Dr Yvonne Chan

She is my gynae. Quite caring and detailed.
Her fees are resonable.

There are quite a few threads on her.. with good comments.

she is my doc too..

hi mickymouse: can lead me to the threads on her pls? i cant find.. thks!

she is my gynae too..currently coming 31 weeks..

she is a very nice gynae. patient and explains everything to you..

highly recommended!

she is my gynae too.

i like her very much...patient and gentle.. explains everything to you..

highly recommended!

Deliver through natural birth by Yvonne Chan 3 years ago. Cannot conceive easily now. During Labour, she poke something into my vagina after birth. Pain was unbearable. Could this be the reason i cannot conceive again. Why did she need to do that? Can someone advise? The nurse at the labour ward was horrible.

lling, was it to break your waters? Or a cervical check? Those are very uncomfortable but normal for any birth. Definitely not the reason you cannot conceive again la.

Catz, you mean after my baby is out, docter need to poke my vagina. Do any mother who give birth natually have this procedure.

lling,
Were u on any painkiller? Maybe she was trying to deliver your placenta. Or the pain could be due to episiotomy if u were not on any painkiller. I have 2 kids delivered by her and no problem at all (was on epidural for both). She's a very good and professional O&G.

I did not have any epidural. Placenta was already out. I suffer the pain greater than giving birth. Baby already brought to the nursery together with my husband.

You should have asked her what she is doing... prob checking to see if got any leftover placenta? Same as Lok, my 2 kids delivered by her and she was a fantastic professional throughout.

Maybe mine is not because a nurse there tells me there are better gynae there who deliever without much pain. I SUFFER PAIN CLOSE TO A YEAR...

ladies, thanks for sharing your experience here.

lling, sorry to hear your encounter, hope you have a better experience with other gynae.

hmm... i tot the nurse wasnt very professional to say such a comment.

neeciel, agreed... quite surprised as all nurses say that Dr Chan is really very skillful.

lling, hope you can find a gynae you can click with!

hmm....maybe that was years back, most of the mummies recently delivered there highly recommend TMC...i had a hospital tour at TMC recently and thought the newly renovated rooms are nice.

I wasnt very confident with Dr Chan initially but after few consultation, she is very assuring and i've decided to stick to her =)

i'm with her too, after neeciel's recommendation. Actually my colleague is with her as well.

I think she's humourous, and a very nice lady. But the nurses there speak too soft.. sometimes cannot hear what they are murmuring haha

covewild, the clinic opens from 830am-530pm every Monday, Wed & Thur.

Tues, Fri & sat opens from 830am-1pm, but they will be answering your calls if you call them in the afternoon.

Tel 6256 4664.

covewild, think 2nd trimester? cant quite remember

I'm seeing this gyne too. I actually found her on the net, coz that time just preggy din koe which gyne to see. First visit I'm alr very comfortable with her. Was impressed with the short waiting time at the clinic, the nurses planned the schedules very well.

Didn't know that until recently my husband's fren told me that she used to be a VERY well-known gyne at KK hospital for many years before she goes into private practise now. Then my aunt who used to be a mid wife at KK also told me she worked with Dr Chan befofe and I that am in good hands.

Most impt is, to feel comfortable with the Dr u seeing becoz u be seeing her/him regularly.

beloved, me too only found out she is very experienced in KKH when i finally decided to stay with her =)

covewild, dr chan gave me some samples on the neurogain but asked me to take 2 weeks later cos i was still bloated and nausea when i see her last week, she says will have a strong fish smell if i burp, may agitate my nausea further.

Actually I used to see her when she was Snr Consultant back in KKH. My Dad's friend who was working with her in KKH says that she was mentored by one of the super famous gynaes because she was so outstanding. But the heavy workload at KKH took its toll and she decided to go into private practice. That's why she does not take in a full load of patients. Plus she is not the money-faced type of gynae.

neeciel, did u ask the neurogain from dr chan or she gave it to you automatically? Are you in 1st trimester now?

Violetta, i dun hv such info abt her sorry.... but i believed an experienced gynae should have enough knowledge or experience.

Dr Chan is great! She is caring, incredibly patient esp with first-time moms, very reassuring and has a good sense of humor. She delivered my son in Oct 08. The labor ward nurses at TMC are quite annoying though! But Dr Yvonne Chan is a gem!

Violetta,
I have a fibroid(7cm) near my ovary and i managed to deliver my girl thru natural birth. Dr Chan has been very careful, she monitored and assured me thruout the whole pregnancy. I find her really good. Am still going for follow ups for my fibroid.
Will still stick to her if i have #2...

