(2005/02) Feb/Mar 2005 Babies

pax
no chance to PV = disappointment
after PV, still no chance to get a place = double bang bang.
Can't imagine Nan Hua already short listed PV group for children born in Y2005 already. Other schools - not yet right?

Hi Precious,

Maybe we mummies should feedback to the government. They keep telling us to bear kids but they didn't improve or increase the schools. How to give birth to another child?

sept virgo, govt guarantees that there is a slot for every child in primary school. there are some schools that are not full every year. good school or not is very subjective. but i am quite sure that all primary schools keep to a min std, which of course, is not what some parents want.

Anyone or anyone knows anyone who'll need a child-seat (safe & sound, red)...can use for ~1-4 yr old..or is it can start younger...can't remember. But 2nd hand la..good for travelling or short term use. Let me know

how to stop nail biting in children? my nephew hasn't had his nails cut for 1 year already. my sis tried medicated oil on his nails but he continued to bite. how how?

Hi Jannie,
i've this nail bite solution. i bot it to deter my gal from sucking her thumb but fail cos she gets very cranking when she cudn't suck her thumb. its safe but to be applied on kids who are 2yrs and above. if you're interested, i can pass it to u. let me know k.

lastly any other solution to stop my gal fm sucking her thumb? hiaz

doremon, it is ok. i should go and buy 1 bottle, cos it is not for me. it's for my sis.......thanks for the offer.

if u'd ask me, i use the hard method. since my kids were little, i would beat them whenever i see finger/s in their mouth. i beat real hard to tell them i mean business. but doesn't work for everybody lah........

maybe u should just let your girl be cranky and continue using that bitter nail polish. that is the whole purpose of weaning (dun think any kid is happy while being weaned off something purposely)... see if she still sucks her thumb after 2 weeks or not.

doremon, coincidentally, i happen to read an expert Q&A advice in a magazine this morning. to wean off thumbs, the expert recommend to give another comfort item in exchange, like a soft toy or soft cloth. then next time, got to wean off the comfort item lah, but at least, the thumb issue is settled.

Hiaz, actually i'm to blame for my gal's thumb sucking. When she started sucking her thumb at one month old, my sis-in-laws commented that it was a good sign, said that a thumb sucker child is an obedient kid so kuku me believed in this old wives' tale and the rest is history.

I did try all kinds of methods and they dun work cos. I even told her her frens will laugh at her when they find out and that no one will marry her etc etc. And guess what she said? I dun wan frens, i dun wan to marry. I only wan my thumb. faint ... So now i'm trying the soft approach.

Lastly, *secret secret* guess she takes after me cos i was a fingers sucker and only weaned off when i was 13!!

ladies, where to buy leggings for toddler girls? those to wear under skirts/dresses. dun want those like panty hose. i m looking for plain white or plain pastel pink ones, can't seem to find.

halo mummies

so glad to find this thread...anyone know abt chij pri sch at bukit timah...really hope to hear comment abt this sch as i was thinking of doing PV either in chij or pei hwa pri but would prefer girls sch but not sure of the standard there...

Its time for yr 2005 parents to submit PV forms for enrolment to P1 in year 2012. Care to share your desired school? I'm still in a daze as to which school to PV.

halo doremon
they do take PV, i hv jus check with them and they asked me to submit by october...i am actually comparing pei hwa pri and chij and am not sure which is the best for my gal...hope someone can advise chij standard in teaching...

doremon
CHIJ at Upper Bt Timah but if you stay within 1km, high chance direct entry.

emsam
Pei Hwa is a reputable school. I heard some said that students there are a bit snobbish! I'm considering my girl for these two schools too. If you stay within 1km to Pei Hwa, might direct entry too....

For the schooling reasons, I have also moved to a rented apartment which is 0.8km to Pei Hwa until I find the ideal home.

