IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Do you have any preference - private or gov and whether going to use the $15k once a lifetime subsidy?

How many years u have been TTC and did u see any gynae before?
Hi,thank you for your reply.sorry I’m not sure what is TTC.For me my case is a bit unique.coz I find sex to be painful.hence we seldom try:(.but we hope for a child.due to age factor,above 30,hence have no choice try to go for iui.

If private,what are the recommended clinic and charges? If go for private,can use subsidy?

Hi I think I have low ovarian reserve for my age too. Managed to only get 1 dominant follicles, so didn’t come as a surprise when the IUI failed. How many big follicles did you manage to produce? What was your dosage?
Mine was natural iui so only 1 dominant follicle each try. Current try is my 3rd time trying natural cycle iui without medication but there is a trigger shot upon having a smiley face on the Clearblue ovulation kit, 36 hours before iui day on coming Wednesday.

Which gynae r u currently seeing? How old r u and hub this year?

I’m thinking to try SO-IUI next cycle...

Hi,thank you for your reply.sorry I’m not sure what is TTC.For me my case is a bit unique.coz I find sex to be painful.hence we seldom try:(.but we hope for a child.due to age factor,above 30,hence have no choice try to go for iui.

If private,what are the recommended clinic and charges? If go for private,can use subsidy?
TTC = Trying To Conceive
I’m also having the same problem as U!
How old r u and hub? Think can try iui first.

Yes.. private can use subsidy but I suggest u keep the $15K subsidy for future in case need to iui :)

Private clinics quite a few choices .. I guess u might want to visit the gynae and see which one u and hub are comfortable with..

I’m also with Dr Loh at Raffles. I think because of the low ovarian reserve, will produce only 1 dominant follicle every month... regardless natural cycle, medicated cycle (clomid/femara), superovulation. Nothing more, nothing less. Can be frustrating, though at the end of the day, only that 1 egg is needed.
We are cycle buddies! Yay!
How many iui did u do with Dr Loh?

Totally agreed - only need 1 egg and 1 sperm :)

Hi ladies! Joining this thread for motivation to try for no.2. We conceived our precious no.1 via IUI in 2017 (after 4 attempts). Our case was classified as unexplained infertility. We saw Dr Yu Suling from SGH CARE Centre. Did anyone use medisave for IUI? For our 1st, we used cash fully. This time around thinking of using medisave as we foresee going through another 3 or 4 cycles of IUI..

Hi all, I will be doing SO IUI, it is my the first time. My doctor is Dr Tan Heng Hao from KK hospital. anyone same as me? My report was ok except that my egg reserve is low too. Really need some support from here as it is my first time. is there any watapp group that I can join? TIA

Hi ladies! Joining this thread for motivation to try for no.2. We conceived our precious no.1 via IUI in 2017 (after 4 attempts). Our case was classified as unexplained infertility. We saw Dr Yu Suling from SGH CARE Centre. Did anyone use medisave for IUI? For our 1st, we used cash fully. This time around thinking of using medisave as we foresee going through another 3 or 4 cycles of IUI..

Maybe can use cash first. Can always get the nurse to submit Medisave claim for you when blood test/pregnancy test is positive. If I’m not wrong, they just have to submit within 2 weeks from procedure. So don’t need to make a decision immediately at the point of IUI.

That sounds like a better idea! I'll enquire on this when I go for ultrasound scan coming Monday :)

Are you planning to do this round under the same gynae? Dr Hema? I’m thinking of changing to SGH CARE also, but CARE told me over the phone their super full and the next slot is only in late April!
Yup am doing it under the same gynae, Dr Yu Suling. She nice! Very motherly :) Yea CARE is pretty packed always :( For my very first consultation, I remember waiting for more than a month before I got to consult the gynae and proceed further. But after that, things happened pretty fast, not much of a wait required..I also went for TCM at a small clinic in Bedok..conceived about 3 months after taking the herbal medication..

Can TCM herbs be taken concurrently while taking medication for IUI? I’m also doing acupuncture, but specifically requested to skip TCM prescription during my IUI cycle. But if it’s fine, maybe I should try the next time also.

