18mth old weigh below 10kg

hweeling

my son 18mth old but his weight is below 10kg. He's been eating quite well on solid food but problem is he don't really like milk, drink less than 500ml per day. Anyone same case as me and who's willing to share ?

Hi Lengleng,

my son is coming to 20 mth old and he is still below 10kg as well. Mine oso drinks very little milk, i think... (he is still bf). I've checked with his PD who told me that if he is active and happy and doesn't look lethargic or listless, it should not be a problem. Btw, he was 9.8kg one week ago but he caught a virus and now his weight is down to 9.5kg.

Well, i guess if your son is active and happy, then it should be ok bah...

My girl is 22 mth old and she is below 9kg! She also doesn't like to drink milk, less than 200ml per day! But she is an active child, so I guess still alright?

i have a 36 mths old gal. Does not like drinking milk. Weighs 10.5kg. I tried so much of much from cow,goat, lactose free and so many more...... Last i bought PEDIASURE chocolate. She puts on weight in 2 weeks bout 2kg. Maybe
you want to try. They have this premix that cost $2.75. All ready to drink. They sell it at most supermarket. NTUC better. But cold storage sells it at $2.50 per bottle.

My PD oso told me to try give Pedisure because more calories and rich, will gain weight. I've been giving my son Pedisure for 1 mth. He did gain some weight. Maybe you can have a try

Hi Yant (aleemummy)

Yr gal drank Pediasure chocolate. What is the colour of her stool ? My son's stool change to very dark colour after drinking Pediasure vanilla.

My 17mo gal has been weighing the same at 9+ kg for the past 7mths. She's eating & drinking well...just dunno y she's not putting on weight.

My 14mth gal opposite...not eating at all and whole day on milk. Worried tt she mite not be getting enuf vitamins & nutrients. Thinking of putting her on Pedisure. Should I? Confuse as she is drinking very well on her current milk - Enfa.

I glanced through a bb feeding book at the library and says that from birth till 1YO have to tripple birth weight. From 1-2 YO, only 2.5kg max as the growing rate is slower. Imagine if still grows so much by Pri 1 gotta go Turf Club (my time was this club don't know what's the new club name?)

actually i'm wondering if weight is really an issue if your kid is active and happy.

My cousin's girl also dun eat a lot of things and was about 10kg when she turned 2 - but she's happy and growing and that's most impt.

i also think it depends on yours/hubby's genes. If both of you are slim/small-built, can't really expect a baby that explodes to 12-15kg right? it'll be:

1. quite scary.
2. damn tough to carry!!

my girl is 20+ months and about 12.4kg. then again, she's bigger than her peers despite not being very plump. height, weight, head circumference all 90+ percentile. At some points in the past months, she was way above the graph.

Very very tiring to carry for long. but both me and hubby are erm 'big and tall'. I'm 1.68m and on the XL side cuz i put on weight easily. Hubby is almost 1.8m but lanky and dun put on weight easily.

I suppose she has our heavy bones and hubby's slim build cuz she eats quite normal 3 meals-a-day with sub-500ml milk (3-4x 120ml each time only). ALso takes random fruits (apple/pear/plum/banana) and biscuits.

Hi! There's a vitamin supplement that contins something that's increase toddler's appetite - can check with pharmacy or doc. I personally agree with Lezy - is weight an issue if kid is active and happy. I've a 2 and a half year old girl who eats non-stop but is barely 10kg. So many people have been giving me advise on how to fatten her up but doc says she's healthy so I just let her be. Chubby babies are cute but a lot don't lose the baby fat when they are no longer babies.

my daughter is 32mths..she is now abt 14kg..used to be only 10+kg as she doesnt like to eat. I switched to Pediasure Vanilla flavour when she was 2yrs old and indeed she did put on weight after drinking Pediasure..U may wan to try

my son turng 4 in june......

weighing 13.6kg @ height 96cm !

hates PORK but still eats other meats ..... 99% vegans as inborn of indigestive systems since birth!

i don't think weight is an issue as long as the PD didn't make any noise.. My wawa is 23months+ and she's only 10.8kg.. Eating well and having fun everyday.. Don't worry ya!! They'll grow!!

hi, pls advise wat's the no of pediasure scoop to 180ml of water and 150ml of water respectively? any constipation with pediasure? is stool hard or soft and how many days then pooh pooh? i nid to pump my bb too, very skinny and short for her age of 17mths and at 25% growth rate only. no fats in her arm and not chubby..

my boy is 17months and his only slightly pass 8kg. he drinks milk daily
morning -220ml
tea - 120ml
before he goes to zzz - 120ml

so its a total of 460ml on an average day. He takes solids, porridge for lunch and rice for dinner.

