Any one have pediatric skin specialist to recommend?

HIHI!

Anyone knows of skin specialist who is v good in seeing skin probs in children?

Hi piggy,

Maybe you would like to try National Skin Center and get recommendation from there? HTHs

Dr Chan Yuin Chew fr NSC is good.

Another doctor who specialises in Paediatric Dermatology is Prof Giam Yoke Chin but her appointment queue is usu 1-2 months long.

Altho our GP may not have pediatric skills, but he is a qualified and certified dermatologist whose half of his patients are small children.
If you are interested, you can PM me.

thanks for your recommendations...me waiting to c a doc recommended by PD at Gleneagles(she is on long lve and back nx week)...we went to so many specialists still no use...
For NSC if want faster appt will not be specialists rite? Like going thru recommendation thru polyclinic need to wait v long for appt...
Sometimes he is scratching until he bleed and bathing is such a painful thng for him...
lucky these few days the weather ok...if the weather warm, his rash will be worse!

me in the same shoes... my boi practically scratch his leg n head every nite got to apply cream like mad...... plus the money spent on bringing him to this specialist that one costing a bomb liao..... nw he got appt at nsc tml... hopefully will get better.... heart ache to see the bleeding

Hi Piggy (love piglet) and Sheris

Do your kids have eczema?

You can get a paediatric dermatologist at KKH. Just call the appointment number. It would be cheaper to get a referral through a polyclinic but you cannot choose a doctor.

I took my son to see a dermatologist in his private clinic as it was hard to get an appointment at short notice at KKH where he also practises once a weekday morning.

Hi Belle,
yeah my kid have eczema...went to many docs liao...one doc (a specialist!) even said no cure but to emigrate to a cold country! me so angry after hearing dat then decide not to c him any more...
i heard that eczema no cure isz? sigh...he will scratch and scratch...look like monkey (his zodiac sign)heheh

Hi Piggy

According to the dermatologist I took my son to, maybe 60% of the babies would outgrow eczema at 1 year. Then the next age to look out for is 5 years when more kids would outgrow the problem.

Most dermatologists seem to have standard advice. Use non-soap cleanser, moisturise with aqueous cream and use a steroid during flare up. In addition one paediatrician suggests that I abstain from dairy, eggs and other common allergy causing foods while breastfeeding or try exclusive breastfeeding and to change the formula to Nan HA or other HA formula. The dermatologist, on the other hand, does not think there is any point in excluding the foods as eczema is not caused by foods but may be aggravated by it and you wouldn't know whether the child is allergic to the food until he has been exposed to it. My friend who took her kid to a very famous and expensive paediatrician who specialises in allergies also did not advise her or her kid to abstain from certain foods.

The latest therapies that I read about online at this forum and elsewhere is: (a)prebiotics (b) probiotics (c) Chinese herbs (according to a recent study by Chinese University of Hong Kong).

For prebiotics, Mamil Gold is a formula that contains a proprietary blend of prebiotics called Immunofortis. Immunofortis is supported by research done by a Milan professor.
http://www.aptamil4hcps.co.uk/default.asp?id=224
My son is currently supplemented by Nan HA 1 which is also supposed to have a prophylactic effect against eczema.

For probiotics, I hear that some paeds prescribe reutefene drops by Biogaia.

The study on Chinese herbs is in the link below:
http://uk.reuters.com/article/healthNews/idUKHKG35145120070802

u might wana try Dr Loke Skin Clinic at Peace Center.
he is an old but experienced doctor.
my gal was having rashes (hong(1) mo(4)) for a few months, saw other doctors but no help.
but this doctor's medicine worked very well for her.
after review for another 2 times, she fully recovered.

actually my kid went for the skin prick test...allergic to many thngs like dust lah egg lah etc...surprisingly not to seafood...
juz went to another specialist on monday...he said kids with ezema shldnt bathe too long or use warm water...they shld have short and more cooling water to bathe
now he put on anti-bio
ah...now waiting to c the results of his medication
i thnk this doc is not bad lah
he is Dr Lawrence Khoo of Dermatology Associates

hi piggy,
may i know how old is your kid to do the prick test? my son is only 4mth and they find him too small to do the test to tell what is he allergic to. his eczema quite bad

Hello... my son too got eczema on the sole of his right foot. We saw a GP and he said my boy was suffering from warts. He was referred to see Prof Giam Yoke Chin at NSC.

