Any Babies Only Drink Milk While Sleeping??

Oh.. it also only works for some occassion. But where did you bring her to massage?? I'm think of enrolling my girl for a proper massage. Yesterday she still refused milk.
Me getting frustrated already...

CG, i typed 'I massaged my girl...', so at home lah ahhahahha...

twinstarus, I attended the infant massage class(one time off kinda class) at Gleneagles Hosp (I had wanted to go back to the hosp where I delivered my girl - Mt Elizbath Hosp, but they dun conduct wkend classes, so I went to Gleneagles which is also a hosp under e same group).
I guess most hosp do conduct such classe, so u may call e hosp where u delivered yr child to check...

ts, in my opinion, I feel that it's not too late as this massage can still be beneficial to a toddler(provided they allow u to massage them lah hahahhaha). However, it may be alittle difficult for u to have a hands-on dur the class, if your kid is very active and wont stay still whilst u're 'trying-out'. But I think u can still go to the lesson, pick up the steps(I was also given the list-down) and do it at home.
If yr bb is too young, it's also not easy to bring them to the class, as their feeding intervals are shorter, I saw alot of mummies being very 'busy' gg outta the room to feed their bbs dur the class(their bbs are those really young ones, like 1-3mths old).

But do be considerate when u sign up for the class n ask only yr hubby or yr child's caregiver to go along wif u. I saw ppl so KS, they brought their maid, husband, grandparents along!!! and it made the room soooo cramp and it's pretty frustrating lor.

chihuahua, my son also refused to drink milk eversince 3 mths.... then at 5 mths, i tried to add a little frisocrem rice into his milk feed and he finished it in a few mins!!! that was when i regularly add rice cereal into his milk feed.. i know that is not advisable but i think bbies nowadays are more fussy abt taste so after drinking milk for a few mths.. they get sick of it. adding a little rice cereal makes the milk more "fragrant". if your son is above 6 mths old, u might want to try frisocrem wheat..... i tried it myself and find it super nice!

oh, how come so late? anyway, do update us, I've forgotten to check wif e PD when I brought my girl for her eye checkup that day!

mum05, next month will be his 6th month jab mah. So how's your baby? Still drink while sleeping?
Mine still the same. Dunno will last for how long...

Hi tigger88,
Hang on there. My son also still drinking while sleeping... He already 9.5 months... Somemore drinking lesser and lesser. I was just hoping it's because he is teething and will resume his intake after sometime. Anyway, just to let you know that your baby is not alone....

Hi mum05

Can i check with you which chinese physician did u go to? and, where is he located? wat r his charges like? cos my boy who is one yr old already, kept having fever wen he's a baby till now.

Would appreciate your help in tis. TIA

My girl wen she's a baby, also refuses to drink milk.. but however now tat she's 2 yrs+, she kept asking for milk.. n her milk powder finishes faster than my boy's.

My boy also refuses his milk since he's born.. have to persuade him to drink till i nearly went crazy.. n it's worse wen he's sick or teething.. recently, he only consumes 120ml of milk for the whole day. such a big headache..

sorry everyone, hvnt been really coming to this thread, but joey, u very heng lah, i finally got 'time' to come in here n then i saw yr post liao.
Oh, his medical hall is @ 200 Upper Thomson Road #01-02
Thomson Imperial Court tel: 62513268.
Pls call to make appointment(appointment fee is S$4), otherwise u'll end up waiting for hours there, unless u very heng that particular day/evening.
Also, u should call from 9am for morning appointments, from 12pm for afternoon appointments and from 5pm for evening appointments) - tell u first, cos sometimes, one of the ladies taking appointment there can be quite abrupt.

Consultation hours:
Mon to Sat : 9am to 12pm, 2:30pm to 5pm, 6:30pm to 8pm

Tues, Thurs, Sat(Evening closed)

Sunday : 8:30am to 12pm

Public Holidays : 9am to 1pm

No consultation fee is required but u'll hv to give the physician a red packet and pay for the prescribed herbs.

hey mum05, I also bring my son there ! So coincidental ! Might have met u there !

The chinese physician quite famous right ? I normally go in the evenings, and it can get quite crowded.

Joey, the medical Hall is called Ji4 Sheng1 Tang2

My boy has cough quite often, so I thought letting him try chinese medicine. So far the medicine works but as usual, chinese medicine works slower than western medicince. but good thing is my boy prefers chinese medicince to western medicine.

