Gestational Diabetes

the dr at diabetic clinic are very strict.. had order me to see the diabetic specialist after 3-4 slight high reading out of 40readings..

making me so stress n crying on tues for the check up...

might hv to increase the dosages if stil got high reading ...

the education nurse want me to report readings every alternate days .. so if there is 1 reading excess the range, she hv to call me liao .. so stress...

Is normal to increase insulin dosage as u proceed with pregnancy

If u got high reading, u need to monitor for the next few days. If continue to be high, than they might increase the dosage

Write down what u eat..maybe do some changes?

Bbkk : u eat something out of fhe norm for 7.2 reading?

Stress will cause sugar level to spike also..so be positive!

Bbkk, if my reading of 6.7 after meal is not ok according to nurse...

my reading usually within the range for before n after meal

jus abt 3-4 reading slighly above the range ... 6.6 for 3hr after dinner, 6.1 in the morning b4 breakfast

mine r not consective readings, jus like one reading in a few days...

now they want me to see the specialist dr for diabetics.. even more stress...

Wah which nurse u seeing? Very strict for 6.7 also not acceptable.

But y r u not seeing a specialist already? I was asked to see the nurse first when i was diagnoisd with GD. That time i was flying off to korea so they couldnt book me in time to see the specialist. But after i came bac, i was scheduled to see him liao

Nuh nurse very strict. sometimes I don't even want to report coz will get nagged even though it's like only 0.1-0.2 pts higher e.g 6.6. Very sian and discouraged.

actully i also, sometimes a little bit higher, i just report as 6.6.

if not, they will start questioning me..haiz

JC, for the past 3weeks under the docs (Like Dr TM Chua n few junior doc)from Clinic G where they will be to help those just kanna GD.

the junior doc who see me yesterday asked a senior doc abt my case as i have a few high readings n he say refer to specialist Dr Yew.

so now hv to see Dr Yew who is diabetic specialist.

Bbkk, ya, below 6.6 after 2 hr meals is normal readings. so all my reading hv to below 6.6 from now on lor...

if not nurse will call n nag nag ...

Ocean Blue, ya, very sian n discouraged lor...
now i very scare of going Diabetic clinic on tues... always so stress...

hope tat Dr Yew is as nice as what the nurses and recept say at diabetic clinic ...

i am seeing Dr Stanley liew for diabetics.
he is those anything anything doc. You ask him, he will say 'normal lah, no need worry lah' etc etc.

i think the nurses more fierce than him.

i always tell the nurse, come to diabetic clinic like take exam like this. lucky everytime my prick test at the clinic is lower than the previous time.

Yes, I get stressed when ever I've to go for my appt. I'm seeing prof Thai and I don't like her :-( Now I'm in week 36 supposed to have appt today but I.postponed coz really not in the mood to be scolded or nagged as I'm feeling hormonal too so not in a good mood. I think my blood test will be higher than previous time coz I did have some higher than normal readings this mth.

JC, Ocean_Blue, both of u see ur dr at where?
me at Clinic D rm 17 Diabetic Clinic ....

would like to know the insulin dosage u ladies started wz? and current? so as we progress, will increase the dosage? me now worry abt dr increaseing my dosage..

Ocean_Blue, going for natural birth? so now is the count down game ... congratz ... update us ...

i am see Dr Chua at Jurong Clinic for women.
Near to my house/work place.

i started my dosage at 6-6-6-6. Now at week 30, i am taking 6-7-8-8.

JC, oic... very near me but they dont see subsidies patients there... so u r under ur gynae care, no need to see diabetic specialist lah ...

my dosage now is 0-6-6-6, the bedtime one is slow release ...

tue, the nurse want to teach me on the mix of quick n slow releas insulin .. then say better wait for doc's instruction of mix then teach me ... make me even worry ... my result got so serious meh ...

me stil hv 17 weeks to go ...

let's jiayou together ...

i seeing diabetic specialist also, separately at NUH - Dr Stanley Liew.

err...i dunt know what is mix of quick and slow release insulin. I know if high reading, they might give you the cloudy one in the morning..something like that.

dont worry..the doc/nurse will do the best for you. Just a blink of eye, your due date will come liao!!!

I'm wk 36 now and am on hosp leave since 2wk ago as my braxton hicks r strong and freq. Admission counselling done around wk 32 if I'm.not wrong.

I can't remember what I started out w for the insulin but as Greg progresses, it is normal for the insulin amt to increase so don't be too alarmed or disappt.

Right now, I'm taking:
clear: 8(before bfast), 8 (lunch), 10 (dinner)
cloudy: 14( before bfast), 18 (3hrs aft dinner)

I see Prof Thai at the Diabetes Clinic located inside Clinic D. The thought of seeing her makes me feel super sian. Dr Chua sounds so much better1

JC, tks for the encouragements... u r controlling very well on ur diet ... ur dosage not alot ...

