Will after giving birth cause hair loss?

sotong1209

Just want to check whether those mummy lose their hair after giving birth. Because I heard that the mummy will loss hair after the 3rd mth of their baby birth. Is it true. very scare leh becos I am coming to third month soon .

joyce
for my case, I start dropping hair 4th mth onwards, but about 3mth later, it is back to normal before pre-preggie kind of hair dropping.

Read for the magazine, after gave birth will dropping a lot of hairs, this is because during pregnancy that time we eat a lot of nutrients foods and calcium. So our hairs absorded the nutriets so the hairs never drop during pregnancy that time.

But after gave birth, the hairs will dropping at one go so tat'y u feel drop a lot of hairs..the hairs actually suppose to drop during pregnancy that time + current hairs dropping soon..

Anyway, dont worry too much..the hairs only dropping at the limited time only (depend on individual)..will growing back the new hairs at the same time.

Trying to eat more nutrients foods and drink more milk lo!

joyce
no really a lot lah... it just slightly more than normal. can see more strands of hair on shoulder and floor.

My hair started dropping 3 months after birth and my baby is now 2 weeks to 5 months. Still waiting for hair to start dropping coz I already dun have much hair.

Yep yep... I try to shampoo and condition my hair gently now a days coz so many strands of hair get stuck on my hands. After I comb, I see so many strands on my tee. So sad. Hopefully it'll hope stop soon.

mine drops the most when I wash. Have to pick the bunch of hairs on the drainage filter every time I wash. Also I use a masking tape to 'pick' up the hairs on the floor, especially in my bedroom. So many. So annoying. Hope it will stop soon. My baby has just turned 4 months.

Thanks for the advice. Was so scared as my hair started dropping so much in the shower that I have to pick it up after each one too. bb just turned 3mths. Feel like I will go bald if this dont stop.

Thanks for the article...
I think i've been dropping hair after giving birth too. Just hope the hair will grow back soon!

Hi mums, not every woman loses hair after giving birth. Even if you lose hair, it won't be that much. Could be due to hormonal changes. I have poor memory though. Definitely due to childbirth.

hi, yes, there will be a certain amount of hair loss btw 2-4 mths after giving birth. technically speaking, you're not losing your hair. during pregnancy, your hair grows more & thicker. so after pregnancy, you lose the 'new' hair you gained. don't worry, you won't go bald.

see article: http://www.babycenter.com/refcap/baby/physrecovery/11721.html

i had alot of hair dropping 3-4 mths after giving birth. after that phase, its back to normal.

I also had alot of hair dropping after give birth. But after 5mth it's back to normal now. so i tink it is normal to had hair dropping. Dont worry.

I experienced no hairloss during pregnancy.... BUT after birth yes... I've dropped for 4 months after child was 3rd-4th old. Imagine, every 2 days, i have to clear the drainage else, flood! Not to worry too much... But I did apply tonic after hair wash. Don't know whether it helped, but better than none.

i also encounter hair loss when baby was abt 6 months old.. so much hairloss.. so scary..hope it stops soon

i'm still having hair loss even after a yr since birth of my child. think some pple are unlucky whereby our hormones have not changed back to pre-preg stage.

Mine is very bad too. Still dropping since one and half mth ago, and really drop alot everytime I wash and comb my hair.

I can feel my hair's volume is thinning and seems to find patches of botak on my head. So sian.. Am now applying hair tonic to encourage hair growth and hope it works.

i've heard this b4. is it really true? sounds terrible... hope i won't have any hair loss after giving birth...

For most mums, yes dropping hair is true... I started losing my hair ard 3 mths later and still losing my hair. Now my son already almost 6 mths... My hair originally tend to be thin.. now with so much hair loss... sigh....

May i have the name of the tonics for those who have used and is it effective? Tks, am facing the same problem now...super worry. thanks....

i think age and hormones each plays a part for after birth hair loss. some hair tonic helps, some dun.

my SIL gave birth to her 1st and 2nd child when she was 22 and 29 respectively. hair loss started around 3rd month after birth of 1st child, which last for like 2-3 months.

2nd child, hair loss started also around 3rd month and dun seem to go away or have any new regrowth hair after 4-5 months.

my bro then got her some shampoo and serum (i think) recommended by his colleagues. after abt 3 months on them, SIL says that she have lesser hair loss and new hair growth.

i'm also shedding hair like no tomorrow. there's hair everywhere on the floor, in the toilet, on my comb. see already also pek chek. my hairstylist recommended this hair tonic called Neoleaf from Japan. some of her customers swear by it, says it helps with stopping excess hair loss & getting new hair to grow. i've just started trying it, so can't really comment if it's really good. keeping my fingers crossed...

i suffer severe hair loss at 3rd mth now 1 mth liao still v. bad any gd shampoo/ treatments to counter this..? Very bad wor...i wash only 4-5 days once too scared.