So I'll normally bring my baby to see the western doc for emergency stuff like fever, cold. after that bring him to see the chinese physician to "bu" his body...haha...kiasu mother right ?

Another place I've tried is Yu Guo (in Kembangan i think ?) Yu Guo has baby/children massage, suppose to improve appetite, but my boy screamed his head off during massage :p It is also more ex and further from my place (I stay in Sembawang) so I return to the thomson one.

ya, he's the pioneer, u know abt the chung hwa clinic rite? i think all or most of the chinese medicinal graduates must perform duty there first n he's the director there lor.

U're like me lor, I prefer to let my kid consume chinese medicine than western as western usually juz 'stop' not cure entirely and they're 'harsher' in a way. N western medicine has not reached the stage where they can prescribe medicine by on individual's body needs(meaning like, whether u're heaty or cool based, etc).
Did he tell u why yr son keeps having cough?

Yu Guo specialises in bb massages, n i've heard that if your child duno exceed wat age, cant bring there liao. Initially, my sister whom has heard abt this place from her neighbour told me to go n try and I've tot of bringin my girl there, but to go there so very often, the cost is damn high...and though this neighbour of hers swear by it, but I've also heard from others that it didn't help at all, so I rather save up the money n my time :p

I've attended the bb massage class conducted by the hospital, it's pretty good too and we can bond wif our kid whilst letting them enjoy the benefit of a massage.

Thanks mum05 and aurora for the details.. really appreciate it..

btw, how much do u usually give for the ang bao?

Hi mum05,

din know about the chinese physician's history...now know from you..
He said that my son has a lot of phlegm, heaty. So he gives medicine to loosen the phelgm to be pass out of the body. Also advise us to cook barley water, and not to give cereal so often.
I saw many babies and children at Yu Guo. Their massage is like a production factory...looks very mechanical. I saw babies as small as 1 month, and children as big as 5 yo. my neighbour also swears by it...

Think the bb massage class in the hosp or babies n cream only accept pre-crawling babies. Not sure how good, but I know my boss who gave her son massage every night since he was born, has very good appetite.

Hi Joey, really up to you lor. My baby's medicine fee normally cost $25 (including the booking fee). I normally give $10 as the ang bao.

no prob joey. juz sharing info. and ya, angpao amt is totally up to u...

oh my girl also heaty lor,tat's why when I asked him when should we give our girl 'chor bee' , he told me try not to give(U can scroll up to read wat he's told me and adv alternative).

oh really ar? hahaha so funny, the way u put it, 'factory like', I must go tell my sis ahhha. Do u mean they were doing the same kinda massage on every child?
Think the massage not only helps apetite but also enhance better sleep.

Mum05, I have brought my son for his 3rd jab last Sat. Asked the PD abt burping.
He says if we can burp baby then continue to do so, if not is ok.
Like domesticgoddess mentioned, once baby can sit on his/her own, we do not need to burp them liao.

CHH, my son is still drinking most of his milk while sleeping. Its getting better now as he will open his mouth
when we give him the bottle when he is awake. But he will takes in only 1/3 while awake and the rest while zzzzK

HI mummies,

Just to share that my boy has started taking milk awake about a month ago. So happy!!! Now he finishes about 180ml of milk each time open eyes. So the conclusion is, for those mummies whose babies are still refusing to drink milk awake, preservere and one day, they will start to love their milk!

my ds is drinking about 60-100ml when he is awake, but 150ml when he sleeps. he is about 3mths old and i am getting very worried about his feeding pattern.

can someone advise me how to make him drink? will changing FM helps?

CHH,

How did you manage to do that? Must share your secrets with us.

My son can finish his 200ml of milk while awake for quite a while and then he started teething with fever. After recovering from fever, he refused to drink again...argggggh!!!

So now, have to feed milk while he is sleeping. I guess it may be due to the method we fed him the medication.

no secrets. he just suddenly decided to drink his milk. but starting he was only drinking about 30-50ml awake. it took about 3 weeks before that increased to 180ml. and i got to sing and rock him gently while feeding. he also need to hold his favourite toy or pillow while drinking.

ilmare,
150ml is quite alot for a 3 months old, so you shouldnt be worried. it's ok to let him drink when sleeping. just keep trying everday to feed him milk awake. dun force him if he doesnt want. 1 day he will just decide to suck again. mine took almost 8months before he decided to drink awake. but at least it can be done.

thanks chihuahua.

ds now drinking when awake, i dropped his day feeds to 120ml and he finishes it! but he will fuss before drinking and finishes within 45mins! last time 1 hr only drink 1/2.

