(2005/12) Dec 05 mums-to-be

fairymoss,
I'm around reading & still actively msning the rest of mummies..hehe.

Oh, I thought the old HDB close down already..maybe I can go there look look. Thanks for letting me know. How much is the mthly school fees?

taka
Ger's on half day CC.

fairymoss
yup, we want to settle Gerald down in his sch before #2 comes so that he wont feel like he's foresaken.

Jenny
wow.. ryan drinks really a lot. how old is he now? Dun worry abt supplementing. most imptly is that he's getting some EBM. Ger was also drinking abt 1000ml when he was few mths old.. but cant rem when. heehee.. anyway, Mrs Wong at TMC said that he can drink a lot, so i gv up on full BM and supplemented. Think no choice on the getting sick part, coz i also see many children in sch with cold and running nose. Hv to try gving the cod liver oil as some form of protection loh. Did ou gv Aidan cod liver oil?

thanks for the concern. Gerald's first few days at sch hv been good so far. *touch wood*. I'm praying hard that he'll be ok tom when I'm not there with him anymore. I think I must be worrying abt him and so had insomnia and woke up (thus typing at such late hours.) Luckily, i'm on MC tom to go for blood test in hosp, else I'll be so tired at work.

Morning Mommies
Wow... our thread is alive again!

nkteck
Ben is a big boy now.. can help U to feed fish and water plants.. good boy

krissie
Glad to hear that Ger is settling down at sch.. Dont worry I m sure Ger will be a good boy and enjoy himself at sch. You do take good care of yourself..

krissie,

we had the same reason as you in sending Aidan to playgroup earlier. i'm happy that he's finally settling down and seems happy to go to school. previously, he will start crying once he sees his school uniform. I've started giving Aidan cod liver oil since he turned 1, until now.

Ryan is 2 weeks old today. my milk supply can finally match his demands, am giving him EBM and pumping away so many times a day.

taka,
Cathleen sleeps on the mattress without bedframe on the floor. She likes to roll & turn on the bed. Ever since she fell from the bed during one of her naps, we've removed the bedframe. On the floor is safer.

When she woke up, she'll go to our room to look for us, or walk to the kitchen to look for auntie (maid). She won't explore around. Even if she does, whatever dangerous objects are kept out of reach from her.

Jenny,
You very "hardworking" mummy, still give your Aidan cod liver oil. I bought the original small bottle cod liver oil for my boy to drink (almost 1/2 yr liao), I think he did not even complete 1/2 of the bottle yet. I guess I must be more "hardworking" enough during wkends. The reason I did not give him also partly he don't really like the taste of it, sometime after taking 1 teaspoon, I want to give him another teaspoon, I think he will "siam" my spoon and refuse to open his mouth to drink the liver oil liao.., sometime my hb will "bluff" him to open his mouth by putting another spoon of food so that I can quickly push the spoon of cod liver oil to make him take it 1st before he had his food. :p Jin charm.. Must really make him finish the whole bottle to make my money worth. :p

By the way, what flavor is Aidan taking for the cod liver oil?

taka,
Ben is a big boy, he is wearing 2 year old kid cloth

Sanda
haha, did u notic in the picture that the plant hv no leaf .. too much water already

Seaside series
============
907894.jpg
907895.jpg
907896.jpg

re cod liver oil
just to share that the recent Mind your body issue had some writeup abt the purity of cod liver oil and its benefits. mummies might want to read that.

Jenny
ya, we gv him everyday. I'm wondering why pple say cod liver oil is good to boost immunity? When I was reading the article, it was more to gv them more DHA and make them smarter, can concentrate better, etc. Anyway, I'm still giving in the hope of boosting his immunity.

sandy
thanks.. so far, Ger seems ok with school. But, I'm still keeping my fingers crossed. Coz accrdg to the sch, some children fuss later, (like few weeks later) when he knows that they hv to go sch everyday. But, I think he had a great time yest at sch, coz they had water play which is his favourite.
the teacher told me that he loved it.

Kiok Teck,

Ben must have a v gd appetite + big genes in order to grow this big in size!

Jenny,

U are superb! admire u can produce 1L of EBM a day to match Ryan's demand.

DS,

Aidan is taking the Scotts Emulsion original flavor. It's quite fishy but he doesn't mind the smell. I only give 1 teaspoon before breakfast, how many teaspoons do you give?

Krissie,
I also want to see that article on the cod liver oil.

Fairymoss,
keeping my milk SS to match Ryan's appetite is not easy. I am pumping up to 10 times a day just to increase the supply.

