(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Astro: Yup! That friend told me about spinning before.. Somehow, autistic kids are over fascinated by spinning things.. Eg fans, windmills, wind chimes, spinning tops, spinning coins etc etc..

AA: different. not all aspergers are savant.. vice versa.

hmm.. i am not v sure.. but from i have read.. autism is not mental retardation (which MINDS deals with).. but i have not read enough to fully and clearly articulate why autism is not mentally retarded.. my only reason for saying so.. is the brain is differently wired in an autistic mind.. from the case of savants and high funcitioning autism and apsergers.. they have above level intellgience. which the cases in MINDS dun have. mental retardation..
so i dun have the impression that MINDS handle autism.. pathlight does.. but interesting to hear what ur fren says..

Astro: Thanks for this link.. Very useful.. No lah, Ayden's doesn't exhibit either impairments of social interaction or thinking and behaving; and the misprounciation is not listed as an impairment of communication..

SQ, Astro,
You gals make me miss the Bo Luo Bao now! :S I love it with the thick slab of butter, wahaha!!

Astro,
It's in Hokkien, don't know how to translate. :D

Irin
After I went to eat with u, I like the Bo Luo Bao too. Before that, I never like that! Haha. Yes the thick butter is good!

So many posts and words that I can only glance tru the impt points u gals are toking abt.

AAA, Ayden will outgrown this mispronunciation prob. U mentioned abt short tongue...agreed this is might b the cause but it can be cured. My nephew oso has short tongue but my bil n sil aren't worried. Nephew is their 2nd child and same age as bian. And if compared both kids, u can see bian is able to pronuce better. But my nephew has his strong points like better physical skills in throwing a ball and running ard.

Anyway just seek help fr a speech therapist if u r worried. At least hv a peace of mind.

Btw just to share that Darius still cant speak in sentences with more than 4words. I rmbr bian at 22mths could chit chat wif us but Darius is already 25mths yet he still not able to do tat. His speech development is so much weaker. Disagreed that #2 will advance faster than #1. But issit bcos we tend to use the gor gor or jie jie as benchmark tats y start worrying when the younger kids dun progress that fast n well as the elder ones??

Add on: My bil used to work in MOE where he would need to draft out programs for autistic kids in those special schools. He once told me that if u ever suspect ur child has autism, the best age to see a doc is at 3yo. Sorry but i cant recall y at 3yo. I shall ask him when he comes over for dinner...

aaa: coz they are either over stimulated by their senses.. or under stimulated..
spinning.. can be a display over seeking stimulation.. either visual, tactile or simply a form of repetative behaviour..

i find autism fascinating.. when i am done with getting masters in curriculum and teaching. i do want to be able to get a masters in special education. haha.. that is if and only if i get abt doing my masters in C &T..

AA: ya. hence i say Ayden is only at most classified as anti social :p

RR: xin wang is 24 houors right? go and have it NOW!. hahaha..

bbmarch: typically they start at 3 years. but certain traits like inaibility to focus .. lack of first social smile at 3 weeks.. delayed speech and gross motor.. all are tell tale signs of autisms..

ha. for my case.. my 2nd is gross motor inclined.. speech wise.. hmm. ok. he doesn't blabber as much as teng. but his words are all complex and more vaired. teng was more typical. he wld go double words like papa mama.. etc.. then he moves on to double syllabi.. like bubble.. quite systematically.. yh is all over.. he starts with papa then mama. now he goes ba-ble (bubble).. then he has three words kind even.. it's raining! (in chinese). but he is not as chatty as teng at the same age.. but dunbo.. maybe just need to wait and see. he is shouoting more now. haha..

Hv lah the one at city link mall is Taiwan not HK.

Astro...like dat oso can. LOL!! My Darius very rough and daring type. He is oso shouting more these days. Buay tahan him alys complaining abt gor gor bully him.

11th Mar - 7pm?
Part 1 - Dinner
Part 2 - Drinks after dinner

- AAA
- QQ
- Ash
- Mich?
- RR (part 2)
- BBmarch
- Pax - TBC
- Pink
- star (part 2)
- Mejo
- SQ (part 2 - TBC)
- Autum (part 2 - TBC)
- Astro (Part 2 - TBC)
- nana (can i join?) muahahhaa!

i'm apr 07 mummy.. chatted on-off in this thread some time back..

just to share that my boy also hv problem in pronouncing when he was 2 yr old. for e.g. Gu Gu (father's sis).. he will say Zhu Zhu.
Sleep, he will say 'steep'..
and many more.

