Dry skin

Any mommies experience dry skin during pregnancy?

My first pregnancy no prob only this time round. Skin peels off near corners of mouth, at my chin and around nose area. I look like Ive got permanent sunburn, only without the dark tan...

Ive tried using my Clinique moisturizer more often even resorting to Bodyshop's Vit E cream but it dont seem to work!

Any mommies have better solution? Pls help!

My skin condition is worst. I have peeling on all my fingers, and it is like crack lines. So painful everytime i wash my hands or bathe.

Lin
im also suffering the same sympton as u.. skin looks red and sensitive 24/7.. i used fresh aloe vera and put it on as mask.. but i don have aloe vera plant at hme so quite tough to get it done on a regular basis. but is better den b4 i tried using fresh aloe vera pulps. coz there was once worst until my lips ends is so tight n pain till i cant smile like tt..

im using estee lauder advanced night repair serum plus hydracomplete moisturiser. and i slapped alot on it but still no use..still red everyday

me have been trying out new skincare from BP here for 3 times liao.. the dr lily delicate serum + aloe vera gel as moisturiser. effect is alot better den before. not so red already. maybe u can try oso.

zolldoll
wha... ur fingers peeling is extreme ..perhaps is sensitive to dish detergent or something?
my fingers have water retention so the joints area v pain. esp tdy been doing spring cleaning for long hours. nw fingers joints aching like crrazy..

Ya me think my fingers are extreme too. My first pregnancy also the same.It is like paper cuts all over both my hands, and there is a stinging pain each time i wash my hands now even without detergent.

Hi Queenie,
Thanks for your advise...I'll try to find aloe vera at Watson's after work today then.

I havent started having water retention yet but Im expecting it in the 2nd trimester onwards. The last pregnancy I had to wear sandals to work 2 sizes bigger than my usual size.

Hi Zolldoll,
Oh my! If my cracking skin is already stinging, then Im sure your fingers must be really painful! Ouch! Have you asked your gynae if he can help prescribe anything?

Hi Lin,

I will be seeing him tomorrow, then i will show him. Ya, now i got phobia of washing my hands cos each time i do, i need to take a deep breath.

My skin is also dry, esp. my face. I have also developed two small pigmentation spots on my left cheek. But good thing is, my complexion is much better than pre-pregnancy and no pimples.

I bought a tube of Aloe Vera at Apex Pharmacy for $13+ yesterday and used it immediately. It works miraculously! No more cracked, peeling skin around my nose and chin areas today! Big thanks to you Queenie! =)

Hi Scrumpee,
Hmm..mine is the opposite...I used to have clear skin but now I tend to have small white heads pop out everywhere esp on my forehead...

I had this prob during my teenange years and used used Clindamycin prescribed by doctor but I dont think I can use it nw. Scared got side effect on baby..guess just have to bear with it lor...

Maybe u want to give the Aloe Vera a try for your dry skin? ;)

Srumpee
Yap, it seems to work for me, no more dry peeling skin. my norm moisturizer didnt help either...let me know if it works on you *wink*

Lin
don mention! Glad to noe is getting better kekes.
so how u got wad brand of aloe vera frm apex? can share. hehes.
my water retention kicks in during the early 3rd trimester lor. and i tink is gg to stick to me till i go give birth.
as for my sandals still the same size. juz tt somedays it get tights..

Zolldoll
hows ur check up with ur dr? ani remedy for it? he explains any reasons for ur fingers skin peeling?

srumpee
hehe. rem not to skip ur hydration diy mask..
it wud helps.. rem to apply sunblock daily leh. coz pregnancy some might get pigmentation easier.

Do you take omega 3 and 6 supplements? I had dry skin too when I was pregnant, after taking the supplements it helped a lot. As yr growing baby needs DHA, he will draw it from you so it's important for you to take supplements to replenish it otherwise yr body will hv deficiency of it(which will develop dry skin).

I took Udos oil in oil form as it's more easily absorbed by the body, and take Nordic fish oil omega 3 in soft gel form. For Udos oil, you need to take it with food or yr stomach will feel queasy or bloated. You can buy Udos oil from GNC, for Nordic fish oil you can buy from sprees or from Vitakids store which is more expensive.

Scrumpee
hehe ya im march mtb..
no wonder i find ur nick quite familiar. kekes..

pingping
im oni under the fish oil tt my gynae prescribed.

Hi Queenie,

You need to double the dosage since yr skin is dry. It'll be better to balance with omega 6, as too much omega 3 may cause imbalance in the body. If you don't want to buy Udo's oil(which is quite ex now, price increase), you can eat raw olive oil with bread. Just dab the bread in olive oil(sprinkle some black pepper into the olive oil) and eat it. I like it, it taste nice. That's what the italians eat, very healthy. I am not sure whether you like it, cos it depends on individual.

Hi try Body Shop Aloe Vera Showering cream & Gel...they work for me!

A regular intake of oil *Omega sounds good too...
Seems like during preg our healing process slows down too...

Hi Queenie,
Dr says my skin is extremely sensitive during this period of time, and when i used detergent, it will make my skin condidtion worst. I was told to just leave it alone, and it will be fine in no time.

Hi pingping,
I chance upon this thread.
Do you have any recommendation on what type of raw olive oil to take?

Hi jot,

Just saw yr posting, go for extra virgin olive oil. Buy oil that are stored in dark coloured bottles, as it will keep the oil fresher. Olive oil will become rancid if it's exposed to light. So keep it dark places or away from light. I am using Borges Olive oil, you can get it from Cold Storage.

im been using QV products and works amazing well for me and bb. i use QV cream and skin lotion during pregnancy and bb was born with senstive skin. has been using QV bath oil and wash since birth til nw, goin 11mth!

Is it Hope from Australia? I also bot from BP & tried. Eczema on hand & sometimes face. Also seen a chinese doc at AMK. Pretty good, PM me if u want the contact. but got to bare with the 'muddy' medicine. got to avoid seafood, peanuts, cold water. also sleep early (before 11pm)

Mummies can also try this new brand from korea. its sold in specialist Skincare salon in Korea, now available in Singapore. 100% natural, no parabens, no alcohols. suitable for eczema, sensitive, dry skin. http://www.theorangeco.com/store/index.php?route=product/manufacturer&manufacturer_id=22
now they having promotion. much cheaper than salon.

Try using QV to bath, n apply rich moisturer. I used Palm's Olive lotion during pregancy, Palm's lotion for areas where stetchmarks can form easily.

got this from flowersofpink.blogspot.com after a friend recommend me. for dry skin, very good, makes face powdery, smells so rosy too.
5434574.gif

Yes, I experienced dry skin during pregnancy with slight discoloration on my chin. I just used petroleum jelly during that time and some moisturizer.

Hi I am a mother of two and recently relocated to London. I had the same problem as yours so I consulted a skin specialist. Normally these kind of problems arise due to change in the weather around us or due to hormonal imbalance. The skin specialist recommended me to use Nyassa products ie Nyassa face moisturizer and Nyassa body lotion. I had my problem solved real quick. Not only did it stop the dryness but also healed my skin. I really recommend Nyassa products. You should surely give them a try
Here is the link where you can buy them nyassabathandbody.com