(2007/11) November MTBs

joey

I still swaddle ashlee at night and she seems to like it. Sometimes she even fall asleep before we finish wrapping her! When she is asleep she oso like to move about, so by morn, one or both her arms will come out. Recently she oso kick very hard and she manage to rotate in her cot. By morn she has move 90deg and head touching the side of the cot.

We very scared if we dun swaddle, she wont zzz long and will wake up in the middle of the night so continue to swaddle till now lor.

Re: mat
Javier seems to enjoy playtime on the mat leh. I am thinking of getting one, is this kind better that the traditional ABC mat?

re: ang pao
Both my hb and me give 1 ang pao each, we place under her nappy pillow hee hee.

now all her ang pao in her bank liao.

joey,

ur baby so cute and so strong liao ah, can lift up his head till 45 deg, my bb stil struggle n dislike tummy time.

have not swaddle bb since she was 2mos old. but lately thot of swaddling her again coz she's been having nightmares and waking up a lot; screaming and crying...

can't stop their hands from sticking out for sure by now. my bb likes to sleep wif her hands up next to her nears, sometimes even raising one hand up till tired then will drop down to the sides.

Catherine,

u're not alone... after reading this then I realised that me & hb also did not give baby her AP! wahaha... ok, 2nite last chance, must give liao :D

joey,
Javier is so cute! i love his smile! can see tat he likes tummy time.

pig07,
i also keep all of bb jovan's angbao. i'll deposit them into my POSB joint acct with him. same as wat i did with his full month angbaos. must give AB lah. it's their first CNY. for good luck & well wishes for our babies. also treat all the ABs as their education fund.

kittybride,
hi-5! hahaha we r both blur mummies.

RE: swaddle
we stopped swaddling jovan when he was only 2 weeks old. does swaddling help in making bb sleep thru? now i'm tempted to swaddle him again. but he's a sweaty piggy leh. last time used to let him wear long sleeve top & long pants & booties to sleep. next morning, he's all sweaty regardless of the weather or whether we on the fan full blast. when he turn 2M, we let him wear only short sleeve top & long pants, no booties. sometimes he still get v sweaty. if swaddle, must on aircon?

just to update,
Lunch was great! Ueno, baby40, yoko and elita (from dec thread) as well as myself were out for lunch at parkway. 4 strollers, crying babies and yakking mummies occupied 2 tables at the cafe....quite a funny sight. Though I'm sure the people at the cafe didn't think so.
Luckily we were able to pacify our babies so we could eat in peace

plumsource,
too bad i cant join u all at this gathering. i'm at work *sigh*

talking abt gathering... i din get any photos for the last gathering we had at tweety's (oops!) i mean plumsource's place. can anyone who took photos or received the photos pls email to me at [email protected] thanks!

happy, langlao3,
in that case, i will continue swaddle him for his nite sleep. Sometimes in the middle of the nite when he realised he was "tied" up he will be unhappy and make noise. Got once, he woke up at 3am, wailing, i pat for 5mins he still unhappy, once i "untie" him, he went back to zz immediately.

langlao3,
I find the bumper mat useful! However if you going to buy right, will advise u buy thicker one. The one I got from one of the BP thread is 1900*1400*12mm. is rather comfy to lie on it, but somehow i still find it abit too hard, so if you can get 15mm or 18mm shld be super comfy!!

Kittybride,
you will be amaze with what your bb can do lah! I tried putting Javier on his tummy on his bb cot, he cant lift his head that high, but when i put him on the bumper mat, he can lift up to 90deg!!! but after a few sec he will go down to 45deg haha and FLAT. (my theory is bb cot mattress too soft for them to push themselves up?? Now he is learning how to flip on his bumper mat. His head will be machiam 90deg looking at another angle (tilt his head), i so scared he hurt himself ah. He get frustrated after a few mins though.. coz he still doesn't know how to keep his another hand so that he can flip over!

Catherine,
yes leh, he super like tummy time on his bumper mat!

