(2004/02) February Babes

Hi gisele.

nothing spectacular. hb gave me a treat. that's all.

Jay is very sweet and thoughtful.
U must be so heartened.

i guess you dun like the pacifier. that's normal.

I am not active lah... just writing a bit more regularly. I am still feeling rather down after my dad's passing on.

Not too excited about her P1 reg. Will get a place since I am an old gal. Waiting for the letter. Maybe when the time draws nearer, i will be.

take care.

mini - if u r going now it is still summer. so weather wise might be easier for u to adapt. and if u go in nov then it will be cold le lei.

just to sahre - hb and i flew with my boy (29mo) and girl (4mo) to USA in jun 06. i was sahm there for 6mths. and in the area that i lived in, i had only a swimming pool, gym and a small playground. i had to drive to the library, playdates or do grocery shopping. so MOST of the time i am at home. i feel it is not safe to take bus or get around on my own.

VA is a nice place. i <font size="+1">miss</font> the times in USA....

How have you been.. so Linda has popped yet?

Van will be back soon right? Do SMS/Email me to let me know when the meeting is

How is your long weekend? We stayed at home and were soaking in the air-con room. The weather is really unbearable lately.

Hi Ruffy
Read your blog
So how is your car hunting over the weekend? Manage to see anything you like

Roy is funny. Only 16 mths and is already choosy on the clothes to wear. Will catwalk for you to praise him somemore..cute

Are we all meeting Van when she returned? Hope to catch up with everyone of you. So far, I've only met Ruffy. I was thinking maybe we can meet at my aunty's condo near Tiong Bahru Plaza. The kids can swim while we chit chat.

pink_tulip,
lovely flowers

ruffy_happy &amp; Gisele,
we'll be back only on 1st week of July cos A's school will close only end June. Will stay for 4 weeks, sure have a chance to meet up. seriously i'm clueless for an ideal place to meet up. unfortunately our home is like an empty shell, so not fun for the kids at all. any kids friendly restaurant tat we can have lunch or something? mummies would u prefer on a weekday or weekend? erhm, PT everyone still waiting to see your S

oh yes mini,
if u decided to travel end of the year i do have winter/spring gear for NB to ard 5M old. those r from S. let me know earlier so i can bring them back for u. PM or email me to discuss if u wish.

hi Van
July can!! I am still on maternity then.
I know Globetrotters Restaurant in novena Square has a indoor playpark with someone to supervise too. food wise not that fantastic, price not that ex, near MRT too.

Hi Ruffy
Me not popped yet, hoping the gynae ward me tomorrow when i go for my checkup. cos he is going away on my 38th week. I doubt baby max can bake till my 39th week. So I am crossing fingers and toes and hair and everything else tt I will pop before 24th.

Hi gisele, cant advise much since I got one only. But i sure think you are doing what you can do already. We all need to learn to cope. Perhaps when the maid is here, you will feel better.

pacificer - Personally i thot it was good for me tt Tory took the pacificer, cos she is soothe easily and I have an easier time. She was also somehow trained to sleep thru the night at 5 mths partly due to it. I guess no right or wrong, it make my job as a new mum easier and a happy mum is a good mum yah?

Hi pink
kekeke... PINK tulips yes?
Somehow, we hadnt got around celebrating mother's day for ME leh. kekeke.... You reminded me I should have gotten some flowers for my mum... It hadnt been our tradition to celebrate Mothers day for my mum cos she feels that the restaurants are conning our $$. kekeke...but flowers would have been nice hor?

hi mini
I would jump at the chance to go on a holiday anytime even with newborn!!
take it as a challenge. And I think newborns are easier to handle than toddlers!!! tory NEVER sleep on flights except 5 mins prior to landing.
Very tiring for me.

hi Linda
Oh! I didnt realise you're going to pop soon. Are you feeling excited

I'm coping alot better now, thanks. The rocker is my savior. James will happily sleep there for hours and is alot less tiring for me now. Thank God!

hi Mini
I've not hear from you on the nursing pillow. Do you still want it?

hi Van
I would prefer weekday but I'm fine if majority pref weekend. We can discuss nearer to the date

whao.. so much action here today

Carwise.. we have decided on a Toyota Sienta (7 seater MPV) can see pictures of our old loves and new upcomming love on my other blog
www.astromama.wordpress.com

Van,
Meet up weekday is fine also.. if most are not working.. I think easier also ..most places not so crowded...if we are meeting outside.

Now busy doing up my travel website..will announce when everything is ready

Gisele,
good to know that James is sleeping longer. and that you are getting into a easier to manage routine.