But before that so coincidentally he's ill so we went to see Dr Ang Ai Tin at TMC Paediatric clinic. She said my boy had eczema and the cream she gave is good.

Me being kiasu, saw Prof Giam too. She is good but like what misspiggy said, usually gotta wait about a month to see her. By the time we saw her, my boy eczema has gotten better liao.

According to Dr Ang and Prof Giam, there's really no cure for eczema, when it flare up just apply the steroid cream. It's best to bathe them with colder water and was asked to keep my boy's feet dry and wear open toes sandals or slippers

my kid was 2+ when he did the test...now we change skin doc liao...seeing Dr Tham at Gleneagles...
have u guys tried substitute for soap instead of soap? it is more moisturising...
now to kip his ezema under control,he putting diff cream for diff parts...like more serious one cream, in general one cream, face one cream etc...
cannot relax one...i find that once i put lesser or forgot, he will start to itch and the ezema will pop up agn

Just wana share my experience. My son had eczema since 5 mths+. I bought him to skin doctor. But what they can do only by giving steriod cream. But for long term it will thin his skin.
So i read up alot, start giving him everyday 1 feed of fresh goat milk for Hay Diaries and swap his milk powder to NAN HA on Cetaphil moisturiser.
Now my son skin condition is perfect. But the only thing is that he cannot eat EGG.

Dr Lee Chien Yee of Kinder Clinic at Mt A is pd dermatology. Same chain, but at paragon, has Dr Dawn Lim who's pd in allergy. my gal took the SPT with Dr Dawn Lim. allergic to fish!!

Hi all, just to share. My husband has eczema, and I was afraid that my daughter when born would get it as well. She had very very sensitive skin, especially on her face... But we noticed that when the greedy girl started to eat her daddy's fresh aloe vera, her skin condition improved. My husband has been eating fresh aloe vera with orange juice everymorning.. and he does some other stuff recomended by the skin doctor as well.

Maybe you ladies would like to give aloe vera a try. You can get it from NTUC.

Just to share when my daughter had it. Wash the face after every feed with water, then use cetapil moisturing cream. at least 4 to 5 times, then wait for 4 to 7 days and it should clear in 2 weeks.

Very effective.

My daughter and son had bad eczema. went to NSC not much help either. It was only through Dr Khoo B P that I saw good response to the advice and treatment. I must say that besides Dr Khoo's help, my children had to consistently do their part to carry out the advice given to them to treat their eczema. He is now at Naaman Skin and Laser Centre. http://www.naamanskinclinic.com

Hi! I've started a support group for parents with eczema children. I'm mommy of baby girl Marcie who has eczema from 2 weeks old and now that she's better, I've a little more time and really hope to gather more parents to share their experience and support each other. I have a email group set up and if you wish to receive the invite to join the group, do fill in the form at the link below and I'll get back to you. Look forward to meeting more moms and dads!
Marcie Mom
http://eczemablues.com/contact-me/

My 2 year old daughter's bottom eyelids around the rim started to get pink about 4 days ago, she looked sick almost but the eyes themselves appeared fine and she acted fine. Over the last 3 days it has gotten worse, and this morning, the top lids were swollen and pink but the eyes themselves are white as can can and she's not itching them. I took her to the pediatrician and she said it's definitely not pink eye but an eczematous type of skin irritation and she gave me an Rx for a steroid type of a lotion to apply to the skin around the eyes 3 times daily.