I have quit my full time job and will join full time Huttons - a real estate agency ..... I will have first hand info on new projects i.e. I can invite you to the VVIP Preview if you are interested. Let me know the areas that you are keen and I will keep you posted on new devt i.e. before they are even launched.

I can also handle buying/selling and leasing. Would appreciate it if you can give me your generous support. PM me and for those who know my email address, you can write to me there.

hi doremon

yes chij at upper bt timah offer pv, they asked me to write in around oct09 and they will only select the few pv starting fm jul10 to jun11..

hi precious
i m living at bt panjang, both the school is beyond 2km...sighs...yes when i look at chij website it seems rather not updated tats why i hv doubt on their standard and the school looks quiet as well..i had been asking ard but none seem to know abt the standard on this sch.. oh so you are preparing your child for pei hwa?

emsam
If I renew my current lease with my landlord next year, then I will opt for Pei Hwa. However, should I buy a property within this year, then I shall zoom in to a sch within 1 km to the house, the school is the main consideration for my new home actually.

Bt Panjang, are u near Beacon...Beacon is the IT school apparently in Bt Panjang, Bt Panjang Primary Sch is also good and it needs balloting.

I bet CHIJ name can't be bad for a girls school, .... it was my 1st choice as I wanted my girl to be in a girl's school too....

Anyway, will see where I end up at next Aug.

yes i am within 1km to beacon and should be within 2km to bt panjang pri ba...but i don think i wan to opt for beacon cos the sch is abit too new so i suppose the standard is not yet establish.. if i m within 2km to bt panjang pri den i suppose i don need to do pv ba...

yes CHIJ name give us the impression they are very good in reputation but this one in bt timah seem rather quiet lei and nobody seem to know abt their standard...hv u heard any of ur frd mention abt this sch?

emsam
Not sure about 2km to Bt Panjang Primary, have to do PV or not, I only know that it is a popular neighbourhood school.... Many residents go there.

No one mentioned to me about CHIJ at Upper Bt Timah but I reckon the school starts at 0800 hrs is good for many parents. If I am around there near registration time, I believe I will still send my girl there as it is a girl's school.

Headache ah....primary school, at the end of the day, I will still go to a school within 1km, less travelling time..... I was even thinking of St Anthony at Bt Batok then I found out the ratio is about 2:1....... that's why I move, try to move to one 1km within home and no need to ballot. I'm more afraid that if no chance at balloting, then don't know where my girl will be posted. Actually, the most wanted school is MGS but hor, the house around there are too ex... at this moment. Can't afford.

hi mummies, i would advise that distance be a main priority in your pri school selection, unless you are full time SAHM or have really really flexible working hours that u can plan ard your children's schedule. i see my MIL sometimes late in sending the kids to take school bus lah (then darn stressed after that), or sometimes got to bring them to take public bus to school earlier for supplementary lessons lah... not easy for an old folk to keep up. Unless you are the one doing all these shuttling yourself, then u can consider those further schools.

Hi precious one,
can advise the rental rate for those units within 1km to CHIJ BT. I dun need big apartment. Can fit 2A and 1C will do.

thanks emsam for the info. i called them and they asked me to email them for PV form. I was intially pretty keen on CHIJ Kellocks but they dun accept PV.

hi doremon

where are u staying? wow chij kellock n bt timah is abit distance away.. why do u like abt chij bt timah? can share your view?

Qdee, Omg,

I remember sometime back, you were discussing about dyslexia which Qdee's Q may have. Like to check if you know of any pyschologist or specialist which will be able to screen out Dyslexia and Dysgraphia for the age group of 4-5? And thereafter, what type of help can be offered?

I had some concerns that S may have dyslexic or specifically dysgraphia problem. He can trace dotted letters very well but when it comes to copy writing, he seemed to have great difficulties than normal. He tends to write very disproportionately, right to left, reversed (S->2, m->w etc). He even reads reversed frequently. eg "saw" read as "was".

I am thinking of getting him assessed so that early help can ease frustration.