Mother's day.. nothing much..busy looking at cars
N shopping for new clothes need some new clothes..the old ones not fitting liao.. need smaller sizes.

gisele

yes...yes... the weather is soo unbearable...
i wake up at 6.45am. By 7.45am, I am perspiring all over after getting the two girls ready for school. Wish I do not have to leave the air-con bedrm... in such weather, very hard to be affectionate and patient with my girls leh!

Rocker? You mean yao lan? Glad baby is sleeping longer and you are feeling better.

I guess weekdays will be less crowded at eating places? I prefer weekdays or Sat lunch. Not free on Sundays.

Dun want to take S along leh... in fact, really dun feel like bringing either of them!... best if I can go alone! Can? Can?!

Linda

Really hope you can give birth while the gynae is in sg.
I understand the sense of security you would have when he/she is around to deliver the baby. Jia you in the delivery rm ya?

mini

i agree that a newborn is easier to take along on a trip than a toddler! Meals are easier - just milk, maybe even just breastmilk.
newborn is so 'portable' and sleeps more. Dun have to struggle to hold on to him or her. dun have to run after him or her...

wah, so going to be a mommy's gathering? okok, i'll try to arrange a date with daddy still in sg so gorgor can stay with him hehehe... since no kids a weekdays would be better than weekend
we'll decide on a day when date is nearer.

Linda,
yeah, excited here also leh. do update us

pink
I mean those netted bouncer.

Weather is terrible hor, sometimes I will switch on aircon the whole afternoon in one room. Simply cannot stand the humid. Fan on full blast also no use. Hopefully the electricity bill will not go up too much. Otherwise hubby will sure nag at me :p

Ruffy
Toyota is nice. We've changed from Toyota Altis to Honda Stream but I still think Toyota engine is better. Honda's car has abit of 'floating' feel. Not sure you understand what I mean.

Van
I also dont want to bring kids along. So we can all chit chat in peace

baby max is still happily baking inside me. Sian. Now, it is back to asking him to wait till after 3 June to be born... However, i really doubt I can hold that long. at least 10 days to go? By then I will be in my 40th week. And I just goggle on the new gynae which my gynae placed me in the care of.... I didnt like her look.... Maybe I bias liao...i prefer male gynaes. SIGH!!!!

Hi gisele
Not excited leh... cos of gyane issue lor. but at same time, I cant wait to be walking again, and NOT waddling.

Hi Pink
yeah, quite depressing thinking abt it now. Sigh sigh....

Hi ruffy,
Sienta third row is tight. But for your family would be just nice, if the third row is not occupied often. Where will you be getting your car from?

Hi Van
Bring the kids lah!!!

Gisele / Linda,
S will sure shadow me but if the Feb babes will not be tagging along then no point for me to bring A. he'll be very bored to sit down with us mah... up to the mummies, or u bring T then i'll get A along?
but then again if weekdays i suppose the kids will be in school?

Linda,
got to keep an open mind, tis we cant control. maybe M prefers to be delivered by a female gynae? :p my nephew popped on the day my sis's gynae flew off

S was delivered by a female gynae too, cos i have no choice, all gynaes in that hospital r females hahahaha... but overall is pretty good, she's able to relate certain issues better.

gisele

oh, i see. I had one bouncer too. It is useful esp now that the weather is hot. baby won't get all warm and uncomfortable lying in the cot. thus can nap longer. BTW, the bouncer can't be used when baby starts to practise rolling over. I used yao lan for their naps (cos of the netting that's more cooling for the baby and the snuggled feeling that makes them feel safe) but I never "yao".

Weather is really too hot. but we are more fortunate than the pple in myanmar and sichuan... btw read today's papers that we may experience haze in the coming weeks. i dislike that.

Van and gisele

If dun bring kids, can chat in peace.

Linda

Van is right too. Though I understand what you mean. Well, might be a blessing in disguise, we'll never know. Scarli this female doc very skilful and has smaller/slimmer hands leh??

Hi Van
You just reminded me.... If school day i cant liao, cos got to fetch T. Cant throw her alone...

Gynae is flying off tomorrow, actually resigned to fate le, just pray that I have an easy birth lor, and soon too. Cos very tired, a lot of braxton hicks these days. So tomorrow also can lah.

Pink
kekeke... hands matter? I didnt remember my male gynae doing cervical checks for me leh? I am just being mean lah, cos I can't wait for labour, though I dunno why...

Linda,
r u still here? suddenly recalled wat i heard most frequent with S during the many weeks of waiting game

wat time does T ends her school? we'll try to arrange a date, time n venue) which suits all mommies.

din noe u all have been posting msg till now! was so busy last wk that hardly use internet! so glad next for next 2-3wks i dun need to come to work!