Actually I did take them concurrently..I was on clomid, as well as injectables to force ovulation a day before d actual procedure. Never tried acupuncture though I heard from some who say it works :) You can try the pineapple core method as well eat loads of Brazil nuts. After 3 failed IUIs, I was willing to try anything for my final IUI before considering IVF. Not sure if it d pineapple core, Brazil nuts, TCM or just pure luck for us for the 4th IUI.

dear all, after 4 failed IVF attempts in KKH, I went to taiwan to give my last shot and was blessed to give birth to a boy girl twins 8 months ago. The fertility hospital is considered the "Authority in fertility" and has superior technique which can achieve success rate up to 80%.
As a patient in their mailing list, I saw that they are having a seminar on April 27th.
Just sharing . This is the registration from . https://forms.gle/7fc2re7WEqi2nQ947

Im 39 yrs this year. So there's still ray of hope !

When did u call in? It takes a few days for them to reply :) may I know how many years of TTC u r? For me, I started only at age 34 .. late starter!
Haven been reading forum lately... Sorry for late reply...

Anyway I'm turning 35 this year... I haven been really actively trying or what la, just that after so many years I still haven get pregnant is abit worrying. I got married 7years ago, then 4years ago had a miscarriage..

Ladies, would like to check for those who went for HSG scan - did you take a 1 cycle break after the scan? I’m a little concern about the radiation though my doctor mentioned HSG radiation is very minimal and not necessary to rest 1 cycle.

TTC = Trying To Conceive
I’m also having the same problem as U!
How old r u and hub? Think can try iui first.

Yes.. private can use subsidy but I suggest u keep the $15K subsidy for future in case need to iui :)

Private clinics quite a few choices .. I guess u might want to visit the gynae and see which one u and hub are comfortable with..
Hi,are you doing iui at Raffles hospital?we are above 30.recently went to a private clinic but was hesitant to decide on the treatment there becos dun really like the doc,find her not really warm but rather commercialised.

At first becos i was eager to do for this cycle,I reluctantly take on this treatment.however I change my mind later and decide not to as not really comfortable with her.was a bit disappointed coz had wanted to do this cycle.now have to wait until next cycle..

Hi,are you doing iui at Raffles hospital?we are above 30.recently went to a private clinic but was hesitant to decide on the treatment there becos dun really like the doc,find her not really warm but rather commercialised.

At first becos i was eager to do for this cycle,I reluctantly take on this treatment.however I change my mind later and decide not to as not really comfortable with her.was a bit disappointed coz had wanted to do this cycle.now have to wait until next cycle..

Most docs appts are fully booked.
Realised finding one suitable iui doctor for the treatment also so stressed..

I am in my 2ww, just did IUI with Prof PC Wong. My first month iui failed cuz doc couldn't find my follicle anymore on day14. It was there on day 12.
Hi I’m doing my first natural IUI this thursday. Just had my trigger shot this evening. I’m also with prof Wong at nuh. Haha, we r cycle buddy.

I am in my 2ww, just did IUI with Prof PC Wong. My first month iui failed cuz doc couldn't find my follicle anymore on day14. It was there on day 12.
And all the best for the tww, is hard but we can get thru this with each other’s support. U had ur IUI today?

Hi all, I will be doing SO IUI, it is my the first time. My doctor is Dr Tan Heng Hao from KK hospital. anyone same as me? My report was ok except that my egg reserve is low too. Really need some support from here as it is my first time. is there any watapp group that I can join? TIA
Hi Lena, I hope we can all support one another. How are things?

And all the best for the tww, is hard but we can get thru this with each other’s support. U had ur IUI today?
Hi cycle buddy! I just did mine last Friday and went back to work today. :)

Yes we will get through this and when we carry our babies we will look back and be glad that we never gave up. Baby dust to you too!

I'm very tempted to go back to my barre classes this week but not sure if I should just rest my body. My mom told me to relax and just continue to do the things I enjoy so long they are not strenuous. :/ still torn thinking about it

Most docs appts are fully booked.
Realised finding one suitable iui doctor for the treatment also so stressed..
I think most importantly to go to a doc you think you can trust. I also switched doc cuz I kind of lost confidence in my first doc. As for their fully booked schedule, I am sure once you have set your mind on a doctor, it will be fine. Take the waiting time to try naturally and enjoy romantic time with your hubby? :)

Yes we will get through this and when we carry our babies we will look back and be glad that we never gave up. Baby dust to you too!