Read more about Eczema , http://embarrassingbodieskids.channel4.com/conditions/eczema/ and my site, http://www.hairandlaserclinic.com/rejuvenation.htm

hi all - my baby's 17months and her ecezema is specific to the crooke arm and around her neck. I've visited several PDs but none of them has given her any medication or any sort of cream, except for Cetaphil, which I could have conveniently got it off the shelf.

Its bothering her lately these days - especially nights and its been making mummy and baby very tired and frustrated.

My mum suggested using aqueous cream which she uses for her own eczema - is it for adults, is it ok for my 17mth to use? Also, i've heard of a cream called Dermovate for kids - do any of you mummies use that ?

Diana

Can we give g3 to babies? My mil bgt for us and i only drink it once as bf my bb. How effective it help ur son?

ANybody use tcm/chinese medical hall to apply herbal on the eczema areas? Any improvement for tcm treatment for bb?

My bb has it since 1m old and the areas are neck, armpit, elbow fold, knee fold, ankle fold etc. Getting worse i feel.

Am applying daktarin daily followed by physiogel and bb prickly heat powder to control his perspiration. Seem to come back easily once i stop daktarin cream (anti fungal and bacteria cream).

Has been using steroid on and off and dun like it.

Pd prescribed zaricot to my bb and it works.. But like what all of you said, steroid cream will thin the skin.. Sigh... If I don't use it, the eczema spot seems to 'enlarge' and gets itchy..

I also consulted my family gp and recommended me to use calamine lotion instead of the steroid cream. Anyone tried it before?

Simp,

How how is ur bb? G3 can be given to bb when they are 9 months old. But juz gif them a few spoonful will do.

Aqueous cream may be allergic for some kids, if you want to use it, do test it on a small patch first.
Calamine is drying, though it relieves itch, it doesn't help repair the defective skin barrier.
I think there isn't any conclusive study on TCM or supplement; I always use products from reputable company that has undergone relevant clinical trials.
Do check out eczemablues.com, where many experts, including Prof Hugo, gives advice.

my 3mths old plus boy has been referred by polyclinic to see a dermatologist in KKH. Any particular doctor in KKH is recommended for baby eczema?

I am a mother of 2 who both have eczema. My eldest (now she is 2 years and 11 months) has just outgrown the eczema (not totally) but no more daily scratching. For her, it was like just bearing with it. Since doctor said no cure, so we just put cream whenever the rashes flare up. Her eczema is caused by external factors like dirt and dust.

My second child, is still having eczema flare up, but his eczema caused by food allergy, cow's milk allergy to be precise. So, to solve his problem, he is taking Neocate milk (amino-based acid formula).

So, what I am saying is, maybe there is an underlying problem that caused your child's eczema to flare up. Is it external, like he start scratching after playing outside? or when he is under air-con room? My daughter will start scratching even when she went inside my maid's room to play (because her room a little dusty). Or your baby has food allergy.

If all else fails, I don't know what your religion is, but I am going to say it anyway. I brought my daughter to see a catholic priest just last month. This priest has a gift in healing children. He told me that my daughter has skin conditions not because of medical condition but it is because something supernatural. He told me that my daughter's soul is so attached to me that she is sharing whatever "burden" I am carrying. And currently I am pregnant, so I am carrying "extra burden", that is why, he said that, her eczema get worse during this period. Which was true! She scratched her arms and legs EVERY SINGLE NIGHT! That day, the priest prayed for her and instructed me to do a 8-days prayers to "release her soul" so that she is not attached to me anymore. That same night, she didn't ask me to scratch at all! From then on, her skin condition gets better and better and now... she does not scratch her arms and legs anymore! Well, she still do but very rarely, and only scratch for a few seconds. Not like last time, she will scratch until bleeding.