Thanks for the sharing on oversea trip. decided to go in nov since i can feel my movement getting tough as bb getting bigger. by then if can TBF then will be easy since dun have to bring so much barang barang.

wow mommies gathering.. sounds good! keep me updated. by then not pop yet n will join in if i m free

Van
will email u regarding the NB gear. think i will need it since going in nov/dec period.

gisele
I m interested in the nursing pillow but no chance to go to West area yet. i scared hubby find it v inconvenient to travel all the way to the west. can hold for me for anr 2 wks?

linda
have u pop yet? keep us updated when u pop ok!

mini
No problem, you can collect from me anytime.

hi mommies
Can i have your opinion on this pls. My confinement lady is now working for a family fulltime drawing a salary of S$1,400 excluding levy. I did express my interest to hire her previously. She called and said wanna work for me.

I'm in the lost now not sure what to do.

1. to hire her to look after baby and Jay or
2. to look after baby only or
3. she will replace the maid and will go to my aunty's house to help out or
4. not to engage her at all and hire a maid

Her presence will be helpful if either my hubby or myself work late or need to do business travel as she can cook really well. I'm always not comfortable of having a maid around but am ok with her during the confinement period.

Appreciate if you could let me have your view on this pls. Thanks vm.

Hi Gisele,
It depends on how long term relationship you want to have with her. If it is just for the initial 1-2 mth it would be better if she is hired to look after the baby and Jay as there is really nothing really much she can do with the baby.
What is the reason that she want to work for you only now? Did the family "sack" her?

I'm not sure if a maid will be better or this lady.. but will consider the above.

Hi Ruffy

She will work 2 years for me if I hire her.

She didnt like to work in the current family because she cannot stand the noise. There are 8 pple (4 kids 4 adults) in the current household.

Hi Gisele,
Oic.. I dont know if 4 people (2 adults and 2 kids) will be "quieter"??? If it is the added workload by having to attend to the needs of 8 as compared to a family of 4 I would understand.
Just wondering if she will put a lot of restrictions on your children and prevent them from developing normally. As you know just one kid can create enough noise to scream the house down...this is especially true in my case.. when the boys play sure fight/squable and end up in a screaming match between the two.

hi mummies and kiddos of 2004,
anyone of you keen to have a playdate or meet-together-&amp;-play session?

We can meet up at central locations or parks or beaches, or my house even.

hope to hear from all of you! cheers!

I would like to have some like-minded mummies with their toddlers to gather occassionally either at any of the mummies' places or a day out with the kids.

Since it is the holidays now, I think we can also arrange something soon.

I have a 4 year old gal myself and she gets pretty lonely at times which I feel sad for her. So I hope this thread would help to get to know some other mothers with the same concern to get their kids together.

It can be a Sunday brunch, a day at the park or organise kids activities at one of the homes for the kids to socialise

Do add me in my msn [email protected] or email me so that we mothers can work something out.

Btw, I live in the North-East. Actually it doesn't really matter to me wherever you reside

Ruffy
Is 'any mummies feed their baby on expressed breast milk only'.

Linda
Thought you're doing v well already. My expressed breastmilk is really low, only manage to pump 240ml in a day

hi gisele,
you need to increase your frequency of pumping, instead of 4 hourly, you have to do 2hourly now. that's the only way to get more.... stay hydrated and drink more soup as well. oh yeah, rest well too.
hope all is well with you.

Coolmama
Thanks for your advise. I'm home alone with a baby and is hard to do 2 hourly pump. My timing is 6.30am, 12pm, 5pm and 10.30pm.

I will try to do more regular pump in July when nanny take care of baby James. Thanks again.

Presenting Maximus Sim Yi 5 days old. He arrived 1 June 08 after 3 hrs of labour.
Pretty fast, and nope, he didnt wait for my gynae to be back, as predicted, baby Max had to come one day BEFORE gynae is back.
Coping ok, with exception tt i feel i short change tory... i m either milking, bathing two, feeding two or at the PC working.... worst then being at work.
Still trying to establish a routine for Max so that I get to spend time with tory like before, or at least during bedtime when we catch up on the day.

Hi gisele
u saw my messages? haha... yah, doing exclusive pumping as my latching is poor so end up my nipples very pain. I feed him formula at night so i store all the EBM in freezer. He is drinking 100mls now, so i think my supply cant catch up. And i find supply dropping, esp since i pump only when i feel engorged abt 3-4 hrly in the day time and up to 5-6 hrs in middle of the night. Honestly milking is hard work. i didnt bf tory back then and felt much more convenience..hahaha...i bad mummy hor?

Going back to work soon?

Ruffy
thanks!!!