i brought this matter up with my PD last yr and she advise me to monitor and also remind him to speak slowly and practicing the correct enuniciation with him over and over again.

e.g. make him repeat Gu Gu a few times.

if situation don't improve by 3 yo, may hv to try Speech Therapist.

glad that he is improving and can say Gu Gu . but then i think he has short tongue and tenancy to speak fast.. so i always have to remind him to slow down and also repeats words that he don't pronunce correctly

AAA
now that u elaborate, my nephew has the same prob like ayden. and he is 4 yrs old now and still speaking that way. he can say 'good' but cannot say gugu (dudu), ah gong (ah dong).. basically the letter G bah. and we always attribute it to his learning fr the grandparents with the hokkien accent. :p but i feel he shd be able to say the words correctly, but just can't change his own style. since he can pronounce 'good'.. i don't see why not the rest of the 'g' sounds. =\

there was once i was teaching him..
me: say 'ger'
him: ger
me: ger-ood
him: good
me: ger-ong
him: dong
i suspect he's saying it cos of habit. so maybe it's good for u to keep correcting ayden now.

Rr
The next time u miss xin Wang, pls drive over n jio me

Astro, can i check autism cannot be detected when bb is in the womb right? N does austistic kids grow up to be normal eventually? Rae has this classmate she only attends like 3 days a week of class, the other 2 days she goes to a special school. She looks perfectly normal but cant seem to interact with the other children or follow instructions at all!! She seems to be in a world of her own most of the time. Sometimes when u talk to her she seems perfectly normal but most time she lapses into this altrrnative behaviour tat is so not normal. Her mum is quite old n this is her last kid. Just wondering if higher maternal age will result in higher chance of an autistic kid. Its a pity cos she is really pretty child.

Star
I try Nt to go xin Wang if I can
But when it's late at nite it's a convenient place to hang out
I must try tis Bo Luo bao before I give the place the death penalty

wah all this speech topic makes me worried as well. Clyde dun really pronounce "yellow" instead he will pronounce it "lellow". To me is more of the amount of interaction they have with the helper. But i am monitoring him and correcting him. Gwyen talks slower than her brain so everything she like a bit of 口吃... will ah ah ah... for her to process her mind before speaking. So hb and I make it a point to give her attention when she talk and not rushing off to complete her sentence. I hope all this will outgrow soon. Regarding austic, Clyde also dun warm up easily. He take long time and can be quite rude to the person when he is not familiar with you. But he is perfectly normal when he is in school. hope you all dun mind if he see his impoliteness.

SQ/ Pax jio me if going to west coast plaze. I am western mummy too.

AAA, the kids usu play with their fav toys so they will not want them to be thrown away if i threaten. There is a few times Clyde forgot where he put his things. So i will make use of the opportunity to tell him that is the result of not putting things at the correct place. U should reinforce the maid to ask the kids to keep so this will mean they have lesser work to do mah. hahah.. win-win situation.

Morning ...

Seems like this "pronounciation" problem only happen for boys.

Joelle,
I also think it's a habit, just have to keep correcting him. boys/men are lazy. :p
Like Kent, he knows it's "Ren2"(人) but he just like to pronounce it with a L, irritates me so much. :S

BBMar,
oh I know liao!! There are 2 XW Taiwan cafes, one at Citylink and one at Orchard Scape. Same mgmt as the HK cafes but they sell Taiwan food like those salted srispy chicken, chicken mee sua soup, braised minced pork and egg & etc ...

Starfruit, Astro,
about special kid ... there was a girl in RR's class beginning this year. She's a 2005 kid. I met her once at playground before she joined the school, could tell something is wrong. She could make sounds but she don't talk to her sister or maid. Then she came over to me and tap on my iphone when she saw me playing games. But she ran away when I tried to talk to her.
Are these signs of austism or some other conditions?

Then when she joined the school in Jan, she started hitting the classmates cos she don't know how to interact with them. Reyden would come back and ask me why she can hit people and not say sorry. I didn't know how to answer him then. After a mth, I learnt that her mum pulled her out of school due to some feedbacks from teachers and parents. Feel so sad for her.

RR, so which cafes serve better and nicer food? i cant rmbr which cafe i visited HK or Taiwan. But i tried something like "claypot" rice and it tasted not bad.

It's amazing being parents o these kids
Our society is Nt tolerant o pple who dun follow the norm or mainstream
So parenting becomes n even more uphill task!

Mummies, BBmar, Min, Joelle: Thanks for all the contributions!
Yah, Ayden's "g" is "d" or "t" depending, and "ah gong" is "ah dong" and "gugu" is "dudu" too.. :p
I will have to first get him to speak up more and correct him consientiously.