Hehe, i also din give Claire any angbao leh... I think when she is older than i give lah.... Coz now, she dunno the meaning of it yet!

Plumsource, i can imagine the looks that other ppl gave!

Re: Swaddling
I think it takes skills man.... Claire refused to be swaddled when she is 1 mth old. When, we put her temporarily at the infant care centre. The staff there swaddled her but she din make noise leh.

Actually can swaddle using the cloth diaper... No need to use the swaddle cloth which is thicker.

Kitty, normal for babies to have nitemare. When Claire wakes up crying in the middle of the nite, i will carry her and rock her to sleep lor. That way, they re more secure...

joey

thanks for ur advice. think i will go chinatown shop to buy the bumper mat tmr. hope my baby will like it on the mat. so far she hates tummy time on the cot and cant lift her head up, in the end she becomes red and frustrated so end up wailing.

catheirne,
we will on aircon after swaddling cos we usu put on long sleeve and long pants and socks also. our utility bill more than double since!

kaye,

the only skill required for swaddling is you must be daring enough to pull tight, as tight as possible, it will not cause pain, dun worry. If loose then defeat the purpose :)

happy

you are right about the skills. til now i still fail to do it right and my girls' arms comes out easily. luckily my hb is expert at swaddling

happy,

really? Chinatown selling cheaper? Same from Korea? you are not referring to Swanson right?

haha Javier's arms usually will be out on next day morning too. Im using nappy cloth to swaddle him loh, coz i scared he too warm ah! Pyjamas (long sleeve) + Swaddle cloth + blanket! haha

Happy, i tried to swaddle Claire tight but her hands & legs super strong... can struggle free so I also gave up in the end!

Seashell, u mean waving the hands and kicking the legs when hungry or wet? Definitely!

Joey, my baby will kick away the blanket when she is hot. I really wonder where their strength comes from!

Re:swaddling
I stopped that since Wk 2 and then on wk 3, Matt started sleeping on his tummy. But now back in SH, we trained him to sleep on his back again and had to swaddle him with think fleece blanket, else too cold. No sleeping on tummy at night cos of the blankets we have. In the day when it's warmer, he sleeps on his tummy on a clear bed with no blankets.

Re:Hong Bao
Actually hong bao was given by my hubby, haha. I just tobang...

My parents in law just touched down in SH today. Brought them around a bit to orientate them. Haiz, realise that I really dun like staying with in laws. Previously back in singapore, no choice. Now back at home, haiz, like my house become their place as my MIL takes over the kitchen and repacks the stuff according to how she want them placed. Know I shdnt be complaining since they are actually helping me out. But really cant help it. Sigh...

k@ye,

Yes, i din expect them to have so much strength. So i actually got to tug in the blanket at both side of the bed. But, the one i bought at Fox kids, not long enough for me to tug at both end!

i realised he perspire alot too leh. aiyah and no hair lah!! going to shave him once he turn 4month old!

Re: cough
Any of your bb have kana cough virus before? Im having cough and i spread to him.
brought him to PD on Monday for his Jab 2, then PD prescribe phlegm syrup for him. But dun think is that useful leh, coz today is the 4th day liao, and he is still coughing.

hi, i have a question. ethan sleeps with me at night. he has been crying for a few times through the night. I realise that he wants to pass urine cos every time after i latch him on, he'll relax. then pass urine. what do i do to let him sleep peacefully?

heee. I also just use a blanket to cover travis at night but i put the beansprout pillow on him so he doesn't kick it away that often. At night in aircon rm he also just wear a normal romper hahah short sleeve. Hoho. sometimes just a tshirt and pampers hahahas!

inspired by joey! i also decided to take out the bumper mat, clean and let travis have a TRY!

He likes it!
1259003.jpg

Travis learning ABC hahaha...
1259004.jpg

Hi Joey,

My boy kena runny nose and cough last saturday. brought him to PD and took the cough syrup and medcine for nose also. also illadin nose drop for his congested nose. He seemed to get better though not totally. PD was telling me that if the cough develops into wheezing sound or too phelgmy, then could be bronchitis set in. then will have to bring him back. Fortunately he is better now.

