18 month old - which playgroup or preschool is best?

I have two vouchers to trial lessons (Play/Music/Arts class) at Gymboree. To let go at $20 per voucher. Voucher valid till 22/04/05. Valid for children aged 60 months and below.

I started sending my daughter to Actphabets at Esplanade Mall when she's 2.5 yo. She is still attending their weekend playgroup. They hv speech and drama, phonics, music and dance, story-telling, arts and craft etc. Personally, I can see my gal enjoying herself very much in the class. The teachers are all very friendly and nice and encouraging. I am letting my daughter continue the next term.

I shortlisted Actphabets and GUG on favourable recommendations from other forums. Actphabets is the first one I approached and my husband and I saw how our daughter enjoyed the class, decided to just enrol our daughter w/o seeing GUG (as GUG told us there's a waiting list anyway). No regrets so far, our gal keeps asking us everyday "Today go to school?"

Playworkz and tumble tots are more movements and gym type, so if u're looking at speech and drama, phonics type of learning, then it may not be what u're looking for. JMO.

Bluesea,
I am also considering Actphabets for my girl. She is 21mths.

What is the teacher-student ratio at Actphabets? Are parent allow in the class? Do they teach the same thing every weekend? How much r u paying for the weekend playgroup?

Hi tamarind

May I know is clement playhouse a child care centre or preschool?

Beside is this timing, what other timings does it have?

How u feel abt this school?

Hi Daisy,
It is a preschool, not a childcare centre.

I am not recommending this school anymore. They used to have a very experienced teacher, who has left. The new teachers are very in-experienced. What's worst is that they don't care about safety at all. My girl was hit on the head by a 1.5 m tall whiteboard. I was only told about it by the teacher 1 day later.

The whiteboard, made of solid wood and quite heavy, was left leaning dangerous against the wall in the room where there are many 2 - 3 year old kids. Even after the incident the teacher never do anything about it, until I complain to the principal. The principal hardly comes to the school, and it was very difficult for me to contact her.

I have already withdrawn my girl from the school.

Hi Tamarind

So now which school do you send your child too? Are you staying in Jurong Area? can you recommend me some of them?

My girl is currently not going to any school. She was sick from stomach flu 2 weeks ago, I want to let her rest a while.

I am also looking for good schools in Jurong area, but I don't think there are any.

My girl is now going to the Little Gym at Forum once a week.

tamarind, I also dont like Clement Playhouse. Just sent my gal for their trial class 2 weeks ago. Decided to send her to MMI at Jurong west instead.

Dainel, how old is your child? I'm sending my gal to MMI at Jurong West. Maybe you want to check it out? Think they only accept kids from 18mths and above.

Giggler, my gal is already 25 months. I'm thinking of sending her to MMI. Heard that this school is not that good. Haiz.... really dont know how.

Dainel, just go for the trial and see if your gal likes it first? That's what I did... I went for trials at Clement Playhouse, Julia Gabriel and MMI last 2 weeks. My gal was the happiest at JG but it's too far for me, not convenient. She was very bored at Clement Playhouse. But she's ok at MMI, she likes the toys there alot. Didnt even want to go home after her lesson ends. And I find the teacher quite good. Although we have a full class of 12kids but she still can control the class very well. Most of the kids can really sit down and participate in the class for 1hr lor. That's an achievement for kid, I feel.

Giggler,
Is your girl going to MMI everyday ? Or only once a week ? You need to take a bus, MRT or drive there, right ?

I was also considering MMI a few months ago, but it is difficult for my mother to bring my girl there everyday.

tamarind, my gal is only gg to MMI once a week. One adult got to accompany her to the class so I cant possibly ask my mom to do that. Too tiring for her and also think my bro will be very unhappy to leave maid alone with his gal. Sigh...

tamarind, I take bus and alight opp Lakeside Mrt then walk in to the blk. Quite inconvenient lah but at least nearer to me compared to JG.

Giggler,
Me too can only bring my girl once a week if the school is not within walking distance.

I think will go for a trial class for MMI and Julia Gabriel. But JG very expensive hor.

Giggler,
You mean the once a week program at JG, right ? It is about $350 plus for 10 terms, is it ?

