SAHM for a couple of months, with no helpers, its truly a very tiring job. I cant manage housework properly (most of the time is slipshod or laundry filled to the brim of my washing machine) I cant imagine someone (the helper) takin care of housechores to be able to attend to my child 100%. As a mum to my kid, I cant manage, so i dun think a maid can even be halfway there. Jus my opinion.

Twiggy, I'm in the same shoes also. I've decided before my BB is born to get my mum to look after. But my mum is not very good in her health so I've got to get a maid too. I do not think I can bear the thought of just putting the BB with the maid. Just like what S@L says, I cannot imagine the maid to do housework to be able to take care of my BB 100%. I gave my mum a token each month on top of the monthly allowance. Actually, the cost of employing a maid plus extra allowance to my mum is eqv to putting my gal in infant care.

how to link the blogs ha! haa sorry i'm stupid at this. mine is http://travisten.blogspot.com hahaha!

twiggy:: i'm totally with S@l on this. I don'th think your maid will still be able to handle chores and bb at the same time. She'll definitely be stressed out with no one helping her. like she also needs to bath and go toilet and such and can't be sticking to bb all the time. For me, my MIL will be taking care of bb full time when she's alone. Housework can only be done when I come home. I teach, so i can be back by 5pm, hopefully or earlier. Where does your mom stay? if not too far, maybe she can go home after you're back?

Hi Twiggy,

Can understand the dilemma you are in. At least you can accept the maid in the house.. I cant even accept that idea when my maid first arrived. I feel that we have lost our privacy.

understand that you value yr private moments with your hubby and baby alot, yet find it hard to 'send yr mum to her room' after dinner. Have you thought of sending the maid and baby to yr mum's place (if she is not staying too faraway), for your mum to oversee? or have your mum over for the day time only until you or your hubby is home? Even though your mum may be just the playmate, it's still best to have an adult to oversee everything. No doubt there are many many good maids around.. but when the employer is away, many issues can happen. These issues may not even seem serious to maids. Such as inviting their friends over to the house when the employer is away, such as chatting over the phone when the baby is sleeping. Such as force feeding the baby. Maybe i am the extreme 'worrier'.Hahaha..
But somehow, heard too many stories and from what i seen for myself and heard, the 'very good' maids betrayed my relatives, friends, ex-colleagues trust when their employer's not around.

Hi mommies, long time no chat. Little Natalie has developed a bad cough recently, brought her to see PD on Monday and today. She had to use the nebulizer cos can't rid the phlegm totally with medication.

Hi Twiggy, I'm almost in the same situation as you. 3 weeks ago, my ex-boss asked me back and I was very excited. I asked my working mom to help me look after my daughter but she didn't want to give up her job even though I was prepared to give her more money. My mom is not the 'look after baby' kind and prefers her freedom. I was unwilling to get a maid and leave Natalie with my MIL, who pays more attention to my SIL baby. So I'm fully alone on my own looking after my daughter and housework.

It'll be best if your own mom can help, even if it's just to supervise. Perhaps you'll have to forgo privacy for a year or 2 before you decide the next step.

Gemini, me very bad. Give the same to my mum even though she help me with bb! luckily my mum understands. and now having 2 kids is very 'shiong'...one in childcare, we pay cash for our flat, car...hiaz...

sometimes i feel so bad cos my mum gets more when she was a babysitter. luckily she willing to help me otherwise i will have to send another one to infantcare.

S@l, between Mothers & Daughters... They will understand. I m sure next time if Mischa wants u to take care of her children, u also won't mind the $$ that she gives!

Hehe, in my case, i give an allowance to my Mum whereas Claire's babysitting money is given by my hubby to my Mum.

Twiggy,
Personally, will also think having someone to 'oversee' and help up in babysitting and chores will be more advisable.There's way too many stories of maid being gd, kind, obedient infront of the employer, but behind our back, we really dunno what they're really doing. Esp when they know u're the pay master, they'll be very attentive when u're around. Guess luck is at yr side for having a very good maid, but once u join bk the wkforce, yr maid will be 100% on her own to do EVERYTHING! She'll be tired out though she might try her best to do everything "perfect". And, considering our bb will start crawling and walking, follow by running in a few months time, yr maid will even be more tied down. Best if u can get yr mum to help.

