(2007/07) July 2007 MTBs

Morning all,

Yolk,
May i have the list also pls

My email:[email protected]

Ya Amber, I gotta mine from Rent a Toy posted by Yolksac. Can get 2nd hand ard $40 (so far lowest I seen) in the WTS section. So depends if u wanna try or use it for long term. Mine cost me rental $10 per month plus delivery $7. So is a total $17 but glad I din but it cos I know it will be under utilized by MIL ard.

Lansinoh bags r good, so far that I have used none leaked. My girl is kinda refusing her FM, everytime it's FM she will "spit" out the milk and show low interest in drinking! She was not like that last time when given FM previously when much younger (and more "gong" I guess
).

morning mummies I'm typing on iPhone so making this short
last night Ash went back to her normal routine! Im so happy im just gonna keep doing wht im doing n work with the creases

Thank u all for the tips onbumbo im gonna check it out worried how long i'll use it seeing how big Ash's thighs are!
Abt lansinoh bags ohyes yes pls
I'd really appreciate the info if I can't get frm the mummy here where cab ibuy?

Irene
Ur very sweet yes just to try first ur not using urs? I see if i can buy super cheap first k?

Hi ladies - oh, it wasn't so much a list of books to buy as some recommendations of authors etc.

The webby to get the books from is www.thehomelibraryonline.com - it's run by a Singaporean lady who home-schools her three kids (and they can read really well!). She spent a lot of time researching the best books to buy, etc, and eventually started a small-scale book business from her home. Delivery is at a flat fee of $5 regardess of the number of books. I believe there are special discounts if you are a SAHM.

If you visit the site, use the search function to search for books by Sandra Boynton - Ems is currently loving the Snuggle Puppy one! It's about a mummy dog singing to her pup that she loves him - it's the cutest rhyming text and the illustrations are great. Ems is always riveted! I keep the book in my diaper bag, so whenever we have a moment or when she starts to get bored/fussy, I whip out the book and she loves to look at the pictures and hear me read. You can get the book for about $11.80 or the book plus a little puppy plush for $28.80.

And there are loads of other Boynton books on the site to check out. Some of the books come with audio CDs so you can learn the songs and sing them with your kids. (BTW, I find singing really helps with the babies - they learn to recognise the songs really quickly and Ems knows one (from a baby signing audio CD/book) that always makes her laugh - great for when you're standing around in a shop and she starts to get impatient - the song definitely eases tension and fussiness!) As for books, I think I'm going to get the Philadelphia Chickens one, and maybe "Hippos Go Berserk".

Happy reading!

Morning everyone,

Well, i'm at work again and can steal some time to post.

Parnikitty: Thanks for the info. Wow.. shipping cost is so ex. think will just give it a miss. Guess what?

I called up the supplier. The evenflo exersaucer is out of stock in singapore and will only arrive in one or two months' time! I have placed my name with the supplier and she will call me when the stock arrives. Wonder whether it will be cheaper if we buy more. Anyone interested to get one too?

BTW, does anyone know how long will the baby be able to use it? Cos' by the time the stock comes, matt will be 4+ to 5+ mths. Not sure if it will be too late to introduce to him and he will only use it for a while. in that case, it will be such a waste of money and I might as well get one of those from the market now.

Yolk Sac:

Thks for the recommendation

I'm also reading to Matt now. I bought quite a few softplay books for him and he seems to be quite interested in them too.

Went to Growing Fun shop the other day and the sales lady mentioned that audio input is good for baby now.

BTW, if you are interested in getting things from the shop, they will be having sale in December. So, hold your purchases.

Amber: Hang in there. Seek God for strength. The worst will be over soon. You are not a bad mummy. I can understand how you long for uninterrupted sleep. Me too in fact. I'm looking forward to my retreat at Bintan, Angsana in December when I can just sleep and sleep and sleep...

fyi mummies, www.rent-a-toy.com charges 12 bucks per mth for the rental of the bumbo seat while www.rent-that-toy.com charges 10bucks. The delivery for rent-a-toy is 8 bucks while rent-that-toy is 7-10 depending on location. For free delivery, you have ent 35bucks & above for rent-a-toy while its 30bucks for rent-that-toy. I believe Tots rented hers from rent-that-toy since she mentioned 10bucks for rental. After comparing, I think rent-that-toy is slightly cheaper.