Jenny,
Oic, Aidan also taking scotts emulsion original favor. I myself find it too fishy also.. maybe he does, so he might not want to open his mouth if he happen to recognise the cod liver oil bottle. There is once he look at the bottle to find out what am I giving him leh.

I wanted to give him 2 teaspoon, 1 teaspoon like very little.

Pumping BM:
Wah, 10 times a day is no joke, your pump is manual or automatic?

RJ oso take scotts emulsion original favor. at first he rejected it bcos of the fishy smell but later i reintroduce again to him he is ok wt it...

jenny
u r reli hardworking :p i used to do it also, hehe....if u want more supply, mayb u can breastfeed bb and express the other side @ the same time?

kiok teck
nice pic, post somemore when free

Jeslyn
Ryan has nipple confusion and refused to latch on after being given the bottle during his hospital stay for jaundice. so no choice but to give him EBM.

JF, thanks for sharing. So you dont close the door? both cath's and your room? Do u switch on air-con for her room? or on fan? ceiling fan or standing fan? sorry har, so many questions. We on the standing fan for megan for the time being, worry that after we change to mattress on the floor, once she wakes up she will touch the standing fan, which is dangerous. Thinking of installing a ceiling fan for her.

Taka
According to fengshui, its not a good idea to install ceiling fan, cos' its like a blade cutting the person in the room (that's if you believe in fengshui)

berlin,
how tall is gezann now? hazel is 75cm but still shorter than peers of the same age group. the low ikea bed still seems too high for her, if she decides to jump now.

COD LIVER OIL
i give hazel scotts emulsion orange once a day. it seems to make her stronger. she used to have runny nose all the time but alot less often now.

BOOSTER SEAT
any toddler graduated to car booster seat already?

Straycats,
Ceiling Fan:-
1st time hear about this, but don't think i will support the idea of installing the fan. My hb has the intention sometime ago. Heng ah..

Maybe you got more fengshui thing, can post here? :p

Jenny,

According to the cod liver oil bottle, we are suppose to give our tod 1 tablespoon of the liver oil once a day leh.. so i only give 1 teaspoon is very little liao as compare, but got take better than don't have hor.

rayden oso eating cod liver oil. I gv him one tablespoon once every morning....he seems to like it...it boosts up his immunity more or less, i think. I had been giving him since he is one yr old.

Straycats,

Thanks for sharing the fengshui tips. Then how har? can't put the standing fan there leh, is too dangerous. Also cannot on the air-con whole night, she will get running nose easily.

Megan was sick on Sunday, vomited 4 -5 times in the morning after she had her milk. Basically she just threw up all the intakes including water. By the time we reached clinic she threw up again, and this time on her poor mother who remembered to bring 3 sets of clothes for the kid but forgot to bring an extra set for herself. The absent minded father left the bag in the car and so the poor mother had to rush to toilet to clean up the mess but still has to bear with the soiled clothes and smelly hair until we consulted the doctor. Btw, Megan has fully recovered now, doctor said probably due to stomach wind. Poor baby.

So just to share my experience, mummy and daddy do remember to bring a set of clothes for yourself when the kid is sick, we may need to change if the kid happens to vomit on us.

I was searching for whether cod liver oil improved a child's immunity and found this. I know some of you and my mum also say that cod liver oil boosts immunity. But, the lit search so far seems to only suggests that it aids in brain devt by providing more omega 3 etc. I'm now giving Gerald 2 brands. Nordic Natural's Fish Oil (which is much purer) and Scotts Emulsion Cod Liver Oil. Hmm.. me still analysing the difference. I guess based on the article below, the fish oil is from the fish itself and not the fish liver, so shld be better, since lesser Vit A and Vit D. But, it's much more exp than the Scotts. Anyway, it's much purer lah. So, hv to pay more.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cod_liver_oil
http://www.mercola.com/forms/carlsons.htm
http://www.mercola.com/forms/faq/carlsons.htm
http://www.newstarget.com/017590.html

Morning Mommies

taka
maybe can consider wall fan instead of ceiling fan..

glad that megan has recovered already... did doc give any advise of any food to avoid for time being??

krissie
do you alternate the 2 brands of Fish Oil? I read that Nordic's one has got a stronger smell compared to Scotts.

Initially EnEn loves gluping down the Scotts Emulsion Original flavour and asked for more.. But now, I think he is scared of the taste liao and don't want to take liao... headache ah...

sandy,
oh, i let my mum gv him Nordic on weekdays and weekends we gv Scotts, coz i only hv 1 bottle of nordic. haha.. so exp, so bought 1 bottle only.