Mummylove,
True. I delivered my girl in oct 08 too! The labour ward was so packed with deliveries that day and the staffs were short handed, i was left alone in the labour suite with my husband with no nurses around many times. Looks like TMC is real popular.

Babyzel,
Wah!!! See I'm not the only one! The labor ward nurses at TMC quite horrid. I was in labor for 12 hrs then one by one come in and say - just go for C section la - easier - no need to struggle. Plus, one of my legs became really numb and I couldn't lift it - side effect of epidural. I was practically falling off the bed- so I asked this nurse to help me up - would u believe she totally ignored me??? When Dr Chan came in, I told her about my numbness and the nurse in question walked in - and I told Dr Chan that she ignored me when I asked for help. The nurse was stunned but kept quiet. Oh and when u actually try to close yur eyes and get some sleep, that's when the nurses will come around to do stock taking of their meds/etc kept in the delivery suite and they are damn loud!!! I was alone in the delivery suite for damn long - coz my hubby is the cannot sit in one place type. However when u actually do the finale - pushing baby out - you'll have 4 or 5 nurses around to cheer u on! And trust me, it helps.

Hi Mummy .... Looks like the nurses are still the same after I had given birth there 3 years ago. Is her name starting with D... and quite plump? Agree that the Gynae is good but the nurses at labour ward are horrible. I was in labour pain and there is this nurse there who ask me not to make noise. Commenting something about my body etc...Provoking me further by saying something not pleasant...Take out my gas when i am still holding and breathing as I am still in pain. She just say I don't need anymore. However the nurses at the one/two beded room are nice. Encouraging and polite. Oh please bless me not another nightmare in the labour ward if I had another baby.

Are the nurses in the labour ward & delivery suite the dsame??

I had abnormal bleeding last month and Dr Chan sent me to labour ward to do a CTG, the nurses there was quite nice leh tho they are mostly not local...

Hi Mummies, Dr Yvonne Chan was simply fantestic. i assure you that she's the best. she is very experience.She deliver my princess on 19.03.2009.Two Thumbs up for her.My cervix is badly torn due to the intensive pushing and she stitch me up professionally with skill.Will definately go back to her for #2.

Hi mummies, I going to have my 2nd bb tis aug 09. My 1st boy also by dr chan. I think her stitches are good. Only thing is that I find her very strict and stern. So sometimes i forget abt the things i wanted tp ask her when i see her face to face. Hehe

yoko, she only seems stern but she's actually very siao siao one.. esp in the labour suite. Haha. Siao until you cannot believe it.. hehe and haha with all the nurses, very entertaining.

yoko, i find her very homorous in fact, she alw tease abt my baby when i go for check up =)

I'm actually TTC-ing..but already decided on Dr Yvonne Chan as my gynae..

Anyone knows if she does pre-conception check up? How much is it?

Dr chan on delivers in tmc. Her clinic is at level 6 of tmc (#06-06). She delivered both my kids - the 2nd one just last month. If I ever have no. 3 I will for sure go back to her though her fees are not cheap.

Dr. Chan is good. She delivered my 2 kids. somehow the 2nd pregnancy was a little bit more complicated during the 3rd semester. i was referred to another specialist. and most likely i need to take some medicine which might hate my bb in me (i was abt 30wks pregnant). i called to get advise from her hope to get a little support and better option.
but her replied to me is 'i must take the medicine, if during delivery any complicated then she cannot deliver me!' i was shocked. probably she didnt know that her staff will direct the whole sentence to me.

i wont go back to her if i have 3rd bb.

Had a bad experience with dr Yvonne chan. She made error in my baby's weight by 600 gms. was induced early when my body was not ready for it. She is not pro natural and I ended up with a c section which could have been avoided. Was really disappointed for choosing her as my gynea. My advice to her patients make sure you know all the details and ask her all your questions before anything is done on you like vaginal examination, breaking water bag, inducing etc. Make sure that all that is necessary if she says so. I don't want to put in detail about my experience as this is a public forum. Will never go to her and will never recommend my friends to her. Still depressed about choosing her

Dr chan is gd. I jus delivered my bb girl. All along she know I want natural birth do when she see my bb weight increasing very fast she ask mi to ctr diet if nt I will have difficulty deliver her. Sh is right. My girl weigh 3kg and I no strength to push her out, lucky I ctr diet if more than 3.5kg I don think I can deliver her. I have some complication for delivering too but she very assuring say shall monitor first before deciding on c sec. Lucky bb can deliver naturally with her encouragement. I have a mc before this and inside the OT I already very depressed lucky she crack joke so I can relax. She really gd.
Castile: her charges ard 150-200 depending on whether u take medicine or nt.