(2005/11) November 2005 MTBs

oops, did not know i cannot receive pm. anyway, my mobile no is 90401870. coincdentally my mobile sms is not working. in case i do not reach your place by 2pm, please call me. thanks! celest, see u too.

Meixue/ Hippobab..actually, my mum is the one who told me to put baby on the bed / cot flat for 30 min each day..twice a day and let him kick and stretch..cos we always put him in the bouncer/swing or carry him..no chance for him to learn how to flip over. So after letting him stretch for 2 days, he starting to push himself over...and doing the sit ups..and mini push ups. Think he is learning to do the flip from back to front. anyway, darion is a early Nov baby..many of your babies are a bit younger, so think not slow..just coming soon.

chin..my boi is mid oct baby..still v slow..told MIL to lie him flat on tummy for 10 mins everyday..she din do that..

Once i did that in front of her,she say "ai yo boi so xin ku..dun do that lah" wat to do lei.. let him practice on weekends liao

Venus: when "older" people tells me what to do with my baby, I just politely tell them well this is year 2006, many newer research has been done..... which also means that, your way of parenting 30,40 years ago no longer stands.... coz i've done my own readings and researchs, and i am going to upbring my baby MY way.....

Earnestmum, Nik, Celest, Celest's cousin: Thank you for popping by......

This is baby Gillian. (nik) Mummy say's that I am a screamer and gonna bully my gor gor in time to come.....
373465.jpg

This is baby Hiroshi. (ah Fat) Mummy say that I have been very naughty today by refusing to drink my milk and wayang and wayang.... This is a more peaceful picture of myself!!
373466.jpg

I really can't wait till all our child are able to sit up on their own. At that time ho-say liao!! can have group photo! yahhhOOOOOooOOoooooOOOOOoooOoOOOoOoooooooo

venus,
we can shake hands liow. my girl is also the first grandchild so MIL have a lot to say... "buay tahan"!! everytime she sees me do something, she has a comment one lor... wah lao *piangz* really cannot wait to have a house of my own...

chin, my baby is also early nov baby (8th) leh but still cannot do the flips leh. she can do mini-pushups when she is lying on her chest. will try to put her on her chest for longer periods... see if it helps.

ah fat, tomolo still on? dili n furry coming? if not, then another day lor.

Hippobab/Venus - my boy is NOT the first grandchild for my IL..but still got a lot to comment!! But I totally agree w ah Fat..and in fact, that is what I tell the old folks - my boy, so my way.

Guess what .. I have news for you all. My hubby just told me that my FIL wants to change my boy's chinese name (he was the one who chose it in the first place)..cos he got the 2nd character in the ancester book wrong.

*shake hands with hippobab* :p
is it the 1st grandchild for ur parents too?? when u going to move out?? heng,i insist that we have a place of our own altho in same area lah..

chin..actually i can voice out my opinions to my mum and dad but the ILs..let hubby do it..or show my black face LOL

peng..ur FIL siao one.. changing the name very ma fan one.. have to go to lawyer i think ..

venus, ya lor, 1st grandchild for both families
but own parents easier, can tell them direct... aiyo... IL... bo bian needs to "ren" and tell my hubby to say lor.

Ah Fat, thanks for organising. I had enjoyed today's gathering very much! Hiroshi has been wonderful in my arms. U are definitely not fat!

Nik: Thanks for the sharing on inlaws and oh! lovely twins you have and an even more lovely after birth body shape.

Celest: your cousin is very kind to show me the yao lan at Punggol Plaza. might get it this weekend.

btw, my boy's name is Alden Yeo Le Shan.

to the rest who had missed it this round, see u next gathering at Baby Fair!

Earnestmum

Hello, Mummies!
I have been reading this thread for some time liao! Most of the time I am on the Dec mom thread.

I delivered my bb on 29 Nov, her name is Fybie!
Saw the pics of your babes posted lately and I must say they are so adorable!!!
Can't wait for Fybie to be like them too!

Btw, is it a bit unusual for a 11wk+ bb gal to drink only 80ml of EBM or 10mins of direct latch on?? I am worried abt my gal.

Hubby and I intend to travel to Japan to enjoy the cherry blossoms next month with bb, but my MIL said she is too young to travel to such cold places and she is worried abt the pollen from the sakura... Do you think I should bring her to Japan or leave her with my mom??

Hi Pris,
Definitely heartbreaking seeing Jadon that way, but do stay strong for Jadon sake coz he will need your support! Be strong and God will be with you and Jadon all the time.

Definitely exciting as we watch our precious bundle are growing day by day and learning to do new things all the time.

My gal now trying her best to crawl. She can flip onto her back quite easily and able to push her upper half body off the mattress. She can in-fact push herself forward if there is something for her to kick at.