I think its ok for kids to be skinny - i'm skinny by nature - so the little ones probably takes after us.

Yes you are right - as long as they are healthy. my son doesn't fall sick very often. thank goodness for that.

onsang, if you are worried of constipation, give your little one pro-biotics. Its like yakult, but minus the sugared water. its a supplement for kiddos/adults alike for good digestive system. it works.

Mine also opposite, drinks alot but dun like solids. He drinks 240ml in the morning, before nap n 5pm, and took 280ml before night sleep. So total 970ml per day, take porridge fro lunch n a little rice for dinner as he too lazy to chew his food, mostly swallow. Now 18 mths, only 9kg, 78cm. I wld think he follows daddy genes.

^^ my 36 months boy is only 11kg & 87cm..

He is currently taking 600ml milk in total for a day.

for lunch n dinner he preferred rice then porridge, but he only wants his rice with red sauce (tomato sauce) & soup.

He hates all kind of meats............

hi mommies, my gal oso at 10kg, 23mths not gaining weight for past 3mths. may i ask any of your child always vomit and hence not gaining weight, like my bb gal? any one of you put your baby on zantac before to suppress gastric reflux, GERD so that they will have better appetite to eat, instead of vomit? can share experience over, if your child encounters such similar problem. thanks/

Hi onsansg,

I'm a regular for ZANTAC since 12y/o ( now 41 ). For wat i knw, ZANTAC do applies for gastric ucler patients and to protect gastrics.

I dun find myself loosing weight but gaining weight ! NO signs of vomitting....

I'm veri SHOCKED to read yr post tt yr gal is merely 23mths old and took ZANTAC as young as 20mths !!! Wat happen ??? for me, i do seek TCM medicines and it helps better than though ZANTAC can protects gastric for as long as 8hours !!

Have you seek 2nd opinon from " western doctor " ???

Oily, Fried, too much OIL involving is BAD for gastric SO pls try yr best NOT to give ..... NOT EVEN Mac's / KFC / any fast junk foods !

thanks, mrs lew for your reply. i wanted to seek 2nd opinion cos i'm hesitate to put my bb on zantac beyond a month too. in fact, my specialist who handles my blood pressure told me yesterday that he believes my bb is more of overfed that she vomits all the time rather than having gastric reflux. he say, if possible try to off bb from zantac to see how she responds to feeding. if no feeding and we also consciously take effort to minimise her amount of food and space the makan time further apart, then bb doc's diagnosis may be wrong.
today, i'm trying to feed zantac once a day today instead of twice, to see her response.

what was your experience / symptoms at 12years old that doctor started you with zantac? can share with me, please? was there vomitting all the time, burning sensation on throat, stomach, acid juice rush to throat or feel fullness and indigestion?

do you require to take regular blood test after a period of zantac medication? i'm worry for my baby's liver and kidney with this medication at such young age..

does your doc see baby too? can check for me and i may wish to seek 2nd opinion from a western doc too.

bb not gain weight and will vomit all pediasure right away after drinking as the mixture is thick, besides vomit on solids..

hi mrs lew, another question:
did your mummy tell you that you were difficult to feed or always vomit when you were a baby/toddler? i'm wondering are this signs of gerd for my baby if you have had similar experience at baby/toddler time?

I have recently start to feed my baby with Nutren Junior or Peptamen Junior to be mixed with Friso for my gal. It seems to be working, as compared to Pediasure in helping her to gain a some weight. You may wish to try. These 2 products are for kids who have difficulty in weight gain.

Now my headache is like yours, George. My baby is very fussy eater that I don't know what types of recipes will attracts her, except that I know she loves eggs in her cereal.

1st time introduce her rice today at 27mths old, she only took a few spoonfuls and rejected all my steam good quality fish. sigh!

my son last measured 9.8kg and 82cm tall at 18 months!! i already stuffed him lots of avocado and try to put olive oil in his soup but still thin!! quite slow eater, simply not food lover... breastfed baby, only have 2 scoops of formula in his cereal..

hi, your son is on the tall and slim side..mine just measured last week only 11.1kg, 85cm at 31months. i have removed avocado from her diet cos it's fatty to slow down appetite..make her too full and slow in digestion..end up, can't eat much of the next meal.

When my nephew was 12mths old, he weighed 12kg and 87cm long. When I brought him out, everyone thought he was 2 years old!!