Ocean_Blue, jiayou ... counting down now ...

Now I'm worried the sugar level won't normalise after delivery.

Ling, sorry forgot to ans u. Yes, planning for natural birth. Have gone thru' birth plan once w my gynae. Just gotta make some slight amendments as statements were too vague and going thru' the final one next week

I just delivered my baby boy last Tuesday via induced. His weight is 2.63 and 49cm. No weight gain in this pregancy in fact -2 kg. Pre-58kg. Post delivery : 51!! Yeah!!! I am from NUH also subsidised patient. I upgraded to private on 37 weeks and straight go to induce labour on 38weeks 3 days. I choose Dr. Anita Kale. She is really a nice doctor. It is worth the change. If not her, i might be over induced by those junior doctor in the delivery ward. In the morning, she insisted to check on me herself. And put the medicine herself in private part. Waited 4 hours, junior doctor came and checked how many cm opened up. Nothing. Then, 4pm,junior doctor in delivery ward came again and wanted to insert 2nd pill. I stopped them and insisted to see Dr. Anita. Then , she came and checked. And scolded the junior for trying to insert 2nd pill when i have quite good contraction trend. If they inserted, would have over induce me. Heng arr....

Overall experience in NUH diabetics clinic. Towards the end, if i know it is the junior doctor that i am going to see and not Dr. Chua/Anita, i will refuse to go. And i always tried my way if i know i will see Dr. Anita on Wed then, i will for sure cancel the Tuesday appointment. As i really see no point seing her on Tuesday and again on Wed. Initially, i didn't like Dr. Chua as she is very very strict. But after a few visit by the junior, i wish i could see her every time when in D clinic. The junior doctor prescrition and her can be totally different.

Ocean blue,

How would a natural birth like? Just curious.

For other mummies:
My insulin history:
10 week --> found out GDM. Dr. Chua wanted to start me on insulin. I refuced and controled via diet till week 19
19th week--> pre dinner fast act 4unit
28th week --> pre lunch 4, pre dinner 4 and bed time long act 4
32 week -->4/6/4
34 week --> 4/8/4
36 week --> 4/10/4, and they wanted to start me on morning long acting. I refuse, rather eat less in morning and increase the afteroon dosage.
37 week --> 6/10/4
38 week --> delivery !! yeah!! and FYI, you still need to inject on the day of delivery. Initially, i thought no need as they keep saying they will help you to monitor. Luckily i brought my own super fine injection needles, else have to use their normal injection and long needles....

One more thing, the test strip ...
i found out that in Malaysia, the test strip is only half the price of SG. My test striip brand is Accu -chek performa.
in Malaysia, 25 strips is MYR 45

Ocean_Blue, great.. i hope i can go for natural for tis pregnancy, but hubby say dont wan me to go thru the pain again, jus c section ...
1st pregnancy also want to try natural, but bb dont wan to come out... induce 12hrs stil 2cm .. then she n me stress.. she poo inside n had to hv emergency c section as too dangerous for her liao ...

Bibi, congratz ... wow, u also control so well on ur diet ...
so far after ur delivery, u stil jab insulin? or totally stop?

can ask how much ur bill for the delivery?

the thoughts of seeing those junior doc also dont make me feel good... hv to consult senior doc after the consultation ... sian..

i also like Dr Anita Kale..

Ling,

Doctor said totally stop. And so far tested 2 times 2hours after meal. Sad...reading 7.3...Not sure what should be the normal reading after delivery...Can anyone ask when go to D clinic ?

My bill is 4800SGD. Induce labour with epidural. Stayed in 1 beded for 2 days.

Bibi congrats

I heard that induce got high chance end up in emer c sec. I scare leh..so i abit sway towards c sec but i scare recovery very long haizzz

Can i ask how is induce like? Is it painful? U areange a day and admit to NUH? Induce is wait in the ward right coz i think there is a charge for delivery suite..like 5 hrs than additional one hr they charge again

Toking abt strip, i dont bother buying at NuH liao coz outside prices also competitive and still can earn points if u buy at unity/ watson / guardian.

There was once unity got 10 dollars off for every 80 spent.

I now taking 4 checks everyday ...straining on the pocket i dun go to msia..cant

Bibi, the $4800 is cash portion or total wz CPF...

my #1 induce also ended up emergency c section .. cost me cash payment of $2700 at TMC ... me jus didnt dilate... so hubby say tis round jus c section ...

will ask doc abt the after delivery range next tue when i go n see them at Clinic D ...