I got mixed up with Chiltern House which is also at Forum. Their daily nursery program costs like $1000 a month.

All the good schools are in town. Really hate living in Jurong West now.

tamarind, I'm talking abt the bilingual PlayClub at JG, it costs $455 before GST. Ya, most good sch are in town, even primary sch also.

Really hate...... really dont have any good school in Jurong West???? You may send ur child to Columbia Learning Centre in Jurong West Blk 502. They have pre-nursey programme for 2 hrs only

Dainel,
I haven't heard of Columbia Learning Centre. Your kid go there ? Good or not ?

Arielene,
Bukit Batok also not convenient for us.

Hi baycutie,

Teacher to student ratio is abt 1:3.75 (abt 4 teachers for a 15-kids class). For kids below 2.5yo, parents are allowed in the Actphabeanies class.

No, they dont teach the same thing every week. Always different stories being told, different alphabets, introduce different objects etc. Some songs get repeated as kids are more familiar with songs they hv heard before, but they dun sing the same song every week, maybe repeat once every 3 weeks type.

I paid $295 for a 10 week term. If u're a new student, there's a $20 registration fee and a $50 deposit (refundable).

Nearing the end of term 1 now, so if u like, can sign up for term 2. I am upgrading my daughter to Little Actphas class next term where she will hv to be independent.

Tamarind
I did went to the school and view. Overall I feel that it is ok if you are not those who wants the best. I will go for a trial class tomorrow so if you are interested, you may also call up and try it coz I feel that trying is no harm.
As for transportation to this school, I'm not so sure coz I didnt asked.

any comments on chilton house? my daughter is in julia gabriel and she is totally enjoying herself. i am thinking of sending her to chilton house next term but i am really not sure if 5 days 3.5hrs programme is too much for a 3 year old. i am also wondering if anyone can share some light whether it is worth it to pay the premium for chilton house, are they really that good? i am so confused...

wow, see so many of you are in the west side. well, i send my 2.5 year-old son to little tree house in the northeast. so for its ok for me. the reason for me putting him there is the close proximity. am paying $505 ($75 subsidy) for his full-day N1 class.

Hi Ling
I stayed in the northeast. Is there little tree house in the northeast region?

please advise

Hi PL
i am staying in sengkang too. My boy is 15 months.
I am thinking to enrol him to either Appletree or Tots house or Sunflower Playgroup in Sengkang CC hub
What about you?

Hi Joleena,
Oh, din know sengkang cc hub has so many offerings. maybe i shd make a trip there tmr. which one is good?
i'm still looking around. went to heartland mall last weekend but found nothing. thinking of sending my girl to actphabets but the distance is really too long from punggol.

Hi PL
Sengkang CC hub only has Sunflower Playgroup.
Tots house and Appletree are located in RC. Sorry for the confusion

Ya Actphabets is too far away for us...

I also wanted to go somewhere nearer

like to know if any mummies here has got any comments on Learning Vision at Arthur Road for both infant and childcare....

thinking of putting bb & toddler gal there...

thks...:p

I personally feel that the learning vision @ sunshine place dont provide a good service. I feel that the principal doesnt really welcome people whom she feels that the parents cant afford. I went to the learning vision to check and view on the environment. On that day, my hubby and I just wearing t-shirt and bermudas. she shows us the attitude that we are poor and cant afford. Just wanna to say that she is wrong and shouldnt judge a person from the outlook. Since we can go in and enquiry, that's mean that we can afford to put our girl over there. After this, my hubby and I immediately decided not to put our girl in this centre.

Anybody heard of Kinderland at woodland civic centre?They have a playgroup program for babies age 18 months-30 months 3x a week for 1.5 hours. The fee is $565 per term(10 weeks). But initial registration will up to $ 675 for uniform, reg fee and materials.Is it expensive ? They don't have a trial class.I'm a bit confuse of which playgroup that should send my son of 20 months. Nowadays, he's very talkactive and pick up words very fast. So think want to send him to playgroup to explore more. Any advices? I'm staying at woodlands. Or any playgroup can recommend near woodlands?As I'm working so only my maid will send him to school.Or any recommendation for saturday classes so I can bring him go over? Thanks in advance for the advices.