BTW, any mummies started on teether for their baby? My boy likes to suck his fist, fingers. so i let him hold onto the teether. Viola.. he likes it. I am using the PIGEON teether that is green and yellow. the teether is like a bone. hence the part where he can grab is easy to control just like how our baby hold tightly onto our fingers.

Hi pig07

My girl also like to suck her fist & fingers, she drool a lot too. She even form bubbles with her saliva. I wanted to buy her a teether but tot it'll be too early to start teething leh.

Hi joey, Cindy

I am so inspired by your babies on the bumper mat, cant wait to buy one to let ashlee try it. aiyo very excited now, haha.

Esther, welcome to the thread!

Tinkabel, its normal to have such feelings. Just got to endure!

Seashell, at first Claire will close her eyes later on she will open her eyes and wail big time! If i swaddle her (which i don't now), she will be able to struggle free.....

Cindy, I m so "jealous"... Claire will scream if i put her on her tummy. Travis look even cuter now... Did u shave his head? Or his hair drop?

Pig, i sort of stuff the teether in Claire's mouth. I should try to let her hold it then. Same teether as yours.

Talking abt strength, Claire likes to kick her legs since birth. My sis this morn commented that her breast kena kicked flat by Claire!

pig07,

wheezing sound?? how it sound like? I only know hor, when he cough very cute one leh, the last cough always follow by "huee...." something like that. then he will smile. that is on his day cough, very very mild, mb afew hours cough once.

then after taking medicine next day, an hour cough afew times. I realised the cough is worse when he is lying down/zz. then now he cough hor, his tongue like curl into a "O" shape. he will then "bian zui", then i got to quickly go sayang him loh. Like that must bring him back to see PD? Today his cough seems slightly better, as in lesser cough frequency.

Cindy,
FINALLY ah! Can start using liao lah.. Got see any nice flashcard at paragon?

Re: Taka bb Fair
Hey anyone been to Taka bb fair before? Heard there is one coming in March, but not sure the exact date?? Anything attractive to buy there?
I need to buy a infant car seat leh. Thinking of getting Maxi-cosi CabrioFix. Someone wanna sell me a 9th mth old maxi-cosi at but read somewhere NV BUY A USED CARSEAT..

Cindy,

Travis looks different now, his face is rounder than before. I think my boy has the same romper, got all the dinosaur prints right? Haha..he has outgrown it liao..

kaye:: hahaha HIS HAIR dropppp!! ooops. ahhaaha but behind still not so bad. hopefully won't drop anymore. HAHAHHAHAA!!! Travis also like to step step like climbing, each time MIL carries him, he wants to step step and when he moves up to her boobs, she says:: WOAH! step on mountain liao!!!

joey:: haha yes MIL say your javier on the mat and she asks me take out to let him try haha but i never use the winnie the poooh side so i use the alphabet side. haha. yes i saw the flashcard 2 to 6yrs de but just buy and show him lah haha he can still keep his attention there until D. hehee...

poissons:: yes hhhahaha... dinosaurs de!! ahhaha Garreth is really fast and good lah. Travis i think still only slightly past 6kg nia. hahaha.

langlao:: I be looking fwd to your pictures! hehe

Hi Langlao3,

my boy not teething yet. Its just that the teether can be used to replace his fist and fingers. As his fist is always red with his bites and he will somtimes shout and cry when say accidentally dig his own throat or roof of mouth with his fingers. if with teether, it wont happen.

my sis bought many teethers (not less than 10)for his twin boys to try out the last time. not all are easy to hold. Until she bought the pigeon one that her boys can hold so well like the teether so much.

Hi Joey,
PD told me if his cough turns very phlegmy and he has difficulty in breathing like gasping for air type then bring him back. My boy started with dry cough and it did turn phlegmy on the 3rd day. But he is ok now. Once after his medicine he actaully spat some saliva and out came some phelgm together with the saliva..