Sometime I wish I am SAHM so that I can watch and experience all her "milestones". Ha..ha..

ahFAT.. tks for inviting us over today & oso dun mind me bringing my cousin along

earnestmum.. since u've chk out e price of the sarong at punggol plz.. mabe u wld like to call up cheong choon baby store? i bot mine fr there.. itz located at upp cross st blk 34, #03-132 tel: 6532-3855.. no harm comparing e prices..

reli cant wait for e nx gathering manz..
hope to c more mummies.. itz reli fun.. will try to bring my ger along

hi mommies..thank u very much for your warm welcome....i think we are all in the stage where all the hardwork are really paid off...seeing them smiles and cooing and i'm sure they have this "look" in their eyes..that know that we are their mommies...

any of you sham with 2 or more kids?

Pris, take care.

Wow..seems that the outing quite fun leh..poor me busy at work. hehe

Boy has not shown any sign of being able to turn yet. He hates being on his tummy as well.

Liewlian, welcome! I think my boy is drinking abt 100-120ml in his 11th week for 2.5 hr interval. Ur gal just slightly lesser so shd be ok? According to PD, the birth weight shd at least double at 4th month. I would suggest u letting ur mum take care of her cuz she may be too young to withstand the cold weather and the discomfort she might feel on the plane.

Muj, welcome too. Feel free to post and chitchat here also.

Hi Liewlian,

A warm welcome to you too! It's advisable to leave your baby with your mum should you travel to Japan. I had stayed in Tokyo for 2.5 years with my hubby and had came back last Sep in time to deliver my boy. I think it's better to be safe than sorry where our babies' health are concerned.

Pris, may all be well with Jardon.

Aprilpinky, hope to see you at the fair since you had missed this round of gathering.

Anyone interested in GD? Saw it in Ah Fat's place.

Muj: welcome to you!

Thanks for the warm welcome!!

Hi ah fat
Wil let u know if i can join the next outing to bb fair......think wil be veri crowded at tat time....

Hi pris
Ya really veri 'Qiao'...same EDD & both our bb come out early to see us....I do go to dec thread & once at sengkang thread...u remember? i posted in sengkang thread saying..my gal also went thru 'Hernia' surgery as little jadon...i was staying aro. fernvale.
i felt really heartpain seeing the picture of jadon....u must b strong & take gd care...
I hv some s size pampers comfort for little jadon....let me know when is a convenience time for u...i wil bring them to ur hse.

hi gd morning mummies...

WELCOME LewLian Soh
kao_welcome2.gif

yah i agree wif aprilpinky.. beta to leave ur ger in spore.. at least u noe she's safe wif ur mum.. & ur mum wil definitely be taking gd care of her

ahFAT.. woke up so early? cant sleep aftering feeding hiroshi? howz he? stil refusing milk?

celest: my dear hiroshi darn tok gong, he had his milk at 6pm, then fell asleep after much fussing.... slept till 2am woke up on his own. fed him..... then drag until 3 plus then manage to put him to bed..

ahFAT.. aiyoyo.. wat happened to him? he din get his nap when we went over yday rite? so mabe he was tired tats y knocked off so early.. & oso woke up EARLY!! heh heh heh

Hi all Nov Mummies

My EDD is 19 Dec 05 but my boi want to come out early on 10 Nov 05. Tat y I became a Nov Mum.

I chat in Dec Mum but would like to come here kapoh kapoh cos my boi Javier is abt the same mth as some of ur bb.

Hello Summer,

A warm welcome to you :) You reminded me of a song that I used to like titled "Summer Rain"..

This afternoon, I went to Punggol Plaza to buy a yaolan for my boy. I can't help but think of the gathering going on in Ah Fat's place which is nearby. But I cannot pop over again as my inlaws, hubby and son are with me. So, how was the gathering?

Ah Fat: Babies do get tired easier when they receive more stimulation than usual. As it is, we were busy chattering away yesterday :)

I realised that there is Tumbletots in Punggol Plaza.

hi summer!
kao_welcome2.gif

celest, you keen on mother goose bouncy beginning? i bought the pack recently but yet to explore it. let me know if you wanna look at it (all mummies welcome too)

Celest: My boy likes the yaolan. He sleeps well in it for his afternoon nap. For a total of $113, it spares us from carrying him always as he wants to be carried often. Ha ha...

Hippobab: Where do you live?

Have a great Sunday!

Re: Cloth diaper or disposble diaper

Hey mummies do ur use cloth or disposble diaper during daytime??

Currently in the daytime I'm using cloth diaper but as my boi grow bigger, the cloth diaper cannot hold so much urine and sometime leak to the floor. I'm afraid using the disposble diaper he might get diaper rash etc and those old folk will say so hot wearing disposble one.