So tempted to rent toys! Urgh!

amber: i know there is this one store at chinatown that sell bumbo cheaper than other places... ermmm i try n find out the add for u... hehe...

yap if u wan to try on first... i can loan u mine... kaelyn doesnt seem to like her bumbo That much... she will fuss aft a few mins... so if u want... just let me know hehe... where do you live btw?? i stay at east side.. dunno whether convinient for u...

brought A to the pd last saturday for her rotavirus and pneumoccocal jab- no fever BUT she was fussy all weekend! yeeeeaaaaaargh plus the teething (yup her stools are quite watery, i got several leaks last week)... means i had a VERY VERY FUSSY BABY. hope your weekend was better than mine.

claire,
the reviews ive read say that babies love to sit in the exersaucer as long as they arent walking yet- once they walk they dont want to stay inside.
it looks like im getting a preloved evenflo exersaucer instead. you can get replacement toys from amazon.com (shipping will be much cheaper than getting the entire exersaucer itself) and just switch up the toys so technically what im paying for is the base itself. if anyone is interested in a secondhand evenflo exersaucer base, i just saw one in the free items section. if anyone here wants to do the same we can share shipping costs for the replacement toys!

yolksac,
re exersaucer
hope your friend will bring it back for you! in the meantime are you renting one for ems to try out?

yolk/amber
thanks for the book recommendations! yolksac, are you going to order another round of boynton books? i want to get some too! right now A likes to eat her clothbooks! a cousin just gave her a carebears bath book set so now shes got more books to chew on!

amber,
not a bad mum for doing the panadol bit-- im seriously considering that when we bring A on a plane this december...

bcube
any tips for bottle rejection? A hates the bottle and will keep crying until i latch her on. once i latch her on shell drink like she hadnt eaten for weeks... end result? more gas in her tummy and MORE CRYING!!!!

hey all... i havent read any posts yet..hopei didnt miss too much..
i must say Ash is back to her usuakl routine at night, im crossing my fingers she keeps it this way for a while..

irene.. i like behind Mt Alvernia hospital..
hmm... i was looking at the WTS and i was getting cross eyed staring at all the threads..

hey i saw LV neverfull also!!

irene,.. i'll think abt it first,.. i think ifeel a bit pai seh to borrow yours.. am still undecided if i want one or not!

littletot, thank you SO much for the Lansinoh contact!!
mine are arriving tmr or wed i think..

Claire, thank you. Yes i havent given up praying about it..
God is Great

hey if ive got stuff to sell how do i go about it?
ive got two tubes of medela nipple cream..ive got a new bottle of Clarins massage oil.. so much to get rid of..
hmm...

hey Pars!! was missing you!!

i gotta go pump so gotta make this quick..
yeah not feeling guilty anymore abt the panadol bit cos t somehow kick started her old routine again.. so hallelujah!!

hmm A has got bottle rejection.. hmmm honey wether you fixx it now or later youre still gonna have to go thru a tough time.,.i think samefor bcube.. i think the only two ways iknow of is to sneak in the bottle teat while youre bf.. also try getting hb to doit whn youre not in the room.,.. and of course, the basic method of forcing it, not giving any boobs and wait an hour or so and try the bottle again... cos basically if bbb is hungry, they'll take the bottle..

best way is to try all of the above,. but be tender abt it.. if bb is getting very upset by it.. go back to boob..
its a tough thing to wean..

drats Ash just got up

My hb was home today so i got a couple of hours "off" to run an errand. ems was apparently very well behaved and slept like an angel from 7-10pm, took her feed and went back to bed. so UNLIKE last night when she was up all the way from 7pm until her last feed (11pm plus) - that was no fun at all. hope we can have more good nights and fewer bad nights!