Because of my 6 yrs old son, I have personally spending times exploring 3G Abacus & Traditional Abacus.

After completing the 3G ABACUS instructor course, I have applied the methods to teach my son. It is very simple & easy to understand. As such, he has shown more interest in mathematics than before.

I am planning to let him take part in the INTERNATIONAL Grading Exam this coming DEC 09. If possible, I will let him take part in year 2009 competition.

Currently, I am teaching kids & parents the 3G Abacus.
If you are interested in 3G ABACUS, please email me.

Hi emsam,
there's no particular reasons for the preference for CHIJ apart from the fact that its an all girls school. I'm aiming for either CHIJ BT or Kellocks due to proximity from my place for BT and mum's place for Kellocks. The rest of the other girls schools are either too far away or near to high end residential which are beyond my means.

Lastly, hubby prefers his little gal to attend a convent school. hiaz ...

Precious,
i've received your PM and is now working on the numbers. will revert to u soon.

Hi Poohy,

I raised similar concerns about Ashley to 2 of my psychologist friends, 1 of whom had studied in the area of paediatrics, but he's not practicing psychology anymore and also raised the concern with A's teacher. A also has problems especially with asymmetrical numbers or alphabets (hers is more leftt-right orientation problem, e.g. 3 vs E, 2 vs 5).

According to the teacher, it is a common problem for kids their age and she carries around an eraser & has to go around erasing many of the kids' work cos of the "reverse-writing" problem. Just practice more.

According to my psychologist friends, it is perfectly normal for kids their age to be "slightly dyslexic". Both these psychologist friends do not know each other, so that's 2 separate but similar opinion

1 said:
For kids to remember and write it's like asking us to see a painting and try to replicate it with details. What may seem to be an easy task to us (a few strokes) is actually not that easy for them (like a painting).

2 said:
Don't worry excessively and don't try to over-diagnose too early (Qdee may think differently...but we understand there're 2 theories--1 early diagnose, early treat theory; another is let them develop and don't over-stress them by over-diagnosing them too early).
He mentioned something about getting the kid to "copy" a simple drawing or stick diagram that's asymmetrical...e.g. a flower with leaf on one side..see if the kid can copy it to the correct side.
Cos i think the strokes may be too "abstract" for their minds but a picture is more to "reality". Maybe U can try

As for reading...my hubby or me have been reading EVERY NIGHT to A since I-can't-remember-when...but until now she still can't seem to be able to read...so she's a bit more dyslexic than other kids :p
Anyway I'll need to watch her more closely as daddy suspects he may be dyslexic (he has problems reading since young...even now, when we read a same thing together, I always finish in ~1/2 the time he takes)

Above are personal opinions. U can check out the dyslexia association of singapore website for further info..
http://www.das.org.sg/index.php?option=com_frontpage&Itemid=1

The location of their branches:
http://www.das.org.sg/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=39&Itemid=61

omg

gee, A also can't read english sentence. Some words but not in sentence.... she writes alphabet and nos. ok.... she also dyslexia? Those chinese words she learned before, she could remember though....

Poohy, i think u need to follow your instinct as the mother. U'd know if something's isn't right. U'd be the best judge. Up till now Q is still undiagnosed (i am still in denial) but it gets harder as she goes to P1 as mathematics is also affected (but she may not be dyscalculic just mabbe slow as problem sums posed a huge problem for her in trying to first decipher the words and then to try comprehend what's required). It's no longer just abc, reading... it's comprehension .. mathematics and everything else. I had a hard time coaching her with reading a year ago .. and that's just the first step. I signed for courses with DAS just so I could coach her myself. I am now working very hard with Mathematics and DAS gives really good tips teaching tips.
They even do assessment for your child. Contact them if u want to assess S.
Enrolling for P1
---------------
Whoever is interested, Q is in beacon. She's happy there which is what I could ever asked for. She's good with her teachers and principal.
Yes it is new but they still follow MOE syllabus using better manipulatives.