At 6mths old, he would not eat anything with meat / fish / scallop cooked in it. He spat all the porridge out, even when it was just porridge. The meat etc was added in the cooking for flavouring only and not given to him.

For 2 mths straight, he did this and became so tiny coz he did not want milk too.

No choice, I put him on an organic vegetarian diet and he ate like nobody's buisness.
He oso only drank soy-based or rice milk. No dairy milk. No refined sugar. No junk food.

I read from many books that once BB has teeth, it means they're ready for solids,
as such milk should be cut down progressively and replaced with <font color="0077aa">wholesome natural food</font>
since <font color="0077aa">natural food</font> is a better source of minerals, vitamins, enzymes and calories essentail for BB's next stage of growth.

Also read from many 有机饮食 books that milk causes mucus in BB, causing them to cough. This one mummies can do a bit of research.

Initially, his parents were very worried that he is going to turn out weak and sickly.

But when they saw how big he had grown, they were surprised.

In fact, my nephew only had a mild fever once and that was when he was teething. We have never visited any GP during the period I was taking care of him, not even for that one time fever.

There was one incident I will always remember ... my brother once took him to my condo for a swim but it started to rain.
So we waited after the rain has stopped but pool was too cold for comfort and yet my nephew insisted in getting into the pool.
We all went in. The next day, his mom was down with cold but BB ok. He was 1+ at that time.

This really boosts my confidence that a vegetarian diet is suitable and good for infants.

A happy child is one who does not suffer any sickness. This is my simple thinking.

chalkey, he doesn't look tall compared to his peers who are +/- few mths from him. he looks somewhere in between.. re: avocado, whatever I feed him, he has similar reactions. I have only so far successfully established 2 favorites, brocolli and tomato besides his fav strawberry, blueberry, grapes, peach...

if i leave him to self feed, he will totally refuse to eat the meat and fish. Only interested in veg..

nowadays his appetite seems bigger but then again, he's pretty erratic..

Finally a thread with the same problem as me.
My baby 18 months 8 kg 76cm. Exclusive breastfeedng for 6 months and weaned at 1 year old. Super fussy eater.
He drank formula about 400mls only per day.
If I'm lucky, can get him to eat 2 half bowls of porridge per day. (so 1 bowl) Sometimes doesn't want to eat or even drink plain water. I know he is dehydrated coz he has dry lips.
I've tried many methods and I am really, really super FRUSTRATED.
I'm a FTWM with no domestic help. No parents or in laws help too. It really hit me sometimes.

My gal is 15 months, 8.2 kg, 76 cm. I am very stress coz very difficult to feed her (very slow and she will spite off the food). Recently brought her for holiday and she refused to eat solid at all for 3 days but she didnt seem to be hungry. She drinks on average 500 ml pediasure everyday.

Any recommended doctor/nutritionist??

Hi mummies u can bring ur kids to TCM for baby massage.It helps alot,better appetite,absorb nutrients from food taken,better resistance.

yennie, roro could it just be a phase? my boy used to be very hard to feed since he was ard 11m old. in the last 1-2m,his appetite increased n less picky. used to hate meat, now he even chews on chicken and tell me its chicken. he's 21m old now. when they're older, can reason with them more. by the way my son is not the kind who sits in hi chair to eat. alr disassembled high chair. he sits at his kiddy table n chair and sometimes moves ard with his toys at mealtime. if he moves or runs too much, i will stop him by threatening him with "naughty corner". it seems he's able to understand reasoning more. hopefully its just a phase your kid will outgrow.

my son seems thin still tho. but no excessive worries because he's progressing fine in all other aspects..

he's still being breastfed. bit of formula here n there with his cereal only.. usually take whole milk powder with his cereal since he's above 1 yr old n i think his diet quite balanced. not sure what his wt is since i havent brought him for any checkup, but he feels heavier n still looks like the same percentile within his grp of peers.

Hi hi, my son is 13 months, 9.1kg, 76cm. He is a very fussy eater too! Don't really like solid and also lately has been difficult to drink milk, I must spoon-feed him almost every time..

I'm at wits end....

Is pediasure addictive? Would it be difficult to change to another brand of milk powder after taking pediasure? Cos I heard it's very sweet..

Ya, I hope so skeenybeenie. He still got no molars but he hate soft food. I can tell he really wants to eat chicken but realized too tough in the end spit it out. I hope by the time he can chew meats and other tougher foods and able to reason out and talk, I can try 'bribery' method. I don't mind spending any amount of money to buy his favourite and nutritious foods as long as he eats.

hi, nutren junior is not as sweet as pediasure and my gal likes it better. digestion is better with less constipated as compared to pediasure.