Ashlyn/Claire: thanks for the links, will go check these out!

Parsniketty: Ems' bottle rejection is still very very bad. I need to send her to bottle boot camp or I cannot go back to work! What say you, me and bcube leave our babies at home for a week and go shopping in London? When we come back, I'm sure the babies will drink from a bottle. Haha, just kidding! But it's a nice thought, don't you think?

re exersaucer - yup, have rented an Evenflo Ultra Exersaucer from the rent-a-toy webby, it shld get here sometime this week I think. which preloved Evenflo one are you getting? they have the mega ones (wild things or circus theme, i think) plus some other more expensive ones. i'm really confused abt which one to get if i do get one. do you know which one the $429 is?

re boynton - yes, will definitely want to buy a few more books. which ones are you interested in? update! checked with the home library lady and she recommends getting the Personal Penguin one instead of the Phil Chickens one. apparently PP (and Snuggle Puppy) is more age-appropriate for our babies. Hb and I were listening to the PP song today and hollering "I wanna be your personal penguin...." along with the song! oh yes, you can hear the Snuggle Puppy song at www.sandraboynton.com --> go to "Nifty Music" and click on the Snuggle Puppy link.

yolk: the 429 one is the triple fun something... can conveert from play gym to exersaucer to play station.... if the smartsteps one cost 299. at paragon first few years.. if u go tangs... they sell the bright star one... 170plus... hehe at taka they got the leapfrog one... at 199.... i combed the whole orchard...

i still cant decide whether to get a walker or exersaucer... my hb been complaining tat no space@!!! especially i just got the veebee play yard... hehe...

oh... just to poison you galss....

http://www.pumpkinpatch.com.au/

hehe... nice collection!!!!!!!!!! my shopping list is a good 170AU!!

amber: hehe no prob... if u ever need to loan... just shout for me...

oh! mummies... dun bother to go toys r us or robinsons for exersaucer.... no luck there....

Hi Yolk, thanks for the link. I have just ordered Snuggle Puppy and hope Kaizer will like the book. Got a 5% discount cos I am a sahm..yeah!!

Kaizer loves it whenever I sing to him! He will respond back by smiling/laughing and making noises....so fun. Now, singing to him is a compulsory thing to do everyday hehe

All the babies look so cute in their bumbo! Here's a recent pic of Ashley taken on Sunday at the mall. We're in London in case you're wondering why she's dressed up in warm clothing! :p

1033296.jpg

Hi good morning......

yolk, thanks for the link... cant wait to read to him :p
I just got a bumbo from a friend, last nite i put him in he dont like it and cry... will try again this weekend....

Btw, Russell is so fat that once he gets in the bumbo seat it's hard for him to get out. lol.

Peck, I also have the same tiny love baby gym like yours. From my first girl, now passes to my boy. They both love it so much and can spend very long on it. Now Russ is already kicking the music patch and so delighted everytime he did it.

chic, ya jovan too enjoy it very much.. he still like botak hor!!

got to start work now... login later!

This is Russell's first haircut. He's starting to drool now.
1033452.jpg

Peck, no worries, my first daughter also had little hair when she was a baby, but now it's better. I diligently apply pigeon hair lotion everyday (I don't know if it's because of that), but she has more hair now. As for Russ, he's born with more hair. Maybe u can try cutting Jovan's hair, at least it will make it look thicker and even ;)

irene: thanks so much for the pricing info, saves me a trip to FFY and other shops!

kth: yay! hope kaizer likes the book. you can sing the song to him (melody can be heard at the link i sent parsniketty above)

peck: haha, another anti-bumbo baby huh? ems is quite happy in hers so far, but when she's not in the mood, she knows how to escape from it, tsk tsk.
chic mommy: russell's so big! looks really strong too

Hi Yolk, his body is really big, but still no sign of flipping (too heavy I guess). And still unable to lift his head much when put on tummy. He's a bit lazy to try also :p

Parniketty: Thks for the info. Not sure where I can get a preloved one cos I don't actually see many selling it around.