For my case, my mil stays just 2 blocks away. So, she'll go bk to her place every other day in the evening and she'll be bk again at night to help. Sometimes, i'll ask if she needs to go bk to her place to do her chores/relax. But i told her before hand that i'm not chasing her home, just that she can enjoy her CD & blast her sound system once in awhile. Luckily she said she understands me. We tried to give her a few hundreds more on top of her monthly allowance, but she dont want. Heng...:p

cactusnah,

u're really lucky.
for me, my parents live faraway.
my IL not willing to give up their freedom n prefer working than taking care of BB...
and HB no confidence with having a maid taking care of BB alone...
hence no choice, send to baby sitter/nanny.

but even with nanny, we oso have our concerns but wat to do, our own sets of parents unable to help out.

and for me to be sahm, will be too tough on hb financially... so bo pian lor.

can't even imagine if we accidentally have #2... siao man...

Queenaire, ur boy looks like his older brother!

Kitty, yalor... Everytime, i told my hubby that i want to be SAHM... Wow, he likes want to faint! Its quite tough to survive on 1 person's income.

k@ye,

actually my hb supportive but always teased that if i really sahm, then we will have to eat ikan bilis wif porridge then go jb for holidays till our baby graduate from uni! wahaha...

anyway, not easy for us to only have 1 breadwinner; unless my hb is CEO or COO bah, now only "da gong zai", how to? kee kee kee...

Kaye,
hahaha u still remember my bigger boy?

indeed they look alike. I dig out my first boy's pic taken when he was a baby, and everyone thought its the younger's photo.

I started Darius on sweet potetoes yesterday, and he has red dots all over his face, neck, body, and butt. Kena hubby scold :p

Re: SAHM
my DH is the one who encouraged me to be a SAHM. And I am enjoying myself very much. Just that have to be extra careful when spending money. Which is VERY DIFFICULT!!

Queenaire, of course I remember ur elder boy! He was so bored when u and ur hubby came up to get the car seat from me. The moment, u said bye bye to me, he went to press the lift button immediately!

Darius might be allergic to sweet potatoes. I tried rice cereal on Claire but her eczema flared up so strictly no solid food till 6 mths old!

Kitty, most of us "da gong zai".... I also think if i m SAHM, its quite jialat on the $$ coz my hubby has to continue paying for my insurance payouts (the major killer)and my other bills!

hello everyone, can i ask, when u bring ur babies for the 2nd 5-in-1 or 6-in-1 jab... and baby developed fever...how long does it last?

mine went for hers yesterday ... today still a bit of fever and the injection site, swelling....

her first jab, din kena fever or swelling.. .so abit concerned now ;p tmr if still no good...i will call the PD

ya cindy, i miss having bb in my tummy, feeling the kicks and all.. and also being able to bring her into cinemas in my tummy! lol

Being SAHM: I'll be going back to wotk 1st april... REALLY REALLY don't feel like going back. I enjoyed being full time SAHM these 4 months, even without any help. Really don't know how I can start working... Can't even fit into most of my work clothes yet. Told my hubby that I can't fit into my work clothes means I'm not ready for work yet. HAHA A good excuse to go shopping again, but i'm REALLY reluctant to buy one size bigger! Much as I want, I can't quit my job leh.. lots of expenses with our new house, new baby, my new car etc. Quitting means giving all that up (except baby of cos). "Sigh" So... got to "dong" until my hubby starts earning enough to cover all my expenses, or I come out with a brilliant idea to start my own business!

Hey Mummies,

I have linked your lovely babies' blogs to mine <http://ruishuen.blogspot.com/>

Mummy gloomy,
Your gal looks great on the cover! What software did he use? I love your reply to that person - it made me laff! I also met ppl asking me if my Chloe is 'boy or gal' when she is in obvious pink top/ overall! *sigh*

skype, your gal can really support herself so well! How many weeks is she?

starlight, what purees? for semi-solids?

gemini,
I luv your gal's rosy cheeks!

Thanks, twiggy! I m excited about the first flight with my baby - looking 4ward to it!

All mummies,
Any of your babies tend to have 'unstable' naps? Mine often jerks during her naps and will be awoken, followed by piercing cries. Only when she is in my arms during her naps, she will tend to fall back to sleep again. If not, I have to carry her up from her cot and walk around the house to soothe her. Any advice to make her nap longer n less cranky? Also, she tends to have a lot of wind in her stomach. She is on TBF. I usually dun burp her as she sleeps immed after her BF. If I do that, she will wake up again, crying. Advice, pls?!

i tink mebbe i will kena "kokz" on my head for saying this...but i am SAHM and sometimes wish i am working ;p i find it quite "siong" that my world "revolves" around the babe ... altho its nice to see her growing and developing everyday...but sometimes i wish i can have a break. but too bad...nobody to "relief" me ...

will continue to be a SAHM cos we are relocating again ... to europe this time...
i want to learn to enjoy my time as SAHM!!