JC, induce no pain lah jus jab n insert pill.. pain come in when the contraction come in ...

me using Caresens from Korea .. the strip cost $40 for 50 strips .. so expensive the strip ...

mine is 7checks every alternate days ...

The pill is put below right? Just uncomfortable huh?

Went for gybae checkup..week 30 @ 1.4kg. Dr chua say okie the size and water bag look okie. She just remind me if cannot control, than naybe will induce week 37 or even earlier

Will go for another detail scan in 3 weeks..than do the pre-admission.

Btw, is it the norm to stay 2 days at NUH? Induce usually is admit in the morning?

JC, during pre admission counselling, u will notice in the est bill table that there is even 1 night stay. I think on average it is 3d2n for normal delivery. C sect shld be longer.

i just check with my colleague. They say when induce, is @ the delivery suite huh?

So the clock will start ticking from the moment they induce us right. I think i saw the package is 5 hr for certain amount than every hr additional, will have a certan charge.

So the process is?
bullet to relax below
burst waterbag
Drip to induce

JC, ya, the pill is below... i dont remember any uncomfort ... mayb when at time insert ...

for my 1st pregnancy at TMC,
i checkin 12 midnite on the day before of induce (if induce on thurs, wed mid nite need to b at hospital)

2am, clear bowel with a pill insert anus(within 15mins sure go toilet n clear)
n some jabs

rest at waiting room till 6am .. walk to delivery room to wait ...

must bring some jackets to keep warm .. even my hubby dont scare of cold one complaint very cold (like 15degrees only) .. lucki for me, i had a blanket n wear socks ...

at the delivery room, will connect to the machines to check on contractions n on drips..

bcos was on machine n drips, cannot walk around .. so boring .. n only tv to watch ...
cannot eat also .. send hubby to take his lunch as he didnt hv anything after we admited..

not sure abt NUH ..

my sil said she was asked to go back ward if no much progress ... she stay NUH ...

JC, for my first I induced.

Checked in midnight to insert pill. At ur own ward waiting for dilation and contraction after inserting pill. Nurse keep coming in to check for dilation. Very pain.

Around 6am, eat breakfast and clear bowel. After that push in operating theatre waiting for induce.

At 7am, inside the OT room, drip on hand to induce, dr came to burst my water bag. Then after that too fast too furious, my bb out in less than 2hrs. 857am out Liao.

Bbkk, u r fast ... mine took a long time ... end up emergenecy c section ...

me stress start now ... 2molo going to Diabetic clinic to follow up ...

now a bit confuse, just now nurse Teoh called to advise me the new date to see Diabetic Specialist.. but i cant make it ...
i say my reading normal rite? she say yes, but my dosage is high at 0/6/6/6 ...

last week, when i went to see at Clinic G, the doc say my is low dosage .......

Sometimes I dun understand is it my diabetic dr strict or not. So far my reading ok but sure got some days out of normal. And some days I nv take reading. Then that period after cny I supposed to take blood test to see if my sugar go down. Then result was 157. He says very good. Cos drop from 190. So asked me to go back at week 36 to take blood test again.
May I know what are u all blood test reading?

Bbkk: got this test i always do when i am te diabetic clinic. It is Hba1c. According to the dr, it is an accurate test..if the reading go down, than mean under control. It is an average over 3 months i think. But daily reading also impt..coz u use to monitor what is okie and what is not okie. My gynae always tell me sudden spike in sugar can lead to bb heartbeat stop..arrghhh

The nurses never call me for 2-3 weeks liao leh...

Ling : u jus start yr insulin right..usually they trial and error one for the first dosage. Maybe 4-4-4-4 for example than ask u to monitor everyday. Than the nurse will adjust accordingly when u give them the reading

Induce : i worry leh..if later induce but cannot dilate, very costly. C sec more firm but i scare i cannot cope with the recovery.

Back from Diabetic Clinic...

so low dosage is 4units.. so my is consider high ...

saw Dr T M Chua today ... say reading so far so good, except for bedtime ... increase my dosage for the cloudy one to 8 units ...

today tried the mamil mama milk powder for breakfast, faint, my reading after 2hr is 7.2 ... Dr Chua say tis milk powder hv alots of calories ... ask me to stick to HL Milk can liao...

JC, if induce n end up c section, remember is 2bed n 1 bed then will b very expensive. as no subsidies ...

Yes, GD cannot take maternal milk. Very sweet. Stick to low fat milk.

For NUH, the good thing is if it's e c sect, the normal delivery package will automatically replace by the c sect package. We don't pay double unlike private hosps. A friend was induced for 2 nights but baby still didn't want to come out. When she was finally 8cm dilated, baby's hb dropped so had to go thru' e c sect. She stayed in 1 bedded for 4 nights. Bill came up to 10K (before Medisave).