Re: Exersaucer

Irene: Thks for the pricing info too. My friend has a leapfrog one and she said her son loves it as much. Wonder whether I should just go for the cheaper one now.

Yolksac: Which one did you rent? Try it out and let us know your review.
BTW, bought quite a few books from the site you recommended. Found the prices there cheaper than in Kinokuniya. i spent quite a bit there just to get the shipping cost waived. btw, another must buy is the goodnight moon.

Morning All

wow so many post from e last few days haven't got time to read yet

I m back to work since yesterday. I was touched w my boss gesture. She held a breakfast meeting to welcome me back
and she even asked her mum to prepare breakfast for e team

Both my children had fever over the weekend. My eldest was due to sore infection and baby due to injection.

Brought my boy for the 1st dose of 5 in 1 injection last friday. He's now 64 cm and weighs 7.2kg. Doctor said he's growing fine.

Btw, does any baby lose appetite after injection? I realise my baby is drinking lesser and cannot finish e whole EBM. Thus I always have to discard those not consumed. Heart so pain

Ok, let me continue. Had to stop for a while as Matt was fussing for his morning nap.

Yolksac: the lady Angie told me that she was so surprised to receive so many similar orders for the day. Hahaha, you've gotta get some commissions from her. ; )

Well, chic mommy, Matt is not flipping too. He shows no sign of wanting to flip at all from back to tummy. But the strange thing is, he can flip from tummy to back. Matt is more interested in standing. Sigh... will all babies eventually learn how to flip? So worried that he won't learn.

chic-mommy: i think it might be a bit harder for the bigger babies to flip. i'm sure russell will get the hang of it soon!

claire:
1. don't worry - i'm sure matt will flip - all babies do eventually. actually it's normal that he can flip from tummy to back first - read somewhere that that is the 'easier' of the two flips and generally bbs are expected to master that flip first

2. it's a mega/ultra exersaucer - not sure which is the exact one, as i cldn't find the equivalent on the us sites, so i just picked the newest one available. will take a pic when it arrives and let you know if ems likes it!

3. happy to hear you liked angie's site - quite a good selection right? i'm always happy to recommend good resources for mummies/babies lah. Yes, we have a copy of Goodnight Moon too - highly recommended by my mum, supposed to help babies with pattern recognition, expectation, etc. We read it to ems for the first time a few days back. Now wondering if I shld get Bonsoir Lune (the French version) as I chanced upon a copy at Amazon.Com last night - trying to expose Ems to more languages.

winniebear: yes, my bb also was out of sorts and drank less after her injection - but my gal generally isn't a foodie so might not be a good comparator! so sweet of your boss to organise the bfast meeting
hope your kids are feeling better now?

long time no post. i hope all mummies & babies are doing great!

Here's Ryan at 3 months old, shaved his head 2 weeks ago coz his hair was dropping all over the place. He's now 7.4 kg and 64cm long.
1033705.jpg

long time no post. i hope all mummies & babies are doing great!

Here's Ryan at 3 months old, shaved his head 2 weeks ago coz his hair was dropping all over the place. He's now 7.4 kg and 64cm long.
1033707.jpg

argh so busy today that i am again spending lunch time pumping! no time to read thru most of the posts yet.. but SO MANY cute pics of bbs!!

exersaucer - which is gd?? so confused by the diff brands available. evenflo which seems to be rather popular has so many diff models for exersaucer too! is the most ex one the best? (haha typical singaporean)

another qn - can our babies sit in the exersaucer already? my girl's neck is steady, and can sit quite well with support. but she cant lean forward like the bb in the pic claire posted without flopping over.

yolksac, saw ur post on bottle rejection. xy still reject when i am ard, thankfully she does drink when i am not at home. the wk b4 i went back to work she was still fighting the bottle like mad.. think the bbs are quite smart and know that if they dont drink from bottle then they go hungry!! once i am home tho i latch her all the time.