Hi Kaye,
Ya.. i let him hold onto the teether himself but position it into his mouth for him.. using the not so many edges side. After a few tries, he knows how to place it into his mouth already.

I also bought 2 bumper mats from the BP. I think i will start to let my boy use it. As i think it's true that mattress could be too soft for support hence the flip is harder.

joey,

yes, the store at upper cross st, next to OG selling cheaper, same as korea, LG prime type, exactly the same as those selling in BP, they have all the sizes and thickness and same designs too, i got a pooh & friends, and a alphabet pooh (LG prime) both from BP, then saw that the store also have and cheaper :-(

cheong choon store
tel: 6532 3855

Pig07,
We same PD is it hur? I bring him to The Kids Clinic at Rivervale Mall. Seeing Dr Tan now.
I also bought teether leh, but hor i put in the fridge, then when i let javier hold, he actually give me that "scared" look. so i keep it again.

Cindy,
you mean Travis can keep his attention till flashcard D or till bumper mat D?

happy,
really ah! OK i will go take a look, I may buy another one. Hopefully the price diff not really that much, if not heartache ah!!

Re: Taka bb fair
Anyone any idea?

joey,

you need not go down personally leh, cos their is in catalogue, the store is small, dun have all the things but as long as you got model, they can tell you the price over the phone or even deliver to your home w/o you going down, they sell alots of stuff, fisher price items, bumbo seat, car seat, stroller, MIM carrier, littlepod everything, you give them a call and check the price first lor

joey

i went to the taka baby sept 07 fair, cant remt if hv car seat but i rem they section into diff brands like avent, pigeon, anaku etc and then hv a section on clothes etc.

Hi Joey,
Yes. I am using the Kidsclinic at Rivervale. My first vsit was Dr Lilian.. and Jab by her too. Then last saturday when my boy develop cough and runny nose, we had to see Dr Allyson as Dr Lilian not in clinic. I heard that both Doctors were previously from KKH. I learnt of this clinic as my sis's boy surgeon from KKH recommend to her this kidsclinic.

I didnt keep the teether in fridge. I rinse with drinking water each time before i give it to my boy.

joey:: hahah can keep his attention on flashcard till D ahhaa!!

Baby fair i am intersteed! but no idea when is it hahha.

re: swaddle
i also swaddle Eliza, just that she also gets out of her swaddle all the time. my hubby found a way to keep it on a lil longer, which is to tuck the end at her bottom instead of behind her back so that when she moves & kicks around it won't come out too easily. Eliza will also kick, and wave her hands all around when she comes into her light sleep, so i always wear her mittens in case she scratches her face. i guess it's this movements that also wake her up in the middle of the night. i do realize that sometimes when she wakes and i swaddle her back, she can go back to sleep on her own w/o the pacifier.

tinkerbell,
i've resorting to putting her on her tummy to sleep in the middle of the night so that she sleeps better, but will turn her to sleep on her back again after the morning milk. i find that she tends to turn her head to her right when on her tummy, which is causing one of her eyes to look smaller than the other! so i'm also trying to make her turn to her left when sleep on her tummy. does that happen to Matt?

Re:WRIST PAIN
Any mummy has this pain in their wrist? I can feel it especially when carrying my boy from a lying down position. And also when i expressing milk and massaging my breast. can feel the pain in my left wrist.

I ever heard before that it's very common for new mummies to develop this. I think some even went for needle accupuncture.

re: Teat Change

I tried of AVENT Teat 2 (BM) on my boy just now. first time he finished his BM without much struggling. 2nd attempt to use Teat 2, he was struggling so much like kicking his leg so hard and pushing his head back. I keep having the feeling that he is choking and then i will pull out the teat and then cont'd feeding again after a few seconds.