To tell another story, my grandmother-in-law had eczema all her life (she is 85 now) until recently, she called up a feng shui master. The feng shui master told her that her eczema is caused by a snake spirit that is following her. The feng shui master then prayed for her and chased the spirit away. He said that the spirit was stubborn and my family could tell that my grandmother was in pain when the master tried to chase the spirit away. But anyway, the master succeeded, and now, my grandmother-in-law does not have eczema anymore.

Sometimes, we do not want to believe in supernatural thing, but.. it exists. Well, I am not sure what your religion is, but maybe you want to see your spiritual leader. It might sound ridiculous, but if that can heal our children, why not?

I am a mother of 2 who both have eczema. My eldest (now she is 2 years and 11 months) has just outgrown the eczema (not totally) but no more daily scratching. For her, it was like just bearing with it. Since doctor said no cure, so we just put cream whenever the rashes flare up. Her eczema is caused by external factors like dirt and dust.

My second child, is still having eczema flare up, but his eczema caused by food allergy, cow's milk allergy to be precise. So, to solve his problem, he is taking Neocate milk (amino-based acid formula).

So, what I am saying is, maybe there is an underlying problem that caused your child's eczema to flare up. Is it external, like he start scratching after playing outside? or when he is under air-con room? My daughter will start scratching even when she went inside my maid's room to play (because her room a little dusty). Or your baby has food allergy.

If all else fails, I don't know what your religion is, but I am going to say it anyway. I brought my daughter to see a catholic priest just last month. This priest has a gift in healing children. He told me that my daughter has skin conditions not because of medical condition but it is because something supernatural. He told me that my daughter's soul is so attached to me that she is sharing whatever "burden" I am carrying. And currently I am pregnant, so I am carrying "extra burden", that is why, he said that, her eczema get worse during this period. Which was true! She scratched her arms and legs EVERY SINGLE NIGHT! That day, the priest prayed for her and instructed me to do a 8-days prayers to "release her soul" so that she is not attached to me anymore. That same night, she didn't ask me to scratch at all! From then on, her skin condition gets better and better and now... she does not scratch her arms and legs anymore! Well, she still do but very rarely, and only scratch for a few seconds. Not like last time, she will scratch until bleeding.

To tell another story, my grandmother-in-law had eczema all her life (she is 85 now) until recently, she called up a feng shui master. The feng shui master told her that her eczema is caused by a snake spirit that is following her. The feng shui master then prayed for her and chased the spirit away. He said that the spirit was stubborn and my family could tell that my grandmother was in pain when the master tried to chase the spirit away. But anyway, the master succeeded, and now, my grandmother-in-law does not have eczema anymore.

Sometimes, we do not want to believe in supernatural thing, but.. it exists. Well, I am not sure what your religion is, but maybe you want to see your spiritual leader. It might sound ridiculous, but if that can heal our children, why not?

Hi can I have the contact of the priest please thank you

Eczema is common to babies especially during summer season. Avoid giving them any food that would trigger the rashes such as chicken, instant noodles and seafood. Let her stay in a cool place and don't let her wear tight clothes. During bath time, use normal water (not warm) and apply baby soap for sensitive skin and keep her skin moisturized all the time. The most effective ointment/cream for my daughter is Elica (Momestasone Furoate).

Hi all.

I just joined this forum.
I from batam and i would like to ask if anyone have any recomend for skin problem doctor in singapore.

My kids was 5years old and since baby insect bite leave scars in both leg and more day more increase and become black.

Anyone can recomend some doctor for this problem and if possible could you please to share about doctor fees.

TIA.

Everyone wants to look flawless and healthy.
Sometimes, even after taking good care of skin factors such as hormonal changes, change in season etc. make it impossible for us to keep the skin problems at bay.

Dr. Rajat Kandhari, a popular Best dermatologist in Delhi offers the best dermatology treatments for common skin problems like acne, eczema, etc., by utilizing the latest technologies to provide optimum results to his patients.

Dermatologist in Delhi

Top Dermatologists in Delhi

Top 10 Dermatologists in Delhi