Mine stopped after 4th month. Quite scary but I refused to buy hair tonic etc because I know it will make things worse when I overdose hair products.

Sometimes it happens, as there are lot of changes in the body after child birth. But, if you take care of your hair and your diet properly you may control your hair loss. The best thing is to consult your gynecologist from now only so that you can start following the instructions timely. I think she can guide you if you need any special care of attention towards the same.

ELKEN - LD VENUS - Discover the secret of hapiness after childbirth

1 Box - 20 Bottles - S$ 80
12 Box - S$ 840

Clinically study:
-98% effective to reducing postpartum complications
-Benefit to women after childbirth
-Improve blood circulation and restore 'qi'

PM or SMS 8587 8989
Delivery to any MRT Station

• ld-venus-700x700[1].jpg
    ld-venus-700x700[1].jpg
    71.9 KB · Views: 315
  • venus 2[1].jpg
    venus 2[1].jpg
    43.1 KB · Views: 341
  • Slide27a[1].png
    Slide27a[1].png
    465.2 KB · Views: 423
Perhaps I'm just the opposite, after birth grew alot of hair and lots of baby hair sticking out.
I do heard alot of mummies drop hair especially those who breastfeed.

After my baby 3rd month, I start my hair dropping episode. . Its getting worst.. luckily I also got alot of hair but the fringe part I gonna cut it so won't be so obvious. If totally do side parting can see the bald...

During the confinement period, my hair did drop a lot, so I cut my fringe to bangs instead. But after about 3 mths, everything seems a lot better. However, I realised that my lashes wasn't as luscious as before. Therefore, I went to seek advise from a doctor and now my lashes looks alluring than before.

After 3rd month of my second baby birth, I started loosing my hairs but luckily my all hairs come back soon. Thank God i recover from this Shit.

Hair Loss is natural after child birth. First of first you want to understand is this not a hair loss , its a Hair shed problem which mainly raise in situations like stress, after child birth, intake of birth control pills. So don't worry about your Hair shedding its a temporary problem. May be it will stop in 3-4 months of your delivery. Take your diet properly to get rid from this problem soon. If your problem will not resolved then conduct a good Hair specialist who have lots of experience in dermatology. Beware form quacks.

You wont lose the lenght, it tends to happen to women whose hair got really thick during pregnancy they are the ones that tend to lose some hair after birth (although the hormone changes ususally cause all women to lose some).

Just want to check whether those mummy lose their hair after giving birth. Because I heard that the mummy will loss hair after the 3rd mth of their baby birth. Is it true. very scare leh becos I am coming to third month soon .

Yes, most women will experience hair loss 2-4 months after giving birth. This is because of the bodily stress child birth causes. When a person experience stress caused by a major life event such as pregnancy or a major illness, Telogen effluvium can get triggered. Telogen effluvium is the condition whereby hair roots are pushed prematurely into the resting state. There could be as many as 70% of your scalp hairs being shifted prematurely into the resting state immediately after the giving birth.

It is important to understand the hair cycle; there are 4 cycles:
1) Anagen 2) Catagen 3) Telogen and, 4) Return to Anagen Stage

The Anagen stage is where most of your hair is in, this is the growing stage which last anywhere between 2-6 years.
The Catagen stage is the transition phase from Anagen to Telogen. This phase last about 2 weeks
The Telogen stage is where the hair is preparing to fall off and the dermal papilla detach itself from the hair follicle.

People with healthy hair will have about 85% of their hair in the Anagen Phase, so when a large portion of hair gets pushed into Telogen Phase (for example due to child birth), this portion of hair in the resting phase becomes weak and fragile 2-4 months after the event. This is why you start to see hair loss only ~ 3 months after giving birth.

The good news is, you will likely recover from the hair loss within 6-12 months as this kind of Telogen Effluvium is acute and not chronic. However, if your scalp does not receive sufficient nutrients, it may be difficult for you to get back your thick, voluminous hair you once had before child brith.

One place you can visit for hair treatment while pregnant and after pregnancy (even when breast feeding) is Bee Choo Origin, this is because our herbal treatment does not contain any chemical. We have a ladies only outlet catering to breast feeding moms. Visit us at 5 Pahang Street or call us at 6291 5354 to find out more. You can also check out our website at www.beechooladies.com.sg

After Delivery I'm getting worried about my hair since it's falling off like crazy, My friend told me to use Hair Growth Serum of Dermalmd so I bought this to prevent the worst-case scenario, and I think it's working! The hair fall has been greatly alleviated! And even when my hair is wet or when I brush it, fewer strands are falling off. Some baby hairs are even starting to grow now! The formula of dermalmd serum is super impressive, and thank God it's non-greasy or sticky. I highly recommend it!