My son did not like to drink milk from about 4 months to about 10 months. His weight did not increase for 6 months. After 10 months he slowly starts to drink more again. Now at 14 months he can finish 240ml of milk, 3 times a day. He can even hold the milk bottle himself, once in a while he pulls out to see how much milk left, if there is still some more milk, he continues to drink
So happy !

tamarind,
wow can share me ur secret how did u do that?

i hope i can revive this thread. just saw this thread n thought "that's what my baby is!" she only can finish her 120ml feed when drowsy. even then if she's too sleepy then cannot finish also. so must catch at the precious right timing, once it's gone, gone forever..
btw my bb is 7 months. toal only 600+ml a day, plus 2 solid feed (cereal+puree veggie/fruit). her sleeping pattern also haywire.

Mum2B,
My boy started to drink more milk, after we began to feed him 2 times porridge a day, and reduce his milk intake to 3 times a day. I think he was just tired of drinking milk so many times. We didn't really do anything

I think your baby will slowly increase her milk intake when she grows older.

hi tamarind,
thanks for responding

how old is ur bb when u reduce milk intake into 3 times a day? how much ml per feed? can share me the sleeping and feeding schedule? thanks

i did try to reduce her milk intake into 5 or even 4 times a day, but the amount per feed is still the same as when she's on 6 times feed a day!

Mum2B,
We reduced to 3 times when he was 8 - 9 months.

Our schedule is
6:30am - 240ml (he drink in bed and go back to sleep)
10:30am - solid food
2:30pm - 240ml (drink then take afternoon nap)
6:30pm - solid food
10:30pm - 240ml (drink then sleep)

It works because it coincides with his bedtime. It becomes a regular routine. When he feels sleepy, he will ask for milk.

I think it's OK if her milk intake is reduced, just make sure that she has enough calcium from solid food.

tamarind,
wow 240 ml in one go! how did u do for the first time, i mean did u always offer 240ml in the morning and all of the feeds? i offer 150ml for first feed, but she can only drink ard 100ml only, and that's after a struggle. what should i do if i want to reduce milk intake? scared if i offer 240ml every time then she still drink little n lots of waste of milk..
btw how old is ur bb now?

i also worried abt tooth decay if i continue to let her drink milk while super drowsy, becoz of the pool of milk in her mouth. ideally i'd like to brush her teeth b4 bed, but since can only make her drink just b4 sleep, how's this possible?

Mum2B,
He can drink about 180ml at around 10 months, when he was more than 1 years old, we increased to 240ml. He is now 2 years 4 months old.

If your baby is already taking 2 times solid food, you can try reducing the milk to 3 times. Try 150ml first, if she still wants, then make another 30 or 60 ml. You can give her yoghurt to make sure she gets enough calcium.

What formula milk are you giving her ? I used to feed my boy Mamil when he was that age, he will not take that, I changed to NAN and it was better. Different babies have different tastes, you may want to try changing.

Both my boy and girl drink milk then fall asleep without brushing teeth. My girl is now almost 4 years old. Both of them do not have problem with tooth decay. I think if you brush 2 times a day, it is OK.

One dentist told me that a baby/child is more likely to get tooth decay, if we feed them sweets every day. But since your baby is still so young, she certainly don't eat sweets everyday, not likely to get tooth decay.

is this thread still active?

i'm one of those suffering sleep feeding my bb. cos he will cry and struggle when awake.

anyone else out there sleep feed their bb?

Dear mummies
my baby will turn 4 mths in another 2 more days. Usually he'll take 160ml of EBM last time but recently, he has been rejecting milk. He will now push away the milk bottle or struggle & cry whenever we feed him milk. He could only finish abt 120ml in an hr so now while sleeping and we tried to feed him every 3 hrs. Is this normal? He is weighting 7.3kg now. We tried using all kind of teats but it's still the same. Now we have probia feeding him milk. When do you all start feeding your baby solid food?

I was so stressed, bottle feeding (BM) my 3mths old (she too only wana drink when she's sleeping!~) that I cried when she woke up from her slp when she just drank 20ml
It's really VERY frustrating~ Then she'll reject drinking... the feeding pattern totally haywire now...