Hi Therealnancy,

My son is currently in JG. He started at 18 months. I have no regrets. I did consider Chiltern House when he reaches 3, but heres my take. If your child is going to enter the local school system, my feel is Chiltern House may not prepare them as well as if they were in a local kindergarten type of set up. As most kids there are expat kids, the emphasis is on speach, free form learning. Fun I grant you that, but come primary one, will they be ready for school?? That is why JG is a bridging school for my son until he hits kindergarten age (3yrs pre-nursery) then off to Barker Road Methodist Kindergaten he goes.Cheaper and more class room oriented.

Hi Vinni,

I'm considering the JG playclub 2x a week for my 19 month old boy - is this the same programme your son is in? I would really like to hear your comments in detail on JG, on things like class size, teacher-child ratio, activities and hygiene standards (esp with the HFMD thing now!). I should be going for a trial class sometime in early April. I heard that the Evans Road branch is bigger than the Forum Galleria one and has an outdoor playground - can you share anything on this? Also, what are the fees?

Thanks much.

Hi dancestrella,

I believe the class should be the same-Playclub. JG has different theme every term. This term its on food. They teach alphabet and no.s and colors. I'd advise you to get a copy of the syllabus during your trial class. As for student teacher ratio, its about 1:4 normally when classes get bigger (more then 10, they add one more teacher). Besides, its adult accompanied, so teachers are just facilitators so you will still need to mind your own kids during class. Hygiene standards are good. Most importantly the other students parents are considerate and do not bring their sick children to school (school keeps emphasising on keeping sick kids at home). Evans road branch has an outdoor play area. Everyterm there is water play session which is fun, there may not be such facilities for Forum branch. Fees are 840 per 10 week term (excl GST and Book room charge of 9+). Plus you need to place a deposit (can't recall how much). There are also parties thrown every now and again where every pupil has to bring some food item. Sometimes held in class sometimes held at Botanical gardens. A chance for parents and caregivers to get to know one another and for kids to run around. I have no regrets sending my child to JG. Hope this helps. Good luck.

dancestrella: JG is fun and different frm other playgrp. Mainly due to their emphasis and approach to children.

Dun b too happy abt the outdoor playground at Evans rd though. Most of the HFMD cases at JG occurs at Evans.

A trial class will give u an insight to what's u are enrolling ur child into. If ur trial is not the first class of the day, what u can do is, be there at least 10 mins earlier and observe how it's like when the prev class dismiss. U'll see how vibrant the teachers are.

I'm new to the forum and would really appreciate your advice here - my baby is going to be one and I'm wondering:

1. What is a good age to send her to playgroup? One, 1.5 or Two? I'm afraid she'll fall asleep halfway through the lessons cos her nap times are still not very regular. My parents keep telling me to save money by just letting her watch vcds and I'm also going to organise a playgroup for her, but the kiasu side of me feels that's not enough.

2. How many times a week do you start your child off with? Is once or twice a week too infrequent? I like the 5x a week type cos I feel the routine prepares her for kindergarten/ childcare - is that sensible?

3. I would like something that encompasses a bit of everything - speech and drama, music, art n craft, gym, etc, so she just goes to one school all the time and mixes with a fixed group of friends. Would JG/ GUG/ Actphabets/ etc fit my requirement? I don't need one that specialises particularly in one area and I live around town.

Sorry to ask so many questions and thanks a lot for your advice!

eliora: my gal jus turn one. Personally i din give her too much enrichment. She attend only GUG once a week and i feel is good enough. Last time we all grow up without all these enrichment too.

U setting yr own playgroup? Which kind? Prob we can combine efforts and get more bb ard our age to join in? Interested PM me...

I guess if u wan to u can expose her to childcare but i personally feel is too young and esp the HFMD thingy.

Hope this helps

My child is coming 2 and I would like to check if there are any good playgroup around the west area (CCK, Jurong, Bukit Batok, etc). Any advice will be good. Thanks alot.