Hi S@L, Gemini, Cindy,
Thanks for sharing your opinion. Good to know there are others who understand my predicament. Like you guys said, I also don't think my maid can cope. Even though she currently has a lot of free time, there are times where it's quite hard to do both. Eg. when she's cooking halfway and the baby starts crying. So yeah, I think I'll get my mum to help. Cindy, like you said, the totaly combined costs will be the same as putting in infantcare, but I still prefer this coz baby is still young.

Pig07,
My mum lives very far away from me unfortunately so it won't be fair to ask her to go home everynight. I live in Sembawang and she in Clementi.

Cactus,
Lucky you staying near yuor mum. I kinda regretted moving house , and now so far away from mum. My initial plan was to put him in infantcare but now "bu she de".

Kittybride,
Haha! You're so cute. No lah, no need for hubby to be CEO to be SAHM. I've been staying home for 9 months now and all it takes is a bit of restrain on finances. I cut out my luxuries like shopping, manicures, facials etc.

Gloomybear,
HAHAHAHHA!!! Same same!! I can't fit into my clothes yet. I'm only 1kg heavier than pre-preg weight but somehow hips bigger I think. Really hoping I don't have to buy new suits.

Dreamer@hk,
I feel the way you do. But since you're relocating, it's probably good not to work, at least for awhile. And Europe is quite part-time work friendly if you decide to work part-time later on.

K@ye,
Unfortunately, I can't find part-time work in what I do. Most part-time work will not pay enough to justify working in the first place. As it is, I am in a sales-related function which is commission-based. If I work part-time, my basic pay will be so low it wouldn't make sense.

Dreamer, no kan cheong on the fever part after the jab. I usually bring Claire for jabs on Fri morn and she will have fever on Friday evening, the fever will go away by Sunday noon.

So, if u want the fever to subside faster. More water parade and dilute the milk formula.

gloomybear! yes gg to cinemas with bb inside is one thing i miss MOST! now i hardly or rather, i think i haven't been to a movie since he was born!! super sad. I'm also gg back to work on 1st apr. Some of my clothes can fit, some can't. but mostly can but i still went to buy new clothes. hahahaa!! after being preggie for so long, i realise, i forgot how to buy and shop already!! -.-

twiggy:: yea now no matter what option is, is better than infantcare. but childcare is different hahah i rather put him in childcare later on to learn things and mix ard with ppl his age rather than face his grandma the whole day! my MIL kept on saying: next time u move hse u got to go childcare ley, childcare nobody care you one. hungry, cry also nobody help you. I hear liao also sian!!

yvonne:: don't worry. my travis always or rather, 90% of the time will wake up crying de. cry until very cham. These days morning also like this. don't know why. Noon times mostly will too. So what we do is when we see him kicking, quickly go pat pat him, if he settles down, fine. if not then we quickly carry him and talk to him, let him know we're all ard him. SOmetimes work, sometimes doesn't haahhaa.

Thanks, Cindy. I guess I just have to continue doing what I m doing now. It is kindda tiring though, with almost all my time locked looking after her. How I wish I can have more time on hand to handle my own things. I miss my preggie days too, going anywhere I like n catching late nite movies! now.. stuck..

I will be fetching my maid tmr. mixed feelings (privacy invaded). no intention for her to look aft Chloe. I will b going back to work in May, am thinking of sending Chloe to infantcare, so my mom can take a break. her health not so good. Any good centre to recoomend in the East?

gloomybear:
i agree wif you... i miss bringing her ard in my tummy till late nite n even to ktv... more freedom... now haRDly had time for frenz... go work n had to rush bk to fetch bb...sat oso gotta wk so rush to my mum pl n by evening had to bring bk... sunday gotta go MIL place (sianz)... juz started wk in a clinic on 250308... relutance to go bk no choice... like u new hse ... bb... my insurances... and my dog expense... and my parent allowance... omg... no work canot leh... i oso wana b a SAHM... haiz... dun think can haf tat life lah...