When she's awake, it took her awhile to go back to asleep coz she like to play...

I was so worried that she'd not enuff slp and drink that I just broke down... sigh...

My mum's taking care of her on weekdays and Fri, I bring her back. She's also having problem feeding her, but coz she knows her pattern liao, so she can take it. I only "see" her pattern yday loh, (though my mum had been telling me abt her unwillingness to drink when awake) I totally didn't sleep on Fri night... so this AM, I went crazy also due to the lack of sleep... what shld I do? what had happened here?

She's also drinking FM (Similac) when my BM not enuff (I'd starting working). FM feeding also same thing.. sigh... so helpless until i found this forum topic. I tot only my gal is so weird...

Xindy, u are not alone. I am facing the same problem with my 3mth old too. She used to be drinking 100-120ml every 2 hr but now she seems to be drinking lesser and keep pushing out her tongue, turning her head and keep crying. It's really very frustrating and sad lor.

She is also drinking similac when my BM is not enough. However, I do not think it is the FM problem as she rejects BM too..

I have also tested out different brands of bottles (from Avent - Pigeon - NUK) as well as various nipple types & sizes but it does not help either.

Anyone knows if seeing a PD will help??

i'm also having the same problem and my baby doesn't even drink when she's asleep! we've been spoon feeding her ebm. she rejected the breast at about 3 months, then we tried bottle feeding and she wouldn't drink. we had to syringe feed her at one point in time. now, she drinks about 100 on her own and we have to spoonfeed the remaining 60ml. she's gng to be 13 months...

is there anyone here anymore???

I have the same problem.... But my baby is only 10 weeks old!!! he has rejected the bottle since 4 weeks ago.

he used to be able to drink a lot of milk... about 80 ml when he's only 3 weeks old. I didnt hv enough breast milk for him, so had always supplemented w similac.

But since about 4-5 weeks ago, he started drinking less milk, abt 50ml per feed abt 7 times a day. Now, he totally dun wanna drink fr the bottle unless when he's half asleep.

For a 6kg baby, if we use the formula 150 x 6 = 900ml per day. but he only drink max 500ml per day.

The past 3 days was worse!! he drank less than 300ml.

I'm really stressed out now dunno wat to do. PD say he can go w/o milk for 12 hours. but I'm really worried. Dunno if he'll get enough nutrients if this goes on...

anyone has similar experience?

first_born, my boy was the same when he was about 3 months old. It lasted about 2 weeks, then he went back to normal.just hang in there.

my situation is v similar to kawaii... baby will keep sticking out his tongue n turn his head fr side to side, n like wanna vomit.

i'm trying to change fr similac to nestle nan ha now.

currently using the nuk silicone teats which he has been using all the while. tried giving him avent teats, doesnt help too...

will go buy the nuk latex teats this wkend cos he's using the latex pacifier now...
hope he gets over this phase soon.

Hi I'm having the Same problem, my gal had been only willing to drink when asleep since 4 mth old. Till now at 6.5 mth she's still the same, I would like to know if any one had similar experiences n how are your babies now? Will she hv any future issues if I continue to only feed her when she's asleep?

My son refused the bottle, and we had no choice but to "dream feed" him. Fortunately, it was a phase and he sort of grew out of it. After 6 months, they also start to take other foods like cereal, puree, etc. So it does get better.

Once they start to have teeth, you would need to be careful. Long term exposure to milk will cause teeth to decay. You can try giving some water after milk to "wash" the mouth. I just want to point out that this might be ok at age 0-12 mths, but they should outgrow this, with your help. If they are still doing this, by the time they are 3 years old, they would need extractions and root canal (i'm not joking!).

anyone still around?
My lo starts to reject milk ard 3mth.. he never cry for milk..even after 8 hrs if he is really hungry he will make noise and drink only 60ml ebm. After 60ml he will push the teat out and start to "talk".. so we dreamfeed him.. somehow it works..he takes a lot of more when we are dreamfeeding him.. now he is 5 mth going to 6 mth and we are still dream feeding him!!
haizz I don't think this is healthy but I cannot figure out another way to make him drink milk.. how???

Starting solid soon.. I hope he likes solid..if not..more problems..