Krissie, thanks for your links. Perhaps most of us got the idea that fish oil can boost immunity as the Scotts label says so.. but not sure if it's verified claim or not. I give shanice 10ml of Scotts emulsion daily (whether for brain development or immunity). I also give her Sambucol Elderberry Extract for boosting immunity (bought from Luckyvitamin spree). I am also keen to get Nordic's natural.

Taka

I have a standing fan in my DD's room. Initially she used to touch it, but she does not do so now. I put a net over the fan. Probably need to constantly remind our kids..eventually they will understand.

I am gald Megan has recovered, poor girl.

Does your aircon has a timer? I remember some comes with timer..but maybe on the costly side.

Sandy, doc din mention about what type of food to avoid but to dilute her milk and porriage. She is perfectly ok now. Thanks.

SC, ya, it has a timer, i have yet to figure out how to do it :p

SC, hb was trying to do the tireless connection, finally fixed liao. Ok, see u tonite ya. I miss yaking with u too !!

cod liver oil,

we just let our boys have cod liver oil every few days since we grew up eating scott emulsion everyday and no harm done.

I'm sahm this week.. not really fun as Cathleen demands attention from me most of the time. Just kena scratched on my face by her this morning!

taka,
Yep, we don't close both our room's & Cath's room's doors. No air-con for her bcoz we want to train her to be able to sleep in non air-con environment too. We put a table fan on a chest of drawers which is high enough that she can't reach.

SC,
Oh, didn't know about the feng-shui of ceiling fan. In fact, my mom's house living room has one. Hmmm..

SC,

Wah...thot u are very westernized, but who knows u know fengshui more than many of us.

Taka,

I placed a standing fan in my son's room. he also meddles with it initially, but after repeated warning and punishments for playing with the buttons, he now would not touch it. I think getting rid of the source of danger may not be a good way to avoid accidents in the long run, but educating little kids on how to handle dangerous stuffs is what we parents probably need to do. Now that they are older and knows reasoning, we may want to tell them the cause and effect if they play with dangerous stuffs like the standing fan. Oops, just my 2-cents worth.

Mummies, how are u going to spend National Day?

Taka
Onzzz..see you tonite

Fairymoss

RE: NDP
We are having a mass celebration here at the beach..anything specular, but better than nothing *hiak hiak*

Krissie
Opps, thanks for pointing out the boo-boo

Let me rephrase my poll qtn again:
How many house of sleep does your todd clock per day ?

Nowadays the thread is happening. super fast postings.

Gezann is 81cm tall, based on last measure.
My mattress is right beside hers, the mattress act as height for her but she also likes to climb over the bed rails.

SC, it's also my first time hearing the ceiling fan fongshui. I don't like ceiling fan especially when the lights is right beside it. The whole room seems to be spinning.

Next time if I need to install something, must ask you first. keke...

Aiyo, SC, your Hours become house ah?

SC poll's
gezann sleeps from 9.30/10pm to 7.30/8am.
1 nap from 1pm - 3/3.30pm

Total she clocks averagely for 12 hours.