For those using parent's address pls note tat u'd only be taken in for phase 2C >2km even if your parent home is within 1km (ifnot wrong).

CHIJ Bt, a friend's kid is in there and she's 1-2km category and got in without ballot. She said standard is quite high.
For Bt panjang pri, need to ballot even for 1km. It's more than 200% oversubscribed. So if u are more than 1km, i'd say FORGET it!
Last yr beacon only accepted those within 1km.

I would suggest u gals to visit the MOE website to know more abt the popularity of the schools u are interested in, see the trend.

if using grandparent's address, need to make statutory declaration at MOE that u r using grandparent's address. this is done in June before P1 enrolment. and yes, for balloting, the address, even w/in 1km, will be considered as >2km.

this is on MOE website.

--- On Tue, 10/5/11, Charles Tan (Volunteer Resource Network) <[email protected]> wrote:

From: Charles Tan (Volunteer Resource Network) <[email protected]>
Subject: Outings for the Underprivileged Children
To: "Charles Tan (Volunteer Resource Network)" <[email protected]>
Date: Tuesday, 10 May, 2011, 11:22

We are still short of sponsors and volunteers for the outings arranged for the Underprivileged children, below is the updated numbers :

No. of Children Sponsor : 12
No. of Volunteers : 6

We hope to have about 45 children and 35 volunteers to come along for this Ice Cream Making Workshop, for those who can help, do get back to me by 15 May 2011 so we will have sufficient time to send out the flyers to the children.

In the event we are unable to get sufficient sponsors, we will cancel the outing and will refund those who have sponsored so you can use the funds to reach out to others instead.

Charles Tan
Volunteer Resource Network
Email : [email protected]
URL : www.vrnetwork.org

From: Charles Tan (Volunteer Resource Network) [mailto:[email protected]]
Sent: Thursday, 5 May, 2011 11:09 AM
Subject: June Holiday Programme for the Children

We will be resuming our outings for the children from the low income family this June after taking a break last Dec. This coming June, we plan to bring the kids to downtown east for an Ice Cream Making Workshop and have Ice Cream Buffet there as well, below are the details :

Event : Ice Cream Making Workshop + Ice Cream Buffet
Date : 18 June 2011 (Saturday)
Time : 10am to 2pm (Tentative)
Venue : Downtown East
Meeting point : Daybreak Family Service Centre
Blk 855 Yishun Ring Road Training Wing
(5 mins walk from Khatib MRT Station )

Targeted number of Children : 45
Volunteers required : 25

The cost for each child is about $35.00 which will cover the cost of the event, including lunch and cookie packs for each child. We hope each of you can sponsor at least one child for the trip, we will also need some volunteers to join us for the trip to take care of the children and help them out during the ice cream making workshop when we are there.

For those who would like to sponsor, you can mail a cheque payable to “Maple Lifestyle”, indicate “VRN June” and mail it to :

Maple Lifestyle
195 Pearl’s Hill Terrace
#01-32
Singapore 168976

Please let us know the details of your cheque such as bank, cheque number and amount via email if you are sending by cheque.

For those who preferred to funds transfer, please do email me separately for the account number to transfer.

Do remember me to update me so I can consolidate the sponsored funds, we will stop accepting funds once we have enough as per our usual practice.

And for those who are keen to volunteer, do provide me with the following particulars :

1) Name
2) NRIC
3) Contact Number
4) Email address

The cost for each volunteer is $38.00, we will likely be getting McDonald Lunch for everyone, if you are a vegetarian, do inform us and we will pack lunch separately for you.

We hope to be able to get your support to sponsor up to a max of 45 children from the low income family group for this trip.

Charles Tan
Volunteer Resource Network
Email : [email protected]
URL : www.vrnetwork.org

Am posting for information as they are short of sponsors and volunteers for the event. Pls liaise with the organiser directly if you are interested in helping out..

Thanks a mil! =)