Wat other ways???????

earnestmum, i am currently staying at yio chu kang but i will be getting a resale flat at sengkang... so will be a sengkangee soon.

hi summer, my baby is using disposable diapers - NTUC brand in the daytime and huggies dry comfort in the evening. to prevent diaper rash, you will need to invest on a good nappy rash cream. i find desitin creamy to be excellent and my baby does not have any nappy rash to date (touchwood).

summer:
kao_welcome.gif
i am using disposable diapers all along.... as what hippobab had said, invest in a good nappy rash cream.... desitin and dropelene are both quite good....

hippbab me interested to view the CD....

earnestmum: NOBODY came leh.... be careful when using sarong on your baby, i just heard a horor stoy about it.... Just remember to check on your baby every now and then. should be fine....

sorry for the long winded post, just thought some of you might be interested....

When Should I Start Feeding My Baby Solid Foods?

The answer is: when your pediatrician tells you that it's OK to start solid foods. The American Academy of Pediatrics, whose guidelines state that the best time to begin feeding your baby solid foods is between 4 and 6 months of age. And the closer to 6 months the better, especially if you are breastfeeding.
Your baby's body in its first few months was designed to digest breast milk, or something similar to it. And, calorie for calorie, no solid food has the nutritional quality of breast milk or formula for your young baby. If you feed your baby solid foods too early, her milk intake may decrease. You'd be replacing milk, the best food for your baby, with foods that are nutritionally inferior and not as digestible. Solid foods should not replace breast milk, they should complement it.

Why You Should Wait Until At Least 4 Months

Your baby is not physically ready to eat solid foods until he is around 4 months old. There are several reasons to wait at least 4 months before starting your baby on solid foods.

Reason 1. Your baby's digestive system is too immature for solid foods before 4 months.

Although he can suck very well, he does not have a lot of saliva to help digest food. Until he is at least 3-4 months old, his system lacks certain digestive enzymes, such as an enzyme called amylase, needed for digesting cereals (starches or complex carbohydrates). His body has trouble digesting some fats before he is 6 months old. Some foods will pass through him undigested and end up in his diaper. And some high protein foods, like eggs, meat, and even cow's milk, given too early may cause problems with your baby's immature kidneys.

Reason 2. Your baby is not developmentally ready to eat solid foods.

His throat muscles are not developed enough to swallow solid foods until he is at least 4 months old. And, it is not until about 4 months that he is able to use his tongue to transfer food from the front to the back of his mouth. In fact, when you touch his tongue, he reacts by pushing his tongue outward or forward. This response is called the extrusion reflex or the tongue-thrust reflex and it doesn't disappear until he is around 16-18 weeks old. The first time you feed him with a spoon, it may seem that he is spitting out the food and closing his mouth at the wrong time. But his tongue movement is simply the result of the not-yet-unlearned extrusion reflex and not because he doesn't want the food. It is not until he is about 5 months old that he will see the spoon coming and open his mouth in anticipation.

Reason 3. Your baby must have a way of telling you that he is satiated.

He lets you know that he is finished breast or bottle feeding by stopping his sucking or by falling asleep. But until he becomes able to turn his head to refuse food, which occurs at around 4 or 5 months, he has no way of letting you know he has had enough solid food. Because of this inability, some people consider feeding solid foods to a too-young baby a method of force feeding. This practice can interfere with the body's self-regulating eating mechanism and lead to overweight later in life. As with adults, your baby should eat only when he is hungry.

Reason 4. Beginning solid foods too early has been associated with other problems later in life, such as obesity, respiratory problems like bronchial asthma, and food allergies.

Reason 5. Solid foods will not make your baby sleep through the night.

Studies show that of all babies sleep through at 3 months of age, whether or not they are eating solid foods. Even if solid foods will help your baby sleep longer, that is still not a good reason to begin solid foods early. I know sleep deprivation is hell, and most of us have been there. Hang in there. One night he'll sleep right through, and then you can start feeling normal again.

Reason 6. If you are breastfeeding and give your baby solid foods too early, your milk production may be decreased.

Don't Wait Longer than 8 Months

After six months, your baby begins to need solid foods for some nutrients, such as iron, vitamin C, protein, carbohydrates, zinc, water, and calories, and delaying food may cause delayed growth. Besides playing a nutritional role, solid foods help your baby developmentally, as discussed under the section. It is crucial that your baby start developing eating and chewing skills between the ages of 7 to 9 months. And if you delay the introduction of solid foods past 8 or 9 months, your baby may refuse textured foods when you finally do offer them to her.

Signs of Readiness for Solid Foods

Your pediatrician looks for certain signs of readiness in your baby before advising you to begin solid foods. Some of these signs are:

*Your baby is at least 4 months old.