Is it normal for babies to struggle while being fed and pushing their head backwards? or is it because the flow from the new teat is really too fast?

skye skye,
Matt likes to sleep on his "nose" or turn from side to side with his nose brushing against the mattress, so we are scared his nose wil be flat. what a dilemma, flat nose or head and big/small eye. which wil you choose...

pig07,
i had the risk pain during the 1st few weeks. But my gynae say shd clear up by 6 wks, mine went away around 2 mths, now ok already. I went for a few times tuina though. The person say i hurt my hand, so painful when she did the tuina on my left hand as compared to the right.

pig07,

wrist pain:

not only wrist pain but my left arm cannot be lifted up high now, very painful, even the fingers are pain becos keeps washing hand for hygiene sake :-(

pig07,

so you dun sterilise the teether? i abit paranoid to give teether to my boy cos full of saliva and he keeps dropping it, then everytime got to sterilise for him, already got many things to wash and sterilise, :-(

today my parents went to taiwan for holiday and i got to take care of my bb alone, my arms, shoulder, back wanna to give way liao, so tired, another 5 days to go,

Hi Tinkerbel and Happy,
My wrist pain started like 2 weeks ago only. So i guess gotta tahan for another 4 weeks to see how. I heard is common ailments for new mummies.

Hi Happy,
Eerr.. i didnt sterelise the teether lei.. At very most is wash with baby detergent and then soak in thermal flask water once every day to 'kill the germs'.. other than that is to wash with drinking water before i hand it to him. maybe because i am too lazy bah. haha.

Hi mummies, it really has been a long while since I've visited this forum. Just went back to work last week and there is so much to do! In any case, I try to make it a point to leave promptly on the dot at 5.30pm so that I can relieve my MIL/Dad who has been baby-sitting. After the 3 day, people at work already asking me how I manage to finish all my work and yet leave on the dot at the same time. Really felt like saying "Give me a break, I have a 3 month old at home who is starting to forget me, can you imagine what will happen if I don't go back on time?" Perhaps they can't understand cos they are not yet married/have kids.

Then to make matters worse, my milk supply has reduced significantly and it has affected my boy. In the past, he only needed to wake up once a night, and for the past 2 nights he needs to wake up twice to feed cos there isn't enough milk. So sad! Any mummies back at work yet? Any similar experiences?

Re: Bumper mat
I'm thinking of getting a mat for Ethan. How much is the shop at Chinatown selling the mats for?

michiv:: are you still pumping at work? don't stress dear. i'm sure the milk supply will come back. I'm alsao worried that milk supply will drop once i go back to work and stress levels build up. sighs. intending to still do partial feeding and BF him by nursing at night so still can try to keep supply up but day times, i am gg to do FM. Hugs hugs. Hope to see more photos of ethan!!

michviv,

bumper mat:

if i remembered correctly, cheaper than the BP by $10-$50 and they deliver too.

back to work:

me also back to work for 2 weeks liao but this week got to take leave again becos parents went taiwan and already inform my boss in advance before i go back, yet he can still try to negotiate with me, ask me if can dun take leave or can call me when i am on leave, do conference call at home. fed up! told him i am alone with bb, how to conference call!

pig07, i developed the same wrist problem after i delivered my 1st bb... it was so painful tat i cannot carry anything heavy at all... went to both western and chinese doctor (tui-na)... western said it's the nerve or something like that that is giving problem and i had to take western medication... i decided to seek 2nd opinion, went to tui-na, the person said dislocated (tuo-jiu)... and he tui-na for me... it was soooo painful during the tui-na session but after 2 or 3 sessions, (in fact after 1st session), i felt so much better (note that i stopped taking the western medicine) already... cld hv gone back for 1 or 2 more sessions but no time... eventually my wrist 'healed' by itself over time... till now, i dunno who's right? the western or tui-na doctor???

anyone knows how if i can change my PD to someone else rather than the original one that was assigned to my bb after i delivered?

my gal had her 3rd mth jab + pneumoccal + rotavirus oral last week and was wondering if i can change my PD to another one that is nearer to my place? How about the jabs that require 2nd or 3rd? Is it ok for her to continue at another PD's? will it be the same?

plim,

of cos you can change PD, they will do it according to bb's health book but usually some jabs come with package and they made you pay in advance, therefore since you already paid the jabs, then you have to go back to the same PD lor