Hi lovebb, when did your gal start attending GUG? I have a friend who sent his son to GUG from about 1 onwards but he still can't talk. Guess boys are slower but he understands what people are saying. I live near GUG (within walking distance!) but I prefer ACTphabets (from Bluesea's strong recommendation. But ACTs only have classes for children from 18 months onwards. Do you recommend GUG? How much do they charge for once-a-week classes?

My family members and husband are not in favour of these enrichment classes, because like you said, we grew up without them too, at least not at this young age! My husband's family speaks Hokkien and he took English as a university major! He never had tuition or assessment books in his life. But I don't want to be like my PILs, I feel that I benefited from the enrichment classes that my parents sent me to and if I started earlier, haahaa, who knows, I might have more going for me!

Oh, you're welcomed to join my playgroup if you're interested, but please don't ask anymore people. I have asked too many people already. Didn't know there were so many children born around May 05! My priority is to get boys (so far only 1 boy and 3 girls!) and to get parents who live around town (Novena/Cantonment/Holland) and preferably live in condos that have facilities. We are probably going to start this Sun afternoon/ evening. We can start with ad hoc activities first but I hope eventually it will be structured with each mommy preparing an activity per week.

Eliora: My gal jus started GUG. She hasnt been talking too but with all the ohh and ahhh.. But well she understand wat ppl says too. I'm not sure abt Actphabets but i am very happy with GUG. They not only focus on phonics but oso on sensory otor skills and music. All in one. Too bad i am working if not i will let her go more often. They charge $228 per term of 8 lessons.

My gal is born in MArch not may leh.. can she join? And oso i am not staying near town nor in condo. Wat are u ladies going to do this sun? Perhaps u PM me direct? Also would prefer sat cos sun she has GUG! But if schedule doesnt work out then well i jus wish u mummies all the best and hv fun! Heehee...

Btw if u r interested i have a colleague (music teacher) who conduct music class as of tat of kindermusik but at a cheaper price. She can go to any condo too. She will be starting her official class with bbies n cream soon but bbies n cream is going to charge higher than wat she is offering now. Perhaps if u all are interested we could ask her to start a class together. Her prefered timing is only sat evening..

lovebb, how long is each GUG lesson? They charge about the same as ACTs. I may try out a trial lesson after my girl turns one. My girl says random things at random times, I can't get her to really repeat anything. She has said "mama", "papa", "blueball", "red", "black", "bye bye" and her favourite word is "aiyah". My mom said when I was one, she pointed to a pattern on my shoe and asked me what it was and I said, "apple". I don't think my girl will be able to do that by the time she is one, which is soon :-( My husband tells me it's no reflection of one's intelligence!

Actually I prefer sat playgroup too cos I have church and bible study on Sun, but one of my friends can only make this Sun, so we'll try out first. I'll PM you the details when I've firmed them up. As for the age of the babies, it's ok as long as they are about one, plus or minus a little.

Are you a teacher? If your colleague starts the music class in a condo (I presume it's someone's house), will she have the equipment with her? Cos for kindermusik, they have a lot of drums, etc, right? One of my friends is a SAHM and lives in a big penthouse. I know her girl who is around one enjoyed the Kindermusik trial lesson but she felt it was too expensive. I could ask her whether she wants to organise a class at her place. Can you let me know how much she charges and whether there is a min. no. of babies required?

Each GUG session is 1 and half hours. U can start GUG when she is 8 mth.. but the waiting list is very long. I waited for 2 mth before given a place.

It is gd that yr gal can speak. Mine still cant. Cant even stand properly n walk. Guess she is a little slow. But she understand words by pointing. She even able to select things which i ask her to.. eg ball.. she will pick up ball from her toy chest.

Yes i am teaching. SHe will bring her equipements with her. Details are as below:

Weeky sessions lasting 45 min.
Price is 5 session $90

Classes encourage early social skills, bonding between bb and parents and early speech development. Both health visitors and speech therapist have been very impressed with the effect of these classes.

During the class, each half term the children are introduced to a different learning concepts through a new theme. The material has been specially composed to gently direct these very young children towards our clearly defined objectives. The songs and learning objectives are specially design to suit bb/ children capability. They r also encouraged to read as phonics will be taught via drama and/or music.

Can check this out: http://www.musicwithmummy.co.uk/