*weighs twice as much as her birth weight.

*weighs at least 13-15 pounds.

*Can sit with support, allowing her to lean forward when she wants another spoonful and backward to refuse.

*Has control over her head and neck muscles and can turn her head to refuse food.

*Has stopped exhibiting the extrusion reflex when you put a spoon in her mouth.

*Is drinking at least 32-40 ounces of formula per 24-hours and still wants more.

*Is breast feeding at least 8-10 times per 24-hours (after the first few weeks), empties both breasts at each feeding, and still wants more.

*The time between feedings becomes shorter and shorter over a period of several days.

*Can bring an object in her hand directly to her mouth.

*Shows interest in others eating around her.

*Becomes fussy in the middle of the night, whereas before she slept through with no problem. Or her sleep periods are becoming shorter instead of longer.

Which Food Should Be First?

The first foods you should feed your baby are those that are easily digested and least likely to trigger an allergic reaction. The recommended first food is commercial iron-enriched baby rice cereal. Other popular first foods are avocado, sweet potato, ripe banana, and if your baby is older, millet cereal and yogurt. You and your pediatrician should decide which food should be given to your baby at her very first meal.

Commercial Rice Cereal
Commercial iron-fortified baby rice cereal is the first choice of the American Academy of Pediatrics. Rice is very easily digested, is rarely an allergen, and thins readily when added to liquid.

Homemade Whole Grain Cereals
If your baby is at least 6 months old, homemade whole grain brown rice or millet cereal as baby's first food. These are easily digested and have a naturally high iron content. However, your baby must be at least 6 months old before he has the necessary digestive juices to handle the complex carbohydrates in these cereals.

Banana
Mashed ripe banana is an excellent first food for baby. Bananas are nutritious and very easy for your baby to digest.

Avocado
Mashed ripe avocado is also an excellent first food for baby. Avocados are also an excellent source of the unsaturated fatty acids that your baby needs for brain development.

Cooked Sweet Potato
Cooked mashed sweet potato is another favorite first food. It is highly nutritious and rich in beta-carotene (vitamin A). This is a great first food for your 4-month old baby, if you don't wish to start her out on sweet bananas or a processed baby cereal.

Yogurt
Yogurt is similar tasting to milk, and for this reason and many others, it is a good first food for babies who are at least 5 or 6 months old. Whole milk yogurt is recommended, because your baby needs fats. Baby yogurt, of course, should be of the plain variety. It is important to note that although yogurt may be given to a baby younger than 1 year old, cow's milk should not. If allergies to milk run in your family, you shouldn't feed your baby yogurt. Talk to your pediatrician.

The Consistency of the First Solid Food is Not!

"Solid" is a misnomer--to eat foods that are actually solid, your baby would need a good set of teeth, which she won't have for quite some time! Your baby's first food, after breast milk or formula, should be more liquid than solid. In fact, it should be so liquid that it pours. To get this very thin consistency, the first food should be mixed with a large proportion of breast milk, formula, or water.

Summer.. we oni use cloth diapers when my ger was 1mth old.. as my CL preferred tat.. but at nite she used pampers.. u can try petpet for daytime.. very value for $ & i heard NTUC brand is oso qte gd.. juz tat it is abit 'hard'.. as for nite or going out.. i use pampers premium as it holds more & can last thru the nite.. desitin cream is very a gd nappy cream.. try tat.. can get it fr guardian pharmacy.. there r 2 types though.. white & blue packaging... white has more zinc oxide & not too creamy whereas e blue wan is more creamy & it has aloe vera & vit E.. i hvnt try e blue wan but has ordered fr those mummies doing bulk purchase..

earnestmum.. yes i agree wif ahFAT.. u muz oways chk on ur boy ya.. soon ur boy will be like my gal.. loves to 'yao shuang'!! waahaaa..

hippobab.. yess.. im interested in tat Mother Goose thingy.. when can we meet up? r u wrkg oredi?

Welcome Summer. I use cloth diapers on Darion during the day, and disposable (Pampers) on him at night. Also disposables when we go out. But yes, I do realise that the cloth diapers are getting a bit small for my big baby! For Pampers, he is using M now. Wondering whether to switch to fully disposable..

ahFat- thanks for the long write up.

Ah Fat, thanks for posting gillian's pix. Do dropby my place anytime too.

Does anyone going to shave their bb's hair at 4th month? I'm going to shave my boy's, but i dun noe where?

Summer, i use cloths nappies in the daytime too. Sometimes i have to change 3X in an hour, especially after feeds. I have twins, so, it will be 6X in an hour. Hahaha, think my maid is very siong to wash the nappies.