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>NO.</TD><TD>PARENT</TD><TD>BABY</TD><TD>DOB</TD><TD>WT(kg)</TD><TD>HT(cm)</TD><TD>AS AT </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Elaine</TD><TD>Javier</TD><TD>10-Nov</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>82</TD><TD>16mths 10days </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Mujmuj</TD><TD>Summer</TD><TD>18-Nov</TD><TD>9.2</TD><TD>75</TD><TD>17mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Weoseek</TD><TD>Jared</TD><TD>19-Nov</TD><TD>10.5</TD><TD>78</TD><TD>15.5mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>IF</TD><TD>Dawn</TD><TD>19-Nov</TD><TD>7.8</TD><TD>69</TD><TD>7mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>meixue</TD><TD>Shanice</TD><TD>25-Nov</TD><TD>10.6</TD><TD>82</TD><TD>20mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>LiewLian Soh</TD><TD>Fybie</TD><TD>29-Nov</TD><TD>10.3</TD><TD>83</TD><TD>20mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Pinny</TD><TD>Luke</TD><TD>01-Dec</TD><TD>9.1</TD><TD>79</TD><TD>19mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Ng Kiok Teck</TD><TD>Benjamin</TD><TD>01-Dec</TD><TD>13.1</TD><TD>89</TD><TD>18+mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>straycats</TD><TD>Megan</TD><TD>02-Dec</TD><TD>10.4</TD><TD>86</TD><TD>20mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>sunnyling</TD><TD>Ziv</TD><TD>02-Dec</TD><TD>9.1</TD><TD>74</TD><TD>15+mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Jenny</TD><TD>Aiden</TD><TD>02-Dec</TD><TD>11.6</TD><TD>83</TD><TD>19mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Berlin</TD><TD>Gezann</TD><TD>05-Dec</TD><TD>9.5</TD><TD>81</TD><TD>18+mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Jeslyn</TD><TD>Regine</TD><TD>05-Dec</TD><TD>9.8</TD><TD>80</TD><TD>19mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Rochelle</TD><TD>WK</TD><TD>05-Dec</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>86</TD><TD>18mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>joyfulhands</TD><TD>Cathleen</TD><TD>06-Dec</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>83</TD><TD>19mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>fluffsmurfie</TD><TD>Tricia</TD><TD>08-Dec</TD><TD>10.1</TD><TD>81</TD><TD>18+mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Megan Lee</TD><TD>Ron Jun (RJ)</TD><TD>12-Dec</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>83</TD><TD>18+mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Absolut</TD><TD>Nicholas</TD><TD>12-Dec</TD><TD>8.6</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>8mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Sandy</TD><TD>Ernest (EnEn)</TD><TD>14-Dec</TD><TD>11.3</TD><TD>83.5</TD><TD>17mths 17days </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>DS</TD><TD>Jayden (XinYang)</TD><TD>15-Dec</TD><TD>11.5</TD><TD>81</TD><TD>18mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>prettycloud</TD><TD>Aron</TD><TD>15-Dec</TD><TD>9.4</TD><TD>77</TD><TD>16.5mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Angelin Teo</TD><TD></TD><TD>16-Dec</TD><TD>7.75</TD><TD>68</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>2005</TD><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>19-Dec</TD><TD>9.2</TD><TD>78</TD><TD>18mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Geryl</TD><TD>Ryan</TD><TD>19-Dec</TD><TD>10.7</TD><TD>77</TD><TD>13mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Bao Bao</TD><TD>Jayden</TD><TD>20-Dec</TD><TD>10.7</TD><TD>82</TD><TD>18mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>tanlengleng</TD><TD>Besper</TD><TD>21-Dec</TD><TD>10.2</TD><TD>80</TD><TD>15mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>clhw30</TD><TD>Mirabel</TD><TD>21-Dec</TD><TD>14.8</TD><TD>85</TD><TD>16+mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>YL</TD><TD>Justin</TD><TD>22-Dec</TD><TD>11.7</TD><TD>82.5</TD><TD>15mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>sunnysun</TD><TD>Ryan</TD><TD>22-Dec</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>15+mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>Angela</TD><TD>Jerald (Yangyang)</TD><TD>24-Dec</TD><TD>8.5</TD><TD>76</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>fairymoss</TD><TD>Declan</TD><TD>26-Dec</TD><TD>10.6</TD><TD>83</TD><TD>19mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>HappyGal29</TD><TD>Rayden</TD><TD>26-Dec</TD><TD>14.9</TD><TD>89</TD><TD>18+mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>Kuikwan</TD><TD>Zach</TD><TD>26-Dec</TD><TD>10.3</TD><TD>82</TD><TD>18mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>taka</TD><TD>Megan</TD><TD>29-Dec</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>83</TD><TD>18mths 1week </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>Rena Chew</TD><TD>Elijah</TD><TD>29-Dec</TD><TD>10.5</TD><TD>77</TD><TD>13mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>pooh25</TD><TD>Xavier</TD><TD>29-Dec</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>73.2</TD><TD>19mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>tabbisus</TD><TD>Tabby</TD><TD>30-Dec</TD><TD>9.5</TD><TD>76</TD><TD>18+mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>krissie</TD><TD>Gerald</TD><TD>06-Jan</TD><TD>11.1</TD><TD>85</TD><TD>17mths 3weeks </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>
Pls PM me if you wish to update/include/delete your tod's stats in the chart. (just in case I missed any of your postings)

Happy National Day to everyone!

Reply to SC's poll
Daytime Nap: About 4 hours
Nightime Sleep: About 12 hours

Total hours of sleep per day for EnEn about 16 hours..

SC,
For Cathleen:
night: about 9-10 hrs
day: about 2-3 hrs
total: 11-13 hrs

She sleeps less than most tods. I wonder how to make her sleep longer?

Berlin
Aiyo...must be the NDP mood making me blurr...*hiak hiak*

RE: Fengshui
I am no fengshui expert, but I believe in,what we have in our home will generate good health, wealth, happiness and harmony

Sandy
Thank goodness EnEn clocks 16hours! Megan clocks 16hours per day and I have ppl telling me that she is not normal

sc
Sleep varies to diff ppl mah. like us, some slp more, some slp less. i think i slp less than others cos i like to stay up late.