Breakdown of interim bill:
Total package charges 2086.48
Non package charge:
doctors+ consumables 326
lab 170
Medication 120
Delivery fees 1498
Ward 360
Non treatment service 40

I went to ward 22 delivery suites to induce (not room but outside with pull curtain)
For me, i have low pain tolerance level, so to me..it was pain when they check on your private part...

Morning 9am, gyane checked and inserted pill;
stayed in bed for 4 hours. Heart beat and contraction machine on.
12pm Junior doctor came check. Not favourable. Was asked to have lunch, finger prick for sugar check, insulin injection. And sent to 9A ward.
4pm, return to delivery ward 22. Junior doctor came. I insisted for gynae. Gynae came. 2cm and since having contraction, the gynae said no need 2nd pill. But she did something to force open cervix?? i am not sure, painful. Then , the contraction become more conistant and regular. Stayed in bed for next hours.
7pm, junior doctor came and check. Only 3cm. She told me highly likely delivery tomorrow.
I had my dinner, insulin injection. Asked for remote monitoring machine so that i could walk. I found walking really help to reduce pain, less pain compare to stay on bed. By now, i am quite exhasted already. And, really scared if this drag till next day. Wonder if i will still have the energy.
8pm, contraction become worse. I asked for epidural. Within minutes, water bag burst. By 9pm, alreay 10cm opened and can push. But was asked to hold till gynae arrived....So , finally delivered my boy 9:35pm.

My advise, make sure you eat sufficiant before enter the ward 22. Cannot eat/drink when in ward 22. I was like normal having only 2 slice bread and milk in the morning, thinking can have snack around 10am. But, no, no food allowed, and no drip also. Initially i thought no food but with drip should be ok.

Bibi, tks for the info .. so ur cash payment not much rite?

look ok for the bill ... mayb i shd also upgrade to private at later stage...

ur dilate is fast in the end ... mayb the walk around help ...

oh..if they don't charge double for emer c-sec, than i just go ahead with induce. I am in a dilema these few days whether to go for C-sec coz i scare later induce than not successful.

i am planning for 1 bedder coz hubby might want to stay over. I think during my pre-admission, i better check with the nurses properly.

bibi : the outside room is at the back? Like open area but with the drawn curtain right?

i never take those mummy milk coz sugar is too high. Even meiji low fat milk, i can only take half a cup.

ling : sorry ah but why is Dr Chua adjusting your insulin? She is also a diabetic specialist ah?

May I ask why u all need to jab insulin? Sorry if it offended anyone? Cos ever since I found out my GD, seen dr, only asked me to prick fingers and monitor. My blood test tat time is 197, which he said consider high.

JC, if that the case, I would suggest u try induce. No harm trying. Maybe not as bad as you think. Once u csec, your next one will mostly likely csec too.

Bbkk: ya..i will try for induce n natural..hopefully bb cooperate

I was asked to go to diabetic clinic when my glucose test resding show 15.2. Ask me see the nurses + dietician. Than few days later they ask me to go bac becoz the head nirse want to see me to start me on insulin..my first test for hba1c was 9.1

Morning ladies..

JC, bcos Dr Chua said after the bedtime jab of slow one, after the 8hr of fast, some of my morning reading is like 5.6-6.0 ... so say not enough insulin for the nite ... so she increase my jab ..

Dr chua is gynae... not diabetic specalist...
if those refer from clinic G, not serious till need to see specialist will be seeing the gynae doc ...

Bbkk, u dont hv insulin? so good... then ur control of food/diet is good enough to control the sugar level...

my orange drink test was 9.3 .. then the control diet, some readings were like 7-8 ..

somemore, me very early kanna GD, abt week 20 ... nurse n dr all say too early liao ...no good for bb to b swimming in the sugar so long ..

mine control of diet stil hv high sugar level, so gynae wan me to take insulin ...

my hubby sure say no if i say i wan to try induce ... my plan is go for VBAC ... hope i can ... keep telling bb to b good n come out on his own ...

Ocean_Blue, think bcos she is on drip, doc will give some glucose in the drip ..
my #1 one, i also dont feel hungry at all ..

Ling,
I diagnose GD even earlier, at week 10. Found sugar in blood but not in urine. Failed OGTT test, then after that refer me to diabetic dr Liao. Then dr only ask me prick fingers n monitor.. Then write down all my meal on the chart. But my chart always certain meals sure high, but he still nv say go for insulin. That y I think he is not strict? I dunno leh.
I was asked to take blood test again in week 36. Which is 3 weeks away. Hopefully my test result go down.

Bbkk, oic.. ur's dr so good ...
soon u can start count down liao ...

i jus go thru my hba1c on 19feb .. not high leh ...6.2 ...
so funny why they start me on insulin ...