Congrats, Linda!!
You are doing great to have a schedule expressing. Dont worry about the supply, have to bear in mind, as long there's a demand, the supply will always be there. Have to increase the frequent to express during the growth spurt, usually the 1st one ard 3 weeks old.

Indeed not easy and is tiring but still Jia You! and u'll never know, Max may still accept direct latching in another few weeks

Linda,
Whao..so handsome your son MAx

I don't think that you are a bad mummy as you didn't manage to Bf tory. I am sure you will try ur best for MAx.. but your health and happiness is more important then trying to 100% BF max. I am sure your supply will increase by next week. Hang in there.. very soon you will be able to establish a routine that is suitable for all.

Hi van
Thanks...3 weeks old will have increase in supply? Hmm... Going to be 3rd on Monday. I think I am the one who cannot accept latching, notMax. hahaha... In fact after pumping, I feel pain in the nipples too, but at least not so during pumping. With latching, it is pain with every single suck, and like what the lactation consultant said, I am letting him nipple suck. He also wont get enough that way.

Hi ruffy
Handsome ah? I think he look like La Pi Xiao Xing. kekeke....
I think I am bad mummy cos I tend to put myself first when it comes to convenience. :p I like to bf Max longer, but like what you mentioned, if it is not making too happy, then I will stop lor.
I certainly hope that a routine will be establish soon... It looks like I am getting the hang of it... Hopefully it continues and I have more time for Tory.

aiyo y La Bi Xiao Xing??? at the 1st look i find he resembles daddy

erhm 3 weeks is juz "agar-tion" lah, not zun zun one... its ard those 3, 6 n 9 weeks &amp; mths typical bb growth spurt. those on FM will increase the amt, those on bm will want to drink more frequent to cue the demand to mummy's brs
so juz keep u prepared tat u have to pump more frequent to increase the supply otherwise u may feel not able to cope with Max's needs.

i know wat u mean... i did hear from friends complaining abt sore n sharp pain on nipples/brs aft expressing. so i suppose its pretty normal cos still not used to the pump n expressing. the nipples will get "seasoned" over time. sometimes its easier to latch a baby when he/she is slightly older cos their mouth would been wider to open really big to nurse properly
in any case, try your best and do "shout" if we can be of any help

oh yar, mummies, we've push forward our return date to the 1st Jul cos daddy needs to do some work in sg
shall we decide if we want to meet on a weekday or weekend, then shortlist a few date from there? cant wait to carry Baby M &amp; Baby James! hehehehe...

hi linda,

i just got back from my hols and see this post
CONGRATS! M's birthday is one day earlier than mine :D Jus like his jie jie, he is one handsome bb
Take care and rest well!

folic

Hi Linda
Max is so alert even on day 5...so handsome

I can understand what you mean by sore nipple. It will get better on the 2nd month and where the supply will increase. I dont feel anything now when I pump

At least you're very determined unlike me. I'm so lazy and only pump four times a day and the supply is super low. But this is what I can cope. You're very independant doing confinement without any help and manage to pump somemore. Jia You ok

Van
I prefer weekdays and will go without the kids depending on the timing.

Gisele,
we'll wait for rest of the mummies to reply. or wait till i return we'll sms a date

any lobang for those $10 per hour part-time maid? unfortunately the lady who we engaged her service went MIA since 2 weeks ago. ended up my sister got to do job for regular cleaning n airing the place. need someone to do a thorough cleaning for our apt b4 we return. TIA!

Van
No problem. We can decide on the date later.

You can call my part time maid, her name is Merley. Tell her Shem recommended coz she will not work for pple she doesnt know. I have use her for 8 years already.

I will sms you her contact later.

Gisele,
Where is she staying? Cos i remember tat u r staying in the west right? I'm at north-east, very near to SengKang. Does she mind to travel?
I can call n check with her directly. Please sms to my china mobile cos my M1 is suspended whenever we're away
thanks alot!

Van
She is staying at Bt Batok. You can call and check with her if she mind the distance or you may want to cover her bus fare.

I have pm you her contacts.

Gisele,
spoken to my younger sister and she is keen in continue helping me with the cleaning. of cos for $ reason, so i'm paying her instead of the PT helper hahaha... thanks anyway!

ruffy, we'll return tmr
havent come up with a date to meet. maybe can choose a date n see if the rest r fine with it, then we confirm a time n place via sms? no change in my number *wink*

Hello mommies!
We're back home
have been busy in n out of the house as usual... still free to meet? juz tally my calendar with ah lao's hahahaha... he was asking me y mine has so many "dots". mummies prefer to be on a weekday lunch, i suppose? i'll be free from 16th onwards, so any date preference?