I'm very tempted to go back to my barre classes this week but not sure if I should just rest my body. My mom told me to relax and just continue to do the things I enjoy so long they are not strenuous. :/ still torn thinking about it
I totally agree with ur mum actually. We should continue to lead our life as per normal even during tww. At least to keep us in sane. Haha. I feel is more impt. A positive mind n correct mood is impt. As Long as its not too strenuous, u should continue, of course be mindful at the same time!

I think most importantly to go to a doc you think you can trust. I also switched doc cuz I kind of lost confidence in my first doc. As for their fully booked schedule, I am sure once you have set your mind on a doctor, it will be fine. Take the waiting time to try naturally and enjoy romantic time with your hubby? :)
I agree also, I waited almost 2 months before getting my first appt w prof Wong at nuh in Feb. I travelled n basically did my own things while waiting for that day to come. Meanwhile just try naturally.

Oh n don’t mind me asking, how old are you? I’m 36 this year n my hubby is 38. Low chance of succeeding but still just gonna give it a shot. My case is that my hubby has Low morphology.

I'm 34, hubby 35. Ours are more like unexplained infertility. He is taking selenium to improve his sperm quality while I take a lot of vitamins in general like c, b, e, coq10, and multivits.

Prof wong said he wants us to try iui for 3 months. :) so will just try! I did so-iui once and the injections were depressing me.

I'm 34, hubby 35. Ours are more like unexplained infertility. He is taking selenium to improve his sperm quality while I take a lot of vitamins in general like c, b, e, coq10, and multivits.

Prof wong said he wants us to try iui for 3 months. :) so will just try! I did so-iui once and the injections were depressing me.
Same here, prof P.C. Wong gave my hubby some vitamins to improve his sperm
Quality and I am also taking some vitamins that I bought for myself.
Prof Wong also wants us to try iui for 3x but bcos the chances r so slim, 7-9%, I don’t know if I want to do 2x iui and proceed to ivf. But will see how it goes. One step at a time.

Oh dear I can totally imagine the pains of so iui. Prof Wong didn’t believe in that, he thinks is equivalent, think he said the same thing to u.

So far are u liking nuh? I really like the Nurses there and the service is really good!

Hi @Gemini3388, I'm also with Prof pc wong. Same here, I'm unable to proceed with IUI on May cycle, on cd12 my follicle is in 14.5mm and on cd14 went back to see doc, doc said my follicle disappear. Doc said mayb I'm ovulated in small size of follicle. I will be going back to see him on cd10 on next cycle, hopefully able to start iui soon. Did doc gv u clomid?

Same here, prof P.C. Wong gave my hubby some vitamins to improve his sperm
Quality and I am also taking some vitamins that I bought for myself.
Prof Wong also wants us to try iui for 3x but bcos the chances r so slim, 7-9%, I don’t know if I want to do 2x iui and proceed to ivf. But will see how it goes. One step at a time.

Oh dear I can totally imagine the pains of so iui. Prof Wong didn’t believe in that, he thinks is equivalent, think he said the same thing to u.

So far are u liking nuh? I really like the Nurses there and the service is really good!

yes prof said the same thing to me about so-iui hah! prof didnt tell me about my chances but i kept asking does he think i need to go for ivf and everytime he said no, try iui first. and yes the nurses are really good! i actually did iui on my birthday, quite funny.

Hi @Gemini3388, I'm also with Prof pc wong. Same here, I'm unable to proceed with IUI on May cycle, on cd12 my follicle is in 14.5mm and on cd14 went back to see doc, doc said my follicle disappear. Doc said mayb I'm ovulated in small size of follicle. I will be going back to see him on cd10 on next cycle, hopefully able to start iui soon. Did doc gv u clomid?

yeah i was quite upset when he couldnt find the follicle anymore. he did say we can still proceed with iui if i wanted to but he encouraged us to try naturally and save the money for the rest round haha. thats what i like about prof, he's honest.

i had a super bad reaction to clomifene (that's clomid right?) .. had hot flushes, migraine, insomnia, giddy, blurry eyesight. did you get any? and so doc switched me to letrozole for this cycle. only had hot flushes with letrozole.

yes prof said the same thing to me about so-iui hah! prof didnt tell me about my chances but i kept asking does he think i need to go for ivf and everytime he said no, try iui first. and yes the nurses are really good! i actually did iui on my birthday, quite funny.
Yes he said the same thing to me as well. Try 3x iui then we decide again. Haha. Oh the chances I ownself checked online. Haha so I asked him, he says yes. Maybe just trying to brush me off. Haha. Wah you did ur iui on ur bday! Haha, that’s the thing about this whole thing. Everything cannot be planned. Also abit sian and paiseh that have to take urgent leave and stuff. Haha. Did u let ur bosses know this?