depite she wear like this still got ppl ask... boi boi or gal gal... *fainted*
1320037.jpg

yvonne:
do u reali wana send your gal to infant care? like cindy n twiggy said bb is still young. at first i wana send her to infant care but after knowing 1 teacher to 5-6bbs n bb slping in pram... i dropped the idea n found her a nanny who lived above mi... so far so gd... but will send her to childcare when ard 2yr old... make more frenz n learn some thing lor...
hai re weight... i still far far far frm my pre preggy size... think i gone case liao ... wif my new job... the ppl there buy many food n tibit n keep asking mi to taste... haiz... piggy mummy...haiz...

thanks k@ye.... hopefully tmr the fever will totally be gone!

but the swelling @ her injection site...looks very red still and swelling and feels "hard" to the touch... ... does that happen to claire?

hi dreamer@hk,do u like in hk now?i worked i in hkg.
hv to take soem precaution whlist in hkg now,avoid crowded areas which is hard to find in hkg......so do take care anyone going to hkg as well as bring ur bb's necessary medications and milk formula la

my gal will go for her 2nd 6 in 1 on 4th(the last time she lost her appetite but no fever.....)

today she was cranky since evening.....doesnt seemed to get tired.....wanting to keep playing etc.....extremely active....bring her to the room she cry,come out living room oki....now finally zzzzzz after 4 hours.....any mommies hv this experience now?she has been "lip playing" recently.....friend told me its due to her teething......but i worried its not due to that.

Also my i noe wat else i need to do to upload pix attactment????tried but when comes to actual post dont hv le......pls help

hi weishy, u mean u r based in hkg now? i juz moved back to sg abt 3 weeks ago...after 4+ years in hkg.

u have family to help in hkg with your baby?

add my blog in yr blogs

gosh..one day i'll find one day to figure out how to do it...
http://danielgracebaby.blogspot.com/

yvonne,
she's just turning 4mths this weekend. one of the youngest baby cos she's born on 30th nov last yr. she's starting to enjoy her tummy time even more cos she can 'move' when we support her legs. but dunno why..she isn't interested to flip at all.
i let her sleep on her tummy most of the time so she doesn't jerk up from her sleep..but i notice she does that sometimes when she sleeps on her back. at night i swaddle her, mayb you can try swaddling?
about wind in bb stomach, i used to put anti-colic med in her milk and she burps easier. now she can burp on her own i've stopped using it. but if yr bb goes to sleep right after her milk and wakes up suddenly crying it could be cos she wants to burp. if not it's ok to just let her sleep. happened to my bb a few times, she was so sleepy i couldn't wake her up to burp, few minutes later she woke up cos she needed to burp...and let out a sigh of relief after that. hb &amp; i found it quite cute tho..her sigh aft her burp. heh..

cindy, u're right, i also don't know how to shop anymore. Everytime I go shopping, i end up lingering around the baby's department. I dont feel like buying my own things anymore... plus, I always have baby with me, hard to try clothes also ar..
Ever since baby born, I've been to cinema once or twice I think. Put her with my mummy.
Like what Elaine says... the worst is KTV! Cannot go KTV anymore! I still bring bb out late night, but not KTV.. too noisy, and my friends don't wanna sing afternoon KTV! (night time can't put baby with mummy cos baby will keep crying).
And elaine, I also have dog expenses... 2 poodles.. and I just sent them for grooming today! $100 gone~~

Wah dreamer, u keep relocating here and there.. so good life

Gloomybear, i also go shopping ended up at baby's dept. But, i must get new clothes for myself liao.... Cannot everything also spend on Claire!

Dreamer, actually i m quite a sotong Mama. I dun really notice her injection area but i will take care not to touch it coz Claire will scream.

Weishy, i think u need to resize ur photo to a smaller size b4 u can upload here. U can ask Cindy for help, she is an expert in that!

Elaine, ur gal dressed up like that also ask boy or gal? *Faints*

RE:Infant Care
I sent Claire (when she is 2mths+) to infant care for a week and I withdraw her liao coz of the staff to babies' ratio and also of her eczema.

Actually, got pros and cons of sending children to infant care leh. The babies can interact with each other and learn not to be so clingy. Plus, got quite a bit of toys for them to play. The cons, cost of the infant care and getting sick easily.