Morning mummies! Seems like most of the babies' necks are very strong, my Kaizer's neck doesn't seem so strong yet (still wobbling a bit). Tried him on bumbo 3 weeks ago, he still couldn't lift his head up. Oh ya, he hates to be on his tummy and his head will never lift up high. Wonder if he is too lazy to do so or he couldn't do it yet. Kaizer is also not fipping yet. I think not all babies will flip eventually cos my niece had skip flipping & crawling when she was a bb.

Claire, Kaizer is also more interested in standing leh.

Yolk, I went to this website http://www.sandraboynton.com/sboynton/boyntonmusic.html and couldn't find the link of Snuggle Puppy. Maybe I am blind hehe...can let me know where is the link? Thanks

amber
thanks for the tips for bottle rejection. will try those tonight and see how it goes...

BUT FIRST i need to pump! haha

yolksac,
im thinking of getting snuggle puppy, whats wrong pookie and barnyard dance if they have it... are you ordering from amazon? the box sets are cheaper there! hmmm want to combine orders (homelibrary or amazon)?

re exersaucers
thanks irene for the info!

claire
have you decided which one to get???

Hi, yesterday Cheylssa had her injection and gave her panodol once i reached home so she did not have fever
Her weight is now 7kg and length 63cm. Pd said she grow so big, imagine she was oni 2.9kg when she was just born.

Oh ya, Cheylssa also showed signs of flipping when we were at the clinic. She saw the frog measuring tape and want to flip over to take, so cute. She also dun like to lay down anymore and want us to hold her fingers to pull her up in the sitting position.

everyone's bb seems to hve all grown up! lil L is still a petite baby. she went to PD yestdy bec of cough & weighed in only at 5.85kg
seems most babies at 3 mths r aldy 7 odd kgs! bec of cough she will only hve her 5 in 1 in abt 2 wks' time.

Re: bumbo
head has still yet to stabilise & is still wobbling a bit. figured maybe more stable b4 tryin it out. may rent bumbo to see if she takes to it 1st

Re: Evenflo exersaucers
any prerequisties b4 commiting to one, anyone knws? ie neck/spine must be strong etc etc.
kao_dizzy.gif

hi jewel
Ashley looks so well adjusted!
it was only like yesterdy i rem seeing yr video with Ash singing itsy bitsy spider!

jenny
Ryan's v strong to support himself up so high! impressive!

chicmommy
totally envious russell has grown up so. lil L has loads of catching up to do.

Hi ladies, read all the posts about exersaucer so thought I contribute my 2 cents worth. I got mine about a month ago from the Twinplussing garage sale. Paid $100 for a preloved one in fairly good condition. It's the Evenflo Ultrasaucer. Matthew's arms are still not long enough to touch the toys but I could see that he's really interested whenever I put him in there. Height is adjustable and right now out put it to the lowest height so that Matthew's legs could touch the bottom and he likes to bounce in it too!

I feel it's a good investment to get an exersaucer and it is good till our babies learn to walk so that's a good a few to a year from now. And because there are so many activities to play with, they will not get bored so easily.

I also did a bit of research on exersaucer online and find that the ones that Evenflo makes have got more interesting activities compared to other brands like Safety First.

1033978.jpg

Hi ladies, read all the posts about exersaucer so thought I contribute my 2 cents worth. I got mine about a month ago from the Twinplussing garage sale. Paid $100 for a preloved one in fairly good condition. It's the Evenflo Ultrasaucer. Matthew's arms are still not long enough to touch the toys but I could see that he's really interested whenever I put him in there. Height is adjustable and right now its put to the lowest height so that Matthew's legs could touch the bottom and he likes to bounce in it too!

I feel the exersaucer is a good investment as it's good till our babies learn to walk so that's a good a few months to a year from now. And because there are so many activities to play with, they will not get bored of it so soon.

I also did a bit of research on exersaucer online and find that the ones that Evenflo makes have got more interesting activities compared to other brands like Safety First.