yeah i was quite upset when he couldnt find the follicle anymore. he did say we can still proceed with iui if i wanted to but he encouraged us to try naturally and save the money for the rest round haha. thats what i like about prof, he's honest.

i had a super bad reaction to clomifene (that's clomid right?) .. had hot flushes, migraine, insomnia, giddy, blurry eyesight. did you get any? and so doc switched me to letrozole for this cycle. only had hot flushes with letrozole.
Yalo, so sad can't proceed with the IUI. No leh, prof wong nv ask me take clomid, he jus ask me go back to see him next cycle cd10 to monitor the follicle. I done 1 iui with another doc last yr Nov, I got take femara that time start from cd2 for 5 days. But this time Prof wong nv ask me take any.

Yes he said the same thing to me as well. Try 3x iui then we decide again. Haha. Oh the chances I ownself checked online. Haha so I asked him, he says yes. Maybe just trying to brush me off. Haha. Wah you did ur iui on ur bday! Haha, that’s the thing about this whole thing. Everything cannot be planned. Also abit sian and paiseh that have to take urgent leave and stuff. Haha. Did u let ur bosses know this?
Same, prof wong also told me try 3 iui then only consider ivf. Yaya, hv to take alot mc n leave for the check up. I was thinking next cycle hv to take leave or mc again for all the follow up and iui. Dunno how to tell my boss ya.

Ya I also always have this problem leh. Cos bcos can’t apply in advance also, since really depends on my cycle ya. I also headache over this. Haha, everytime really gotta think how to tell my boss also. I mixed it w mc and leave. If not like people also think why always on Mc. Haha.

Hi im just did my so-iui on last Friday too and now in my 2ww. Trying to relax myself and retrain myself from walking too fast or carry heavy stuffs. All the best to those who currently gg through iui

I just did my first natural iui yesterday as well. But the result of the post wash sperm wasn’t very ideal though. Not having much hope so just looking forward to the next iui.
Nevertheless, all the best still to all of us in this TWW!

I just did my first natural iui yesterday as well. But the result of the post wash sperm wasn’t very ideal though. Not having much hope so just looking forward to the next iui.

May I know what is the result of the post washed sperm?
I just try try only because my gynae actually asking me to go for ivf but I want to try iui first. But still hope it will be a one time success then dun need go through ivf. Best of luck to all of us :)

May I know what is the result of the post washed sperm?
I just try try only because my gynae actually asking me to go for ivf but I want to try iui first. But still hope it will be a one time success then dun need go through ivf. Best of luck to all of us :)
The min concentration to proceed w iui is 3 mil, and my Husband only has 6 mil. So I asked prof pc wong, he said the ideal concentration is 20 mil, i was like wah, a lot of difference leh. And plus the lab added a comment that says - specimen is very viscous. So I googled, and is actually not a good sign. Sad me: but will still see how it goes.

By the way which doc did u go to in the end?

The min concentration to proceed w iui is 3 mil, and my Husband only has 6 mil. So I asked prof pc wong, he said the ideal concentration is 20 mil, i was like wah, a lot of difference leh. And plus the lab added a comment that says - specimen is very viscous. So I googled, and is actually not a good sign. Sad me: but will still see how it goes.

I ever read before there is one with only 2mil and still got preggy. We only need one among the millions

Oh I think for my doctor, he mentioned that anything below 3 mil. I can consider if I want to abort the iui procedure and try the next time. That’s what he told me. But ya u r right u only need one egg and one sperm. Haha.

Oh I’m with prof P.C. wong at nuh.

How r u feeling post iui now?

Hi all, am also seeing prof wong at nuh and am scheduled for my iui tomorrow. Am excited but also trying to tell myself to have 平常心 :) any advice on what i shd or shd not do or eat pls? Or whats the procedure like and how long it will take?

Oh I think for my doctor, he mentioned that anything below 3 mil. I can consider if I want to abort the iui procedure and try the next time. That’s what he told me. But ya u r right u only need one egg and one sperm. Haha.

Oh I’m with prof P.C. wong at nuh.

How r u feeling post iui now?

Hi babe, im currently 11 days post iui. And I'm feeling cramp today with brown spotting or discharge. Think I'm out this mth again