Cindy, ur MIL says such words... Very bad leh... Everytime Claire misbehaved, my Mum will scold her,"Ask ur Mummy to send u to infant care. Popo dun want u liao." I find it very funny when my Mum said that to her and Claire will respond by eh eh to my Mum.

cindy,
aiyoh ur MIL say like dat ah... no good leh.
dun knw y hor the old folks always say negative thgs to the kids... instead of encouraging them or saying nicer words... babies/toddlers nowadays very 'jing' one... even if dey dun understand but somehow dey can FEEL things lor...

gloomy:: EXACTLY, somehow or another, don't know why end up sure go bb section see bb things. ahhaha! what happened to us! ahaha

kaye and kittybride:: ya loh! i think really no good la. but she worked in childcare before so she knows the actual situatoin there. I also know it's like that de la, not only in childcare, even in pri schools teacher also won't care for you 1 to 1 de ma. it's time for them to grow up and be independent and not just want to be protected all the time. hahaha!

YA! What happened to us? We became the greatest person(s) on earth! LOL

Yvonne, I don't know what software my cousin use for that cover photo leh. He works in a magazine firm. How's your new maid?

Twiggy,
i think i'm going to be in the same situation as u. my mum decided not to take care of bb Jovan anymore. my mum's health is not v good. she has been coughing for a v long time (we suspect it's asthmatic) my father has mild diabetics &amp; he needs my mother to take care of him. when my mother is at my house during weekdays, he'll either eat instant noodles or biscuits for his meals!

so now we need to source for infantcare / babysitter / maid and my mum will still help for the time being. IMO infantcare is the best choice, followed by babysitter &amp; worst choice is maid. i'm really not comfortable with the idea of leaving my baby to strangers. But at least there are certain standards to be followed in infantcare &amp; babysitters are experienced (if from good recommendations). Maids come with so many issues. They are foreigners (different thinking, culture &amp; upbringing), no privacy, dunno wat baby will learn from them, etc etc. But HB thinks otherwise. He wants to get a maid so that she can help out with the housework too. he wans to remotely monitor the maid thru webcams &amp; also do recording incase of anything. i have a colleague who engage a maid to take care of his son at home &amp; he monitors the maid thru webcams. But his son is already 6 years old. He can tell his parents if the maid did anything funny.

my mother stays too far from me to come by everday. we cannot find any other elderly to monitor the maid at home. my father refuse to stay at my house. HB refuse to send bb over to my parents' house. *sigh* i dun mind quitting my job to be a SAHM but HB income not sufficient to substain all the expenses - house loan, car, insurance, bb, parents, etc. we just renovated our house so we dun have alot of savings. another option is tat i can work from home to cover the expenses tat i'm currently covering. i'm a small spender (no mani &amp; pedi, no facial, seldom shop, little entertainment expenses, never bought branded goods... sounds like no life person...hahaha) so i just need to make sure i can earn enuff to cover my basic meals, transport, hp bill, my own insurance, parents allowance, utility bills &amp; half of home loan. tat's already abt 2k. got any work-from-home option tat can allow me to earn this much? i doubt so leh... *sigh*

mummies, sorry for the long post but i really v sad just thinking tat strangers are going to take care of bb Jovan &amp; tat i'm going to miss all his milestones *sob*

dreamer@hk,
The small lump after injection is normal. Just leave it alone and it will disappear after a week. Don't worry about it.
Where will you relocate in Europe? Childcare in European countries are even more expensive so you may not have any choice but to be a SAHM.

Gloomybear,
I love the Magazine cover of your DD...It really is a cool keepsake. Your cousin can make some money from that!!! I also love the play on words of the name of the mag...VAGUE...haha soo cool.

Yes, I must agree with you guys. I'm really not that interested in shopping for myself anymore. But lately had no choice but to buy some pieces as I couldn't stand wearing my maternity clothes and look soo drab in them! But, after buying them in a larger size than my pre-preg, I discover that after a week the clothes don't fit me anymore...I'm still losing weight! (which is a good thing really )
I also always find myself in the baby department...and I know that its the same stuff everywhere ...its like automatic program in our head now to think of our baby first! haha

Hi Cindy,
I miss going to the movies too!! Hubby and I use to go for movies at least once a month, but since we had the baby, no chance.
When we want to go out for drinks w our friends, must ask my mum come over and babysit. I haven't started shopping for work clothes yet, but so sian, the thought of having to buy new work clothes when all the old ones are the nice and new but can't wear.

At what age are you plannign to send your little one to childcare? I agree with you that daycare is good for them to learn social skills instead of being cooped up at home all day.