Dear Mommies,
I know how stressful it is to have to deal with baby with drinking or food phobia. So allow me to share my success story that I hope you may find some of it useful.
Just for the background, my LO was born at 25th percentile. Like many mommies, I faced latching difficulty at the beginning. And in order to stop her weight loss to get to the unhealthy level, I decided to bottle feed my LO with expressed breast milk (EBM). Once bottle was introduced that early, combined with the fact that I have to return to work soon, we decided to stick with bottle feeding my EBM ever since.
At 4th month, my LO developed thrush in her mouth. The thrush caused my LO discomfort she refused to drink and consumed only 400-500ml for 2 days. We brought her to the PD and were prescribed oral medication. The thrush went away in 4-5 days. And we maintain strict oral care routine to ensure it never comes back. However, we were left with the baby with bottle phobia, who only drinks if she is drowsy. Our immediate way out is to dream-feed her for 2 months till her weight gain is stable. We started to feel that all day dream-feeding is very unnatural and disruptive i.e. hungry baby cannot fall asleep that easily, we got to rock a screaming baby for 30min 6 times a day in order to feed her, imagine how stressful.
So at 6th month, we decided to work together with all the caregivers to correct this habit of dinking aversion. I can say that we have succeeded so far and here’s how we did it.
1) Trust your baby’s instinct: After consulting many PD and did my own research, I was convinced that a healthy baby will know how to regulate their own food intake. She can take more or less food each day dependent on her body’s needs. Problem with me is, my baby is smallish, so deep down I always want her to drink more to grow bigger! I even kept the milk intake counter and I will get frantic if she hasn’t drink 50% of her daily intake my 12 noon! Baby can pick up on caregivers’ anxiety so when we are anxious, we unknowingly made the feeding session more stressful to everyone too. After I correct my mindset and become more relax, my baby feeding improves.
2) Do not force feed: Force feeding will add to the baby’s phobia. Watch for the feeding cue from the baby. We also try extending the frequency of the feeding slightly to make sure she is hungry before offering any food. For example, we extended each food offering by 30min instead of every 2 hours, we do 2.5 hours (remember, my baby consumed very little milk when she had thrush that’s why we feed her small amount but frequently). Now we manage to feed 130-140ml for each session with the 2.5-3hours interval. Total consumption per day is between 650-800ml. But if your baby gives you an obvious cue that she is hungry, then respond immediately.
3) Make the drinking more fun: We used all the techniques to redirect her attention from the feeding in the beginning to get her started. We sing for her, I even dance for her while the other caregiver is offering the bottle! And when my energy ran out, I use phone or tablet to play some interesting music or cartoon for her, thought I consciously limited the exposure. My baby opens her mouth or even grab onto the bottle if she wants to feed. If she fuss or shut her lips tight, stop offering and try again later after 10-15min. We reduces the distractions slowly and now she is able to do awake feeding with me singing beside her or just maintain good eye contact during the feeding.
4) Consistency: It will be very tempting to revert back to dream-feeding when you know your baby hasn’t been drinking for 6 hours and still keep refusing or fussing over. What I suggested is to remind yourself of point 1) and stick with it; feeding on the cue, feeding only when the baby is awake. For the first few days of the habit-changing boot camp, I can see that the milk intake has dropped from 700-800ml to 600ml+, but I decided to toughen up and persevere through, which in the end paid off. By the way, we are keeping the mid-night dream feeding (once a night) at first as we believe it will smoothen the transition process by not letting the milk intake dropped too sharply. We also decided to keep that once a day dream-feeding long term, but for some mommies that do not like the idea of dream-feeding, you may decide to drop it out completely once your baby feeding has stabilized, totally personal choice.
With all the techniques applied and a strong wills of all the caregivers, we managed to correct my LO drinking habit in 4 days (it was a tough 4 days boot camp). It takes a lot of courage to break away from old routines and habits, caregivers’ones especially. I must extend special thanks to my husband, my in-laws and my mommies’ friends for their support every steps of the way to make this transition successful. Lastly, I wish all mommies the best and hope to hear more success stories being shared here too. Xoxo!

Hey!
My daughter is 4 months old.. She has never been happy feeding but recently she has stopped feeding completely while awake. She starts crying as soon as she sees the bottle (she is top fed completely). And i feed her only when she sleeps. How do i change that? I mean how do i get her to drink milk while she is awake? She has irregular feeding pattern. Sometimes takes 150 ml every 3-4 hours and sometimes that extends to 60 ml in 6 hours.. And she doesn't even get cranky with hunger! What do i do? I don't want her to lose weight :(