Min: Do you have any recommendations of a speech therapist for kids?

RR: Yah, men are so lazy! My hubby is also liddat. There are words which he knows he mispronounces but he keeps on doing so, despite me repeatedly correcting him. :p Come to think of it, it's no wonder ayden speaks this way. :p

Star: At the back of my mind, I've always linked Down Syndrome to Autism, but I've not checked whether there is any medical connection..

BBMar: I think Darius is still young, so 4-word sentences is normal. Give him more time.. I think the motor skills of the #2 and subsequent children will be faster cos they can watch and learn, but may not be so for the other sets of skills. Each child is still an individual.

Speaking of which, I was doing some reading yesterday when I suddenly found meimei in the middle landing of my stairs all by herself, attempting to climb the next flight of steps!!! I got a scare, didn't dare to scream out loud cos I was afraid I may frighten her, so I rushed up the stairs to grab her. :p She is a dare devil, with many bruises all over her. :p :p

Germaine: I did the same with Anna. Once she left behind her fav bag of snacks at church. She started wailing and crying.. I had the choice to either drive back to church or call them to take hold of the bag for me til the following sunday, but I chose to let her take the pain and cry out her heart. And I told her she had to take care of her own things. She went over to auntie and told her to remember to take her things for her! :p And I told no that she has to be the only one responsible. And after that, she's left behind her water bottle at the gym.. :p
Not true that the maids prefer the children to keep their own toys. The easier way out is really to do it themselves, instead of having to coax, yell, wait, bribe etc at the children to do so.

giolyn, the answer is yes la.

eh, AAA, i remembered i went to seminars before. and then i went to google just now...

www.kidzgrow.com

i din know that the website is so established now. u may take a look.

apprarently, a group of physiologists found that kids verbal ability is related to physical growth. so gross and fine motor skills are very important. the exercises can help in their hearing too. sometimes they cannot hear the sounds.....
most gals are faster than boys probably due to their early development of finer motor skills. etc. etc...

when i have time i will check out the site again cause i went to their seminar more than 6 years ago, i think. and....that time it was still not so well established.

they have centres, and supplying activities for kids. those physical activities can be used to imrpove the verbal skills for the kids.
parts of the brains (hearing and articulating the sound for output etc etc) might not b fully developed. so these can be intervened early.
however, some of the problems can outgrow de(8-10 yo). just that these can help the kids to be on par with other kids in school...
u can say that it is more or less assurance for the parents and less stressful for the kids.

exercises can help them in their speech.
and also FOCUS attention in school.

QQ
Come back la
U wil feel btr talking to us de
The few times I was really down n MIA for a while, I felt btr aft coming back to chat

Some pple r Nt worth our getting upset ovr
The best revenge is to make sure 我们过得更好 and we prove tem wrong

Germaine: She climbed up the stairs herself when no one was looking.. She didn't fall down from the steps. *not yet, I hope never, touch wood*. Her bruises are from her knocks mostly. She likes to walk and not look in front of her. For eg, she may be running away from someone, so she'll turn her head behind to check on that person while still running forward.. So she has a tendency to knock into something. These days, she likes to bend down with her head touching the floor to immitate the forward roll exercise. :p :p

SQ: She usually naps around this time, and once more at abt 2 plus or so.. But I'm sooo flexible with her napping times.. We bring her to her cot whenever she's cranky. :p Just now, we constrained her to the high chair so the other 2 could play with playdoh..

SQ: Oh besides her nap times, she sleeps at 8 like the other 2. At abt 10 plus or so, either she makes noise first or we'll give her milk and change her diaper. Then she will zzz til abt 4 or 5 plus I think.. Then she will want milk again, and we change diaper once more.. Until 6 plus.. This is what my maid tells me lah, I don't know first hand..

hello mummies, i finally settled the cake order for CO.

Star, i ordered cinderlla C for CO...she so happy.

RR, is one kg enough for 20 kids?

mummies, for the pattisier, is tiramisu nice?

Germaine: My meimei has attempted to climb over the sofa headrest too.. She doesn't know much abt gravity yet. So whenever I see her do that, I will "enact" with her that which will happen if she falls over. I'll hold her body, let her go over the headrest and land her on the floor with some force, just to show her it will be painful.. :p
She is able to move herself forward now in ayden's self-push car. She can't bounce about with the bouncy horse yet. She still climbs onto it, bounces up and down, and shouts and screams (and wonders) why it's not moving forward like it should when jiejie or korkor does the same with it.. :p